View Full Version : Work..........who does what???

bazzaman
30-10-2004, 05:23 AM
:DGday fellas AND Ladies!

I keep hearing all these blokes sayn a sicky tommorrow!! I was wandering what everyones work involved as some seem pretty sick most of the time to go to work!! :D.........Im a Grocery Manager for coles and couldnt get a sick day if i tried!!! :-X :-X Cheers! What do you do????

Shane

mini696
30-10-2004, 05:33 AM
I'm a draftsperson... #I wouldn't be able to phone in sick at the moment. I'm the only computer literate person in the office!! The preverbial (sic) would hit the fan if I was away. #Feels good to be needed.

Knowing my luck, I would get sunburnt if I did take a "sicky".

We get a RDO every month so I can save that up for a good day.

jimbob
30-10-2004, 05:48 AM
Im a manager of a locksmith company & do evrything from invoicing to organising all the road work. So yeah Iam pretty envious of the mid week sickies. The weather always seems to be crap on the weekends. But I surppose thats fishing. But if anybody needs locks or a locksmith let me know. I will reduce price for all ausfish members in Brissy.
Cheers Jamie

30-10-2004, 05:49 AM
Yeah, I know what your talking about Shane. I worked in Grocery for Coles a few moons ago, you buggers are very under rated with all those store managers and area managers breathing down ya neck.
Now, I am currently working as a Ranger. On call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, including xmas, easter and every other holiday. I could be 200km off the coast fighting a cobia and called out to do a job. Nah, I lie..., I've never caught a cobia!

bazzaman
30-10-2004, 05:55 AM
Oh and how many or what hours do you do???

bazzaman
30-10-2004, 05:57 AM
Like or dislike your job???

magicpudding
30-10-2004, 06:01 AM
Hey all,

I'm a student at UQ, studying mechanical engineering with a few odd jobs on ther side to give me enough money for fuel. Its a good life, as its up to me if i want to go fishing or go to uni :)

C.J. Maycock

vortfu
30-10-2004, 06:13 AM
computer programmer - writing software for european casinos (which isn't anywhere nearly as fancy as it sounds) ...

vort-fu

30-10-2004, 06:15 AM
I have no set hours. Knock off time is a minimum of 8 hours after I start. Have a flexible boss which helps. I can watch the weather, do some long days and take off early from work (if its quiet) on calm days. However, I have had callouts as I am backing down the ramp. Not a pleasent feeling!
Are there any teachers here? I have a few fishing mates that teach and they never seem to be short on fishing time, using the shop rooms to fix and make equipment, getting fishing spots from the kids, lots of holidays, etc?

notts_so
30-10-2004, 06:20 AM
G day all
Im a contract superviser at secoroc (rock drill equipment underground mining) I work a 8 on 6 off roster 12hr shifts fly in fly out off townsville .Its a pretty cruisy job at times and the time off is great .
havent had a sickie in 4 years no need to really.And if anyone is looking for some work up here same roster as mine I will be putting someone on full time very shortly so drop me a email and i will get back to you.
Danny

NeilD
30-10-2004, 06:23 AM
I manage a public swimming pool so Summers are pretty full on. I am still trying to work out how to get a week off in Feb to go to the 1770 M&G. This is a peak time but with a bit of luck our programmes and activities will be up and running so I can sneak a break in.
I am also doing some postgrad study at the moment so spare time is in very short supply. I have not wet a line for over two months now and its really getting me down.

30-10-2004, 06:26 AM
What sort of pre-requisites, qualifications, etc are you looking for notts?

mini696
30-10-2004, 06:41 AM
What sort of pre-requisites, qualifications, etc are you looking for notts?

Ditto...

I am currently doing 6-4, Monday to Friday. The job is OK, but like most places, the effort I put in doesn't seem to reap rewards.

notts_so
30-10-2004, 06:44 AM
Keen to have a go reliable to get to the air port on fly out days thats about it .Ill do all the training and first aid

notts_so
30-10-2004, 06:47 AM
Dont get me wrong mini you will be going hard for at least 7hr a day ;D ;D ;D ;D

mini696
30-10-2004, 06:58 AM
;D ;D

Those are my standard hours, but we consistantly do 10 hour days... Good for overtime, and paying for fuel!! But bad for Fishing to use that fuel!!

