View Full Version : what do you do for a crust?

jeffo
20-04-2004, 03:44 PM
hey guys... im trying to make a few decisions regarding future careers. interested to see what every one else does for work, and wether they are happy in their job--- if the answer is no... what do you WISH you did to bring home a days pay. cheers.
jeff
ps. would prefer no smart arsed replies if at all possible *looks at kev and lucky phil* ::) ;D :-X

s.tury
20-04-2004, 04:06 PM
im a plumber jeffo not a bad job although you would be hard pressed finding anyone who enjoy's there job especialy after doing it for so many years . what sort of work have you done?

bungie
20-04-2004, 04:12 PM
I'm a plumber/drainer.
Have my own business in the western suburbs, Kenmore, Indooroopilly, City, through to Ascot. Been doing it for over twenty years now. Its a good trade, different types of work each day, copper work one day, drainage another, maintenance, new house's. New customers all the time, so new faces. Some very cute housewife's :). 5 knots and I'm off onto the water :) Not siting on a production line pushing a button.

jeffo
20-04-2004, 04:12 PM
i am only 20 ATM... been landscaping/paver laying since i left school 2 years ago. other than that i packed shelves at woolies for 3 years and worked at a fishing shop when i was knee high to a grasshopper.

bubba
20-04-2004, 04:16 PM
gday jeffo, i work for an electrical construction company, we are always looking for labourers. pays is good, and conditions arent to bad, long days. i enjoy the money, hate the work. Am studying part time at uni, want to work for the dpi in fisheries research. hope this helps.
cheers bubba

adamleah
20-04-2004, 04:53 PM
Jeff,

I am a sparky for a big transport company....

And am now in a position where I help out with managing Electrical based projects....
Loved doing my apprenticeship and my job is great,

However Only thing I strive for would be to get out of the trade and do something that is more for me .....ie "Own my own business."

A tackle shop at Agnes waters would be my kind of ideal job.... ;D

Big_Kev
20-04-2004, 05:19 PM
Aw c'mon now I'm gonna have a sulk and not answer at all.
(wimper wimper, hurt feelings) :'( :'( :'(

clutter
20-04-2004, 06:06 PM
I work for a brewery and love the job. Been there nearly ten years and can't really see myself leaving. Used to work in the construction industry before hand and spent time in PNG before I got married and had to settle down.

For a crust though I wear the same pair of jocks for a month.

Cheers, Clutter

SCOTTYGC
20-04-2004, 06:23 PM
i work at a large golf coause resort on the gold coast
and i look after all the grog there
gotta luv them samples :P

paz
20-04-2004, 06:28 PM
am a boilermaker/welder by trade,,did my apprentiship and a few years after and have been out of it ever since...great as far as i always have that to fall back onto,,but as far as a job,,,its not very nice....getting burnt,,,always hot,,sniffin fumes all the time behind a helmet....lot better ways to make a living.....
at the moment i work for a trucking company supervising loading of trucks of a night,,do about 3 hrs a night 5 nights a week and get paid for 40hrs,,,dont see myself leaving for quiet some time....
paz 8)

Remo
20-04-2004, 06:30 PM
A Licenced Plumber,Drainer, Gasfitter that stumbled into a Project Managers role looking after Mechanical Services (AirCon. )in Large Commercial & Industrial contracts.

I couldn't see my self doing any thing else now.

Ray

sominc
20-04-2004, 07:24 PM
i work in retail jewelery, have no intent in going into the making of it but from all the jewelers i know they get paid quite well and their work is usually in high demand

20-04-2004, 09:43 PM
Refrigeration Mechanic by trade. Self employed doing air conditioning installations and break downs on domestic and commercial projects.

raefpud
20-04-2004, 09:57 PM
I started working in hospitalty when i was about 14 or 15 as i thought i wanted to be a chef. I had a great passion for food and wine at a young age and I ended working as a waiter/bartender then onto restaurant manager and food and beverage manager of some of the finest hotels, resorts and restaurants all over australia and all over the world. i worked on cruise ships and could have worked on the airlines if i wanted too. to some people this may sound like a dream job, but let me tell ya, working 60-70 hors a week, split shifts days and night, working weekends and public holidays including xmas day aint all that fun. working with people sux too. I didnt go home for xmas for 8 years at one stage and it was then i decided i had enough.

I had always loved fishing and really became fond of it whilst working on the resorts of the great barrier reef, and it wasnt until the ripe old age of 25 that i decided i'd much rather spend my life looking after fish than looking after people - fish dont complain and theyre never rude - so i decided to go to university to get my piece of paper, bachelor of science marine biology to be precise.

I just wanna job where i get to go fishing everyday and dont have to wear shoes to work.

I suggest you do a job that you feel you would love to spend the rest of your life doing, rather than be attracted to a job by how much it pays or the perks that come along with it.

its no good working your ass off all your life to make lots of money, only to become sick and have to spend all your time in bed and all your money on medical bills to get better. You could get hit by a bus 2morrow mate, so whatever you chose to do, make sure you its something you enjoy doing.

21-04-2004, 02:30 AM
Diesel fitter by trade (dont care if i dont pick up another spanner, 25 years of that) Been self employed for about 12 years, first as a contract mechanic and while doing that set up a printing business (did not know how to print, learnt fast, had to, to pay the bank back.) while printing all lot of clients reqested signs, so again, with no knowledge, spent another 25k and started doing signs (easy Money and good bird watching) somewhere along the track we started selling computers and fixing them. Had a quiet patch and started installing austar, also done dairy herd milk testing on contract, contract cowshed and domestic building, probable done just about any thing legal for a dollar, mostly contract (the only way to earn what you are worth)
These days trying to only work about 20hrs a week for between $500 and $1000 a week, some weeks its up to $2000 but some times its basicly nithing for a cuople of weeks, I think you need to follow your dreams, but if it start to affect your health or family life, go on the dole and go fishing, cause i did for a while because i suffered burn out, and you dont wanta go there

jaybee
21-04-2004, 02:36 AM
Life Style Worker, i work with ppl with intellectual, psychiatric and multiple disabilities, basically it is teaching the clients every day basic living skills we take for granted, so i get to take clients fishing, to the movies and generally socializing, not forgetting the housework. The hours arent too good, lot of weekend, public holidays, and the pay isnt too crash hot either, but i love the job and the ppl i work with are great.
Joe

stark
21-04-2004, 03:12 AM
Had my own company for the last 20 years. Don't make a lot of money, but with the kids gone and having their own families, I can keep working until I drop if I want to and can also take a day off if I want to fish.

Job satisfaction and the ability to control your own future are more important as you get older than making a lot of dosh. Being careful with your coin and planing for the furture will lead you to a reasonable position by the time you hit you 'fitifies' and you then see that is where life begins.

LYNDO
21-04-2004, 04:05 AM
Motor Mechanic by trade, then got sick of it after a few years (handy knowledge for yourself but), turned to plastering, then commerical operator for spraying weeds, basal barking etc and completion of a horticulture certifcate.
And for the last 10 years Security Officer/Crowd Crontroller.
Cheers Lyndo

21-04-2004, 04:14 AM
Through school I wanted to do marine studies or Parks and Wildlife. I wanted to be outside and enjoy the environment in which I work.

I was even accepted to Uni to do a Bachelor of Applied Science Marine Studies course. I took a year before starting and decided to persue my other passion of sport. Changed to a journalism degree to become a sports journo.

Within 12 months of graduating, landed my dream job of working for a major organisation in a capital city doing radio and tv. My job entailed getting paid to watch sport and hang out with sporting identities like playing golf, drinking and partying etc.

It took only 3 years before I realised that I was living a life I didn't enjoy. I was hardly home at night, I was drinking way to much, I was talking to the same neandathals every week about the same rubbish and I was feeling very bored. I looked around and saw a lot of my colleagues in other organisations were mid 40's doing the same thing - a lot without a penny to bless themselves - most with broken marriages. I also hated the fickle nature of those involved. If you were important people hung off you but as soon as your career waned or you were dropped from the team the packed moved on to the next young and exciting player to socialise with. It also killed my passion for sport. I don't even attend live games anymore. I stopped enjoying it totally.

I'm getting away from the subject but I guess what I'm trying to say is that making a living out of something that is your passion can sometimes have a down side.

I'm still in the media industry having performed lots of other rolls since. My new title is Executive Producer of External and Emerging Platforms ABC New Media - which translates to neither I nor the ABC knows what I do.

Marine Biology still niggles at the back of my mind and won't go away.

Bugman

21-04-2004, 05:21 AM
Held about 30 jobs since coming out of the forces, including pub management, life guard, security, milko. Never really settled in anything (I'd been in the forces since age 15) until the last job which was film planning in the print industry and then I get made redundant! :-)

Always had a passion for photography so turned pro for a while until the missus and I had a long talk.

