View Full Version : Should There Be A bag Limit For Bream?

squire
06-06-2004, 08:03 AM
Hi folks would like to see the for and against arguement on bag limits for bream. And if you think their Should be one. Am interested in this topic as i am doing a little bit of research. I was at the king of the pin the other weekend and watched a few people boast about how they caught over a hundred bream. Whats your thoughts?
Cheers Marty ???

SNELLY
06-06-2004, 08:08 AM
Perhaps they should look at lifting the min size from 23cm

Not much of a fish at that size

squire
06-06-2004, 08:13 AM
yes ive found most people dont keep any under 25cm.

06-06-2004, 08:20 AM
The min size will never change because bream are actually sexually mature at just over 20cm, i.e they've had time to sporn before being legally caught.

The bigger issue is the pro movement sanctioning an increase in a bread and butter species. They arguments about by-catch etc come back into play and Fisheries take notice.

Should have heard the pros scream about flathead. And from their perspective with good reason.

Maybe the bigger issue you should be debating is the "overall bag limit" - now that's a doozie. How many people would agree to that.

Bugman

Maria
06-06-2004, 08:22 AM
They caught over 100 or they took over 100? If they took over 100, then they have no place fishing in such a competition, as they defy the very "unspoken rules" that sensible rec fishos abide by. People like that need a kick in the nuts.

Me

beefaman
06-06-2004, 08:28 AM
Minimum length should be increased, but as Bugman said, it probably wont be. If you have to measure a fish to see if it is legal, you may as well throw it back anyway....as for a bag limit, of course there should be one..... [smiley=end.gif]

06-06-2004, 08:38 AM
Catching (and keeping) cricket scores of fish is just neanderthal. If that is how people measure their prowess, then I feel sorry for them.

I know King of the Pin doesn't operate on numbers, but there are some clubs and some comps which still do and they should take a long hard look at themselves.

A bag limit of 10-20 bream per person would be appropriate.

I could live with an overall bag limit, but why are you bringing this up Bugman? What is the issue? It is common for someone to catch a bag limit of a particular species, but not very common for anyone to get into numbers of 2 or more species as far as I am aware anyway.

Maria
06-06-2004, 09:02 AM
Bag limits would be good, but if you can find somewhere to bag out on 10 or 20 decent sized bream in a single session these days, you're doing quite well. Bream aren't exactly what you'd call the mecca of fishing, but shit....as Jeremy said, taking cricket scores of any fish is just plain rediculous. To me, regardless of what species, if you do that - you're on the same level as our "northern friends" that undertake the same practises with the same mindset.

Me

jockey
06-06-2004, 09:47 AM
Maria you sound like Pauline Hansen.

I'd support a bag limt. 10 wouold be good.

06-06-2004, 09:49 AM
Jeremy,

The has/is/will be a push to introduce a combined bag limit. It might be 20 - it might be 30.

That is you can have no more than say 30 fish in your possession - ie, whiting, bream, flathead, tailor, reef fish etc.

I agree it probably doesn't affect someone fishing for a day - other than whiting fisherman but those on a extended fishing trip could have problems. Don't get me wrong I'm actually in favour of bag limits but I'd rather see them on individual species.

A combined bag limit would soon kill off the practises of some - even some clubs for that matter.

The thing I hate the most about bag limits is up sizing :'( You wouldn't believe how many people do it.

Kerry
06-06-2004, 10:14 AM
Bag limits are an absolute waste of time above/below certain critera limits. The lower the bag limt the more waste and mal practice there will be.

Basically the first thing that should move with most species is minimum sizes but all has to be done in the right context as some of the increases in sizes of late if they were proportionally applied to bream, whiting etc would see some rather stupid figures result.

Cheers, Kerry.

raefpud
06-06-2004, 10:15 AM
should be a bag limit for all bread and butter species- otherwise ist rape and pillage

Maria
06-06-2004, 11:03 AM
Jockey,

I'm a little confsed as to where along the line you came across the notion that I'm sounding like Pauline Hanson.

If the comment was in relation to me making note of our "northern friends", then let it be known that the comment was not made from a racist point of view, but a realistic one.

All too often the political correctness that society these days must conform to sees reality ignored because people are accused of being racist in their comments.

