PDA

View Full Version : Live mudcrabs

freefish
15-06-2003, 01:17 PM
Hi All, What's the best way to keep mudcrabs alive for a couple of days. When I was a kid the pro the old man fished with used to pack them into sacks with mangrove leaves to bring into the market. Anyone know of some way of keeping them like this. REgards Bill

rick k
15-06-2003, 06:54 PM
have been told that pruning mangroves for any purpose without a permit is a problem.

They stay alive when tied in a broccoli box for a few days in the company of a boxful of their compadres. Not too hot, not too cold, and not too dry

clutter
15-06-2003, 07:07 PM
Tie them up and keep them in a wet potato sack (hessian). Failing that, just keep them in a cool place.

Clutter

stilltryin
16-06-2003, 03:45 PM
if you put them in a hessian bag that is wet, don't let them get cold, they die quite quickly from the cold, just like putting them in a fridge or freezer. I worked with a pro up north some years ago and we lost a couple of hundred that way, didn't happen twice. We put them in a wet bags on the foredeck of the boat. On the trip back the night air made it quite cool, that was the end of them

If you keep them tied up,moist, cool and out of the wind they can last up to a week without much trouble.

Tally
17-06-2003, 06:24 AM
G'day,
The way I have kept them alive is by putting them in the bath tub (still tied) and with one of those spray bottles spray some water from where they came from (but I guess any salt water would be ok) straight into their mouths. You will notice the crabs start creating bubbles and having a good drink, do this a couple of times a day and they'll be fine. I have kept crabs for 6 days this way without loss so you should not have any probs keeping em a couple of days.

Cheers,
Jay.

Oh yeh and tell the missus and kids not to use the bath tub

freefish
17-06-2003, 01:09 PM