22-06-2004, 10:20 AM
giday ausfishers

invite to post up your biggest fish to date

lets see what every ones made of ??? ?
and your claim to fame ::)

14 kg jew taken at shallow tempest

Maria
22-06-2004, 10:31 AM
Wahoo....caught out off Pt Lookout in April with Mr Mauler and Micky B. Went 20-something kilo I think from memory.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-06-2004, 11:08 AM
20 + kg Cobes ON 18lb Ande

22-06-2004, 11:08 AM
A cobe that pushed the scales down to 34.5kg

Caught at one of the beacons out from Tangas on a live Herring.

Couple of years ago now - note the hair.

Bugman

Outsider
22-06-2004, 11:09 AM
Upon reflection I probably shouldn't have posted after a 20kg+ Wahoo...

Seemed like the biggest fish in the world at the time...

Coming mummy...

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-06-2004, 11:10 AM
probably my proudest - 14kg green jobie - i'd be interested to know if anyone can top that weight for species in moreton bay region - was caught inside Flat rock

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-06-2004, 11:14 AM
THANKS BRETT for following mine with that ???

jeffo
22-06-2004, 11:43 AM
i dont have a pic of my biggest fish (black marlin around 50kg) but this would be my second biggest

bazzaman
22-06-2004, 12:10 PM
havent a photo of it but a cobes on video camera of 32 kilo!!!! Caught in the bay! Caught many of the same size (many meaning about 4 or 5) Otherwise be a snapper of 8kg (in the saltwater pics if ya want a look)
Shane

Billo
22-06-2004, 12:14 PM
i have gotten a heap of crap fish like big ass groper ..but as for targetted species ...this would probably be my best .

and yep...another caught aboard MV Mackmauler

in_my_blood
22-06-2004, 12:15 PM
some nice pics there guys when my scanner fixed will post my biggest hope it is back soon

22-06-2004, 12:17 PM
Sorry, can't get the kb size down far enough to put up the pic. It was in the old film format and the pic itself weighed 3kgs. :o

Good Jobbie Chris, looks like you at the Reddy Challenge ?

Phill 8)

Maria
22-06-2004, 12:21 PM
Phill,

If you want, email it to me (s2092384@student.griffith.edu.au) and I'll have a go at getting it down. Should be able to regardless of how big it is.

Billo
22-06-2004, 12:22 PM
c'mon Phill ....email it to me and i will downsize it ;D

here's one my brother wants me to stick on ....would love to calim it as my own though ...
Coffs Harbour GOLD

Reefmaster
22-06-2004, 12:37 PM
well this would be the biggest yet but not what i call a real fish. He was let go to fight another day.
Cheers Greg

sharkbait
22-06-2004, 12:40 PM
Jobbie photo would have to be the Straddie, with all the VB promo in the background.
Heres my biggest, but being a billfish, I reckon thats cheating a bit. Thats a very nice jewie Billo, would have to of cracked 50lb?

22-06-2004, 12:42 PM
Most of my photos are in storage since the move.

Here's a recent one of yet another shovelly (3 metres) being let loose.

sharkbait
22-06-2004, 12:42 PM
Try again ;D

Maria
22-06-2004, 12:45 PM
Hahahaha, so far three pics have been posted with the rather distinguishable features of a certain someone's boat...no prizes for guessing who's. ;D

Reefmaster
22-06-2004, 12:47 PM
Well i reckon this one does it for a real fish ;) i dont reckon you can beat a big red coming up from below :D Cheers Greg

22-06-2004, 12:58 PM
I wanta Know when mackmaular is going to start
MACKMAULER CHARTERS
he can certain lay claim to finding the fish

sharkbait
22-06-2004, 12:59 PM
Ben, you're right, I think this thread is going to be littered with photos taken from that boat ;D So heres my best from my boat, while fishing solo, which is why i'm not in the pic. Its also the fish responsible for the bend in the rod in my profile photo ::)

Kris.

Billo
22-06-2004, 01:02 PM
haha
Ben , i saw one before mine went in and KNEW there would be more ....

I reckon he needs a new job as a charter operator ...damn he is almost now ! just lacking in the appropriate ' commercial ' funds from the customers

what can i say though ....BLOODY GOOD JOB .....AS ALWAYS !

Sharkbait ...it is a mighty fine jew isn't it ...i think it went 32 Kilo ...BASTARD!

cHiCo
22-06-2004, 01:10 PM
interesting where you hooked that wahoo Billo!