Let’s not make a soap box scenario out of it.

06-06-2004, 11:07 AM
Ben,

you have me confused with someone else ie Jockey.

Maria
06-06-2004, 11:09 AM
Shit....sorry Jeremy. My appologies.

SeaHunt
06-06-2004, 12:10 PM
I would support an overall bag limit as well as for individual species.
Looking through the regulations, a lot of species say "no limit".
It would not hurt to set all these no limit species to say 100. As others have said , you will probably never bag out anyway, but some extraordinary set of circumstances may lead to it, and some idiots just cant help themselves.
And an overall bag limit would not go astray either (say 200) , which should include everything, not just fish which rate a mention in the requlations.
Eg ,.. I saw some guys castnetting herring for bait , and they had a ten litre bucket full of them , I mean no water, just fish, must have been a thousand or so in there, what a rediculous waste. #:P

06-06-2004, 12:54 PM
Seahunt,

The 100 or 200 your talking about is more likely to be 20 or 30

Bugman

jockey
06-06-2004, 01:15 PM
Maria, you said "To me, regardless of what species, if you do that - you're on the same level as our "northern friends" that undertake the same practises with the same mindset."

You are basically tarring all asians with the same brush. That is racism. Sure some of them behave badly, and maybe most people showing a certain type of behaviour are mostly asian (I haven't sen this personally), but that doesn't mean you start start talking about asians as if they all have the 'rape and pillage' mentality. It's fair to complain about the asian people at a certain location doing something specific - that is reality. But its not fair to complain about asians in the more general sense. For all you know I could be asian.

ba229
06-06-2004, 02:01 PM
It seems that you are always looking to make an arguement jockey.

Kerry
06-06-2004, 02:15 PM
For all you know I could be asian.

Wouldn't matter one iotta what you could be as that would have absolutely no bearing on actually what you are ......... must I expand ;D

Cheers, Kerry.

06-06-2004, 02:48 PM
Not saying for a second that I would disagree with a bag limit. Those numbers we all agree are rediculous.

But,,, For each of those few rec fishermen that may do it, there are probably hundreds that struggle to get just a few, and many that go home without any keepers. Done that more times than not myself.

So just wondering how much impact these few really make to the overall scheme of things.

But, as it sounds like we cannot show self control, a reasonable limit may be the answer, Could never see myself ever taking home more than 20 - 30 fish, even if I was just in the right place at the right time.

So if it could be shown that there are more than just very isolated instances of this happening then I would vote for a bag limit, but if it really is very isolated then I would vote agains yet another regulation.

SeaHunt
06-06-2004, 03:02 PM
Bugman the numbers do not really matter , I just dont see a point to the "no Limit" category. There is nothing to stop me catching a ton of mullet and just dumping them. :P

Gazza
06-06-2004, 03:30 PM
No bag limit or size change needed ,because the bream 'fishery' is sustainable, and a very good benchmark of minimal regulation/restriction.

Min size (at any length) ,for any specie is fine.
e.g. no min.size for MJ in NSW is silly. (35cms. in Qld.)

06-06-2004, 03:40 PM
"but if you can find somewhere to bag out on 10 or 20 decent sized bream in a single session these days, you're doing quite well"

Catching 20 bream in a session is easy..just gotta have the right phase of the moon with the right tide and winds and the right location..and this weekend is spot on for them.

Fitzy
06-06-2004, 04:11 PM
I would support a bag limit on any species "IF" it was warranted. However I recon the first thing we should look at is "WHY" there is a need.
If the fish is in decline is it due to angler pressure or due to loss of habitat etc?
Think we should find the reason to any problem & fix that (if possible), then fall back on regulation as a last resort.
All the regulating under the sun wont help if fish recruitment is limited/affected by other reasons. It will only delay the inevitable.

Fitzy..

BTW- Lets stick to the topic please folks.

aquarius
06-06-2004, 06:03 PM
I reckon your wasting your time taking home Bream under 28cms........This will be my minimum size from now on.....not much of a feed off a 25 cm specimen.
As for a bag limit on the bread and butter species im all for it.
20 or 30 fish will be more than enough fillets for a feed.
Cheers #Brent
ps.. If you are in the right place at the right time its no problem to catch 100 bream in a night session.......My mate and i have in the past done this and kept 40 fish.......Thats 20 each and i reckon if the stocks are thriving this is quite acceptable.

