View Full Version : Eating your Bait

Gorilla_in_Manila
20-09-2004, 03:23 PM
Just got back from the supermarket (Manila, Philippines).
After all the other posts on eating bait and sucker fish etc, I couldn't go past these tempting morsels.

1. Chilli Squid "In Natural Ink"
Don't you hate it when you accidently get the ones in "Unnatural" ink.
Boil 5 ball point pens until tender,
add squid. :P

2. Milkfish Spanish Style
OLE!!! Guess I'll be waving my arms around when I talk, after eating this one.
That's assuming I don't choke on the 205 bones that are bound to be inside.

3. Bonito Tuna in Coco Cream
Now you know what to do with your Mack Tuna Jeffo! :)

Dirty_Mole
20-09-2004, 03:27 PM
Thats Just Not Right who would actually eat that

Gorilla_in_Manila
20-09-2004, 03:40 PM
And then there is the dried varieties.

1. White bait
Actually very nice with stir fried green swamp plants.
Actually like the smaller ones better ... about 1 cm long and look like just eyes with tails.

2. 4 1/2 inch WA pillies
Actually works out at exactly the same price as I paid for the IQF ones I was using as flathead bait in aus earlier in the year.
Thay still feel a bit soft though, so I think I had better make sure whatever they end up in, gets boiled for a few days before eating. [smiley=sick2.gif]

3. Extra smelly dried Anchovies
They look like little dried baby flounder, but on closer inspection (with a peg on my nose) they are anchovies sliced up the middle and opened out for drying.
Boy I hope they had a machine that does the slicing and opening out. ::)
They are pretty strong on the old snoz. Cats love em.
Just open a pack, and suddenly you've got more pussy around you than Brad Pitt! ;D

Enjoy your sunday dinners! ;)

Jeff
PS not to sure on the correct translations of the fish types.
Peewee ... Help!

agnes_jack
21-09-2004, 03:42 AM
MMMM......
Can I come over for dinner one night Jeff?
Then I can be burley boy the next day :D
If.... If I can keep it down that long.

Regards, Tony :-/ :-/ ;D

Gorilla_in_Manila
21-09-2004, 07:03 AM
who would actually eat that

Mole,
Most of asia I would say, so what's that .... over 1/2 of the worlds population?
If you are feeling a little grossed out by this stuff, go check out what goes into sausages and meat pies. ;)

Tony,
It would make an interesting trail I reckon. ;D
What sized cubes you want the pillies?
Bring us a big, thick, queensland T bone when you drop by, would ya?

Jeff

peewee
21-09-2004, 07:15 AM
Yeah Jeff,,you got it pretty right ;D..been taking lessons eh?
Mmmm...love that white bait :o...and only 75c or so a whole packet !

Gorilla_in_Manila
21-09-2004, 07:59 AM
G'Day Les,
Wouldn't say lessons exactly....
Wife tells me a word, gets me to repeat it, then spends the next 10 minutes laughing her head off and joking with her sisters about my pronunciation.
So I ignore them and have a few of these (see attached pic)....
which are even better value at 35c each or $8.40 for a slab.
:o
Then of course I forget my new word. ;)
Jeff

dazza
21-09-2004, 08:29 AM
the more you drink the more you save ;D ;D

ba229
21-09-2004, 09:07 AM
a friend of mine came back from asia with some dried and chillied squid.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm they were so mummy he barely got any. would go down great with a beer or 10.

they were dry and chewy and very heavy on the sweet honey sort of flavour and chilli.

How much to get some sent to me Jeff? my mouth is watering just thinking of it.

Gorilla_in_Manila
21-09-2004, 09:37 AM
Daza,
Thats exactly right.
Reckon I saved about $50 last night. ;)

Alex,
Yep know the ones; beer and them things go together like Fred and Ginger.
Gotta watch yourself coming home to the missus with beer and dead fish on your breath though. ;D
Had heaps in Malaysia; havent noticed the sweet chili ones here.
I'll have a look. No promises.
If you know anyone coming back from Thailand, try to get some deep fried maggots.
They are like crunchy mini witchety grubs and are up there with the squid as a beer snack.
Jeff

Big_Kev
21-09-2004, 03:46 PM
Nope, I don't eat dog.

Gorilla_in_Manila
21-09-2004, 04:01 PM
;D ;D

Kev,
Neither do I ....

Errrrr .... I hope! :-/

MY-TopEnder
21-09-2004, 04:15 PM
whats wrong with a big mac, large chips and a coke???

Render
22-09-2004, 06:42 AM
I hear that in certain parts of Asia, the local McDonalds franchise is called McDaschunds #::)

R