View Full Version : NQ MEET & GREET

SNELLY
20-07-2004, 03:42 PM
OK LETS TRY AGAIN

WHO's up for another get together in FNQ ?

Hey AL NFI, FISHSMITH, Dicko and others any starters

Looking for suggestions re time and place

Snelly

Robbo_Townsville
20-07-2004, 03:45 PM
Cardwell is a good spot. When? Whenever it is not blowing a gail.

Mad_Barry
20-07-2004, 03:58 PM
yo, sounds good, I usually juggle kids, cats, dogs, & dancing around on weekends,......... 31 july/1 aug looks OK coming up.

It's a blue moon, maybe that's an ominous sign of catfish and the MIL's you fella's cleaned up on last time ?? #;D

what dates are you's thinking of ?

Where to ?, I'm easy,anywere within a few hrs.

Dirty_Mole
20-07-2004, 04:48 PM
yeah thats all well and good but its a bit far to travel for us people that live in brissie.

landy1
20-07-2004, 05:03 PM
Because i dont have a map handy, wheres Cardwell. Say in relation to Townsville.

Mad_Barry
20-07-2004, 05:05 PM
About 2hrs north of T'ville Landy.

only just up the road really, particularly after you head in a thousand from where you are. ;D

Dr_Dan
20-07-2004, 05:10 PM
I'm keen to go. I'm putting my hand up for crewing if anyone needs ;D

Dan [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

landy1
20-07-2004, 05:12 PM
Not to bad then, you sort of get used to driving for 6 hours to get anywhere from here. Then again most people want to be anywhere but here ;D

megafish71
20-07-2004, 05:41 PM
I'm up for a meet and greet. Cardwell sounds good to me too. Mid August would work better for me, but will try and work in with whatever suits everyone else.
Hey Landy1 does that mean your Landy would make it that far. hehehehehehe. Just kidding mate

Cheers Ron

landy1
20-07-2004, 06:07 PM
;D The disco will make it there on one tank of fuel ;D

megafish71
20-07-2004, 06:12 PM
Does that mean your going to push it the rest of the way?
;D ;D hehehehhehehe ;D ;D

landy1
20-07-2004, 06:13 PM
Yeah you'll keep and that goes for the rest of youse :-X

SNELLY
21-07-2004, 04:44 AM
Mick,

They don't use too much fuel on the back of a tow truck do they ?

Snelly

SNELLY
21-07-2004, 08:02 AM
Dirty Mole,

You are most welcome

At less than $100- each way by plane you could have a cheap weekend of fishing

Dirty_Mole
21-07-2004, 01:36 PM
yeah but the thing is i don't have $100. I don't even have a job ;D

Robbo_Townsville
22-07-2004, 09:01 AM
Sat 28 Sun 29 of August is the lead up to the full moon on Monday 30 August. How about this date?

megafish71
22-07-2004, 09:05 AM
Sounds bloody good to me, are we still thinking about Cardwell ? Wife and kids will be interstate at that time, so I'm really keen.

whitey73
22-07-2004, 02:34 PM
Sounds good fellas . Let us know when and where when yas figure it out . Whitey

SNELLY
23-07-2004, 04:26 AM
Robbo and Everyone,

That was the weekend I was going to suggest - Good tides for the Channel if it is windy so we have both bases, estuary and offshore covered

Robbo - Perfection personified - Well done

SO is everyone cool with Cardwell - I checked with Cardwell Beachcomber and the Backpackers Accom is $20-pn so that may be a good option for all - can still park boats at the back away from sight of the highway and we have the washdown area as well.
Also still have the other Motel and Cabin options if people want that as well as camping

megafish71
23-07-2004, 04:42 AM
Ok then, you got me. As I said the wife and kids will be away at that time, If the winds are down I'll bring the boat, might need a crew, anyone interested.
Cheers Ron

Mad_Barry
23-07-2004, 05:37 AM
looks OK for me (will know for sure closer to the time)

OK, date & venue organised, so who's in charge of sending an email & booking this date with

http://www.bom.gov.au/ # #? ? ? ?