Muddie
06-06-2004, 09:33 PM
why would you want to take home 30 or 40 fish in the first place ??? just take a good feed home and catch a couple more the next time you go out.i only take a couple home at a time and have allways got FRESH fish to eat.i think the size limit should be atleast 28cm and a bag of 10-15.why wait until the numbers are low to do something about it,why not put better limits on them now and let them thrive so they will be plentyfull in the future.

ANYFISH
07-06-2004, 06:17 AM
if anybody can catch 30 legal size bream in a session i will give them a carton to take me out with them!! ;D ;D they can take 28 and i'll take 2 for a fresh feed.

i fish the fresh water and most of the bag limits here are below10. bass wich are stocked in most dams have a limit of 2 fish. and for the average bloke who goes out every weekend fishing 2 fish a week is pleanty for a feed unles your getting 1 or 2 for freinds.

i know that there is probably a lot more bream in the ocean than bass in the fresh but there is a bloody lot of people smart enough to live at the coast and fish for these good fighters every day.

maybee a slight increase in the min. legal length and a bag limit of 10-15 would see all of us catching a few more 1kg plus bream ;D

Gazza
07-06-2004, 06:26 AM
Take a number ,stand in line! ;D
Mate ,for a carton ,you can keep 28 ,i'll keep the diff. :o

Maria
07-06-2004, 08:45 AM
Maria, you said "To me, regardless of what species, if you do that - you're on the same level as our "northern friends" that undertake the same practises with the same mindset."

You are basically tarring all asians with the same brush. That is racism. Sure some of them behave badly, and maybe most people showing a certain type of behaviour are mostly asian (I haven't sen this personally), but that doesn't mean you start start talking about asians as if they all have the 'rape and pillage' mentality. It's fair to complain about the asian people at a certain location doing something specific - that is reality. But its not fair to complain about asians in the more general sense. For all you know I could be asian.

I'm not even going to bother replying to that.

Look for arguments elsewhere man.

Maxg
07-06-2004, 10:28 AM
Not every one of our "northern neighbours" is an asian. And even if they were, some of "Asian" practises are not designed to be anything but racist themselves, so you can hop off that horse.
Bag limits for bream. Considering that bream have been a staple diet of rec fishers since the year dot, and it has now hit home to the great unwashed that they eat lures and flies with gusto, the "sportfishing" fraternity have nominated them as a "Holy Grail" which puts a hell of a lot of pressure on the species, that they did not have before the "discovery". Of course there should be bag limits, and increased size limits, if only to put a stop to this bream competition mania, which is Bull anyway.
In WA the bag limit in the Swan River is 4 but in the south its 20 but anglers have "bragged" about catching hundreds and are activly competing in these contests getting huge reputations as catchers of bream The bag limits on bream should be so low as to not make competition worth while, like 1 per week.
Max

Gazza
07-06-2004, 11:44 AM
Max ,what happens over there ,when somebody catches say 15 "in the South" and drives home , over the Swan River ,and gets "stopped" by Fisheries #???

Also , don't quite see the "competition" angle regards Bream, should in any way effect ,say 98% of RecFishos , who don't fish "competition" #???

23cms is tiny ,but over spawning-size , these next few months ,anybody would laugh at you ,if the fish weren't 30cms or so anyway.
The length is a min. legal length , the size any person wishes to keep them is their own business.

squire
07-06-2004, 11:48 AM
To All it has been great to read all your feed back to date on this subject it has been great. However please stick to the topic at hand and leave the other well alone, it was not my intention for one person to cast judgement on another. It was my intention to gather information on what my fellow fisher people thought regards Marty.