Billo
22-06-2004, 01:16 PM
yep .he never saw what hit him ;D ;D ;D

actually ....Rob had hooked up on a big Macky ...so i was clearing the deck for his fish ....i was winding like a bat out of hell , then 5 metres from the boat the bastard came like a bolt of lightning and almost yanked me from the boat ...

Rob was yelling going " WAHOOOOOOOO #WAHOOOOOOOO" and i was limited to OH F%$*&(*^" #;D

especially seeing as i wasn't ready for it !
All good !

jeffo
22-06-2004, 02:22 PM
i will agree with every ones comments about mr mauler.
after fishing with rob a few times it becomes apparent why he catches so many fish on such a regular basis.... i feel its a mixture of things. time on the water, plenty of home work done before hand, and most importantly of all (IMO) is his attention to detail, especially when chasing billfish. constantly looking for something to change to get the results... and he sure gets those! ;D

22-06-2004, 02:45 PM
OK :-[ :-[ thanks for the rap love yas all ;D it was a pleasure helping so many guys onto a fine fish the last couple years and didnt I enjoy pulling a few in myself ;D LMAO billo, you sure tell a good story ;D

really had fun working this one in with ben and quinny, snappa you are famous for catching these, any tips ;D

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-06-2004, 02:50 PM
& I love the claret that's always in a Mackmauler photo - attention to detail !

ba229
22-06-2004, 03:31 PM
Hey mack, is there any chance of a good picture of your boat?

I mean better than the one in "what boat have you got"

What is it? and where can i get one?

CHRIS_aka_GWH
22-06-2004, 03:38 PM
yeh i reckon that too - its the boat, its all the boat, he's got no idea - would be a nuthin' without that boat, a nobody, nowhere with nothing to do .... :-X

chris.
[smiley=stupid.gif]

22-06-2004, 03:43 PM
LOL chris ;D

ba229, looked like a good picture to me :-/ perhaps some nice girls on the side would improve it ;) mines not very standard anymore but try these guys.

http://ywe.com.au/ocean-cylinder.htm

Dr_Dan
22-06-2004, 03:49 PM
Luv the ug boots in that piccie mackmauler!

Mr.Ocean
22-06-2004, 04:36 PM
the bigest bara of mine :)

22-06-2004, 04:45 PM
:-X

propdinger
22-06-2004, 04:54 PM
thats some good bait brian ;)

ba229
22-06-2004, 05:00 PM
Nice girls improve just about anything. #;D

philip_thomson
22-06-2004, 05:22 PM
i can't beat anything you guys caught except the whiting maybe :-) my biggest fish ever is a 1.3m spanish mackeral it fought terribly i have had bait that puts up a better fight ;D
best fish i have a picture of is these 1.4 and 1.6kg flathead they measured 58cm and 63cm they tasted very good. my aim is to catch a marlin one day though i think we all want that though.
cheers philip

Captian_Zero
22-06-2004, 05:33 PM
sad but true but soon to be improved ;)

snappa
22-06-2004, 05:38 PM
just checked out the pics on the puter

and found a couple
my old boat fraser island classic waddy point
cobe not sure of weigh ::)

has anyone seen it around ????

snappa
22-06-2004, 05:42 PM
mack
sharks you want sharks
indian head fraser when i was a lot younger ::)

snappa
22-06-2004, 05:48 PM
:P the famous shark catch fraser island

rod and reel just out of focus #:)

and to think its nearly time for our annual trip to fraser #::)

;D ;D ;D ;D lol

Maria
22-06-2004, 05:49 PM
True elbow slapper there Webby...nice fish.

MrLuminous
22-06-2004, 05:57 PM
hey phillip
Heres my biggest fish
A blue marlin APPROX 120kg on 24kg
Tagged and released
If you wanna see more billfish pics, look in the SALTWATER PHOTOS section under MARLIN, there are many members billfish photos there and hopefully there are more to come
MrLuminous

SeaSaw
22-06-2004, 06:19 PM
My biggest is a 35kg cod, but I dont consider that my best catch as it wasn't much of a challenge to land (and release). My favourite catches would have to be either 14kg wahoo or 15kg dollie - both caught on 8kg spin outfit. :D

Here is the dollie

Barrymundi
23-06-2004, 05:16 AM
A couple of Barra with Deckie

Al

magicpudding
23-06-2004, 03:31 PM
I would have to say that my 150kg Blue Marlin would have to be my biggest so far - at least that we've got to the boat (not trying to start another thread!). Caught aboard our larger sister (7.3m) of MV Mackmauler