She was born here and always wanted to return. We also discussed not having "latch-key" kids so it (she;-) decided that as she earned more than me, I would stay at home and look after our two boys, one of whom is autistic.

I'd always worked with kids on a part-time basis (Cadet Forces, D of E awards and Mountain Leadership) so we also decided to foster here. I now care for 5 kids full-time and luckily, they *all* love fishing/camping. I miss having someone to talk to occasionaly, but apart from that, I'm happy........and that's the key......... to get back to what you're asking.

Make sure that you're happy in what you do. If someone is a "caring" person, and young, then I always recommend that they find a profession that deals in caring and nurturing such as Joe (jaybee) does, or nursing, or Youth Worker.

If you're good at "something" and like doing it, ask yourself how you can adapt that to an employment situation. The oldest foster kid is good with his hands and "arty" but had little education before coming to me. I now home-school him and have got him day release at a blacksmiths. He loves shaping all that wrought iron work and it doesn't tap into his lack of education. He's "laid-back" and that suits him. OTOH, you may be the kind that likes a challenge and to be "taxed".

Write down all your pros and cons, and likes and dislikes, what you *think* you would like to do, what you *don't* like and what your limitations are. If you have no "restrictions" such as a wife and kids, then *your* considerations, are all that matters and you should be able to see where you can and can not go in your career path.

Good luck

dazza
21-04-2004, 05:28 AM
good thread jeffo.
i am a registered nurse. i work in an emergency department. it is a great job. get alot of variety, from common coughs, colds and sore holes to major trauma etc. you don't know what is comming through the door from one minute to the other.
it is a pretty full on job, can get fairly intense at times.
i work shift work which has it's good and bad points.
work for queensland health. fairly good pay, good leave entitlements and super etc.
once you are qualified, the sky is the limit. there are so many different fields you can work in.
my career ensures i will never be unemployed (world wide shortage of nurses).
i have lived and worked in the gulf of carpenatia, the outer islands of the torres strait and on cape york- (not bad fishing spots ;D ;D)
whatever you choose- you will get out of it what you put in.
dazza

firetruck
21-04-2004, 05:52 AM
Good thread Jeffo.

I do health research and currnetly work in the area of Indigenous Health.

I've been fortunate to travel to some really out of the way places that a lot of people would never really get to and meet some great people (all over Torres Strait, Cape York and heaps of other places in rural and remote Qld). To state the obvious it is a challenging area but it sure puts things into perspective.

In saying this i am yet to find a job that i really enjoy and look forward to each and every day. But does anyone? I would like to get into something to do with fishing/ seafood industry but just don't know what and where to start. One day.

DR
21-04-2004, 05:52 AM
i am a signwriter(dinosaur) was a great trade, you could do what a lot of people do, spend $10,000, buy an entry level comp. & plotter, set up in your lounge room, work really cheap, have absolutely no idea what is required in a good sign, call yourself a signwriter? & generally make life difficult for the genuine tradesmen for a few years before you realise you can't really make living doing this as there is too many people doing what you did
oh, almost forgot, go & do a 6 week part time graphic course & think you have learned what has taken most many years ;D ;D ;D

Brissyguy
21-04-2004, 06:05 AM
Jeffo,

I did an electrical apprenticeship and a few Management courses.
Commenced Batchelor of Business but the job hours saw this disolve.

Am now Business Development Manager of a large Electric Motor overhaul shop.
Love the job although the travel aspect is a little hard sometimes.
Currently grooming guys to work in our field maintenance crew, mostly Bowen Basin Mine work on draglines etc.

Get yaself a trade mate, at least it is something to fall back on and is usually a good grounding for the future.
Adult apprenticeships these days pay well and can be shortened with RPL's and onjob experience.
PM me if your interested in something like this...

Rich.

Billo
21-04-2004, 06:25 AM
Business Analyst mate .
Tough job , and can get very painfull , starting to get sick and tired of the sight of a computer screen nowdays .

If i could do anything , i would go back a few years and do the marine Biology course i was looking at doing .....keep me close to the water
May even do it over the next few years

stack
21-04-2004, 06:26 AM
Hi Jeffo
I`m a screenprinter by trade but haven`t worked in the industry for 10years currently work for Qantas at Bris airport puttin the piss on the planes.Great job,shift work rotating shifts so I get heaps of days off during the week to fish when the crowds go back to Bris to work and I can take my boat up Maroochy river hunting whatever they don`t find and as you know thats a bloody lot.The other great thing bout my job is really cheap airfares so a trip up north every so often is a must and I can spend what I save on accom and the gear I need to do the job.
Best of luck in your search for the perfect job
Stack

Mundi
21-04-2004, 06:38 AM
Wow good thread and a broad range of careers covered.
I'm an air traffic controller. I've been doing it for 20+ years and will prolly keep at it for another 10 or so. As far as recommending it for a career well....
for the first 10 years I would have highly recommended it but times change and conditions are no longer the same. The pay is good but don't choose a career just to chase the holy dollar. Look for something that challenges you in a field that you enjoy. These days be prepared to travel to chase what you want.
Good Luck finding your future

BlitzBaga
21-04-2004, 06:47 AM
G'day Jeffo

I spent 20yrs as a fitter and turner, I loved the job and I am good with my hands but my back couldn't handle it anymore, if there wasn't so much heavy work where I was I'd still be a fitter now. I ended up doing a diploma in technology management and landed a position with the same company as a production manager (I come home as clean as when I leave to go to work). Now I wouldn't go back to the tools for double the money. I am still handy with my hands and satisfy that area by making lures which I have also done on the side for the last 16yrs now.

Murray

agnes_jack
21-04-2004, 06:48 AM
Jeffo
Did a heap of different jobs in my younger days, including paving and landscaping. For most of my past I was a plasterer and carpenter. Cannot recomend the plastering, although it pays well when you work for yourself. As most blokes do in the building industry, I ended up with a stuffed back. Have been running the tackle store for about 3.5 years now, and could not be happier.
I dont make a fortune (contrary to popular belief) but I spend most days talking, walking, and sleeping fishing! Its a lifestyle I love and I still manage to get out and catch a few when the weather permits.
Whatever you do make it something you enjoy life is very, very short.\

Regards, Tony :D

Dr_Dan
21-04-2004, 06:51 AM
Professional UNI BUM!!!!! ;D ;D ;D With the hopes of one day becoming rural Dr, but for now, have to settle to being a poor uni student!

Brissyguy
21-04-2004, 07:01 AM
Hey Tony,

Let me know when you wanna sell mate...
I could handle ummmm not making a fortune lol...
IMHO you have my dream career...

Maybe I could open Agnes Richies Boat sales and refer ever sale to you for their tackle.

# # # # # Rich.

agnes_jack
21-04-2004, 07:10 AM
Sounds like a winner Rich!
No one selling boats here yet, could make a good team.

Regards, Tony ;)

poss
21-04-2004, 08:55 AM
Locomotive driver coal trains, as boring as waiting for the wind to drop but good money, hard to get into and shift work a bit of a pain but i dont get my hands dirty and the conditions are pretty good.

basserman
21-04-2004, 09:35 AM
well since i left school and joined the army as a grunt for 5 years i have since been a frount end loader driver in sydney (shite job but brought in over $1000 clear a week) moved to port macquarie and worked in a few pubs and now i have my own busness as a courier driver delivering parcles up and down the coast. Dosen't bring in much but when i start at 8am and finished by 6pm and have every weekend off well hey it pays the bills ;D and lets me get in a FAIR bit of fishing ;D ;D

SeaHunt
21-04-2004, 11:07 AM
Computer Programmer...
Being raised on a farm and used to the scrub and outdoor activities , it is hard to take sometimes,.. BUT .... it does pay well, so I get a nice boat and ute to tow it around with and I be happy on the weekends.
Life is a trade off between doing what you have to do and what you would like to do. The people I do not understand are the ones who keep working when they are rich and don't have too, and don't seem happy either.

nictim
21-04-2004, 11:11 AM
Hi Jeffo
My brother and I have an import export business with warehousing in the UK and US
Run every thing from here on the Gold Coast 2 of our websites www.tohealth.com.au & www.extractglobal.com if you get a chance take a look.
With the internet and email now the world is getting smaller every day your only 20 years old don’t get caught in a rut get out there and do it .
I have had it all and lost it (3 times) but you always get back on your feet.
Have a go and good luck
Steve -------

whitesfire
21-04-2004, 12:58 PM
whitesfire is a Fire Extinguisher sales and service in Cairns; I own and run the Co and have a good time doing this, photo wife with a golden

NeilD
21-04-2004, 01:52 PM
I lease and/or manage public swimming pools. I currently lease one from the BCC on the southside of Brisbane and manage another for Pine Rivers Shire Council. The job looks really great hanging around swimming pools all day but the reality is somewhat different and involves long hours, massive amounts of paperwork and an assortment of customers from hell.