Maria
07-06-2004, 11:52 AM
With regard to that, it was never my intention to start a debate with the likes of Jockey as to whether or not what I post is racist in nature. I log onto AusFish daily to talk fishing - not to become engaged in discussion of that kind.

vertico
07-06-2004, 01:02 PM
not only should the bag limit be lowered to around 5 bream per person
but the size limit is way too low, come on how much food is on a 23cm bream?
I dont take bream unless they are over 30cm and think 30cm for a bream is a
fair size.

easyrider525
07-06-2004, 02:10 PM
well now, what a can of worms!!! everyone has a good point. well almost! but who is going to police these issues. i never take home less than 30cm and stress that to all my fishin companions at the time. but open your eyes people... we are not all the same. i have witnessed all types and colours doin the wrong thing. you will never stop mankind from doin the wrong thing, no mater how hard you try to educate him. and unless there is someone out there to enforce the legalities of length/bag limits, people will still catch and take home undersize fish and by the bucket load.
should there be a bag limit, my bloody oath!!!!!!!!!

Maxg
07-06-2004, 03:35 PM
If you take the Gov figures on rec fish catch tonnages, we, Federally catch 45,000 tonnes of fish, which if related to the number of rec anglers Federally 4.5 million over the age of 5 it means that rec anglers collectively catch 10kgs of fish each year on average. So they mostly are not taking bucket loads willy nilly, but if you take into consideration that 10% of the anglers, because of their skills and dedication, the amount of fishing they do, catch 90% of the fish then who is getting bucket loads and who isn't. Most of the 4.5 million get nothing of consequence.
Which means that limits are really to curb that 10% and not the 90% because the 90% have no real impact at all.
There may be a few who do take to excess, but there are laws out there to punish them if caught. In WA criminals, whatever they do, are rarely caught, so on average there must be a few who do go over the odds. I guess its the same everywhere.
Max

Graham_N_Roberts
07-06-2004, 05:59 PM
30 cm Bream in CQ would be good ::) Oh OK ... so there may be a few up this way reaching that size, but I can't seem to get hold of them .... live yabbies, freshest of prawn, chook gut, mullet gut, lures :-/ :-/ . The blighters must hate freshos. ;D

But too right, put a bag limit on them. There's a bag limit of ten on yellas, but I stop at two or three. That's plenty in any one's language. ;)

Gazza
07-06-2004, 09:44 PM
;D Geez Herby #:o ,just make it 100 over 40cms and be done with it #::)

Mate ,you and most of us , to me, seem to already have personal limitations of what is 'adequate' to take home.

So, it could be just me , but what's the problem ?? , cause I haven't seen 1 (one) post that ,points out the p-r-o-b-l-e-m #???

e.g. why SHOULDN'T the size be r-e-d-u-c-e-d ??? ,they're in plague proportions aren't they ??? ,and eating a lot of "fishfood" #::) aren't they......... #:-X

Now that's a problem ,isn't it [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] ;D

Gazza
08-06-2004, 03:41 AM
Now a typical C & R response #,could be 35cms min. #:-X #and bag of 2 # :-X

Most 'personals' are in-between , but do you know why ??? , these limits are needed ??? , or is it just feel-good BS in your minds ???

:-X

where_is_dave
08-06-2004, 06:02 AM
Which means that limits are really to curb that 10% and not the 90% because the 90% have no real impact at all.
Max

Good point, As one of the 90% I feel that a bag limit should be part of an holistic approach that also takes into account the environmental factors raised in another quote.
As someone fairly new to the rec fishing scene I find it very dissappointing that anyone would take more than they need for a feed. :( >:(
Has any research been done into quantifying the pressure that the bream fisheries are actually under?
In short there should be a bag limit. 10-20 seems reasonable. Ohh and up the size a tad as well that may get some of us 90% into some snodgers.

jockey
08-06-2004, 11:01 AM
Maria if you just want to talk fishing then don't drop racist comments.

Maria
08-06-2004, 11:22 AM
I find it extremely humorous that you still wish to antagonize the topic.

Jockey, if you wish to dissect what I say and try to find some inkling of racial slander in there to incite an argument from, then you must lead a very uneventful life. It's obvious that the ensuing argument you provoke is something you thrive on or get some satisfaction out of – this is evident in other threads too. In future, either read my posts more carefully before making outlandish comments, or as I said, look for your arguments elsewhere.

I will attempt to elucidate the topic for the benefits of your comprehension.

"To me, regardless of what species, if you do that - you're on the same level as our 'northern friends' that undertake the same practices with the same mindset."

PLEASE NOTE THE BOLD AND ITALICS AROUND CERTAIN PARTS OF THAT SENTENCE. THAT’S THE DARK BLACK STUFF WITH THE SLOPEY APPEARANCE.

