View Full Version : Emperor of Australia

el_carpo
03-10-2004, 05:34 PM
O.K., I've been reading posts at this site for a while now and have noticed the same topics coming up over and over again. The sustainability of the fisheries of Australia and the over-export of your fish. Also, there is the topic of the Great Barrier Reef closings. Obviously, these issues are weighing heavily on all of your minds as they have a direct effect on you personally and on your country.

Please do not misunderstand my meaning here. I am in NO way complaining about these topics being debated. In fact, I am most interested in them as we face similar problems in the U.S. so I read them every time they pop up here on Ausfish very closely.

What my question is, is this: If you were the "Emperor of Australia", and had no one to answer to and no bureaucracy to deal with, what would YOU do to fix things? I mean REALLY fix things. What is(are) your solution(s)? What steps or rules would you bring about to finally get things "right" for Australia's fisheries for good? Is there a solution that will make everyone happy or if not happy, content? A happy medium? Or do you think it's a hopeless situation and only some interests can be served?

Hopefully, some good, solid ideas will be brought up and can gain some momentum.

Well emperor, what's your plan? :)

03-10-2004, 05:43 PM
elcarpo, every trawler will be sent to the bottom, same with the longliners they can all piss off back to japan, or ill order the navy to aim and shoot ;D mmm lets see all netting banned and............ NO GREEN ZONES 8)

OH, and i order all greenies to pull down there canal front homes and replant the mangroves, also they cannot buy food from the shop they must find there own, just so they know where it actually comes from :P

Daintreeboy
03-10-2004, 05:47 PM
minimum size for coral trout 45 cms and only 5 per person or 15 per boat. Adjust the green zones similar to the fishing parties ideas about split reef systems and you can still have a decent percentage of green areas. As for the rivers, each system should be studied to look at it's size, habitat number of fishers and put appropriate bag limits. Ban all netting. I'll come up with more later ;D
Cheers, Mark.

Kerry
03-10-2004, 06:14 PM
Blow up every dam, impoundment, weir, barrage so you bugga's have got something real to complain about, no water #:D

But then the fish wouldn't really matter as most wouldn't have the lifestyle to worry them anyway.

Common sense gets priority over the might of the $$

As for green zones #:-X well until there's some actual real creditable "scientific" evidence/facts then green zones don't even exist. Really need to sort out the facts from the bullshit but at this stage many can't tell the difference between bullshit and THE facts :o, actually some don't even know what facts are so there would have obviously have to be some "re-programming" ;D

Cheers, Kerry.

03-10-2004, 06:43 PM
OK heres a few
1 Ban all netting within 20km of any coastline of aust including islands
2 Limit long lining to a season and quota
3 Have a closed season on all fish
4 Ban the use of real fish in animal feed and also for farmed fish.
5 Make agriculture liable for any pollution they cause to inland waters (things like fertalizer run off)
6 Increase suvailance of resources(inshore and offshore)
7 Increase penalities to any breach of law for ALL offenders (to include things like littering)
8 Make farmers pay for water used at a real price so they might grow crops that are suitable for our dry arid land (not bloody cotton and rice)
9 Train all local police to a standard so they also have the power to deal with offenders
10 Put higher tarriffs on imported fish (that may also mean we would pay more for local fish, but I will pay extra for quality)

Barrymundi
04-10-2004, 03:26 AM
Good question.

The need to balance growth with sustainability. If some had there way we would all be sitting on the Endeavor with Captain Cook waiting for an environmental impact statement before we landed.

I already see the banning of trawlers has popped up. Well I guess no food for the cat then or bait for the fishos or Seafood at the local market. Sure that will be popular. Have you ever purchased a packet of prawns or pilchards to go fishing ? Where did they come from? With trawlers I believe they should be allocated an area to work and that is the only area they can work. No other boats are to fish that area. All seafood sold is labeled stating how it was caught and where it was caught. A standard be created to score the sustainability of the fishing practice rating say 1 to 5 and each product is clearly labeled. For example you purchase your prawns to go fishing on the bay and the prawns are labeled – Prawns 250grams Caught by “Trawler 234” method Bean Net Rating 1 out of 5.