Cheers Neil

jeffo
21-04-2004, 02:09 PM
guys-i cannot thank you enough for all your replies some of which are VERY motivational (bugman and kingtin especially)... tony i know what your saying about the building industry and sore backs (my knees and back already complain each morning i wake up).
rich- i am keen to know everything about the adult aprenticeships you mentioned as the VERY LOW wages involved with aprenticeships are one of the main things holding me back at this stage! it seams wrong that if i was to start an aprenticeship now in say tiling i would be getting the same money as someone fresh out of school, as with 2 years on the tools already under my belt i think with enough time i could tile a bathroom tomorrow!

my dream job at this stage of my life wouldd have to be a DPI fisheries and boating patrol officer but i have been told that the amount of people studying for such positions greatly outway the number of available jobs.

21-04-2004, 03:23 PM
Looks like every man and his dog started out with a trade. Me included. I did a fitter and turner apprenticeship and worked in the trade for about 8 or 9 years, but then some how I ended up in IT. Currently manage a system support team for a consulting company.

Funny really as I only got to year 10, but generally hire people to work for me that have uni degrees.

Seems that a lot of people that start out blue collar end up white collar, and a lot that start white collar end up blue.

Captian_Zero
21-04-2004, 03:53 PM
Jeffo

Coming up for 13 years in the finance industry

Currently a credit analyst - making recommendations whether to lend businesses money (or not) after an intensive examination of their balance sheet and profit & loss.

If you are good with numbers, more than a bit anally retentive, and can handle everyone else in the organisation disliking you, then it's the job for you. It also helps if you can spell NO.

P.S. Seriously, a bit of lateral thinking helps. Finding a way to do a deal for millions of dollars can be exciting. Watching a deal you recommended go pear shaped also gets the adrenlin running but not a good feeling.

klyons
21-04-2004, 05:16 PM
Started as an apprentice fitter, worked as fitter/mechanic for 15 years and now Loco driver on the Downs. Like Poss said, good job if you cant sleep, don't care what day it is(can't remember most times) but hands clean and pay is OK

Kev

Maria
21-04-2004, 05:35 PM
Graduated from school three years ago and immediately went into a Bachelor of Business Management degree at Griffith University, Logan campus. Got the shits with continuing study straight after 12 years of it, so I deferred my studies to work some jobs.

Worked a number of small time jobs such as a brush hand for a house painter, chinese restaurant waiter, pizza hut delivery driver (Dougie... ;D) etc. While I was doing this type of work, spent a lot of time considering what I really wanted to do. Ended up submitting an application for the Australian Army to which I was accepted and enlisted in October of 2002. Spent a short period of time in the Army as an infantry soldier (grunt) before dislocating my knee in a training exercise. Due to the severity of the injury, the army discharged me as not fit for service.

Since then, I worked a variety of more shit jobs and contemplated whether I really wanted to stay in uni or not. Finally I came to the conclusion that even if I didn't want to do top level management one day, I could at least use my degree as credit to gain acceptance into other courses that I want to study.

As yet I still don't know exactly where I want to go with my studies. At present, I'm studying the degree and spend any money I have at Dooley's Meadowbrook between lectures. ;D

So, you're not alone mate. I've drawn probably as much inspiration from other blokes' replies as you have. What I can agree with though, is get into something you want to do....not something that's going to pay you shitloads.

My ten cents worth.

basserman
21-04-2004, 06:57 PM
let me tell you ben and jeff it is nice to have a job where you bring in the BIG bucks but only after a few years of 7 day a week 6 of them being 10+days it was nice to have the $1000 clear a week but i had NO life what so ever no fishing no family no mates so after that being my own boss delivering little parcles to people and the occasional nice looking female in her bra and nickers is alot better and now i have HEAP more time for fishing ;D
some time the best jobs are the ones where you get less money butmore qulity time ;D

snappa
21-04-2004, 07:03 PM
34years and still not sure what i do.
but i know i go fishing not sure the boss likes it but he hasnt said any thing to me
only "wheres my fish"

22-04-2004, 03:24 AM
I am a scientist. Work in cancer research in a State Governent research institute. Had to do 8 years at uni - BSc. hons and PhD. The money isn't great considering the amount of time at uni not earning a cent (and these days going in reverse racking up a HECS debt), but the hours are flexible and I do find some interest and satisfaction in the research. Also I am on 3 year contracts and if the research doesn't produce good results well within 3 years, the research grant probably won't be renewed and I will be looking for another position.

My first job after my PhD involved research on marine organisms - ascidians - which required me to spend about 10 weeks a year on Heron Is collecting them. That was great fun and I caught some nice fish up there after work too!

BTW, I am not a Fuc#ing BOFFIN!!

22-04-2004, 04:50 AM
Went straight from school to Uni studying Mech Engineering - pipe dream of doing Naval Architechture - but stuffed around too much and didn't finish a degree after 4 years of full-time study. Went home and tried to complete the 3 year degree externally for a couple of years but the extra time I gained by not running amuck like I was, was then taken up by fishing. Worked for an Architechtural model maker for 6 months down in Brisbane on a flat $7 an hour and sulked off home after doing the head on my 4cyl Cortina for the third time. Arsed a job at one of the local councils as a Technical Officer (Draftsman/Surveyor/Engineers Rousabout) and have been here ever since - 7 years. Pay is OK, cost of living is cheap up here and I know no different being a local. Benefits of local government employment is everything is by an award or EBA, super is good, job security is good, they are pretty flexible with work hours and RDOs which really suits fishermen. With my experience now I could probabably get a lot more pay in private enterprise but the job I am in now is strictly 8:00-4:30 and if you don't get something done today it is there for you tommorrow. I expect there would be a lot more stress and deadlines to meet in private industry.

22-04-2004, 09:00 AM
Seen the number of hits on this thread? Man's thirst for knowledge about other fishos seems pretty strong.

Good thread Jeffo. As a relative newbie I appreciate being given this insight into some of the members here.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-04-2004, 09:42 AM
ghigh s[peed typisst & fishing legend

come on someone had to be stoopid & I do it better than most

Science degree & Diploma of teaching
Bachelor of Applied Science Built Environment (Industrial Design)
Graduate Diploma in the same

my old man (& great friend & mentor) died in the year i was graduating & I guess I lost motivation for things material & took a long break surfing & fishing - mostly on North Straddie & when I came back to reality jsut started working in the family business (not using the degrees) which is where I am today - renting cars & operating parking facilities.

Dr_Dan
22-04-2004, 10:20 AM
One of my mates has what i think would be the ULTIMATE job!

He left school, then worked on cruise ship for 12months out of Cairns. #Wasn't happy with that, so headed over to the mediteranian, and basically walked along the warves where all the superyachts are based, and asked for a job. Only had a couplea grand to live off, was down to his last $$$ when he got a job on a 160ft luxury yacht. So he's now working on this yacht (motor yacht), spends half the year in the med, then the other half of the hear in the carribean!!!! #Now this is no tinny, cost's $160,000 a week to hire it out (US$), that doesn't include food, fuel, taxes, docking fees, and of course the customary tip for the crew. #They claim overall cost is over $250,000 a week (US)!!!!!!! #

Did a charter not that long ago, a week. #It was for a guy (owned a diamond mine), his wife, and two daughters. #Now my mates job was to look after the 6yr old. #It involved, in the mornign, play pirates on the deck of the ship. #Then take them out on the Banana behind the speed boat tender. #Of course he had to ride the banana as well. #Then for the arvo, took the kids out on the jetskis for the arvo. #Did this for a week. #At the end of teh chater, the bloke handed the skipper $US25,000 CASH! #in $20 notes. #$2,500 tip isn't too bad for mucking around all day. #

Now i dunno about you guys, but i reackon i could get used to cruising around the carribean making an absolute killing!!

Worst thing is, he always sends me pics and info while i'm locked up in good old townsville, madly busting my ass studying!!!! >:(

jeffo
22-04-2004, 11:27 AM
i saw a thing on one of the current afair shows a few weeks ago on aprentice's and trainees.. one of the guys that they interveiwed had in my mind one of my dream jobs... he was doing an electrical aprenticeship... wait for it... for RIVIERRA!! >:( is this just a case of "being in the right place at the right time" or "its not what you know.. its WHO you know"? :-/

boatboy50
22-04-2004, 11:39 AM
Good Thread,
I left school in 1994 in yr 10. Went into computer operator and engraving specialist, led 5 juniors within 12 months.
Did that for three years, cos i knew no better, for shite pay.
My interest in the marine industry bugged me all along, so one day i asked for a job as a detailer and fit out for a major boat manufacturer. With no experience, just a desire, i got the job.
Three years later, good pay, but got sick of fibreglass dust, itching and factory work. Left with desire to get working in the outdoors.
Landed the perfect job, driving boats for watersports companies. Awesom fun, meet awesome ppls and enjoy the water while being paid for it. Its a great job, the pays good, but always working public hols, weekends ect, which means no real social life. Like a builder, if it rains, you dont go to work! Four years later, am starting to get over the sunshine and heat, and abnormal hours worked.
Started working as a second job as a marine journalist (do u think i like boats?), to which its paying off now, and am working toward making it a full time job. Its the perfect compromise, indoors for 2-3 days a week on the comp, outdoors 2-3 days a week on boats.
Gotta love that. Fingers crossed!

