View Full Version : TEST YOUR FISHING KNOWLEDGE

05-08-2004, 03:27 PM
See how well you no your Fishing and Boating knowledge, without diving into any publications to find the answers.
Answers will be posted friday evening.
To read the questions CLICK ON (FISHING QUIZ PDF)
regards #

05-08-2004, 05:19 PM
OK, I'll hang me goolies out here and post my answers.

No, I didn't look at any books, and bugga me, I don't have a clue about freshwater stuff.

But here goes, including guesses.

c, c, b, d, a, c, c, d, b, b, c, c, d, d, a, c, b, d, d, c, d, d, c, b, c +70max, d, b, b, b, d, a+b+c+d, c, c, d, Golden, Yes, No Idea, c, d, b, c, d, c, c, a, none ( 40 + any + any ), none 4 pots per person, c, c ( there is a misprint here, quiz says B, but answer is C ), c. :o

cheers Phill

moondancer
05-08-2004, 06:05 PM
OK - here's my go:
c d b d a b c c b b d c d c a c b d d a d d c b c c b a d d c c c c b no no d c c c d d c a b none b a

whew! Please sir, did I pass?

05-08-2004, 06:10 PM
not as game as you phil, but my answer to the last question was A, might give you an indication

NeilD
05-08-2004, 06:26 PM
OK here goes
1c c b d a b c d b b 11c c d d a c d d c c 21d d b a b a d b a d d 31a c a c 3 yes yes c b c 41c d d c a lots,d 8pots only c c(black king) c
My Brain hurts
Cheers Neil

cHiCo
05-08-2004, 06:35 PM
too hard , i quit

jaybee
05-08-2004, 07:12 PM
Gee, fishing must be non existent at present, quizez, games trying to get a drunk home, the mind boggles
Joe

hiflyer
06-08-2004, 08:22 AM
Had to take a few wild guesses, especially on the boating stuff as I don't do the boating thing. I rarely get out even on other peoples boats- although I had to study this stuff briefly as part of an aquaculture course so they are semi educated guesses (but still probably wrong). My answers are:

1 #) c :D
2 #) c :(
3 #) c :D
4 #) d :D
5 #) a :D
6 #) a :-/
7 #) c :D
8 #) c >:(
9 #) b :D
10) b ;D
11) d :-[
12) c :-/
13) a :-/
14) c :'(
15) b :-/

Cheers :)

Adam

gruntahunter
06-08-2004, 01:24 PM
same as phils.....hope u tried phil....... 8)

06-08-2004, 02:24 PM
Fair dinkum Webby,

50 question - some of us have gotta bloody work you know.

I'll expect the answers on Saturday ;)

BB

snappa
06-08-2004, 03:31 PM
hi

i dropped in at webbys work the other day [unexpected]
now i now why the grants guide to fish was open on his table ;D

::) :P

07-08-2004, 04:25 PM
Hi Well this certainly keep everyone quiet.
But to let you into a secret, the Quiz was backed by Mr Ausfish, and there were Prizes Up For Grabs.
So now that you no there are Prizes, we have extended the finish to MOnday Evening, to see if the Prizes will entice a few more.
Those that do post, once posted are not to be modified or changed.
For the 3 that have responed so far, and the one that only answered the first 15 ;D, Thanks, but i would also suggest you do some extra studies on fishing and boating ;D
Answers posted Monday evening, and Prizes determined.

Billo
08-08-2004, 02:28 PM
Here goes nothing

1 – C / 2- C / 3- B / 4- D / 5-A / 6-C / 7-C / 8-D / 9-B / 10-B / 11-C / 12-C / 13-D / 14-D / 15-A / 16-C / 17 –B / 18-D / 19-D / 20-A / 21-D / 22-D / 23-C / 24-B / 25-C / 26-D / 27-B / 28-B / 29-B / 30-D / 31-All-emperor / 32-C / 33-C / 34-D /35-C- Silver ? / 36 – NO-mullet + trevally :-/ / 37- NO / 38 – B / 39- D / 40-B / 41-C / 42 – D / 43- D / 44- C / 45-A / 46-none of the above , no limit on dart / 47-depends if you get caught by fisheries ;or none of the above / 48-B / 49-C ( says B on test-Black king ) / 50-B ?? you tell me :-/

philip_thomson
08-08-2004, 03:35 PM
i am not to good with these questions but here is how i went

b, c, b, d, a, c, c, b, c, b, c, d, d, b, b, d, d, c, c, a, d, b, c, b, c, d , b, a, d, c, a, c, d, b, b, no, no, c, d, c, a, d, d, c, a, none 40 + any +any, none 4 pots per person, c, b ,b.