I should have split that reply into two... ::) One for the "Ditto", and one replying to bazzaman's request for hours and job satisfaction etc.

notts_so
30-10-2004, 07:05 AM
The other 5hr general maintence and house keeping

notts_so
30-10-2004, 07:07 AM
If any one is interested PM me so we can leave this chat to what it was intended 4

snappa
30-10-2004, 07:27 AM
DANNY
am i too old.. :(

and i promise not to get SICK before the plane takes off.. :P

megan
30-10-2004, 08:11 AM
I am a chart cartographer who updates and draws navigational charts, 40hr week unless there is a deadline. Get to find some good fishing holes though!

SeaHunt
30-10-2004, 09:14 AM
Hi All,
I work for a publishing company as a computer programmer. We mostly publish and sell School, Uni and technical books, and we now also own all those Dummies books.
You know, .. PCs for dummies, Sex for Dummies, Fishing for Dummies etc. etc. etc. etc.,
the list is endless. # ::)
One benefit is I get free books from the throw away bin.
Good money , don't work long hours unless something stuffs up, but then you don't get paid overtime if something does stuff up. :P

kleiny
30-10-2004, 09:32 AM
hi all
i own a signwriting business. we always have to much work & can't find any good tradesman so me & my brother are left doing 55 - 70 hours a week with most of our other staff doing regualar overtime also. But i wouldn't change it i love it i just have to organise my fishing trips ahead & hope the weather is ok.

reef05
30-10-2004, 09:34 AM
I work as a grocery 2nd in charge at a IGA supermarket on a 6 4 roster doing on average 10hrs a day,but I'm a baker/pastry cook by trade.

Razza
30-10-2004, 09:53 AM
Im a concretor, if i want to have a day off i can just let the boss know before hand ::) and i tell him im off to fish ;D but always try to start early to finish early
Razza

30-10-2004, 11:27 AM
Install austar, 25 odd hrs week, generally 5 days then Knocked by 12.
Mechanic by trade (still do a few jobs for long term clients), dont charge enough an hour for this
Signwrite (had a sign writting business for 10 odd years now, have worked state wide but it now takes up to much fishing time)

Also did sceenprinting, off set printing, building, welding
Any thing for a $ where i am my own boss and can dictate my hours to a degree
So if I am grumpy, I have probably been working more than 25 hrs
Ps
spend to much free time on ausfish

subzero
30-10-2004, 11:42 AM
Temperature Controlled Areas Supervisor.
Dont normally have time off when I am sick, let alone for sickys... but I get looked after and cant complain.
VP3 (Warehouse Manager) is my boss and he gives us a "bit#h slapping if we have time off... na he is pretty good if you are straight up with him.... dont forget Ian (VP3) you said I could have Friday 19th October off ;D god I love this man [smiley=angel.gif]

Fishinmishin
30-10-2004, 12:03 PM
I'm a call-guy to females. The females must pass a screening process to ensure that they are of the highest apperance [smiley=gorgeous.gif], over 18 but still a virgin and able to pay a very generous rate [smiley=greedy.gif]. I work mostly night-times and do out calls for an extra $2 per KM travel. [smiley=smug.gif][smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Yah right [smiley=laugh.gif] [smiley=laugh.gif]

I own a mexican restaurant [smiley=chef.gif]. I take my job seriously but always ensure I make time to enjoy myself. I can usually pull a rostered shift off anytime as I often take my staff fishing and camping so they don't mind helping out when the weathers good (just took them all to Wave Break Island last Tue as posted).

30-10-2004, 12:27 PM
Since leaving the forces I've been a bus driver, milko, Lifeguard, Security, Advertising sales (I earned a packet on that one travelling all over the UK and Channel Isles). I've crewed on fishing charters and managed pubs to name a few. My last employed job was as a film planner at a printers which I stuck at for 8 yrs.......none of my other jobs lasted longer than 2.

