PDA

View Full Version : Researching boats

Mel
13-09-2004, 05:33 PM
Hi,
I am a teacher currently planning my next unit which is all about boats! Even though my ex was a fishing fanatic and bought several boats. I am none the wiser. The kids need to investigate various boat designs and then build a boat that carries cargo approx (300g-400g in weight) across a water trough without sinking. I was wondering any of you know some websites that would be suitable or know of any boating companies I could contact to get brochures, so the kids could get some ideas on different designs.

Thanks

mackmauler
13-09-2004, 05:59 PM
Mel, you could probably go to one company that makes several different designs such as Quintrex, fast and easy :D try googling them.

Zeeke
13-09-2004, 06:24 PM
Easiest boat to build.. Ice Cream Buckett with some wax cardboard stuck to each end to make it look like a boat

MY-TopEnder
13-09-2004, 06:28 PM
Well the Polycraft is affectionately known as the tuperware tiny or the wheelie-bin boat... they're a little different to your average boats.

www.polycraft.com.au

Then you get into twin hull or single hull so someone like noosa cats or kevlacats. Not sure of an address for this.

Then there is Stabicraft which uses the sealed chambers and is all plate alloy... www.stabicraft.com

Dug
13-09-2004, 07:13 PM
How old are the kids?

Why not just give the kids a pile of stuff from a recycle shop and let them go for it. They have a great imagination give them an object to be carried like a fishing sinker and a distance for it to be carried.

The engineering school at the uni I worked at used to set competitions like this & every year every year the same lab assistants won the prize over the students and lecturers he had a remarkable practical problem solving streak.

They finally convinced him to study engineering formally rather than just helping others to get their degrees.

Mel
14-09-2004, 05:55 PM