PDA

View Full Version : Advice please!

PommyBloke
15-09-2004, 01:31 PM
I'm new to fishing in general - just started doing a bit locally (Live in Browns Plains (Brissie) area, but drive to coast for a bit of fishing last weekend). I've bought myself a cheap and cheerful basic river/estuary rod and reel and a few lures.
Any advice about where might be a good place to go for some beginner fishing or tips on bait/rigs would be appreciated.
Cheers.

Fishinmishin
15-09-2004, 01:56 PM
Where the fish are is the best spot I know ;D Do you have a boat or shore fishing. Please tell me a bit about the gear your using and what you would like to target.

PommyBloke
15-09-2004, 02:15 PM
I've got a 7'6" National Estuary rod that came with a 350 National II reel. Only $35 or so from ######### - as I said, cheap and cheerful!
I also got some "holographic" lures, but found they didn't do much on Friday or Saturday in the Logan river, so I tried using prawns down near Hope Island on the Gold Coast on Sunday and got a 20/30 cm flathead and 3 stripy grunters (???) (I think that's what they were at least.)
I haven't got a boat, but was thinkin' 'bout hiring a tinny this weekend - either close to Brissie or somewhere nearby on the Gold Coast. But any tips on a good place to catch any river fish from the bank would be great.

Cheech
15-09-2004, 03:53 PM
I am not from the south side so cannot help with land based spots, so will leave that for others.

But a couple of tips for new people that may be missed,,,,