Next on the good old hit list is degradation of the waterways. Where I live was once mud flats and a flood plain that has been filled in. The water I drink comes from a dam that was built by blocking a river. The timber used to build my house was from a plantation that is growing where once stood a native timber forest. Outside of town we find Sugar Cane farms that have been built on swamps and flood plains and they consume heaps of water. Developers are slowly being restricted on where and how they can build but we have a long way to go. Back in the old days we grew a lot of vegies in a garden at home. For the younger ones ask your Mum and Dad, it is true. Once again rate and label all farmed products in a method similar to the Trawler method.

Now for the boat, lets see, burns fossil fuel, made from Alloy (mined), made from Fiberglass (that must be environmentally friendly). Emissions from boats to me is a minor thing considering I create more green house gases in my car driving to work than my boat will ever make. Maybe we should all catch trains or buses to work, it is really not that inconvenient. Double the price of fuel and you see alternative power sources.
We could also go back to the old days and row the boat or form a daisy chain and have one boat tow 20 boats out to the fishing grounds. Maybe there is an alternative material for boats that is more environmentally friendly?

Fishing- “ I don’t harm anything” The benefits of fishing far out way the impact we make. Sure we can improve, we are not perfect. It is hard to argue a case when we use lead sinkers, plastic lures and rudder soft plastic things. Make fishing a compulsory subject in school and graded on the High School Certificate. Change will start with our children. Educate the kids and they will drive change.

"Emperor of Australia" well that will never win, democratic society will always run this country. There is a place in politics for all parties including Pauline. All I can say is they are held accountable during the period in power for the things they say and promise and are paid accordingly. Some as CEO’s for large companies who are paid on your ACTUAL performance (in most cases) We have a weird system, they all promise the world at election time, then when elected suffer amnesia.

Glug
04-10-2004, 05:07 AM
Educate every one to define problems first before trying to solve them. Then make them solve them by puting people first, environment second and profit last.

agnes_jack
04-10-2004, 06:35 AM
If I answered that one honestly, I would become extremely unpopular with:
Politicians
The green lobby
GBRMPA
Grey nurse sharks
Radically green divers
Jet ski operators
Small car drivers in the city
Car salesmen
real estate agents
Banks
etc, etc etc.

Regards, Tony ::) ::) ::) ::) :-/ ;D

04-10-2004, 06:39 AM
Not a bad call Blaze ! just about got it on the nose.

Great topic also Mister El-Carpo.

Jeez, I dunno. #It;s like this is the Never Ending subject. But suffice to say, it's no use putting up your ideas here and doing nuthing else.

I have always said, that it's no use whinging to ya work mates or the cheese and kisses. #Make a sound where it counts.

Think what you like, but I am handing out Fishing Party how to vote cards at Saturday's elections. I AM doing something.

Am I misguided ? No. #There are no unrealistic expectations from The Fishing Party. A voice will be heard.

example:- #the stoppage of Ring Netting, #closure of Fraser Island to Tailor Netting.

The Greenies will want TOTAL BAN on all forms of fishing. Rob's right here. Check out ya own backyard first Mr & Mrs Tree-Hugger.

Probably, if I had to raise an issue, it would be the 'live export' and importation of crap seafood. #Let's get our prioritites right here first. Do the sustainable research bit.

Let's face it..3,000,000 Australians fish. #But how many of those are prepared to put a tick in a box and have a small say in the future of their HOBBY ! ? # Well #are you ?

Cheers # Phill

04-10-2004, 06:40 AM
"All I can say is they are held accountable during the period in power for the things they say and promise and are paid accordingly"...therein lies part of the reason we have the people we have in Government...we pay peanuts..we get monkeys. Compare the PM and Premiers salaries to that of CEO's of some organisations...absolutely ludicrous in comparison.

Glug
04-10-2004, 08:43 AM
".we pay peanuts..we get monkeys. Compare the PM and Premiers salaries to that of #CEO's of some organisations...absolutely ludicrous in comparison.

Some CEO's are completly brainless having had only famiy connections or good crawling ability. So why pay more to get the same or worse? Mokey see mokey do, so at least they do some thing and leave the public servants to stop the country going broke.

Volvo
04-10-2004, 12:28 PM
:) Place a permanent muzzle n leash on some of the posters here, you bein the first 8)...
Thats all we need , everyone runnin around with each others individual fix on things ::)..
You ask, i answer ey ;).

Dug
04-10-2004, 01:24 PM
simple the implementation of my "Open Day" plan.

The plan works along the lines of the movie "Series 7 the contender"
if you ever get a chance to see it.