Hutcho
22-04-2004, 11:48 AM
oh, Darren you bastard! What a great way to make money and live life to the full as well on the water. Wish you all the best!

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-04-2004, 12:56 PM
jeffo,

never ever forget the word network - everyone you know & meet knows someone else.

Whatever you do - always do your best - even if you hate it - cause at least you'll be proud of the result & have something to show someone else. Besides someone may be watching, wondering if that hard working jeffo lad would fit in to his boat building team. And for that reason, always sell, sell, sell your bosses business - it's not so much your qualifications but your committment to the task that will impress.

best o luck in the search - enjoy the journey & don't be so focussed on a specific destination that you miss interesting side tracks along the way.

ps keep fishing - interaction with nature helps maintain your perspective

Nugget
22-04-2004, 01:24 PM
My advice would be think long and hard before you make your decision and try as many different jobs as you can.
I vividly remember lying awake at night as a young married man, working in my brother-in-law’s takeaway, wondering what I was going to do with myself – how I was going create a future for myself and my family.

I had something like 20 jobs as a young fella but they all got in the way of fishing.
I've never been sacked from a job in my life but have been in plenty of situations where you hate every moment you're at work.
As well as fishing, I was always tinkering with electronics, CB, ham radio etc.
I eventually went to uni (at 26 years old with three toddlers) and did an engineering degree in electronics.
I’ve been in the trade for over 20 years now – gone from working for a boss to running my own TV/video repair business for 10 years, then back to working for a boss although as a State Manager.
Eventually the office and management gave me the tom tits and I went back to uni for 4 years and did my second degree (communications) – just so I could stay out of the workforce legitimately!
For the past 8 years I’ve made a meagre living from rec fishing – unfortunately there is no money in rec fishing in Australia.
During all this time I never got sick of or lost interest in electronics.
I have recently started up back in the repair business although on a much smaller scale working from my home based workshop.
While I don’t admit it too often, I am a keen muso – I play guitar.
I’ve found a small market in the repair of electronic equipment for bands – sound and stage gear which is keeping my busy of late.
I never get sick of starting a new repair – I often find myself – even on my days off, Sunday arvo, having a ‘quick look’ at that new job that came in.
I think that is the key – find something that you enjoy, something that you can get interested in at the drop of a hat – and look for a career in that field.
I discovered very early that I don’t get a kick out of manual labour.
I have mates that power on through hot sweaty jobs and love it – not me.
Give me a multimeter and some peace and quite and I’ll work all day without realising what time it is or that I missed my lunch break!
Dig deep and discover what your strengths and interest are and ‘walk that way’.

Just my 2-bobs worth.

Dave ><>

PS – I have a bit of experience with the adult education system – I have 2 x Batchelor degrees both as an adult entrant –let me know if I can help.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-04-2004, 01:30 PM
geez nugget are you THAT old, no wonder ya bones are brittle ;D

Nugget
22-04-2004, 01:33 PM
Make all the jokes you like Chris - You can't upset me.
I just got a call from Mono and guess where I'll be at daylight tomorrow morning!!
Up to my screaming reels in mackerel.... and loving it.

Dave ><>

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-04-2004, 01:40 PM
just hope that other wrist & ya hip holds out eh

by the way....

WHAT THE HELL DOES WITCHY JUMP CHIMPETERS mean
aghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!

Nugget
22-04-2004, 01:50 PM
If I told you that I'd have to remove your ears, eyes and toung - IT'S THAT SECRET!

Dave ><>

bazzaman
22-04-2004, 01:54 PM
great stuff boys!!! Some great thoughts there! Im currently going through the same thing, do i wanna do this for the rest of my life....Im currently in Retail as a manager and cant stand it.....thinking of studying to get into the fisheries next year now that would be a great job.....Well for me anyway....Catchin all those theivin bastards out there!....Good dreamn anyway!

good thread jeff!

adrian
22-04-2004, 02:28 PM
hi i'm a bus driver for a private bus company . i enjoy it as the
freebees are good free entry to dreamworld etc . and free food .
the grape vine says mt gravatt buses is looking for a diesel mechanic .

anzac

22-04-2004, 03:30 PM
Jeremy...they gotta keep that money going on the cancer research...both my parents have terminal cancer..I would give absolutely anything for a cure for that appalling disease.

staggy
22-04-2004, 03:42 PM
G-day Jefo, I left school at 16 to work at the Malanda milk factory. 18 months down the road got board so I headed west to work in the shearing sheds. While out west I became interested in roo shooting so I scored a job with a professional shooter. From that I went to dry land farming and stock work. Long hours and poor pay but the life style was great. 12 years down the track I was still working on the land (with an 18 month break working for myself roo shooting) only I had changed to cotton farming as the money was better. By now the family had grown from ME to a missus and three rug rats. Isolation from schooling and medical for the family was one of the reasons I moved to the coast. Only took a week to get a job in Gladstone as a trades assistant for a small engineering company. Three months down the track they offered me and adult apprenticeship(I was almost 30 years old at the time) as a fitter/machinist. Only catch was they would only pay me $200 a week for the first two years. With some assistance from social security I decided to take it on. Done it tough for the first 3 years but was determined to see it through. Done with out a lot of things. Finished my time and stayed on for another 2 years. Made the move to Mt Isa to gain some more experriance as a machinist. While there got interested in mobile line boring and scored a job doing that for 12 months before moving to Mackay to take a position as a line borer. Im now settled and very happy with my current job. I do bulk hours but Im payed extreamly well and I think I will stay with it as long as my body can take the hours. Not too bad for a kid from a small town who would never make anything of his life, or so I was always told.

Staggy

Brett_Finger
22-04-2004, 04:06 PM
Staggy,
good going mate,
i'm 41 and roo shoting - Pig Hunting ( for box) Fishing Guide and Boat Building ( bakeing :-)) at this age i gotta make up my mind soon.... you'd think #::)
hookin,Brett ( and still makeing no money. hehehehe)

22-04-2004, 04:26 PM
I got tired just reading Dave's life long history ;D
Life is what you make of it as far as im concerned.
If you no that song "I've been everywhere Man" #;D that me.
Left Bowen in 68, yep long time ago, i'd say a majority of you blokes were'nt even a twinkle in someones eyes then ;D.
Joined the RAAF (Radio Communications) Lived in Adelaide/Melbourne/Sydney/Townsville/Darwin/Perth/New Guinea compliments of the Air Force.
Had some wild times with women, new all the Pubs ;D and did some fanstatic Fishing especially in Arnhem Land and other areas, you can even get into some of these places now with all these land rite issues, have chase everything from Whites to Whiting.
Wanted to head back to Bowen when i was discharged, but found a woman that wanted to live in this fair city. >:(
Was sick of shift work and radios so became a Garbo, yep a Garbo #;D for #8 years, start at 5am finished by 8am, not bad money either, tons of beer every chrissy and it kept you bloody fit, also had a second job, otherwise i was out fishing 2-3 times a week. :-X
Made redudant when the machines took over.
So brought a Milk Run sold it then brough a Tip Top Bread Run, long hours but good bread ;D.
Sold the Run and brought my present business at Albion.
Now the bones are feeling their age, but heh thats life. Wouldnt change any of it, except maybe for a few meetings with the boys in blue :-X
Yep you could call me a Old Fart, but heh i've made it this far ;D

Sportfish_5
22-04-2004, 04:40 PM
Jeffo - Lots of good advice here. I did an apprenticeship as a diesel fitter working on earthmoving equipment. Still working in a similar industry now as an Account Manager selling Underground Mining Equipment for a Swedish/Finnish based company and earn a good living. I get to travel extensively throughout Australia and even to Europe, Sth Africa and the US every few years. Like all things it has good and bad points ie good money/travel commitments are hard on family life but with a good wife/family you can get through difficult times.
Looking back from where I am I can see the path that lead me here but during the ride I was still unsure if I had made the right decision to put the tools away but unless you take chances when they come up you never know where you can go.

My advice is simply believe in yourself, be willing to take a chance if there is potential to gain valuable experience (even if it means less money for awhile) and grab hold tightly while on the ride and know when to hop off.