MrLuminous
23-06-2004, 06:44 PM
hey magic
have you ever been spooled by a BIG SERIOUS blue 250kg plus on 1000m of 24kg??
Well, guess what I HAVE. not that i should put it on a site but its quite an awesome experience lasting about 5-6mins.
Martin

baldyhead
23-06-2004, 07:55 PM
Hey guys I had this on for 2 minutes while he scoffed my Barra I was fighting, do you reckon he counts ? lol

spindles
24-06-2004, 02:15 AM
My biggest tailor was 7lb I caught in 1969 it's in the photo somewhere. spindles

el_carpo
24-06-2004, 02:51 AM
Fantastic fish you folks have caught! Really neat to see. My biggest fish was a 30 inch carp :-/. I have no photos of it and probably wouldn't post them if I did, as the carp is not exactly a fish in the same class as those listed above. :P More of a rubber-lipped water rat with fins than a fish.

Love the shark and crocodile pictures! I'd be too scared to get close enough to take a picture of either one of them! ;D Chomp! Chomp! Chomp! You count your fingers and toes after catching one of those, I bet.

24-06-2004, 05:32 AM
My biggest. Only got two similar pictures jumping out wide and none boatside. 80kg+ Striped Marlin on 24kg line.

24-06-2004, 05:34 AM
Biggest I have been personally associated with that we actually tagged, had one on miles bigger that spat the hooks. #A 140kg+ Blue Marlin on 80lb chair tackle. It was fun wiring this thing to feel the weight of the beast after so many little 20-50kg Billies.

24-06-2004, 05:35 AM
And biggest fish that many of you may be more familiar with, a 26kg Cobe from Western Rocks on 10kg line.

Burley
24-06-2004, 08:57 AM
Suprised there were no Jack pic's yet, the biggest I've stayed connected to

moondancer
24-06-2004, 01:47 PM
22kg spaniard! Caught off Bustard Head september last year! (Just before a major sized bitey thought about having a snack on his backside!)

seafox
24-06-2004, 04:49 PM
Hi all am new to Ausifish thought I say g'day this is not my bigest fish (only photo I have at the moment ) put up a good fight weight not known caught this at Rock Cod Scholes and released

clutter
24-06-2004, 06:17 PM
Hope this turns out. Caught it a couple of years back at deep tempest. Let it go, not sure the weight but it was over 5 foot long and guees somewhere between 150 and 200lb.

clutter

clutter
24-06-2004, 06:18 PM
Here's another shot.

Sean
24-06-2004, 07:00 PM
Sorry spindles, but the catch of Tailor, a crap eating fish doesn't really impress me, how many were there???. My biggest is a 25kg jewie, only have conventional photo and no scanner will try to post it.

spindles
25-06-2004, 02:26 AM
Sorry sean but this is the best I can come up with. there was 4 of us.

jeffo
25-06-2004, 02:36 AM
yeah i thought the same ting spindles... although back in the day it was the thing to do at fraser i would imagine? why any one would want to keep more than say 10 tailor (for bait ;)) is beyond me.

ps. this is not a personal atack.. just a generalisation about how times have changed :)

spindles
25-06-2004, 04:26 AM
Well they say tailor is the poor mans game fish, and untill I get a boat to get out there where are quality FOOD fish I will be satisfied with what I can catch from the shore. And enjoy it. spindles

isaac
25-06-2004, 07:03 AM
Shite photo, but mines a 24kg mack caught years ago, before I had a decent camera..

Holy_Mackerel
25-06-2004, 09:31 AM
I couldn't decide which one to add, but this one will do... it's a 30kg+ spanish from a fibreglass canoe in the Solomons. And with no gaff on board and sharks looming!
Wes

Hutcho
25-06-2004, 12:45 PM
that's a ballsy effort from a canoe wiht no gaff...and sharks! Solid specimen you got there......

Hutcho

jeffo
25-06-2004, 03:43 PM
like i said spindles.. not a personal attack mate.... if your on the sunshine coast some time gimme a yell and we'll go get ya some bigger fish ;)

searaider
27-06-2004, 09:54 AM
Sorry about the quality , I just took the digital photo's of the original snap's .

Burley ,
here are a couple more Mangrove Jacks .