Every year there is a secret lottery government run and the winners get a tag and a Glock 41 pistol, they are on open day legally allowed to shoot one #######. You would have about 10,000 winners a year so unemployment would be reduced and productivity increased by 10,000 people per year.

This plan works on 4 levels, one, you remove 10,000 #######s from the system, two, you prevent #######s from breeding, three, holding power in high office as they become easy targets and finally, four, you would make Australia a more polite and caring society because if you knew open day was coming up you would not want to piss any one off.

Only kidding no one in their right mind would want to shoot 10,000 annoying #######s a year would they? [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif]

Burley_Boy
04-10-2004, 05:51 PM
Lol Dug thats an innovative idea.
Thanks for the thread El Carpo. Pinhead I honestly doubt polies are driven by money I'd say power and a need to rule figures higher for most. Its an ego thing that the money can't give them.
As far as increasing fuel cost by 2x I'd say its had minimal effect in the places in the world where they pay more than 2x that we do like plenty of European countries.

I'd seriously look into the netting business and its cost versus impact etc.

MTpockets
04-10-2004, 07:47 PM
Its a great thread El_Carpo, but I must say that once you got to the position of Emperor, you would start to understand how big the problem really is. There is so much pressure coming from all corners including overseas interests, tourism and so on...... basically the $ factor. What we are in is a never ending spiral of self distruct. Human nature seems to be ruled by greed, and therefore there is basically no real answer because we have come too far. Where we are right now started building momentum many years ago not only here but world wide and eveything is governed by the $.

All I really want to do is live a nice peacful life and have the ability to go down and catch a fish or 2. Seems to me like the only way I can see that happening is if we get the right people into power and hopefully rebalance a very sinking ship :(
Les

el_carpo
04-10-2004, 09:22 PM
Some interesting answers being given here (well, all but one--I know comedy is hard, but that was just sad man:'() #I won't say which one. #I think it's obvious.

Anyway, I wouldn't give up yet. #Put enough pressure on the right people and get people informed and involved. #The "I fish and I vote" bumper sticker in and of itself is a good weapon. #Folks who have no idea what the fishing situation is will see them and might just get curious enough to want to know more. #Your job is to know the situation and the facts and be able to explain it to them. #It will work.

E.C. #--unmuzzled and unleashed for life. 8)

Dug
05-10-2004, 04:39 AM
Guilty as charged Sir I, will go to my room now ;D ;D ;D

I take my medication it's just every now and then it does not work :P :P :P

I am really a quiet and peaceful person my religion is Buddhist fundamentalism I actively protest by not hurting people ever day we don't bomb, kill or maim we get stronger, we work on the belief that a children's bodies cannot tell the difference between an evil terrorist bomb or a good coalition of the willing bomb as they are blown apart. I do have a very sick sense of humor though, it is either laugh at the world or cry and if you start to cry you would never stop.

I would just like to see everyone get on and enjoy life but some people keep banging drums saying these people are evil and they are our enemies we should kill them and actually doing it.

We all get a vote soon, a vote for fishing is a nice thought, but a vote for peace actually changes things.

cheers doug

Glug
05-10-2004, 06:38 AM
Your right there Doug, the same political parties take the same action every time. The thing is they do it out of fear if its not, Islam they are scared of it is the Yellow peril or communism. It must be terrible living your life looking for communists or terrorist under ever little rock or behind every bush. The fact that their fear and aggression results in death and suffering for thousands is criminal.

el_carpo
05-10-2004, 08:02 AM
:o :o :o Sweet mother of God ! What the hell is going on?! :o :o :o

Dug, old buddy, old pal. I wasn't talking about your post. I was referring to Volvo's post. See the last line in my last post about being "unleashed and unmuzzled for life"? That was in reference to his suggestion that I and everyone else here should be muzzled and leashed so we can't give our opinions. I took exception to that. I wasn't talking about your post at all.

Glug, I don't know where to begin so I won't. Looking for communists/terrorists? How the heck did you work THAT in? ::) :P

Please, from now on everyone, I'm begging you ;D ; if you think I'm attacking you, know that I'M NOT!!! I don't attack people who don't attack me EVER! Heck, I usually just ignore those who choose to go after me.