By saying that, I infer our northern friends (which by all means does NOT necessarily denote Asians, as Max said) CONDUCTING THOSE PRACTISES. How can you draw the conclusion, that by me saying that, I'm “tarring all Asians with the same brush”?

I never made mention of the word "Asian"…it was the first conclusion you came to though. Shit….maybe you’ve deeply offended me by making that statement. So should I now slam you as racist for drawing that generalisation?

By saying CONDUCTING THOSE PRACTISES, I mean our “northern friends” who engage in rather insatiable and sometimes illegal fishing methods. I simply included the northern friends bit as it stood for a well known and understood example for most readers. It wouldn’t matter if it was a bloke from Papua New Guinea hauling a 3km drag net around, taking hundreds upon hundreds of fish. It wouldn’t matter if it was a bloke from far eastern Russia doing the same thing – the principle is the same and that was the point I was trying to make. At no stage whatsoever did I ever make any mention or reference to Asians. Furthermore, I certainly did suggest ALL Asians conduct bad fishing practices – that was YOUR assumption.

For crying out loud man, grow up. I’m not going to prance around in posts taking every precaution to avoid collisions with your ignorance. Your ridiculous claims only illustrate the level of your absurdity, and further more, I’m certainly not going to tread lightly to avoid stepping on your delicate little politically minded toes.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
08-06-2004, 11:56 AM
i won't keep a bream under 30cm - there's enough around of that size to keep me happy - 10 at that size would be enough.

I think you'll find the research shows they pretty much have the bream formula right with min. size etc. They are the pigeons of the sea & exist pretty happily with development & being snag dwellers avoid the inshore trawlers nets for the most part.

Maxg
08-06-2004, 12:15 PM
As with any size limit daily bag system, it infers that you release all fish under size and outside the bag limit. That being the case, the Authority should ensure that the best release practise should be advertised and anglers should adhere to those practises. Regardless of how tough the fish are,like old army boots or like tissue paper, there will be a release mortality rate, and you can argue all you like about this, but we all do not do it correctly, and for every angler that does there are hundreds who do not.
The greater the number of "do nots" the higher the mortality rate, its obviously a qualitative thing, and also a quantitative thing. And of course the "do's" will fight to the death the idea that there is a release mortality rate.
In any case angling itself presents a serious problem for fish, bream or otherwise simply because they do not have the brains to avoid it. If they did there wouldn't be fishing, because they would give it a miss.
In any case, I guess it depends on the angler, or the average Joe fishing for a feed. But there should be limits, if only to curb those who would take everything, like us olds were supposed to do in the days of no regulations and plenty.
People keep referring to that time, but I'd like to remind those guys that the greatest damage to the system occured after the sportfishing revolution took place, simply because rather than a few people taking a lot it became a great number taking a few. The cumulative effect, along with the expanding commercial effort world wide caused a disaster.
In the dims there were no 4.5 million anglers, and no 45,000 tonnes of Rec caught fish. Not even half that, because population numbers were much lower.
All of which means that as we get greater populations the effects on the fishery will be much greater and the need to have very low bag limits will probably kill the sport. Max

xxxxhornet
08-06-2004, 12:21 PM
..back to the topic.....

I think there should be a bag limit of ten. With all the rage on Soft Plastics, Bream are copping a pizzling. As someone said - its hard to get ten these days.

I also think Whiting should have a bag limit of 40.

jockey
08-06-2004, 12:24 PM
Maria you will also notice from my previous posts that I don't take cheap shots at people, like this one "THAT’S THE DARK BLACK STUFF WITH THE SLOPEY APPEARANCE. "

Also, you don't have to say black, nigger, asian or any other special words to make a racist comment. It comes down to your intention and how people interpret what you say. I think that most reasonable people reading your post would interpret what you said as a slur against asians.

xxxxhornet
08-06-2004, 12:27 PM
I didnt interpret it that way.....but hey, while we are on the subject, they ARE the ones evidently catching and keeping undersize fish and fishing illegally in our waters are they not.