SNELLY
23-07-2004, 05:47 AM
We must all pray !!!!!!!!!!!

Dr_Dan
23-07-2004, 07:06 AM
Ron.

PICK ME PICK ME!!!!! ;D ;D

WOuld love to crew. Pay my own way etc, of course.

Dan!

old_mate_china
23-07-2004, 10:41 AM
Hey Ron - I'll be checking in with the cheese and kisses about my regular position onboard the budget blower. :-X Sounds like a great idea - just need to test my luck :'(

Save a spot for old mate china :D

Robbo_Townsville
23-07-2004, 02:55 PM
mmmmm, can still remember those cold xxxx gold at the resturaunt bar after a hard days MIL fishing. Wadda you reckon Snelly, you up for a fillet or two. ;)

SNELLY
24-07-2004, 04:41 AM
Mate,

I think I will stick to the PIZZA - They were great - Plus I don't eat fish

Surely IF you do catch another one you wouldn't keep it AGAIN

Snelly

Robbo_Townsville
27-07-2004, 10:50 AM
Hi fellas, just booked at the Beachcomber at Cardwell for the night of 27 and 28 of August. If you are after self contained cottages best hurry up and book. I myself am going in luxury in the motel $85 for the deluxe or $69 for the standard room.

Ph 4066 8550

SNELLY
27-07-2004, 12:22 PM
Robbo,

You're going a bit flash

I was just going to stay in the back packers

Snelly

Robbo_Townsville
27-07-2004, 03:22 PM
I know Snelly, actually halve that due to bringing a co-worker with me. Have to put those grenn zones in the GPS this weekend.

Dr_Dan
31-07-2004, 10:01 AM
Still going ahead?

SNELLY
05-08-2004, 04:53 PM
Dan & Everyone,

Looking fine here so how many more starters have we got ?

Robbo_Townsville
05-08-2004, 05:43 PM
Me and a co worker Snelly.

Wild_Side
05-08-2004, 06:14 PM
Where abouts are you going to meet up in cardwell. I might be able to be there.

Wild Side :)

megafish71
06-08-2004, 10:32 AM
Well I'll be there, Old Mate China should be with me and Hornet 435 may also be with me. So whats the deal? are you guys arriving at Cardwell Friday arvo or Saturday?
Cheers Ron

Robbo_Townsville
06-08-2004, 02:43 PM
Friday arvo / night Me and my mate should be at the Beachcomber

Barrymundi
06-08-2004, 02:47 PM
What dates are planned ?

Al

Robbo_Townsville
06-08-2004, 02:54 PM
Fri 27 Sat 28 Sun 29 August

Barrymundi
06-08-2004, 03:00 PM
Thanks Robbo,

Put we down as 75%.

Al

old_mate_china
06-08-2004, 06:27 PM
Old mate china's in for a grin. Missus feeling guilty about my proposal to take the young fella ,so now footloose and fancy free.

Will be bunkin down with Megafish if he can fit his head in the door after scoring more trout and emperor midweek on the full moon....bastard I had to work !!!

Was in Cardwell last Thursdy for work and (later) a night out (Tully show hol). Pitty the girls are so ugly. Makes fishin sound pretty damn good.

See ya all on the full moon.

Someone who knows the place needs to organise and time and place for the meet and greet. Otherwise I'll be waving all weekend to silly looking prickles out on the water.

megafish71
07-08-2004, 09:12 AM
Rite you fish, look out!! Accommodation booked, now lets put our demands on the weatherman. Hey Dr Dan still looking for a spot on the boat? Got one spot left open so let me know.
Heres to a good weekend
Cheers Ron

SNELLY
07-08-2004, 09:57 AM
OK,

I will start a new post with the details #

But here is what I propose

Sat 28th of August and Sunday 29th August

M&G at Cardwell Beachcomber Village Resort #Ph 40 668 550 Friday night - for those arriving Friday Night

I intend to travel down #from Cairns on Saturday Morning - For anyone else that is doing the same I will see you at Caltex Gordonvale at 5-00am for a Bacon Egg & cheese Jaffle and then onto Cardwell.