The best job I had from the point of personal freedom and time off was Investigator for a couple of large breweries. (Probably lose a few mates when they read this one) I have a head for mental arithmetic and I would spend opening hours leaning on the bar (innocently) drinking whilst speccing the barmaids. I got to travel all over the UK, wherever there was "stock problems". My job was to mentally add up the drinks they served and see if that tallied with what they rang through the till or whether they were giving away freebies to hubby or mates. Often, barmaids would work together with waiters, the barmaid undercharging the waiter who then collected the full amount from the tables and split it with the barmaid later. I got 120 bucks a night expenses (I couldn't drink that much away) :-) on top of my wage which was big bucks back then. The money was good and I had a (first) wife who couldn't (wouldn't) work and a young family of 3 to support, but the actual droppin' of others in the shit didn't sit too good with me.........I also got a bent nose a couple o' times as I got older, so as soon as I got a few bob together I jacked it in.........coulda bin sitting pretty (or been crippled) now if I'd've stuck at it. Learned a lot about "the dark side" of folk on that one.......the brewery bosses were more bent than the barmaids.

My first missus shot through leaving me with 3 kids (she was a shit deckie anyway) :-) and I later went self employed as a photographer.

Met the current deckie who was an aircraft mechanic in the navy whilst we were working with cadets at a summer camp (I had joined the Royal Marines reserve). She came out of the Navy and bailed me out with the kids. I supported her whilst she reskilled as a nurse, and we then had 2 kids of our own when my other 3 boys joined up.

The deckie didn't want "latch key" kids so I was cojoled into giving up work ........didn't take much cojoling :-)

Decided to move to Oz. Did some photographic work for The Qld Gov't (Policy brochures etc) because it fitted with the times I had free but they pushed for me to do more work so I jacked that in.

7 yrs back we decided to foster as we'd always worked with kids on a voluntary basis in the UK and currently have 4 foster kids as well as our own.

As for taking sickies........I can't afford to as the deckie would then have to take some to look after the kids. We need to save 'em for the good weather days :-)

notts_so
30-10-2004, 01:21 PM
Snapper ide give you a job but you would get sick. Every time i fly out its straight up over the water which just about makes me cry :-[ because the water looks so flat from up there

redspeckle
30-10-2004, 03:32 PM
i work for QR 17 years now in Track Maintenance & Constuction thorough out QLD but now base in Brisbane were are one of the departments that does work its like looking after a Heavy Duty Meccano Set but with people and freight riding on it together you get it wrong can turn into big accident & don't want to end up like NSW railways .
I am Ganger In Charge,also do Acting Depot Supervisor Job i have a lot of response abilty of there's areas look after from Roma St to Celevland ,Park Road to Kurby, Fishermans Island (Port Of Brisbane) and work on other track sections on weekends from Gympie to the Border it keeps us busy with day / night work, called outs and weekend rosters, shutdowns and especially in summer time with track buckles pretty hot out there & school hoildays kids play haovc with the track & jumpers, it can be long hours.
But hey it pays the bills and what left i can go fishing that what matters that most at end of the day ;D

Derek Bullock
30-10-2004, 03:57 PM
I am a Manager in a Correctional Centre in Queensland although am currently seconded to work in the Department's Head Office in Brisbane.

Been doing this line of work for 30 odd years.

Naturally I get all the Public Service benefits of sick leave, holiday leave and banked time.

So I gets lots of time for myself. ;D ;D ;D ;D

Derek

caloundra
30-10-2004, 04:05 PM
own my own business (book shop) and work around 35-40 hrs a week keep my weekends free and if the weather looks good through the week i give one of the casual girls a call and off i go. and living on the sunny coast i seem to get a lot of good days [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Daniel

s.tury
30-10-2004, 04:20 PM
I'm a plumber on the sunshine coast,I don't get much time off , my offsider takes both our share .
i to get the 24 hr a day on call job to , but it pays bills.

uncle_barry
30-10-2004, 04:47 PM
Hi.
I am one of those people.
I am a fishing gear importer,exporter, distributor and retailor.
We also import lingerie, distribute and sell the goods.