All I wanted to do was get a list of ideas out of the Ausfishers on how to deal with the problems facing your fisheries. THAT'S ALL. Nothing agressive. Not head-hunting. Just a little honest question. What would you do to fix things for Australia's fishery. Nothing about commie twerps or EVIL terrorists (and yes, they are evil but let's not go there again). ::)

Yo soy innocente amigos! I'm a nice guy! I enjoy music! I donate to charitable organizations! I feed hungry squirrels and birds! I compliment parents on their babies' looks no matter how ugly they are! If I saw a guy on a ledge, I'd yell, "Don't jump! You have lots to live for!" even if he didn't. etc. etc. etc.
;D

Please! please! please! Stop the hate! ;D I don't hurt you guys, you don't try to hurt me! ;D

And please no more strange misunderstandings. I can't take much more of this.

Where's my rum?! :o ;D

E.C.-- dazed and confused. ???

lordy
05-10-2004, 12:02 PM
Line my pockets with several hundred billion of the goverments money and flee the country. That solves my problems.

05-10-2004, 01:41 PM
Dont know about U elcarpo, LMAO love ya posts, always with a witty bit of humour, dont know how anyone would take offence at your writings (bloody dribble most of the time) LOL.
I reply to this post with ideas on what I thought would help, others have replied with humour but at the end of the day its only text on a monitor.
Keep the muzzle off mate, just dont bloody bite ya hear

Burley_Boy
05-10-2004, 04:33 PM
EL Carpo !!!
[smiley=laola.gif]

Dug
05-10-2004, 04:57 PM
OK El Carpo your off my list for open day #;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I really never take offense It is the election over here it gets me going ever time.

You should hear what some / most people say about me. It's not printable on this web site!!!!!

Love your posts El Carpo, don't stop.

Glug
05-10-2004, 06:02 PM
:o :o :o
Glug, I don't know where to begin so I won't. #Looking for communists/terrorists? #How the heck did you work THAT in? ::) :P

E.C.-- dazed and confused. ???

That one was not aimed at you, I was just refering to what Dug said about voting for peace also with another post in mind, so no worries mate. It just helps to be dazed and confused like the rest of us.

el_carpo
05-10-2004, 06:05 PM
Whew! #Glad I'm off dat list! #Didn't know I was on, but glad I'm off. #With my luck, I'd be the first to go!

Blaze, that's how I feel too. #I'm not trying to offend. #I'm just a humble, little comedic genius who just wants to be praised and glorified and left alone. #Is that too much to ask? #I mean, yes, maybe I will go overboard sometimes with my "bloody drivel" ;D every once in a while, but for the most part, I'm just like everyone else here, but better. #Not much better. #I don't expect to be worshipped as a golden god or anything like that. #That would be silly! #No, a giant golden statue of a carp with the inscription, "El Carpo the Great" or maybe "El Carpo IS Great" over it, placed where the Sydney Opera House used to be would be fine. #Maybe with a nice shrubbery surrounding it (Monty Python fan too). That would be just super. #You'd all be invited to visit my statue of course (how could I refuse those who payed for it.) #You could get in for half price with proof of Ausfish membership. #Drinks would still cost full price, sorry. #As an added bonus, I would give all Ausfish members 200 dollars worth of complimentary chips for the casino too. #Only one rule: #NO KIDS! #I don't want them getting their grubby paws all over my temple...uh, I mean statue/casino thingy (I'm still working out the kinks). #

Good grief! #I've done it again, haven't I? #More bloody drivel. #Inane babbling even! #I'm sorry everyone. #I think I have a problem, the kind that only a team of expert psychaitrists or a super-model can cure. #My unique blend of comedic spices that used to be oh so cute and cuddly have morphed into a raging mass of ugliness that threatens, even now, to consume me! #What to do?! #I know! #Prayer! #Let's see, what one? #When in doubt, go with Homer Simpson....

"Dear Lord, I know I'm not much of a praying man, but if you're up there and can hear me-----Please save me super-man!" #Amen.

No offense to the religious folks here with the goofy prayer. #I'm a practicing Catholic and pray real prayers all the time too. #I just find Homer's prayers funny. ;D

Well, it's that time again. #My fingers are sore from typing, so I think I'll quit for now.

But! #Before I go, I'd have to ask a question. #Who is Eric Cartman? #Someone keeps saying I remind him of Eric Cartman. #I don't know who that is. #Anyone know? #It's driving me crazy! :P #Thanks!

E.C. #--That's for El Carpo, not Eric Cartman! ;D

****Never mind, I found out who Cartman is.****