Searaider 2 #

searaider
27-06-2004, 09:58 AM
I know your only suppose to post one photo but I couldn't resist .
Old Yella , & although not as big as the ones Snappa gets my biggest Snapper so far .

Searaider 2

basserman
27-06-2004, 10:12 AM
am sure that spindles pic was taken a long time ago when catching catches like that was pretty common wether it be the tailor or barra or what ever but geez it is good to see that we have come so far from those day and now a catch like that would get some bad looks
i'm sure spindles caught them in the bad old day when there was no bag limits
hell i'm guilty of that when i was younger and me and the old man would come home with a fish box full of fish :-X
thank crist those days are gone ;)

Cloud_9
27-06-2004, 03:09 PM
have to agree. i to have caught my biggest yella while out with peter, 7kg pic is already in a post in salt water pics!

Mugil
28-06-2004, 04:17 AM
Hi guys
My biggest, not counting sharks and rays, is a 60 odd kilo marlin but the pic is not very good.
These are my runner-ups. Sail and cobia around 30 – 40kg.

Mugil
28-06-2004, 04:18 AM
This dogtooth is about the same weight, also had to chuck in my biggest reef fish, a 17kg coral trout .
Mugil

Stone
28-06-2004, 09:09 AM
Decent grassy about 4.5kg, could post a heap of these but i won't bore you with them.

BladeRunner
28-06-2004, 02:40 PM
Polly want a parrot.
Hey Mark you will remember this one, after going over 8 pages of posts I could not resist its got to be the smallest hey.

blade [smiley=bandana.gif]

NeilD
29-06-2004, 05:26 AM
I caught this Marlin in the Solomons on a TLD 25 ;D. It died down deep so could not be released :-[. It weighed well over 160kg.The word got out and the locals turned up for a free feed. All gone in about two hours :) :).
Cheers Neil

Dr_Dan
29-06-2004, 06:56 AM
At least the marlin got put to use neil. Would have been a real shame if it was just dummped.

philip_thomson
29-06-2004, 07:15 AM
finally worked out how to scan pictures ::) so i have a picture of my spotty mackeral from the great spotty mackeral boil at noosa. i caught a whole 1 fish. probably my most enjoyable fish to catch put up a decent fight.
cheers philip

MTpockets
29-06-2004, 07:19 AM
Nice spotty mate.
What reef or area at Noosa was the mackerel boil?
Usually fish Noosa each Xmas.
Les

philip_thomson
29-06-2004, 07:47 AM
the mackeral were boiling about 50m from the shore line at easter they were everywere very thick. they were boiling for about 3 weeks. the spotties are still out at the reefs at noosa. were do you normally fish around noosa when your there. the noosa bar is stuffed atm. virtually uncrossible. at christmas you should try trolling through the bay you could get some good spaniards that tme of year.
cheers philip

MTpockets
29-06-2004, 07:59 AM
Usually little halls, big halls then off to do runs along the front of sunshine is the go. Sometimes we go out to barwon banks, but only if we are desperate. Cant remember the name of the reef opposite devils gates but we usually start there and nice spaniards haunt it when its on.
The bar has been crap for ages now and makes going out a pain in the bum, but getting there is half the fun I spose :)
Les

philip_thomson
29-06-2004, 08:10 AM
it is jew shoal just out from the headland has a big pinicalle rises upto about 7m over pinicale. the dive boats do a lot of diving at jew shoal im going on a charter there sometime soon the charter boat draws 1.2m so it will be very intersting to see how he gets across. do you ever try bottom bashing at sunshine? quality coral trout and sweetlip are around at chrissy time. numerous times on the charter we have bounced along the sand coming in other times we have had everyone on the bow of the boat to raise the back. quite a fun experience
cheers philip
p.s. this is a pick of the mackeral boiling in a small group there were about 20 boils like this everywere awsome fun.

MTpockets
29-06-2004, 08:22 AM
awesome pic Philip, never seen that at xmas time usually not that calm either. Thats the name of the reef I was trying to remember, jew shoals We ofter bottom bash from the bar out to the headland on the reefs thru there, but rarely off sunshine do we try bottom, but will give it a try next time. cheers
Les

sir_noelus
30-06-2004, 05:23 AM
Not much in the photo album but they exist on video. Bit of a variety, rainbow trout 4.8kgs on fly in NZ, a metre long 'couta caught while catching gars on 1.5 line and a #10 hook, striped marlin 90kgs on live bait on the shelf outside Montagu island. Noel.

