View Full Version : Favorite Seafood!
Dr_Dan
22-06-2004, 02:20 PM
Hey all. #Sure this has probably been done before, but just for interest sake.
What's everyones favorite seafood? #favorite way of preparing?
Would be interesting to see some recipes from all you guys! #
[smiley=chef.gif]
ba229
22-06-2004, 02:23 PM
Too easy.prawns prepared however you like.
Love em'
Dr_Dan
22-06-2004, 02:27 PM
Yep, have to agree with that!!!! Just a pitty my girlfriend is allergic to them! O well, suppose that means more for me! Stir fry chilli prawns !!! YUMM!
MarcusD
22-06-2004, 02:30 PM
Now where do I start???? I've got too many favourites....
Here's one of my favourite ways to cook Mud Crabs. Anyone that has been to Singapore will probably know this one:
Singapore Black Pepper Crab
1 whole green Mud Crab
4 Tbsp. peanut oil
1 Tbsp. ground boiled black pepper
4 Tbsp. Chinese cooking rice wine(or sherry)
2 Tbsp. soy sauce
1/2 Tbsp. sugar
4 cloves garlic, crushed
4 Tbsp. fish stock (or chicken stock)
1 Tbsp. cornflour
Remove large shells of crabs and divide crab into 4 portions, breaking each body in half and separating large claws from body. Leave legs attach.
Heat oil in wok or large frying pan and fry crab pieces until red colored, about 20 minutes. Add crushed garlic and roast until golden. Add rice wine, soy sauce, sugar, boiled black pepper, fish stock and bring to simmer. Mix cornstarch with enough cold water to make a paste and add to simmering stock. Stir through to coat crab pieces evenly.
Serve with steamed white rice.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-06-2004, 02:33 PM
The Top 3.
1. seared tasmanian sea scollops
2. fresh whiting
3. fresh calamari
i adore spanners too but cleaning knocks em down the list
rickraider
22-06-2004, 02:34 PM
king prawns and sea scallops in garlic butter ;D ;D ;D ;D
MarcusD
22-06-2004, 02:35 PM
As for Prawns:
1kg King Prawns
1 Tbsp. Olive oil
1/2 Tsp. Tumeric
6 cloves Garlic, crushed
1 small onion, very finely diced
Combine olive oil, garlic, onion and tumeric to make a paste. Add more oil if needed.
Butterfly prawns by slicing between legs and all the way through to the shell - not cutting shell though. Marinade prawns in paste making sure to push paste into cut. Leave to marinade for 1-2hrs.
Cook on hot grill plate, making sure to open butterflied prawns by pressing the cut section open.
22-06-2004, 03:10 PM
1:scallops light batter deep fried
2:crayfish boiled 10 minutes, cooled and drained devoured
3:flathead/gummy shark, probably flathead but ya get more fish easier with gummy shark
gummy battered deep fried
flathead fried in a bit of butter
DaneCross
22-06-2004, 03:27 PM
1. Garlic prawns
2. Chilli calamari
3. Fresh tailor!
22-06-2004, 04:03 PM
Oysters off the rocks, dipped in sea water :-*, followed by a rumbo :-*
philip_thomson
22-06-2004, 04:11 PM
the best sea food is pearl perch with lemon in the gut and butter on the outside it is so beautiful it makes me drool thinking about it ;D. i love most reef fish and the cats do also. parrot fish is good cooked same way also. freshly caught prawns are very nice especially when you catch them yourself
mackeral steak are great also. i eat virtually and fish (that is edabile) not grinners though
cheers philip
Maria
22-06-2004, 04:58 PM
Pretty much any edible fish that is fresh - fresh I mean like only a few hours out of the water. Fresh prawns are way, way way up the list. Highly allergic to any cephalopods (squid, octopus, cuttlefish etc) so they're out of the question. Any reef fish battered and fried works wonders with a bit of lemon juice.
If the fish isn't top notch eating quality, I usually simmer it in a tin of coconut milk, with finely sliced sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms, spring onion and various herbs and spices. The lot then served up over a bed of hot white rice and the coconut sauce drizzled over. "You bloody ripper....bloody unreal". ;D
DaneCross
22-06-2004, 05:20 PM
Quite the chef ay Ben? Sounds good, hafta give it a try ;D
22-06-2004, 05:48 PM
Im keen to try some mutton bird, next time im in tassie ill be chasing it, im keen on all seafood, shellfish of all varieties fish etc, more the better ;D
Maria
22-06-2004, 05:53 PM
Yeah it'll make your eyes water Dane....really nice. Let me know if you want it, and I'll type out a more comprehensive recipe for you. Bit more to it than I wrote.
Maria
22-06-2004, 05:57 PM
Im keen to try some mutton bird, next time im in tassie ill be chasing it, im keen on all seafood, shellfish of all varieties fish etc, more the better ;D
I think we can get em up here...might be worth a shot one day. Might even bring the cat to help. I'm keen to try it. ;D
Dr_Dan
23-06-2004, 03:19 AM
One of my fondest memories is eating oysters from the rock on an island out from cairns. Picture this, me and a mate in a 14ft tinny, putting round the island. Decide to go for a swim, now, i'm not the smallest bloke around at just over 100kg, and my mate, well, kinda more like 130kg, do our best olympic dive off the boat (i wonder why there were no fish around after that), head into the shallows, wallowing around picking oysters and eating them for bout hour. Wouldn't ahve been a pretty site i can tell you! BUT MAN! NICE OYSTERS!
