PDA

View Full Version : New Direction for Sunfish Queensland

jaybee
26-09-2003, 05:03 PM
Sunfish Media Release 25th. September 2003

Sunfish Qld. has elected a new Chairman. Mr Bill Turner, a quadriplegic, with muscular dystrophy who is confined to an electric wheelchair, today released some of their future policies for recreational fishing in Queensland. Many organisational changes took place at our Annual General Meeting in Rockhampton and among them was a new look for the central committee Mr Turner said.

“Being confined to a wheelchair has never stopped me. In fact it has made me more determined to see fish readily available at easy access points for all anglers” he said.

I have been fishing for 45 years and caught most fish available in Australia at one time or another. Working every Saturday morning doing radio fishing reports, writing many fishing articles and chairing Sunfish North Moreton for the past 3 years has made me aware of the many issues regarding recreational angling.

“Sunfish Qld members in consultation with the Queensland Labour Government have already achieved important changes to benefit all anglers. To progress further, I would like to develop an even better working relationship with Queensland Fisheries Service (QFS), and the Minister, Mr. Henry Palaszczuk” he said.

Two of the main fishing issues I would like to see introduced during this term as Chairman are :-

· The declaration of Recreational Only Fishing Areas (Fishing Havens).

· Species such as Tailor, Mangrove jack and other important recreational fish regulated as angling only species.

A major part of my new position is to see a growth in membership so that Sunfish Qld is truly the peak body representing the interests of all recreational anglers in Queensland.

“Sunfish Qld is here to ensure that you, the anglers of Queensland continue to have fish to catch and if you want to have your say, then join now and help me achieve a better fishing future for all of us” he said.