SteveCan
30-06-2004, 04:13 PM
Well - heaps of this species make up the biggest catch for a lot of anglers. Here is this years effort (caught in May) of a 20+kg cobe at Palm beach reef. My biggest fish so far.

Steve.

Reel-Job
09-07-2004, 06:43 PM
Sorry about the crap picture but my good neighbour has the original photo .I caught this 18.3/4lb Snapper at a spot south of wide caloundra.We just finished cleaning up the boat and I had the last line in the water when it hit.Good way to finish up a top day's fishing I think

Big_Al_2
10-07-2004, 08:33 AM
36lb Qld Groper caught at the Limmen Bight River a couple of months ago on 20lb line. Released for another day.

Big Al 2

Big_Al_2
10-07-2004, 08:34 AM
And a nice 14lb Golden Trevally the following day that went like a steam train.

Big Al 2

SeaSaw
10-07-2004, 04:58 PM
Hi Reeljob,

I don't think I have the original of that photo, but here is a better quailty pic of you with the same fish.

searaider
10-07-2004, 05:04 PM
Onya Reel-Job ,
Nice Snapper .

Searaider 2

McCod
11-07-2004, 01:44 PM
Biggest Faust barra landed so far . aprox 40 lbs September 2003.
Good fun in the sticks!
McCod.

Jim_Tait
12-07-2004, 07:49 PM
My best was this 50lb barra caught in 1979 on a vibrotail soft plastic (just to show they ain't as new a thing as some mag writers would have you believe) - it hit about 2 m off the tip off the rod when I was standing ankle deep in a gulf river at dusk - can imagine the experience was a bit religious!!

el_carpo
13-07-2004, 12:14 AM
I bet that strike got your heart going! A fifty pound fish exploding that close to you! That's a great fish. :)

Are the barramundis the "kings" of fresh water fishing in Australia? I mean, are they the best fighting, biggest, and most sought after fish or are other species more popular. I was curious because every time I do a search for fresh water fishing in Australia, they get mentioned. I can see why!

Here in the Midwest of the US, it's probably the musky (muskellunge) that reign as king of fresh water. They are big, toothy, long bodied fish that closely resemble pike. Out west, fishermen chase after those big salmon and trout. The biggest fresh water species we have are the alligator gars in the Mississippi River. One was recently taken with a bow and arrow that measured eight feet! :o I can't say that I would have done that to such a great animal (they're pretty rare), but that must have been an amazing thing to see.

Anyway, thanks for showing the picture Jim. Very neat to see!

catalyst
13-07-2004, 01:01 AM
my is a freshwater fish "BigHead carp" caught on a yozuri cyrstal minnow lure "foul hook"

Jim_Tait
13-07-2004, 06:27 PM
El'carpo,
the barra are a spectacular fish and so much loved cause they cover so many bases - they look great - silver to bronze with pink eyes that glow like embers (they're in the same family as snook in the US), they live in both fresh and salt, they hit with bucket mouth implosions or drenching surface chops, they jump and tail walk, they run pretty hard but also fight reasonably clean depending on how many snags are in the water - and they taste generally great if they come out of clean water and you want a couple of fillets.

That all being said and done there are a host of other freshwater and estuarine species that pull harder (mangrove jack), jump higher (tarpon, queenfish), taste better (mangrove jack) or live in more spectacuar habitat (jungle perch, sooties) -so it all boils down to preferences but few would knock back the opportunity of a hot barra bite!!

Regards Jim

el_carpo
13-07-2004, 07:03 PM
Thanks Jim, for the info. on the barra. If I ever make it to Australia, I'll definately try to catch one! They seem to be really good!

Catalyst,

Those big head carp are currently public enemy number one in my area. They are an invasive species here in Chicago (US) and are rapidly expanding their territory through rivers and streams. Can you tell me something about them? Can they be eaten? What do they eat? Are they good to fish for? The government is spending millions of dollars trying to keep them from entering the great lakes. I'm wondering if it is possible. We may have to be accepting their presence soon and I would like to know, from a person who is familiar with them, something about them. They sure are big. Any information is appreciated. Thanks.

14-07-2004, 05:09 AM

I am new to this terrific site and thought i might kick it of with my best flatty to date. Caught during this years 'King of the Pin' comp, the big girl went 89cm, caught on a whole pilly. After a quick photo she was released to fight another day and pump out more baby flatty's ;D