Guess, some one has to test the fishing gear before anyone buys it, that me, 7 afternoons a week, all except those nasty thunder storm days, 300 plus days a year.
Sickies, what for, haven't had one for, cannot remember when.
Barry.

30-10-2004, 05:12 PM
If anyone can find it, there was a thread that Jeffo started maybe 8 months ago when he was looking at alternate employment and everyone listed what they did. As I remember, Nugget even did a tally of everyone and their jobs. The tally would be good to post to this thread.

adamleah
30-10-2004, 05:13 PM
Hey Barry ,

Who tests the lingerie out for you .... ;D

uncle_barry
30-10-2004, 05:19 PM
Hi Adamleah.
Do you want to ?
Last week it was very hard, the work, that is, I had to attend a Lingerie product release, including a fashion parade.

So I pretented to close my eyes when the girls came very close.. pretended.
And some of the products were very sheer... thats code for very nice.
Regards.
Barry.

Sportfish_5
30-10-2004, 05:19 PM
Barry - If you need any help to share your workload give me a yell ;) ;) ;)

I am worried that you are shouldering all the load ;D ;D ;D ;D

Dug
30-10-2004, 05:46 PM
Just a poor photographer. I rarely get sickies or time off. I just keep on sweating under hot lights and lugging cameras around It's tough work but someone has to do it ;D ;D ;D

Dug
30-10-2004, 05:52 PM
PS that is not me in the photo OK!!!

Hey Uncle Barry perhaps we could do some work together sometime.

If you ever need fishing tackle photographed...... or the Lingerie ::)

uncle_barry
30-10-2004, 06:19 PM
Hi Dug.
Photographing fishing gear is a bit boring.
Photographing Lingerie is 'nice'.
And even holding the reflector shield is 'nice' work.
arr, works hard.

A wee sample of the new range below,
Now guys, play the game smart, but buy nice things for the other half, and what you need, kind of has a 'nice' balance.

When all are happy and content, lets nick off fishing !

Dug, could you please send me a email to :- unclebarry@##############.au

Below, I call this hard work, now what do you call hard work.
Regards.
Barry.

uncle_barry
30-10-2004, 06:24 PM
Hi Dug.
My address has been wiped out by Steve's SPAM FILTER ?

Spam, please Steve.
Im am trying to help another ausfish member.

Please try another address, it might work.
talonaurora@dodo.net.au.
Sorry about the anti spam thing, it has nothing, nothing to do with me.
Kind regards,
Barry.

len_t
30-10-2004, 06:36 PM
SERVICE MANAGER OF A FLEET OF 120 CARS WITH 5 MECHANICS
HAD 1 WEEK OFF IN 2 YEARS. KEEP SAYING IM GOING TO DO LESS THAN 50hrs A WEEK BUT THE WIFE JUST LAUGHS.
TOO MUCH TIME WORKING NOT ENOUGH FISHING.
THAT SAYING COMES TO MIND WORK TO LIVE NOT LIVE TO WORK
AMAZING THE SHORTAGE OF TRADIES????
GOT A WEEK OFF IN A COUPLE THOUGH COME HELL OR HIGH WATER.

LEN

bignick
30-10-2004, 06:46 PM
G'day one and all,
I'm a Prison Officer in Brisbane. Up until last year, as part of that job, I was also sent to places far, far away to do work for Immigration; I was also a Detention Officer in the Detention Centres around the country. I got to travel to queer places and meet some interesting people and do some VERY interesting things. But, the big bonus was being able to go fishing in places I could have otherwise only dreamt about. On days off, we could go fishing, and many of us did. In one year, I was able to go Barra fishing in the Kimberly (those saltwater crocs are terrifying creatures), offshore reef fishing out wide off Cable Beach (Broome,W.A.) and Port Hedland (W.A.), chasing Wahoo, Tuna and Giant Trevally off Christmas Island and spinning for monsterous GT's off the jetty at the Cocos Keeling Islands. We saw and did some crazy things (another story altogether) and we stayed in some absolutely awful accommodation and worked ourselves to a frazzle many times over, but I would do it all again tomorrow.

BIGNIICK.

