PDA

View Full Version : HELP !!! Finally going to PEEL

Angha
28-08-2004, 09:14 PM
I am new to fishing, especially from a boat.

My friend and I have finally decided to go and try fishing at Peel Island on the 12th of September. He has never done any fishing although he has 10 + years experience on his boat.

I think I have the appropriate fishing gear but no experience whatsoever, fishing from a boat. We need your [smiley=helpa.gif], where do we start [smiley=huh2.gif]. The only thing we know for sure now is that we are going on the
12th September, willing to leave home around 1am or whenever would be the best time and that I may already have the appropriate rod, reel and line.

Well where do we start? Can any of you guys give us some direction where to go, what other gears other than (rod, reel and line) to bring with us, what kind of hooks and what we do about the bait and anything I have missed out to ask here.

Are there any of you guys going on that day that we can follow and learn from ... THIS WOULD BE GREAT ... I am afraid I might be asking too much here but I guess it never hurts to try.

Looking forward to tips, suggestions and great advise as always.

Angha

Angha
28-08-2004, 09:24 PM
Is it advisable to go Saturday late afternoon 11th Sept and camp at Peel and fish early next morning?

Angha

MulletMan
28-08-2004, 09:30 PM
Tell us a bit about the boat and motor first. Size, shape, model, hull material and width. Peel can be a very dangerous place if the wrong winds get up and you are in a small boat.
Do you have an EPIRB, charts for the area, safety gear, marine radio(s) etc.

Angha
29-08-2004, 05:54 AM
From memory my friends boat is a 5 meter cruiser Quintrex Alumminium outside and fiberglass inside with a 70 hp engine. Got life jacket, flares, radio and an old fish finder. Not sure about EPIRB (what is this?) ... Chart??? is this that same thing as a map? he has got an old map but might need to get a new one.