View Full Version : Small Talk

MTpockets
03-07-2004, 07:10 AM
Hi Guys,
I have been involved with several web boards like this one over the years and have been administrator as well. The one thing that always gets up admins noses is off topics. They go crazy sometimes deleting and moving posts to the reletive forums. One good way round the problem is to make a small talk forum where members can talk about ANY subject they like as long as its within the accepted boundries of the site.

For instance if you wanted to talk about that hot rod or motorbike you are rebuilding, or that house you want to buy, or the marriage of that prince to the tassie sheila or whatever... you get my meaning, why not have a forum for all that kind of stuff and that way the General Chat could be left free for general fishing chat.

I realise we have a lot of choice in the forums to cover ALL fishing areas, but a small talk forum would fill in the missing bit for those who want to chat about other interests.
Mainly want to see what people think about this, so please let's hear your opinions, and then maybe Steve would be so gracious to allow it.
Les

Dirty_Mole
03-07-2004, 10:06 AM
Great idea les i think that would be good because we are just rapidly filling General Chat with heaps of non fishing related stuff.

cheers sam

Needmorerum
03-07-2004, 03:30 PM
Yeah, here here. Be good to keep General Chat to just fishing. It's definately getting harder to keep up with eveything.

Corry

caveman
03-07-2004, 03:57 PM
another forum i visit has a chat called off topic wich covers what ever you like to chat about

hoge
03-07-2004, 04:26 PM
Sorry Les, this is is not the right forum for this topic.
Once again the 'Genaral Chat' has been infaltrated with chitchat obviousls meant for another forum.
Get your act together son.

mick

MTpockets
03-07-2004, 07:24 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D

el_carpo
03-07-2004, 09:19 PM
Oops. Sorry everyone. I thought the general chat already was for "small talk." I am probably the worst offender for posting non-fishing threads here so again sorry. Now that I know it's fishing topics only, I won't do it any more.

peewee
03-07-2004, 09:35 PM
LMAO el_carpo ;D...Dont worry mate 8).I think the rules dont apply to international ambassadors. ;D ;D
Something like the ambassador to a country is not legally bound by the laws of the country.
Any good and responsible fisherman is a friend of mine :),and is worth his weight in gold.

el_carpo
03-07-2004, 09:41 PM
;D Thanks Peewee. Still, I don't want to ruffle people's feathers so I'll obey the rules now that I know them. :)

Big_Kev
04-07-2004, 12:53 AM
Sorry guys I don't agree with the idea. :-X :-X
To me General covers the General broad range of what the members want to talk about.(not everyone reads the fine print)
I think that purhaps the general front page could be longer to keep up with the popularity of the site and the influx of todays topics. Use of the feature to notify with email of responses to a topic you are following may be help to keep up with it.
There is a lot of sub headers that relate to the specialist fishing needs, and the correct use of this will get the results desired.
It is important that the topic header relate to what the thread is about, this at least allows better choice of what you do not wish to look at. Some headers are deliberate in misleading. #

Not that I would want this site to become the womens weekly chat (see gosip) board, I do think the fact that you need to be a member of this fishing based site #will help to keep the subjects relating to fishing. :P :P
Probably about four bobs worth there KEV. # :o

MTpockets
04-07-2004, 05:32 AM
Ok time for me to explain why I posted this. I was going through the forum the other day when a post was made by El_Carpo about him being sick, and there were a few responses to it, and I typed up a reply and as I went to send it, the whole thread was deleted and a message came up about the thread I was trying to reply to does not exist. Sure enough it was removed. The same thing happened last weekend in another thread about fishing related thread. Mine and a few others posts that were off topic were deleted.
Another one went missing as well during the week.

Made me wonder that the mods had removed them due to them all being non fishing related. Thats why I asked the question and feel it is relevant.

I mean I am not making a big deal out of it, and its really only a suggestion. In the end if it works out to be a good idea great, if not nothing lost :D
I'm just all for a clean topical forum, as I know some other forums do get way off topic. :o
good fishing guys
Les

MY-TopEnder
04-07-2004, 05:42 AM
Its a good idea Les,

Quite a few forums i'm on have a section like that.. usually called the bar. The biggest problem with it is, you run the risk of really pumping up the bandwidth of the site.

It would be good though... i could have a whinge about my shit of a night last night if there was such a section.

MTpockets
04-07-2004, 05:54 AM
yeah bandwidth is an area that we users dont have to think about and thats a really good point mate. In retrospect if you were going to talk about non fishing related things, why would you want to go to a fishing site to do so..... always 2 sides to every story,..... this is just one of them ;D I think its because a lot of guys have actually met, or thru the site we prolly feel we know each other that well. Maybe its a natural thing to want to share with others the things about life that we want to yak about, kinda what apes do.... share fleas?
Les

el_carpo
04-07-2004, 10:37 AM
MT Pockets, I don't know what you wrote, but if you wanted to know how I am, I am well again. ;D Also, to keep this post fishing related..."Hooray for Fishing and surviving potentially fatal illnesses!" ;D

MTpockets
04-07-2004, 11:23 AM
Yeah thats great EC, good to hear you are ok. I basically wanted to wish you the best so now I know you are ok again.... the world is a better place.?? hehe
Les

Scorpion
04-07-2004, 01:39 PM
I tend to agree even though i'm a new member ;D

NeilD
04-07-2004, 02:04 PM
I think we need an area where we can look at topics like who is really going to win Big Brother and what does Paris hilton think about this years fashions. The rest of the general talk between fishers can stay in general chat.

Cheers Neil

Gazza
05-07-2004, 04:41 AM
Will somebody please delete this topic!!... ;D :D :D :D