i think i may have gotten a bit mixed up with some of my answers there we shall see though

cheers phil

Cloud_9
08-08-2004, 05:23 PM
i'll probably be banned fish the water but here goes.

c, d, b, d, a, c, c, d, b,b, c, c, d, d, b, c, d, d, d, d, d, 5-50, c, b, c, a, b, a, d, d, a, c, c, b, 3, no, yes, empoer, d, b, c, d, d, c, a, 20+any+any, 10 crabs from 8pots, c, none,c.

hope i haven't humiliated myself too badly. :-/

Cheers Cloud 9

08-08-2004, 05:47 PM
ok
probable lucky i live in tassie cause it gives me lots of excuses, reckon i will need em

a,c,b,d,d,b,c,b,b,d,a,b,a,d,c,c,b,d,c,c,d,a,c,a,b, d,b,a,d,d,c,c,d,a,3,no,yes,emperor,d,c,c,d,b,c,a,c ,a,c,b,a,

now i think thats all, as i said i did it on a bit of paper and i have spend the last few days writing sounder quotes and specs all over the same bit of paper, so now i reckon there is more wrong than when i first did it.
so do i win for the most excuses for the best failure
lol

mr_phishy
09-08-2004, 04:36 PM
1C,2C,3B,4D,5A,6C,7C,8D,9D,10B,11C,12C,13D,14D,15B ,16B,17B,18D,19D,20C,21D,22B,23A,24B,25C,26D,27B,2 8A,29D,30D,31C,32C,33C,34B,35Golden?,36NO,37NO,38C ,39D,40C,41C,42D,43B,44BC,45D,46C,47A,48C,49C,50 BETWEEN 35-45

Just a quick note:

Q34- ??Is there a combined limit, individual limits don't a seem to add up to me?? tuskies=6, wrasse=5, reds=5, grass=nil, snapper=5

Q46 20 tailor pp (more on fraser) no limit applies to the others as far as im aware??

Q47 Only allowed 4 pots pp, therefore 8 crabs!

10-08-2004, 05:16 PM
Well here's the answers.
Will let Steve decide the Prizes.
Thanks to those the bothered.

10-08-2004, 06:21 PM
OK now for the queries. Brian. ???

Question:- 46. your answer is 'c'. 20+20+20. Sorry, didn't know there was a bag limit on Bream & Dart. My answer would be 40 Tailor and as many Bream and Dart as you could carry.

Question 43. If my boat was sinking at night I would activate EPIRB and Radio for help, once sighted etc, then light Red Flare. The question seems to ask what is the first thing you'd do ? But, we'll leave it at that.

Question 39:- I should have known, although never heard of a ' carlisle " hook before, just thought you made a bad spelling error of the O'Shaunessy ?

Question 48:- the following is the regs as per NOW ?

All cods and gropers* 38 min combined limit of 5 in total of all species
*Cod exceptions
greasy rockcod
camouflage rockcod
Maori cod
flowery cod

38 min 100 max
50 min 100 max
45 min
50 min 100 max

Didn't see any Spotted Cod, and even if they were there, still 38cms. So my answer is still 'c'.....none ! ???

anyway, good quiz and hope most people attempted it in good faith.

Another one coming up soon I guess ?

Billo
11-08-2004, 03:04 AM
well i'll be knackered #;D

Did alright for a bloke who doesn't fish the fresh and only owned a boat for 2 months ...and doesn't even have any books as the little brother knocked them ALL off a couple of weeks back

Top quiz fellas ...started seemingly easy ...but thought you had gotten the better of me half way through!...think i need a bit more brushing up on my book reading !bring on the next one

11-08-2004, 05:18 AM
now i understand
the blaze must spend to much time on a queensland based website and not enough time fishing
better go and shout myself a xxxx
got a couple in the fridge a local X queenslander give

Billo
11-08-2004, 06:32 AM
Blaze , maybe you should kick the XXXX and get some real queenslander drink in ya !!!

good loads of sugar for the brain ..Damn you BUNDY !!!!!!!!!!!!!
all this from an ex cockroach on the migration path ;D

DaneCross
11-08-2004, 07:33 AM
Great quiz Webby, really got my head ticking... didn't do too well though. Can't say I've seen a comp with prizes offered on here since becoming a member. I think it's a great idea, there should be more of them [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Dane