Nothing will just happen for you. You have to make it happen.

Mattman
22-04-2004, 04:50 PM
Hey fellas
We'll my life story story is short as i am only 17 ;). I finished grade 12 in November, and by January i found an apprenticeship as a stonemason. There's some heavy lifting, but the works ok, and i'll only be 21, turning 22 when i finish the trade, which is a pretty handy thing at that age in ya life :) :). Then i'll see what happens ??? ;D.

nonibbles
22-04-2004, 06:02 PM
When I left school I wanted to be a pro musician but also decided to go into nursing school and become a registered nurse so that I would never be out of work. #Well as always happens one becomes a bit more dominant in the priorities and as I gained more responsibilities (wife, house, family etc) I realized that one part of my dream would stop. #I could no longer be bumping out of pubs at 3am and then start a morning shift at seven. #If I didn't change, it wouldn't be long before I had nothing. #I gave up the music (selfish single persons persuit) and concentrated upon the nursing. #Although I am not in a position to say I've made it by any means I am in charge of two specialties in the operating theatre and also a qualified WHOSO. #Eventually I have a plan to achieve the goal of running the operating theatres of a busy hospital. #I have explored many tangents which have added strings to my bow but the target has styed the same.
My advice is go out and explore but set some goals. #Life will present you with many choices but eventually you will have to make a committment or two. #If you stay focussed on your goals evrything you will have learned along the way is what gets you there and you will be a more rounded person for it. #But if you don't select the destination you won't know when you get there. #Good luck.

Mudcrab
23-04-2004, 08:28 AM
Work? Aaagggggghhhhhh! I flew Jumbo jets around the world till I got sick of trying to stay awake at night, tired of the lobster thermadore and making obscene amounts of money! Now I just fish! Works for me!

priemsy
23-04-2004, 01:06 PM
Nothing now. Been forced out into the paddock. Enjoying what I can. Life is as good as you make it

23-04-2004, 02:43 PM
Left school at 15 when I got an apprenticeship with the Big T ;D. Finished appreticeship at the ripe old age of 19 [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]. Looked after all the telephone exchanges in western Sydney as a shift worker for the next 5 years. Money was great, lifestyle was great until I happened to visit the Gold Coast. Thats it, thats where I wanted to be. So in the next 12 months packed the fiance up & moved. still managed to stay with Telstra, but dropped 20k in wages :-[ :-[ :-[, took some shit jobs tying to find some that interested me. From customer service, to looking after Radio and optic fibre systems all over Qld. Finally landed a Job on the coast looking after Foxtel & Cable modems, back on the shift work & earning top coin 8) [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]. That lasted another 3 years & then they disbanded my section. Now look after all that is Broadband from ADSL, ISDN to Cable modems and Satellite services. Networks etc etc, bla bla bla... bit of a jack of all trades.

Am 31, have a nice house x 2, good car, BIG boat, understanding missus & 2 kiddies that keep me sane.... or is that insane???

Have a plan with goals & work toward them. Without goals you will get no where fast and learn from your mistakes.

I'm afraid that no matter what you choose if its some sort of traineeship/apprenticship that you will be treated the same as the 17yo thats wet behind the ears. Its what happens 4 years down the track that really matters.

Quinny69
23-04-2004, 02:46 PM
NoNibbles, I thaught I was reading my own post.I left school(did OKish) straight into music Ind,"Those were the best days of my life"I hate that song.Never made anymoney,Our record co did, travelled, meet heaps of ppl and generally had a ball,5yrs latter and a few BAD CDs, the band busted and I went to studdy nursing,Why? I have no idea.Ive been a nurse scince and I HATE IT, Im in aged care and am basiclly waiting for my patients to kick the bucket,and trying to make there last days alil more comfy and cheery.The good thing about Nursing is you can work as little as you can $tand, and bein in an industry thats 99% chicks sounds OK at 1st,Its not, they cant do anything whithout DRAMAS.I would love to become a Fishing Guide on a well stocked Dam that I know like the back of my hand. Good to get 2 know you guys a bit more, good thread. Qny

23-04-2004, 04:25 PM
I'm also writting everyones occupation down, incase I need a favour... ;D ;D ;D ;D

trevcob
23-04-2004, 04:31 PM
Track worker for Q rail. pays the bills

BlitzBaga
23-04-2004, 05:41 PM
What I'd really like to do is apply the sunscreen on the gorgeous chicks on the beach down the goldcoast :o, I think I'd get myself in strife though ;D.

Murray

sharkbait
23-04-2004, 07:05 PM
Ok Jeffo, I'm in the same boat as you (actually mines better lol). I'm 22, when someone asks me where i want to be in 10yrs time i just give them a blank stare, wouldnt have a clue. So this makes good reading for me too. I'm currently studying at uni which I highly recommend, if you havent got anything better. lots of time for fishing anyway.

Anyway for Nugget if hes reading this, maybe you could take a look at a guitar amp i have here, it is a yamaha going on 30yrs old, which i would like to fix up for sentimental reasons (I can't afford another one) It hasnt skipped a beat until a couple of months ago, on the way home in the ute hit a big bump. Now as soon as you turn it on it has a really loud "crackling" noise, someone suggested it may be a fuse but i cant find one. Want ot avoid sending it to yamaha if possible.

Fitzy
23-04-2004, 07:16 PM
Work for a Brisbane Marine dealer/tackle store at present. Maybe not for much longer......... ;D

Fitzy..

jeffo
24-04-2004, 02:30 AM
lmao kris... yeah mate your boat is a hell of a lot better than mine ;D ::) :-[

i am surprised at how well this thread has gone.. givven alot of insight and made me realise how many jobs people go through.... still hope for me yet ;D :-X

Take5
24-04-2004, 04:17 AM
Im a cartographer

I compile charts of all the main entrances to harbours and major rivers for the Austrlian and New Zealand Navy

Bringback_the_esky
24-04-2004, 06:39 AM
well boys and gals,
I have been a professional drinker for most of my life ( burp)
Just as well i own shares in VB, otherwise i couldnt afford to drink all day.
But seriously, i made my first million by the age of 28,, and lost by the time i was 30. (shit happens)
But i love me fishin and me mates,, and thats what its all about in the end.
hav a good one

ba229
24-04-2004, 07:05 AM
After the HSC i didn't want to go to uni so i stumbled into an apprenticeship with qantas as an aircraft maintenence engineer. after 4 years i was transferred to melbourne (or have no job).

when i started i really thougth a company like that would look after you. spent 5 years hating what i was doing but due to some shitty EBA's i couldn't move around without losing money that i couldn't afford to lose.

so after 9 years i left and started uni last year to become a high school teacher. it is the best thing i ever did.

i remember the wife and i went on a holiday in the middle of a cold melbourne winter up to Port Douglas. sitting back in the pool in nice weather i dreaded the thought of going back to melbourne. 6 months later i moved back to newcastle which is where i was from.

i didn't like the idea of uni when i left school and it was only 10 years later that i got the urge to learn again.

i will always remember the feeling of hatred as i walked into work each day to spend 8 hours with guys i hated doing the same job that i had done 100's of times before. if i ever get sick of my teaching job to the point that it was like at qantas i will quit without hesitation.

life is too short to do what you hate.

even if you have nothing,earn nothing but are happy you are better off than alot of others.

jazzy_g
24-04-2004, 09:21 AM
i was a plumbers assitance doing copper # hard woork #also letter box drops i want to be a deck hand but im to young im only 14

imported_admin
24-04-2004, 09:53 AM
Jeffo, great topic.

Well you asked for it ;D

Left school and started my apprenticeship as an Electrician (Fitter Mechanic), 4 years, in Dalby. Finished my apprenticeship and spent a few years there as a tradesman. While doing my last two years as a tradesman I was also doing discos at local pubs and parties. Got sick of doing the same old thing day in day out so quit my day job and just did discos for a couple of years. Got a bit bored having nothing much to do during the day except stuff around on the Commodore 64 so got a job at Tubemakers in internal sales. Did this for a few years and then transferred to Brisbane.

Couldn’t handle working in the office environment in a larger city office, too much office politics, so got a job as a sales rep for an electrical company calling on Electrical Wholesalers and Electricians.

Did this for a few years and then took up a transfer with the company to Sydney as the NSW State Sales Manager for 3 years. This ended up lasting for 4 ˝ years when I decided I needed to get out of Sydney and this job or it would shorten my life and marriage. Transferred back to Brisbane as the National Sales Manager. Did this for just under a year and decided it was time to get out.

Started up Ausfish over 10 years ago and sunk all my savings into it over a couple of years until it started making a couple of dollars to maintain itself. Anyway, the rest as they say is History.