jockey
08-06-2004, 12:30 PM
In many cases the foregners fishing illegally in our waters are asian. That doesn't mean that all asians fish illegally in our waters, or that the fact that they are asian has anything to do with it, except that Australia is next to Asia. This point is even more important for local people of asian descent who keep undersize fish. Not all local land based fishermen of asian descent keep undersize fish. It is very important not to generalise like that, especially on a public forum.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
08-06-2004, 01:01 PM
maria & jockey - argue privately lads - you are ruining a good thread

Hookem_Herby
08-06-2004, 01:06 PM
I think 28cm would be a 'reasonable' minimum legal size for bream and a max bag limit of 10.
If the minimum legal length was to be further increased then we could relax the bag limit a little further also i.e. 30cm min length - 15 fish bag limit.

Herby

p.s. Good topic squire. Research or otherwise, it's interesting to read what everyone thinks and has to say on the matter. ::)

xxxxhornet
08-06-2004, 06:47 PM
Why wait until there is a problem. Why not be Pro-active and think about what it could be like in the future. The old "It wont happen in my lifetime' syndrome strikes back.

Can you put your hand on your heart and say the fishing for bream and whiting is a sgood as the old blokes say it was 50 yrs ago.?

Gazza
08-06-2004, 07:20 PM
Yeah , easily mate #[smiley=end.gif] , old guys didn't use lures or sp's or gps ,they just used smelly mulletgut and chicken strips. Whiting? , yabbies and worms....bit yukky though ::)

wussies can't catch fish #;D ,too busy cleaning their fingernails #:-X

;D

p.s. RecFishos can't catch more with sizelimits changing higher and ever higher
(heard about the min. limit for whiting @ 35cms in SA..yet ;) )

jockey
09-06-2004, 04:45 AM
When it comes to rec fishos doing the wrong thing, isn't it the 'old hands' that do the most damage. Experienced fishermen with boats who now how to catch a load of fish and then sell them? I've never seen shore based fishermen with many fish.

Hookem_Herby
09-06-2004, 05:22 AM
Gazza,
I'm not going to try to convert you, everyone is entitled to their own opinion and that's they beauty of these forums. #;D
However, I encountered a couple of old blokes at the boat ramp the other day. They'd been fishing through-out the night in the Passage (Caloundra) and had caught maybe 70-80 bream, all barely legal (23-25cms) on crabs they'd collected at low tide.
I kid you not, not a single fish near or over 30cm!!!
The worst part is that these old blokes will fillet the lot and freeze the majority, which in 6 months will be dumped back in the river for the Pelicans to enjoy. Seen it may times before! #>:( #>:( >:( :-[
That just brings tears to my eyes #:'( and I don't care what anyone says about spawning age and plague proportions .... I don't agree with a 23cm limit and belive a bag limit of 10 or 15 fish is enough to satisfy everyone.
Perhaps I just want my kids to be able to enjoy fishing as much as I did when I was a nipper! # [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]Unfortunately I have my doubts if that will be the case at the rate we're going.

Cheers & Beers,
Herby

jockey
09-06-2004, 07:22 AM
Plague proportions? I've never seen that. I haven't cought more than ten in one session since I was a kid.

Hutcho
09-06-2004, 08:45 AM
Herby,

I fished the Caloundra end of the Passage the other night, and we caught about 30 odd bream in a few hours, and released all bar one of them, and it was 32cm to the fork. We didn't pull a single other type of fish in the whole time (not that we were trying) but they are in good numbers at the moment. The bigger ones take more skills and paitence to land though.

But no one needs to keep and armada of bream...it is plain selfish and and egotistical IMO. Bag and size limits is a good topic to open up....esp on bread and butter fish like bream.

Tight Lines,
Hutcho

CHRIS_aka_GWH
09-06-2004, 12:32 PM
... I've never seen shore based fishermen with many fish.... # ...I haven't cought more than ten in one session since I was a kid.

Be at the end of Toompany St Amity Point 2 to 4 days before a full moon in July with fresh mullet strips, mullet gut & the prince of baits, live hardiheads. Use an 11ft rod & centre pin alvey, have some very sharp 2/0 french pattern hooks (that you aren't too attached too cause you'll lose some) & some size 2 split shots).

Fish moon rise, moon overhead, & hold onto ya hat for moonset - ya can't rebait quick enough.