Keep posting the recipes guys. Interesting to see how creative some of you are!
;)
23-06-2004, 03:40 AM
[quote author=Dr_Dan link=board=General;num=1087817206;start=0#0 date=06/21/04 at 19:20:24]
<snip>
What's everyones favorite seafood? #
Cat fish and shovelly........gotta say that ain't I? :-)
Seriously, prawns served with a sweet chilli sauce dip and battered calamari with (a good) Tartare sauce.
basserman
23-06-2004, 04:13 AM
nice sweet school shark, green eye shark or little whaler shark filleted and skined diped in a nice rich beer batter and served with a side of chips [smiley=chef.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=mellow.gif]
MTpockets
23-06-2004, 06:24 AM
Fresh sea scallops crumbed and deep fried.... man o man I love that for a feed. Another fav is of course Lobster....
Prawns done any way ya like.....
KISS theory, for me.... nice a simple
Les
firetruck
23-06-2004, 06:29 AM
Any seafood is great but am a big fan of Garlic Prawns/ Calamari.
Interestingly I never used to like oysters but have grown to like them over the years.
23-06-2004, 06:36 AM
All I can say fellas is look to the left of this post.
1) I'm with Blaze - fresh Cray - boiled - cooled (but not chilled).
2) Fresh flounder cooked whole in butter on the BBQ for breakfast after a long night wading
3) Sea Bream fillets fresh from ocean cooked for Breakfast on the BBQ in butter on Straddie overlooking whales heading north - maybe went a bit far there.
Oh and did I say oysters
Bugman
23-06-2004, 07:24 AM
Hi Bugman
forgot to add
with the crayfish you definently need a side dish to go with it
CRAYFISH
nictim
23-06-2004, 08:34 AM
can't go past SEAFOOD STICKS :D :D :D
CHRIS_aka_GWH
23-06-2004, 09:48 AM
... Im keen to try some mutton bird, ..
rob,
camp at Northwest Is in September, gargle a cup of olive oil to "lube" the throat - look skyward & open ya gob -
chances are you'll taste some sushi style [smiley=dizzy.gif] :D
I heard a rumour LLeyton goes there to practice his volleys too at that time of year. :-X
Commodore
23-06-2004, 10:21 AM
What about a feed of freshly cooked sand crabs, eat the claws, peel the bodies place meat on fresh bread’n butter with salt and pepper with a squeeze of lemon....and a glass of rum and coke…mmmmmmm
Simple but very tasty
Gazza
23-06-2004, 03:22 PM
Geez , are you guys QUEENSLANDERS!! or what.... ::)
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] MUDCRABS [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Bring seawater to boil ,add some brown sugar ,add crabs ,wait to re-boil ,wait 10~15mins , tip into sea-temp saltwater 5mins, drink beer for 5 mins, scoop out , get another beer...........
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] EAT [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
sir_noelus
30-06-2004, 04:12 AM
The special one has to be curried scallops. The boss here has cholesterol problem so thought that was the end because I cooked them with cream. Now do it with coconut cream as substitite, if anything they're even better. Noel.
jaybee
30-06-2004, 04:26 AM
Any seafood raw or cooked ;D have heaps of recipes but nothing beats the old deep fried method with fresh lemon or lime
Joe
bundymal
30-06-2004, 09:08 AM
has to blue eye cod wrapped in afoil with lemon and garlic on the barbie or deep fried in egg and bread crumb .you only catch these in deep water
cheers mal
Localy caught Banana Prawns boiled in fresh water with 'rock salt' added during cooking. As soon as cooked, chiled in icy water with rock salt added again. Leave soak for about 5 to 6 hours then enjoy with an icy cold.
With the entree out of the way its time for the Main. Yellowtail Kingfish lightly fried in lemmon butter with a side serve of salad. Ejoy a mid priced Chardonay during this course.
Desert,oh did I say OYYSTERS, (au natural)
Now its time for the Gradfathher Port
mick
old_mate_china
30-06-2004, 05:53 PM
Id have to say sometimes the simple things are the best. I like things simple and yes I even eat the bait.
Fpr me Id go for Calamari hoods (heads off and gut removed) cross hatched with a sharp knife (not all the way through) marinated for an hour or two in honey soy garlic (or) sweet chilli (off the shelf) and then BBQ for a few minutes until cooked (not too long or they toughen). Its scrumptous - great for a BBQ or even as an entree at a dinner party. Dont eat it as a main unless you have a side of wok tossed veges as it can be a bit rich for some if eaten in larger quantities. As with all seafood - use the KISS principle and you cant often go wrong.
....and as for you DR Dan - not a pretty thought you beached whales frolicking off the Cairns beaches... but probably glad you did it now as your spot is probably now in a green zone.
cheers all
sir_noelus
01-07-2004, 02:57 AM
If you like battered fish, you should try this one. Serves four. 1 cup of SELF RAISING flour, add a sprinkle of garlic powder, pepper and salt. Then a teaspoon of olive or veg oil and mix together. Add COLD water until a light runny consistency (not too runny). Roll fish in PLAIN flour, dip in batter and cook, put on paper towel for a few sec's b4 serving. Beats anything I've ever had before and is dead easy. The self raising flour is the difference. No more soggy fish. Noel