About 4 ˝ years ago out of general interest I decided to do a massage course at TAFE. Just thought I would do one of the modules and see if I liked it. Well I loved it so much I did the entire course and after 12 months I received my Certificate 3 in Massage Therapy. 2 years later I did my upgrade to Certificate 4. I am now 10 weeks off finishing my Diploma in Remedial Massage.

I now know what it is that I was meant to do, only took me nearly 40 years to find it out. It is a fantastic field to be in, have met some fantastic people as I have worked as a volunteer therapist at events such as the World Masters, Golden Oldies World Rugby, Lest We Forget Marathon and Cancer Fund Relay for Life just to name a few. I have set up a clinic at home and have been slowly but steadily building up a client list over the past few years. Will be working all next weekend as a volunteer massage therapist at the Cancer Fund Relay for Life on Saturday as well as the Lest We Forget Marathon on Sunday. So if any one is in these events feel free to drop in for a massage. May not have much time to chat, the last few years it has been flat out for 6 hours straight at each event.

The latest research shows that the average Australian changes careers about every 7 years. So it is unlikely that you will be doing what you love doing from the start of your working life. Just get out there and get as much experience and knowledge as you can. If you can’t get out of bed in the morning with a smile on your face and go to work, change jobs.

When you find the right occupation you will know.

http://www.asrmassage.com.au/images/asrmassagebanner.jpg
http://www.asrmassage.com.au (http://www.asrmassage.com.au)

aido
24-04-2004, 10:32 AM
i'm an avionics engineer, aviation electronics that is.
the thing about it is you learn something new just about every day.
been doing that for 29 years, since i left school in year 10
in 1975. wouldn't change to anything else except maybe sitting at
home waiting for fair weather and the next fish'in trip. :D

kingmad
24-04-2004, 11:53 AM
Hey guys,
Pinhead sorry to hear about your parents mate. My grandparents fell to cancer. I hope things go good for your parents. These days it can be dealt with....
I too was lost once Jeffo.
Life Story:
Came from Yugoslavia as a refugee 12 years ago.. Did year 10,11 and 12. The whole time I had a part time job at you gest it MCadee's. They wanted me to stay on as a manager but I just didn't like the place. So, I went to Coles for a management position in which they paid for my college fees. After I got my diploma I worked of what I had to and gave it up. Like they say in show business "never work with animals or kids" ;). So, after all that I was out there not knowing what I really wanted to do.
I got my self an apprentenship as a refrigeration mechanic. I have been with the same company for the last 8 years. And have done everything from mechanical eng. to controls. I am currently running the controls division of the company and loving it. I never considered a trade before but I am glad I did know because it gave me much more insight into life then anything else.
By the way I don't know about up there but down here in Sydney there is a big shortage on A/C mechanics and we are seeing some top dollar handed out to Fridgees.

Bojan

24-04-2004, 12:07 PM
Bojan,

Huge shortage of fridgies up here also but you use ya brain..train your own. My son is now a fridgie and just started my son in law as an adult apprentice. I had over 10 years off the tools but got back on them..more money there and loving every minute of it.

The will never be a shortage of work in the air conditioning game..so if any of you Brisbane guys need any work ..just holler...Steve will probably delete this for me trying to rustle up some extra business on here without paying.

argonautical
24-04-2004, 04:57 PM
Wow what a thread! What a diverse lot we fishos are!

For my part, economics degree at Sydney Uni, met a Brisbane girl on a boat cruise, fell in love with them all. The girl ,the boat and Brisbane.......nearly 30 years ago now. Worked in a few accounting firms then started my own (one man) accounting/tax practice. Being you own boss is great, but no question where the buck stops. Now looking at semi-retirement which equals more time to be on the water. Have always gone for lifestyle ahead of the cash.

Looking back, probably wouldn't change too many things, which is a good sign, although wish I could have read all these posts 30 years ago.

I believe that you regret the things you didn't do, rather than those you did but shouldn't have.

Final thought.....read the book "The Richest Man in Babylon". Its only short and in plain English. If you follow its principles you will manage money rather than it managing you. Translates to more time on the water. I admit to having trouble in that area from time to time.

Argo

argonautical
24-04-2004, 05:04 PM
Oh and one more thing........

I also run a finance brokerage business along side the accounting practice and happy to help fellow Qld Ausfish members with housing loans etc. If you want a second opinion or just curious about something send me a pm.

Argo

Brett_Finger
25-04-2004, 02:59 AM
WOW!!!
it just blows me out how our love for fishing ties us all toughter,"ya gotta be happy with that"

now with all these smart ausfish members around you think someone would read allllllll these posts and put up another #post with all the Job descriptions on it...... #::)

Hookin,Brett ( wayyyyy to slow to work out job description list. hehehehe)

Brett_Hoskin
25-04-2004, 04:34 AM
I manage an equipment rental company supplying the Bowen Basin mining fraternity and supporting businesses.

I was on holiday and stumbled over an advert in the Newspaper whilst in Cairns. Sent in a resume', went to Townsville for an interview and 5 weeks later started the job in Mackay.

Getting a job.........what a way to ruin a Holiday.

Nugget
25-04-2004, 05:36 AM
Now let me see if I've got this right - just for future reference!

s.turry – plumber
bungie - plumber/drainer
jeffo - landscaping/paver
bubba - electrical construction
adamleah - sparky for a big transport company
clutter - I work for a brewery
SCOTTYGC - i work at a large golf coarse resort
Paz - boilermaker/welder
Remo - A Licenced Plumber,Drainer, Gasfitter
Sominc - retail jewellery
Raefpud - restaurant manager and food and beverage manager
PinHead - Refrigeration Mechanic by trade
Blaze - Diesel fitter by trade
Jaybee - Life Style Worker
Stark - Had my own company for the last 20 years
LYNDO - Motor Mechanic by trade
Bugman - Executive Producer of External and Emerging Platforms ABC New Media
Kingtin - I now care for 5 kids full-time
Dazza - i am a registered nurse
Firetruck - I do health research
DR - I am a signwriter
Brissyguy - Am now Business Development Manager
Billo - Business Analyst
Stack - Qantas at Bris airport puttin the piss on the planes
Mundi - I'm an air traffic controller
BlitzBaga - I spent 20yrs as a fitter and turner, now production manager
Agnes-jack - Have been running the tackle store for about 3.5 years
DRDan - Professional UNI BUM
Poss - Locomotive driver coal trains
Basserman - courier driver
SeaHunt - Computer Programmer
Nictim - My brother and I have an import export business
Whitesfire - Fire Extinguisher sales and service in Cairns
NeilD - I lease and/or manage public swimming pools
Cheech - Currently manage a system support team for a consulting company.
CaptainZero - Currently a credit analyst
Klyons - now Loco driver on the Downs
Maria - At present, I'm studying the degree
Snappa - 34years and still not sure what i do
Jeremy - I am a scientist
Smithy - Technical Officer
CHRIS-aka-GWH - renting cars & operating parking facilities
Boatboy50 - driving boats for watersports companies, marine journalist
Nugget – electronics / rec fishing
Bazzaman - Im currently in Retail as a manager
Anzac - i'm a bus driver
Stagy - mobile line boring
Brett Finger - roo shooting - Pig Hunting Fishing Guide and Boat Building
Webby - call me a Old Fart
Sportfish_5 - Account Manager selling Underground Mining Equipment
Mattman – apprenticeship as a stonemason
Nonibbles - registered nurse
VMR Vicky Point - I flew Jumbo jets
Priemsy - Been forced out into the paddock
Heath - look after Broadband to Cable modems and Satellite services.
Quinny69 – Nursing
Trevcob - Track worker for Q rail
Sharkbait - I'm currently studying at uni (yeah give me a PM on your amp.)
Fitzy - Work for a Brisbane Marine dealer/tackle store at present
Take5 - Im a cartographer
Bringback_the_esky - I have been a professional drinker for most of my life
Ba229 - started uni last year to become a high school teacher
Jazzy_g - plumbers assistance
Ausfish - Electrician (Fitter Mechanic), ASR Massage
Aido - avionics engineer, aviation electronics
Kingmad - refrigeration mechanic
argonautical - one man) accounting/tax practice, brokerage business
Brett_H - manage an equipment rental company

Brett_Hoskin
25-04-2004, 05:52 AM
Isnt it a pity that a barter system couln't be set up . There is a wealth of knowledge and skills here.

Another observation is that Nugget and Brett Finger are the only people with the word FISH listed in their occupation.

BJP
25-04-2004, 06:07 AM
G`day all, in my younger days I worked on cattle stations, now I`m a plant operator in the mining game, so all my horses are under the bonnet ;D

jimbamb
25-04-2004, 06:58 AM
Geeeezzzzz,
Sounds like everyones got a job but me!!!!!!
Used to worK in retail(Supermarkets)Now I do volunteer driving for the local Respite centre and Meals on Wheels.Keeps me off the streets.