Dug
30-10-2004, 09:15 PM
Hey Barry holding a reflector is a tough gig too.

There was a great advertisement many years ago for folding reflectors.

Photo, a gold reflector held by a beautiful blond in Bikini
Caption "reflector $59.95, Reflector Holder $25.95".
Well I thought that was good value so I sent away my $25.95 for one, I just got a metal stand back, I was very disappointed, no beautiful blond, no bikini.

I rang to complain.

I don't think they appreciated my humor much!

;D ;D ;D ;D

Rossco
30-10-2004, 11:05 PM
I manage the Onslow Mackerel Motel for Mackerel Islands Pty. Ltd. Many of you would know that we also run a resort on Thevenard Island. Half of my job is arranging and running the island transfers, the other half is running the motel.
I can fish whenever I want to with in reason ;D ;D
Love it here on the Pilbara coast, warm weather, warm water, motel 20 metres off the beach and I can even sit at my desk & watch birds working bait fish!!

Dam it's hard to take........
;D :D ;D :D ;D :D ;D :D

agnes_jack
31-10-2004, 11:41 AM
I own the bait and tackle at agnes water. Long hours, 7 days a week 364 days a year.
I don't call them sickies, I call it research, development and testing. Its amazing how many new products come on to the market, so consequently I have to go out testing, developing and researching heaps.
I plan to retire early so I can just go fishing!! 8) 8) 8) 8)

# # # # #Regards, Tony ;)
Uncle Barry- How do I go about getting into the lingerie side of the fishing buisness ???

ads
31-10-2004, 11:58 AM
This is my third attepmpt at this post. Will see how I go this time.
I am a Acquisition Specialist for a seismic exploration company working offshore Mexico at the moment.
I work a 6 week on/off schedule and when at work it is 12 hr days 7 days a week. Miss out on heaps of fishing when at work, and then too much to catch up when I am home.
Still the duty free allowance makes up for a small part of that. ;D

Ads

ads
31-10-2004, 12:01 PM
Well that finally worked. Now heres a piccie of the workplace.

Ads

Dug
31-10-2004, 01:25 PM
Cool boat! can we borrow it for a fishing trip sometime?

cooky
31-10-2004, 01:34 PM
I've own a business.

1. TPhuman capital - human resources, training, recruitment
2. TPdotcom - Information tech: web, database, network support, hardware, software sales, etc.

TP human capital the main business. Based in Townsville. We do actually do a lot of work with the mines - was out at BHP Cannington mine site yesterday. www.tphumancapital.com.au

My wife has always said my hours are ridiculous and they probably have been. Work has been my life which is pretty friggin sad.

We've had 2 kids in last 18months and re-evaluated life a little - ended up buying my first boat 1.5 months ago and into fishing again. Important to get the mind off work. Hours have had to reduce to avoid becoming single.... :P

IF ANYONE WANTS A JOB IN NORTH QUEENSLAND well I'm the person to see. I've been in the employment game for over 10 years in the region. Just pm me.

cooky
31-10-2004, 01:41 PM
Why work / live in North Queensland you ask????

Look at the typical day on the water.... ;)

The photo attached to this post was removed. On a family chat board it was totally unsuitable. Derek Bullock, Moderator

BladeRunner
31-10-2004, 01:53 PM
Hi every one
Me I have just stated with KONE Elevators & Doors as a Customer Service Engineer
My days are flexable so if the weather is fine fishing I go .Can't go to far out to sea when on call, just in case some one gets stuck in a lift .A great job so far
Not like Cooky above nice one fellows. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
BladeRunner [smiley=bandana.gif]

snappa
31-10-2004, 01:58 PM
:o :o :o

:P

your in trouble ???

snappa
31-10-2004, 01:59 PM
;D :D ;)

uncle_barry
31-10-2004, 04:13 PM
Hi Tony.
You asked, how do you get into Lingerie ?

Well, if you still don't know, now, better have a long talk with your Dad, or a couple of trusted mates.
How old are you, and where have you been all these years?
Mate, your life has been too shelted.
Stop the fishing before you go blind.