Saturday 28th

7-00am Meet at Ramp at Marina
7-30am Leave ramp for wherever weather permits - looks like we have some reef fishers and estuary guys as well PLUS ROBBO has some good spots at Gould Island he just cant wait to show you

Good tides for the Channel but I would like to go to the reef if conditions allow - will have to wait till closer to the date

3-00pm return to Ramp

4-00pm Boats cleaned and some serious M'ing & G'ing to get underway including XXXX appreciation etc etc

Dinner Sat Night can be at the restaurant at the caravan park or we can go the the diner in town - can be discussed during the afternoon

Sunday - Leave Ramp at 6-30 to 7-00pm - No PIKERS THIS
# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #TIME

finnish fishing and return home at your leasure

Hows that sound to you all ?

Any changes don't be affraid to put them forward

Dr_Dan
07-08-2004, 01:50 PM
Ron

Hells yeah still interested. Check your PM

old_mate_china
07-08-2004, 04:35 PM
Snelly

Jeez you blokes start fishin late and finish early. Dunno if Mega and I will want to cut off at 3PM unless the weathers shit or the fishin poor. If it takes you an hour to get out to the reef and an hour back , with maybe trolling for some Macko's best when the sun is low, I think we might have to meet and greet a little later in the PM.

I mean please yourself but the sun wont be down until 6 pm and besides a cleanup and hose off of blood, guts and other nasties, do you really wash the boat down if your heading out again the next day. :o

Maybe its just me but I get thirstier after a full day out. ;) ;)

Whats your flavour Dr Dan ? .... just coming along for the ride.

SNELLY
07-08-2004, 04:42 PM
China,

Yes I would start earlier to but I was trying to make it OK for people to travel from Cairns or Townsville on Saturday morning. Not sure about finishing later but by all means you can go for your life

No complaints from me for an earlier start for the reef on Sunday but if I'm fishing the channel there wont be much happening before 8-30 anyway

Snelly

old_mate_china
07-08-2004, 05:55 PM
Hey snelly.

You're right about the channel. Its really hit and miss. When your on, your on and when your not, your not. I froze my wet ass out there at easter on an overnighter. :-/ We holed up in grunter (and mosquito) heaven ;D only to find the grunter were still in preschool and the mosquitoes just wanted to relentlessly eat my tired, cold and unfortunately NOT tone deaf ears. ??? ??? In the wee hours the catfish moved in.. About 30 fish for the trip but not one keeper.

We raised a Barra the next morn early but 52 aint quite big enough. One thing I will say though, that channel is a bloody beautiful place , fish or not !!... and while i love to take a feed home, 30 fish aint bad in a short squeeze of time.

megafish71
08-08-2004, 05:54 AM
Hey China, sounds like one of your typical trips in your boat. At least you didn't hit any tree stumps this time. ;D ;D ;D Me thinks you need a good skipper to find you some fish. hahahaha
And yes I can hear what your saying and I resemble that remark ;D ;D

Dr_Dan
08-08-2004, 10:49 AM
Will be there, fishing with Megafish and china. Can't wait! Hopefully will be a better trip than my last one to lucinda!

old_mate_china
09-08-2004, 02:59 PM
hey Dan - Just leave the bananas at home .

Dr_Dan
09-08-2004, 04:33 PM
Of course china, what do you think this is! ;D

megafish71
10-08-2004, 04:40 PM
So do we have anymore coming along for a great weekend?

SNELLY
11-08-2004, 04:19 PM
To make things easier I have started a new post