25-04-2004, 10:01 AM
OK, I suppose a non-smart-arse response is called for.

Good post Jeff # ;)

Painter. ( Commercial & Domestic Decorative Engineer )

New domestic and commercial, note I said NEW. I have enough trouble getting to work 5 days a week, without the rellies asking me to do re-paints on the weekend.
Other ' jobs' were, manager of a Brissie pub, Army, PI and deckie.

Ideal job.........mmmmmmmm that's coming up.
In the process of manufacturing an item for the fishing industry for sale in the wholesale arena.
Been offered crew/ skipper duties on H/bay Charter boats, which, once the right Qual's are gained, that's where I'm heading.

Yes Dave, quiet a cross section of careers here.

I'm sure that you or Steve can get together and provide a list of people with skills etc, who are williing to barter/ trade with others here.

ON that note, should anyone require " Paint " at the right price or need 'advice' on painting, please feel free to pm me.

I forgot to mention one of my very first jobs. #I worked at Tip Top bakery in the Donut section. Can't tell you how I made the holes in #the Donuts, cause you'd never eat one again #:o # # ::) ;D

Cheers Phill ( sorry Jeff ) ;D

vortfu
25-04-2004, 03:35 PM
programmer.

Cloud_9
25-04-2004, 04:56 PM
well Phill thats probably why your wife married you, being a baker with suggar coatings.LOL.
well at the end of my school days it was apparent that being the class clown wasn't going to get me a job, and not being too smart with the books, i found that i was very good with my hands ( but not typing or spelling :-X)
liked wood work and drawing at hygh school. got a job making hats for TAA hosties.next job was an apprentice or he said it was making furniture for amart.
I was his hole work force i did everything myself, coffee tables, waterbeds and shibell mirrors that was what he got me to make.got apprenticship as Chippy in 1980, 1 year out of apprenticship started subbieing , been doing it ever since,works hard sometimes but i've got a lot of nice toys, and it pays the bills. if your only a 10watt bulb start with an apprenticship , if'n your a bit briter get more edumacated first do what u like to do . i liked making things, now i make houses for people.

Gorilla_in_Manila
25-04-2004, 05:31 PM
Jeffo,

Here is what NOT to do if you want a life anytime soon.

Straight after year 12, completed a Bacherlor of Engineering (Civil).
First job I got was building high voltage transmission lines. A bit over two years up and down the east coast of Aus living in construction dongas.
2months Coffs harbour, 6 or 7 days a week, 10 - 12 hours a day
2months Lithgow, 6 or 7 days a week, 10 - 12 hours a day
8months Coffs again, 6 days a week, 10 - 12 hours a day
All the above involved around 300km per day 4WDing up and down the line route.
1month Sydney HQ, 5 days a week, 10 hours a day, boring weekends
4 months Singlton, 6 or 7 days a week, 12 hours a day
8 months Brisbane, 5 sometimes 6 days a week, 10 hours a day, luxury- got home to fish a couple of times per month.
Then they asked me if would consider going over to work in Malaysia for maybe 6 or 12 months. Said, "Yep, Why not!" Went home that night and grabbed an atlas to find out where the hell Malaysia was (knew it was up near Singapore or Thailand somewhere, no idea on history, religion, culture, races, etc etc).
4 months Sydney HQ, general office shit pissing around waiting for Malaysian contract.
End '92 sent to Malaysia, stiff shit about being home for christmas.
12 months, telecoms towers all around Peninsular Malaysia.
Then 8 months helping out my room mate who was Project Manager on a transmission line job just south of KL. 6 sometimes 7 days a week, 10 - 12 hours a day
Then went to Sri Lanka for 5 months or so as PM / Site Engineer / Norman the Foreman / Rigger / Fitter and stuck up a few Telecoms towers and some cable racks and mounts and stuff.
Back to Malaysia.
1 Month optic fibre splicing and testing training and then doing it.
Got nominated as the Project Manager for a upcoming 500kV Transmission Line job.
3 or 4 months prepwork and miscellaneous tender visits and optic fibre stuff, before being awarded the job.
2 years as PM for that job.
1st 6 months, mainly 6 days a week, 12 hours a day
Next 12 months, mainly 7 days a week, 12 - 14 hours a day. Worked most sundays for about 4 to 6 hours. Think my record without a day off was close to three months straight at one point.
Last 6 months, 6 days a week, 10 hours a day. Refused to go into work sundays.
Pretty burnt out by this stage, but finished the job.
Should have sat around for the next 6 months for winding up stage and took it easy#for awhile on 5 days a week and 8 hour days. But quit and took a job with a local Malaysian company as their Operations Manager, 3 or 4 telcoms construction projects and half a dozen tower supply jobs. That lasted a bit over a year and a half and was luxury at 5 and 1/2 days per week, 9 hours a day.
Sick of working OS so flew back to aus and lurked around home for about 6 months. 6 to 12 months overseas had somehow turned into 6 and 1/2 years.
Just starting to wonder what I want to do when a mate calls, do I want 6 months work in the Philippines? Not really, but may as well since I've got nothing better in mind.
2 years, 6 days a week, 10 hours a day. 140 more telecoms towers planted.
Pretty burnt out again. Had about a year and a half off during which I got engaged, got married and got started on a family.
Just done another 7 months work compiling construction prices for some mobile phone networks.
4 1/2 months Philippines, 5 days a week, 8 hours a day for half of it, increased to 6 days 12 hours as the deadline aproached.
2 1/2 months Indonesia 6 days a week, 10 hours per day except the last 2 weeks which where 7 days and 14 hours.
This last 7 months have been more bearable coz I found ausfish and could keep sticking my nose in throughout the day at work, and dream of being back there fishing.

Anyway, that pretty well rooted 18 of the best years of my life.

The point in writing all that was, no pain, no gain. Think my pay cheque for the first years work was about half what most the labourers were getting. But fast learning and fast oppertunities and pretty rapid rise in pay after I had done my time and got the experience.

Interesting journey, pretty well set finacially now, but time to get a life I think.

Mmmm ...... packing shelves to pay a few bills and spending the rest of the time catching fish in a tinnie off the sunny coast sounds pretty good to me.

Good Luck, hope you work out what you would like to do and have a life whilst doing it.

Jeff

darren
26-04-2004, 06:21 AM
formworker in construction here on sunny coast. As you know there building on everything up here at the moment. Pay is reasonable but hard to take working in mooloolaba watching all the boats going out and your stuck on the building site. Hard work but it pays the bills 8)

Randall
26-04-2004, 11:11 AM
Engineer for a pump company. Selling and troubleshooting for larger mining sector.

Good job, car, creditcard, blah blah blah....it`ll do me for a while but would eventually want to kick back on a few acres somewhere close to water.

Randall.

homebound
26-04-2004, 11:17 PM
An absolutely rivetting topic! Well done all you guys!
Just came across it after returning from Prague saying goodbye to parents before returning to OZ at last!
Advice? Its all been said already.
Career? Always in design graphics - last as self employed freelance graphic designer.
Localities? Sydney - London - Bermuda - Paris - London - Prague - Essex.
Future? Relocating to Currumbin with wife (nurse) and son (7) about 90% retired but unless fishing can keep me fully occupied (and why not?) will probably get involved in my sister's business (Mortgage Brokers) in Palm Beach.
Read through all the answers and my congratulations to you all for your depth of perception and honesty. Only in OZ.
Regards to all

bungie
27-04-2004, 07:28 AM
Localities? Sydney - London - Bermuda - Paris - London - Prague - Essex. <---- kinda went down hill at the end ?? ;D

27-04-2004, 08:18 AM
Localities? Sydney - London - Bermuda - Paris - London - Prague - Essex. #<---- kinda went down hill at the end ?? # #;D

Well it *would* do after meeting those Essex girls ;-)

LargeLzard
27-04-2004, 08:29 AM
Great topic! Amazing how fishing brings togeteher so manny different professions!

Myself a professional bean counter! That's right an acountant for one of the large global accounting firms. It kills me to sit at my PC during the week reading on the chat board (while I should be working off course) all of the guys going out and having the water all to themself! That's life!

I too start off in a trade pushing wheel barrows of concrete, then working for a chippy and finally going to uni to get a business degree.

Money is not great (not yet anyway) but it let me buy the boat I wanted. Can't ask for more than that!