Kind regards,
Barry.

vp3
31-10-2004, 04:15 PM
For 25 years Burleigh Marr Distributions (Bidvest) now as operations manager, gold coast. Before that mainly in seafood processing, Queensland Fish Board in Brisbane & Townsville, Markwell Fisheries Tweed Heads & Yeppoon and the Fish Factory at Colmslie Brisbane where I had the prestigious job of sexing mullet (sorting bucks from females ) the bucks were worth nothing but the females were worth a squilion because or their roe (fish eggs) they make caviar out of it. I lasted the full season squeezing fish's asses, I still don't believe it.
Cheers Ian

SeaJay
31-10-2004, 05:19 PM
Doesn't sound strange to me vp3...I've been a Freshwater Biologist/Ecologist for a couple of different government departments over the past 12 years or so (no never GBRMPA or DPI thank god).

About 30% of my time is spent "in the field" and I get all the usual public service lurks and perks, but never get much of a chance to use them. 10-11 hour days are pretty much the norm, up to 7 days a week, and if this wind doesn't settle-down soon so I can go fishing in some salty water I'm gonna go nuts.

David

agnes_jack
01-11-2004, 05:02 AM
Uncle Barry
Hmmmmmm!!!! Perhaps I should phrase that a little differently! :-[
How do I get lingerie in my shop? No,that could also be mis-interpreted.
How do I get to sell lingerie?

Stuff it! I'll leave the lingerie to those who are already in it! ;D ;D ;D ;D

Regards, Tony ??? ??? 8)

01-11-2004, 08:04 AM
Hi Tony.
You asked, how do you get into Lingerie ?

Kind regards,
Barry.

He could try buyin' 'em a couple of gin and tonics.....used to work for me......occasionally ;-)

agnes_jack
01-11-2004, 09:04 AM
Kingtin
Gin and tonic is expensive!
Is it worth the outlay?

Regards, Tony ;D

01-11-2004, 10:37 AM
Kingtin
Gin and tonic is expensive!
Is it worth the outlay?

# # # # # # # # # #Regards, Tony ;D

Only if the lingerie contains no "dribbles" ;-)

ba229
01-11-2004, 11:29 AM
bludging student. who needs sickies? that is everyday for me.

bring on more fishing and less study i say. ummmmm...? maybe i couldn't study less if i tried cause i would have to have done some to start off with ;D

ba229
01-11-2004, 11:30 AM
Only if the lingerie contains no "dribbles" ;-)

Some members have said it before and i will say it again. "all class Kev" :)

wessel
01-11-2004, 05:03 PM
Officially:
Occupational Health and Safety Manager for a marine construction company. I am supposed to know what not to do inside of live petrochemical plants, which is the area the company specialise in.
We build everything that goes inside of the water, from subsea pipelines, submerged pumpstations larger than football fields, to jetties and offshore mooring systems.

Unofficialy - Fishing Research Officer for the group of western expat fisherman in the area. We only get one day a week to do some fishing on top of our relatively calm 70+ hour weeks.
My job then is to find out via the internet how others catch fish around the world - thank you ausfish:) You guys have been some great help.

Below is some of our toys we get to play with. Not as impressive as that marlin chaser with the helidock on the bow through:)
----------------

Pipe laying and dredging barges with a section of the excavated trench visible in the foreground. A 3 meter diameter steel pipe will be hiding in there in about two weeks time.

That ocean in the background is where we fish. A 1 meter swell is considered a rough day around here - go figure that one out ???:)

wessel
01-11-2004, 05:05 PM
:o

Messed that one up didn't I!!!

Did not resize before posting - for the incovenience caused - sorry lads

Me running for cover now

Wessel

cooky
01-11-2004, 05:29 PM
apologies for the photo Derek. I didn't think it deserved "totally unsuitable". "unsuitable" would have been sufficient.
Here's hoping some people got a laugh anyway.

