PDA

View Full Version : courses and qualifications for guides

Jay_Parker
29-07-2004, 01:53 PM
How is everyone.I was thinking about starting my own fishing guiding service and was wondering about how you go about being a qualified guide. Is there some sort of course you can do?.I have extensive knowledge in all aspects of fishing.I have been tying flies for 15 years and have travelled all around the world to some great fishing destinations.I service fishing reels for all the local tackle shops,i work in two of the local tackle shops.i have given fly tying demonstrations to groups and have shown the general public how to fish.I feel i can offer a service which i would love to do.So if anyone has any ideas about courses and qualifications i would greatly appreciate it.Thanks guys for all your help.

Fitzy
29-07-2004, 06:31 PM
Hi JJ,
Depends upon the relevant state or territory you intend to work in. You'll need a minimum of a coxswains ticket & some form of fisheries permit to conduct a commercial venture.
Contact your relevant fisheries and transport/maritime departments. Things you'll probably need are Senior 1st aid inc PCR, insurance, various permits, surveyed boat, maritime college, commercial sea time (logged),,,,,,, the list is long.

Dont really matter how much or little you know about fishing, as long as you're all legal like. Then if you're can't put people onto fish you'll just go broke.

Cheers,

fitzy..

Jay_Parker
30-07-2004, 03:13 PM
Thanks Fitzy,i appreciate your advice.It seems it is just not that easy.Once again mate thanks, i will persevere Cheers

Zeeke
30-07-2004, 05:47 PM
a field of work i would seriously love to get into considering fishing is the only thing that matters to me.. stuff women and cars, boats n fishing is more important.. and despite costing heaps.. gives ya fun all the time :-X ::) and ya get something in return.. oh yea, and when they leave ya, they dont take ur house

Tim
funny coming from a 22yr old dont ya reckon?

agnes_jack