You now have a head start on landing a cricket score of bream from the land. I'll race ya to 50. But I'll only keep 10 that are 30cm - guaranteed.

ps bream aren't in danger but are worth our protection none the less

squire
11-06-2004, 03:58 AM
To all I would like to thank you for your thoughts and opinions as an avid Bream fisherperson I have found it very useful and informative. The interest shown reassures me that the majority of us already have put in place good fishing practices for our estuary species. This topic has been a learning curve for all. Thanks again and good fishing to all. Marty. ;D ;D

lordy
11-06-2004, 05:45 AM
Bream would be a decent option for a slot limit. 25-35cm would just about do it. Most bream caught/kept are in that range anyway. Release the bigger ones to go merrily on their way for breeding.

jockey
11-06-2004, 08:30 AM
good idea

11-06-2004, 11:47 AM
"However, I encountered a couple of old blokes at the boat ramp the other day. They'd been fishing through-out the night in the Passage (Caloundra) and had caught maybe 70-80 bream, all barely legal (23-25cms) on crabs they'd collected at low tide."

If those guys caught 70 -80 bream...I can remember back 30 years when similar numbers were being caught..therefore the numbers appear not to be decreasing..so why any need for any limits?

Hookem_Herby
11-06-2004, 12:08 PM
Pinhead,
I give up!!! :'(
Just because, and this is accourding to you, bream stocks aren't decreasing that means we should plunder?
With your mentality, why have do we need size limits at all? Let's all go out and rape & pillage what fish are let in our oceans .... look at the global picture mate, and learn from the mistakes of others! Especially those in the northern hemisphere that have done exactly that, rape, pillaged and plundered their waterways and oceans through overfishing and pollution.

Herby

Gazza
11-06-2004, 01:09 PM
herby ,limits are set to reflect......reality.
NOBODY is telling anybody to catch more than they need.

mate, your car can do more than a 110kph ? , why not rip out a few plugs ,if you feel you can't control yourself from going 'flatout' ???

mate ,northern hemisphere fisheries are irrelevant to catching bream in Oz , same as Atomic powerstations ,same as any other paranoid crap you can think of. ;)

11-06-2004, 03:09 PM
OK Herby..in case you have trouble comprehending Englsih I will repeat a sentence for you.."therefore the numbers appear not to be decreasing"..the operative word in that sentence is "appears"..ya get it now...over 30 years the numbers APPEAR not to have decreased.

I don't recall typing anything about raping or pillaging the Oceans or even anything along those lines. As far as the Northern Hemisphere is concerned, what relevance does that have to our neck of the woods? None!!!!

It appears that once again someone has made assumptions on what they think they read and not what is written.

The topic is bag limits...so if the numbers are not decreasing what need is there for any bag limit? I said nothing about size limits..once again another incorrect assumption...once again I will repeat..the topic is BAG LIMITS.

I thought it was relativley simple to follow but my skills in the English language must be fading with age. My apologies herby..from now on I will try and restrict my posts to very few lines and even smaller words.

No more alliterations nor convoluted cynical posts.

Gazza
11-06-2004, 03:24 PM
"No more alliterations nor convoluted cynical posts."
-------------------------------------------------
Geez Mate #;D , if ya keep on swearing at us like that......
There's gunna
Be a Bloody Big Barney #;D

Now back to "t-h-e topic" ,i agree , bagsize is important.

Put me down for a carrotbag instead of potato....... #[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

;D

jockey
12-06-2004, 10:02 AM
The question you have to ask is, "is the problem of people taking too many bream significant?" If it is significant, get a bag limit. If it isn't, then it's not worth the hassle of introducing the law. Any idea how big the problem is? Maybe we should ask a fisheries inspector.

12-06-2004, 10:53 AM
no need for a baglimit.

jeffo
12-06-2004, 10:56 AM
bream are vermin when its all said and done ;D

Bringback_the_esky
12-06-2004, 02:18 PM
hey guys and gals,,,i will just put me VB down again,,,
For those that are interested, hav a bo peep at me post in the whiting bag limits topic,
Its a pretty close to the mark comment from a real club fisho. ;D ;D ;D ;D.( or neanderthal) as some of you call us ???
Anyway got to have another VB, but i might try a rum like webby suggested!!!!!