Have thought about throwing it all in and working in NQ on trawler etc... Not sure where life will take me, still looking for that dream job. As one of the other guys said when you find you will know!

fisho
27-04-2004, 02:09 PM
Teacher - couldn't be happier. ;)

kabe
27-04-2004, 02:55 PM
Plant & Machinery valuer for an auctioneer, been doing it for about 14 years now, gets a bit hard at times being the vulture picking over the bones of someones dead livelyhood (company). Meet some really genuine people who have been screwed by the system or other less scrupulous business's. Meet some real a____holes who need to be in jail as well. But the pay is good and the hours long.

wannabe
27-04-2004, 03:07 PM
I went back to uni and did electrical engineering. I'm now a Project Manager in the defence industry. Good work and good pay.

savagetin
27-04-2004, 03:45 PM
Like others, started as a mechanic got "A" grade cert., Went to college (Tafe) for post trade courses, marine engines, hydraulics, pnumatics, air con, ABS, etc, etc. Started to climb the ladder making good money, cleaner job just handiing out work for others so they could get dirty. Then I went back to Tafe at night and started a business management course, hung in there for a couple of years but got tired of studying and having to hand in assignments. I worked shift work for nearly 20 years working most christmases and easters and weekends, good money but chucked it in and started up a lawn mowing business. My acquired skills are handy as I make my own trailers and do my own repairs on my vehicles.(And the rellys drop in when they want something done) Jeffo, if you do choose a high tech trade you should realize that you may have to spend a lot of nights at Tafe to keep up with technology. If I had my time over again I would be a weather forecaster with the BOM, doesn't matter what you forecast you still get a good pay at the end of the week. After a few years at that I'd go for governor. The firstmate (driver) can do all the boat preperaton and driving. Just got to get a towbar on the rolls for the boat. When you get home after fishing there's people that will scale, gut, fillet and even cook your fish for you. # # Good luck Jeffo

homebound
27-04-2004, 10:32 PM
Hi Bungie - Yep - downhill all the way - couldn't take the pace.

Kev - Obviously a man of good taste when it comes to girls. Essex girls are all you've ever dreamed of so eat your heart out - I'm married to one!

All you other fishers - keep up the info its fascinating.

28-04-2004, 03:28 AM
If we are discussing trade/barter of skills, I have nearly 20 years karate training and teaching behind me plus a few years experience in the security industry. I would be prepared to provide security at private parties to Ausfish members. I will be renovating a house soon, so trade for building trades would be good but anything considered.

28-04-2004, 03:42 AM
Hi Bungie - Yep - downhill all the way - couldn't take the pace.

Kev - Obviously a man of good taste when it comes to girls. Essex girls are all you've ever dreamed of so eat your heart out - I'm married to one!

All you other fishers - keep up the info its fascinating.

My taste is questionable. I married a Mexican (Frankston Victoria, raised in cornwall UK :-) Seriously, she's a cracker.......good 2nd mate and never dropped the anchor on the paintwork yet :-)

Don't know where the jokes about Essex girls originated? I think it was from the yuppie era when a lot of Essex girls were "high flyers".

28-04-2004, 11:01 AM
All of you fridgies out there.

Anyone looking from some boat fuel and tackle money on the side - my outside beer fridge keeps throwing all the powerpoints in the house.

Unless you want video production done - I can't barter but will pay cash ;)

Bugman (Fairfield Brisbane)

bungie
28-04-2004, 12:36 PM
Homebound, I was born in Harlow :)

Kingtin, grew up in Calne in Wiltshire :)

28-04-2004, 12:45 PM
Homebound, I was born in Harlow :)

Kingtin, grew up in Calne in Wiltshire :)

Hi Bungie.

Born and bred in Blackpool Lancashire.........a "sandgrown 'un"

28-04-2004, 12:54 PM
Brett, chuck the Cafferry's out and replace it with XXXX Gold, the fridge will return to normal ;D ;) :P

homebound
28-04-2004, 04:11 PM
Bungie, was born in Harlow.....so you must have had some contact with Essex girls?

Kingtin, born and bred in Blackpool Lancashire, grew up in Calne in Wiltshire......another nomad I see.

Any more 'Imports' out there? We may have enough to start a 'wingeing' subsection. Although I may not qualify not originating from the UK but the Czech Republic.

adamleah
28-04-2004, 06:48 PM
Bugman,

The problem will be that you have moisture going through the heater elements in the fridge coils..Its a common occurance with older fridges...

This leakage causes minor current loss to ground and then subsequently trips the household RCD/Earth Leakage Device/Safety switch.....

You used to be able to install new power circuits to run fridges that were not protected by these safety switches however,Legislation these days states that all power points shall be protected by these such devices,,,

Only solution legally is to toss away fridge,,, Sad But true :'( :'(

Stretch
28-04-2004, 09:02 PM
Hi Jeffo, I manage a stud cattle property for a Doctor. I have worked on the land all my life and I would not swap. Alway find time to wet a line.
Stretch

28-04-2004, 10:31 PM
Bugman..adamleah is partially correct. It could be a mullion heater or even the compressor windings. If it is a mullion heater then it may be possible to disconnect that heater and and the fridge will still operate okay. Can never tell without having a look. Send me a pm if you want me to have a look at it for you.

elmo
29-04-2004, 11:37 AM
Bugman - A 1:1 isolation transformer may be the go for your fridge also.

opimax
29-04-2004, 03:35 PM
giday jeffo
great thread
22 pages
window fitter to commercial buildings. ;D lee

savagetin
29-04-2004, 03:53 PM
Lee, could get a bit scary on some of those buildings, I'd rather be on the ground myself preferably at sea level.

Hookem_Herby
29-04-2004, 06:18 PM
Hi Jeff,
Am only very new to the site but thought I'd contribute anyway.
Was born o/seas and moved to Oz at the age of 9.
Went to school on the Sunny Coast and got into uni. Moved to Brisbane and studied Economics and Business German. Gained additional qualifications and became an internationally accredited interpreter. Graduated and lined up my 'dream' job ..... or so I thought! :( I was 21 and offered a top job in Frankfurt with Deutsche Bank as a merchant banker dealing with London and N.Y. Fantastic money and everything I ever wanted whilst at Uni, when having some cash seemed important!
It only took 8 months (read: one winter LOL) working long long hours in a dark and dreary office and I was a former shadow of the kid who grew up fishing to his heart's content on the Sunshine Coast. I was homesick and miserable, missed my family and friends, not to mention that famous Aussie lifestyle. No amount of money can ever constitute being unhappy. Life's too short as it is.
With my dreams and hopes shattered to bits, I returned back home and decided to purchase a franchise business. Bought a 24 hr/7 day a week convenience store in the heart of the city, worked my ass off doing 90hr weeks, usually 7 days a week for the first 18-24 months, then gradually downscaled. I now own two such businesses and am financially comfortable. I haven't done more than a 50 hr week in the last 2 years and get to work from home a bit. I'm my own boss and that enables me to enjoy a flexible work schedule and lifestyle (read: I fish when I want to) ;D
Never thought I'd be doing this 10 years ago when I was your age but circumstances made me realise that there's more to life than a career and money. Nowadays, could'nt be happier .... just need to find a way to get back up the coast! ??? :o

Cheers & Beers,
Herby

p.s. As a new member to the site, it's been nice to learn a little about everyone and what they do and have done. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Maxg
30-04-2004, 01:55 AM
Retired, work, Ex Ran, aircraft electronics, then Sydney Univ working of the first digital, parallel, computer in OZ, Silliac, then to AWA Ltd, into Space stuff at Carnarvon, Gemini and apollo moon stuff, lotsa fishing, fly etc, 10 years there, then AWA Defence Electronics, Seaking and Tracker sims for RAN, at Nowra NSW, 11 years, then to Alice Springs Jindalee OTHR, 6 years then retired to Perth area WA. Did a fair bit of shooting, pistols, rifles, bit of hunting with special handguns, fantastic stuff, shoot the eye out of a gnat at 200 metres. Bunnies at 200m a snack. Have had a Amateur Radio thing since 1953, not active though, Done a bit of writing, presently involved in a book, soon ????
Not a bad life, good money, lotsa fun, getting old, not so much fun. Presently involved in computers, net etc. max

Barrymundi
30-04-2004, 11:40 AM
Instrument Fitter, Production Planner, Scheduler, Office Boy, Rigger, Work place Trainer Assesor
and unemployed in 20 days,

Couldnt be happier

Alan

gruntahunter
30-04-2004, 01:29 PM
own and operate a concrete truck with pioneer concrete...soon to be hanson

sir_noelus
01-05-2004, 08:33 AM
Sixty five yrs old. Started work as butcher. Hated it with a passion. Then had forty yrs as upholsterer. Worked hard, too hard, paying for some of it now. Can no longer work full time. Own business most of that time. Possibly the most rewarding and SELF SATISFYING trades available. Good living but no big quid though. Son left bank, joined business, now owns and runs it, give me a job a day or so a week. He told someone the other day leaving the bank for this industry was the best days work he ever did, He must be happy too. Sir Noelus. (Good luck whatever you do.)