Derek Bullock
01-11-2004, 05:34 PM
Wessell

I took it out. Resize and try again. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Derek

major-defect
02-11-2004, 05:33 PM
hey ads, i used to work on some seismic crews and it didn,t look like that where i worked. Damn
major

ads
03-11-2004, 03:52 AM
Major,

Mate they dont all look like that, that is for sure. Still this is the flagship of the company so no expense spared.
Few good perks on here: single man cabins,gym, sauna and theatre to name a few. The down side is that these monsters stay at sea forever so no more port calls. That and the FUN is long goooone.

Ads

nofrills
03-11-2004, 08:07 AM
im a theatre assistant in an operating theatre so i get all the usual goverment perks.plus we do 1 in 3 nights on call and if i get called in i have a 10 hr fatigue break after so there is a chance of a midweeker there.its also my duty to have sickies to enable the casuals who replace me to keep their skills up and ern a dollar.
im also the weather man and fishing reporter for the entire unit.we have a helecopter wind sock outside the windows and everone knows if its summertime and the sock it hanging limp on the pole they better line up a replacement for me ;D

snappa
03-11-2004, 11:56 AM
geeeeeee

i want a job like yours

03-11-2004, 12:33 PM
Air conditioning installations and repairs..domestic, commercial and industrial.

Burley_Boy
03-11-2004, 06:53 PM
NOW YOU TELL ME PINHEAD!!!
Been tring to get someone to regas for a year for the the AC we stuffed up when one of the the team installed our AC.... and let the friggin gas out.... I've had ice drop on my desk for a year now... Needed 200g of gas and works fine now...

Anyway these days I make stuff...but I used started in electronics is fireprotection then after many a year got into my hobby (at the time) of Rock n Roll lighting and spent quite a few years lighting plenty of corporate events and the odd rock gig like a few nights with Van Morrison (sorry about the blatant name dropping but one of the few gigs I really really enjoyed).
Ended up slipping into what I do now as I got sick of pushing black boxes in the middle of the night. I have a company that manufactures images that you put into spotlights. Used for stuff like corporate launches or special events or if you flick on the telly you'll see projected images on shows like Rove or the Wiggles....

Any way I still enjoy the variety and these days we can work a 9 day fortnight, sickies don't exist unless I can't stand up (bloody dentist!!) I try to do my own thing on my RDO but the weekend often ends up with one of the 3 kids. Maybe when I get older I'll get more time to fish... Love life at the moment and enjoy popping in here.
A few pickies of projections using what is known as "gobos"

seafox
04-11-2004, 06:24 AM
Design draftsperson for consulting engineering company in Gladstone get the usual 10 fishing days a year and use every one of them

Wello_Pete
04-11-2004, 08:21 AM
I am a project manager, preparing tenders and managing international projects for a large Brisbane based education institution. Hours flexible to a degree, long hours during the tender preparation stage and then some free time after that. My work takes me overseas at least 5 times each year

THE_DECKIE
04-11-2004, 08:33 AM
Work for a major civil supply company,supplying the civil industry.

MikeC
04-11-2004, 03:36 PM
Artist, working from home.

04-11-2004, 03:55 PM
Work as a Project Manager for a construction company, I'm a chippy by trade and have been with the same company for 9 years and I did my apprenticeship with them. Now my mates accuse my of being a pen pusher ;D
Damo

Mogwai
04-11-2004, 04:18 PM
welll ummm I'm a home dad in my spare time i fix computer from home

05-11-2004, 06:06 AM
welll ummm I'm a home dad in my spare time i fix computer from home

So am I but in my spare time I let the kids trash computers :-)

I have two kids of my own, one of whom is autistic, 2 permanent foster kids and I have just taken 2 more little girls on a month's placement. Getting to hate housework but the deckie can earn more then me, so if she's prepared to do it......I'm prepared to let 'er ;-)

Dodgy_Back
05-11-2004, 09:15 AM
Use to be a roofer, now i part time estimate in between fishing

Whiley_Whiting
05-11-2004, 11:20 AM
Tax Advisor for North American Gold Mining Company - doesnt it sound glamourous !! Its always a great line when you met the ladies, no wonder I cant add to the "Where'd you meet your missus" thread !!!

Travel isnt even that good as the mines we look after in Oz are located in Tassie, Kalgoorlie, PNG and Tanzania. However the annual trip to Canada aint so bad !!