View Full Version : Photo Competition

imported_admin
03-06-2003, 08:13 AM
Photo competition now on.

To enter the comp all you have to do is post a photo of your catch and info about the catch in either the Freshwater or Saltwater Members Photos section. Competition applies to posts posted between today (2/06/03) up to an including 30th of June 2003.

The winner, in each catergory (Freshwater & Saltwater) will be the post with the highest rating as rated by the members, up to and including 10th July 2003. If one or more posts have the highest rating the winner will be the post with the highest rating and the highest number of votes. If this still does not produce a clear winner the winner will be drawn at random from the posts with the highest rating and number of votes.

Prizes -

Freshwater
1 x Alvey 500BC
1 x 500 yard spool 12lb Bionic Braid
1 x Australian Fishing Predictor CD Rom
1 x Geoff Wilson Knots & Rigs CD Rom
1 x Ausfish Cap

Saltwater
1 x Alvey 6500BCV
1 x 500 yard spool 30lb Bionic Braid
1 x Australian Fishing Predictor CD Rom
1 x Geoff Wilson Knots & Rigs CD Rom
1 x Ausfish Cap

How to attach a pic to your post
See - http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/board/YaBB.cgi?board=Freshwater_Pics;action=display;num= 1022721170

How to rate posts

When you view a post you will see the ratings section above the post. You should rate the post on the quality and content of the post and the picture attached.

The ratings section will look something like this, depending if anyone has rated it or not.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/ratesample1.jpg

To rate the post simply click on the dropdown rating and select a rating for the post.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/ratesample2.jpg

Once you have rated the post you will see something like this. On the left in the ratings drop down will be the rating you gave the post and on the right will be a breakdown of all the ratings. You can adjust your rating at any time after your initial rating.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/ratesample3.jpg

Brett_Finger
03-06-2003, 02:42 PM
with them great prize's mate, there will be a avalanche of fishing photo's.
Hoookin,Brett

NeilD
03-06-2003, 03:05 PM
Is this for fish caught during the comp period or are old faithful pics allowed.
Cheers Neil

imported_admin
03-06-2003, 05:37 PM

Pics can be of any time, as long as they are yours. Note the mention of "post a photo of your catch" in the original post.

The date, species, etc, should be noted in the post that accompanies the pic but is not essential for the comp.

Chris.Y
04-06-2003, 04:25 PM
How do you know when someone votes for their OWN photo a couple a hundred times ?. :-X

Fly'n'hi Chris.

imported_admin
04-06-2003, 05:02 PM
You can only vote/rate a post once. You can change your rating but the system will remove the current rating and apply the new rating. You can also remove your rating by selecting "--" from the dropdown selection after you have rated a post.

I have added the ratings feature to this post so members can have a play araound with the feature.

When you rate the post you will notice that everytime you go back to the post it will have your rating selected in the dropdown box. You can change your rating as often as you like, or remove it, but the system will only count it as one vote for that post.

Nathan
05-06-2003, 10:38 AM
Should they be judged by the size of the fish or the photographic quality?

imported_admin
05-06-2003, 11:02 AM
It is up to the members to decide how they rate them as some members may be more interested in the story, some the photo, some the species, etc....

jaybee
05-06-2003, 04:08 PM
can the photos be any age steve, i dont have a digi but lots o photos to chooose from :) and still heaps to develop from the last 12 months, bit slow in that department oh duh just saw where it said they can be any age, told u i was slow. :-X

spinna
12-06-2003, 06:35 PM
Great comp steve keep up the good work.

cheers spinna 8) ;)

Mattman
27-06-2003, 04:34 PM
Hi fellas
Just curious as to why some people are ranking a real good fish, such as the big LT a one. :( >:( ???

People should be getting fair dinkum and give a photo a score that proper represents the effort of the angler.

Cheers Matt