View Full Version : FISHING THURSDAY ISLAND

Dr_Dan
16-11-2004, 05:56 PM
Heading up to Thursday Island for a couple of weeks at the begining of December for prac. KEEN FOR A FISH! Anyone got any suggestions? Looking for somwhere that i can go for a bit of landbased. What gear should i be looking at taking?

ANy info would be great

Daintreeboy
16-11-2004, 06:42 PM
Gday Dan. What on Earth are you doing up there as your prac? Sounds better than heading down to Brissy!!

Dr_Dan
16-11-2004, 06:49 PM
Going to be at the hospital for two weeks. Always wanted to get up there, so thought if I had to spend two weeks in a rural location in QLD, would rather be somewhere like that than somwhere out west (no fish out west!)

Hmmmmm, where to next year, Bamaga? Cooktown? Ah, the life of a uni bum, It's a tough one!

Daintreeboy
16-11-2004, 06:53 PM
ahh DR. I got a few med friends from my college days. You guys are the worst of all for partying, apart from the lawyers!

Dr_Dan
16-11-2004, 06:57 PM
;) Scary isn't it! ;)

nonibbles
16-11-2004, 07:18 PM
Lucky bugger! ;)

Richo1
17-11-2004, 03:38 AM
Take a cast net or some bait jigs for as there are a couple of wharfs to fish off. A bait caster or spinning outfit with 15 to 30lbs line, and a heavy handline around 80lbs.(you will get sick of being busted off :D :D ;D). Barra, Jacks, Fingermark hang out around the pylons and rocky outcrops, as well as heaps of Queenfish and Trevally. Spanish Mackeral also come in close to to wharfs at times chasing the bait fish. Lots of rocky headlands and places to cast lures around, make sure to pack some poppers!!
Get to know a few of the locals, as every secound bloke has a big tinny with anything from a 40 to a 80 hp of the back. Fishing options a plenty up there!
Wish I was back up that way!!
Cheers Richo

SNELLY
17-11-2004, 04:02 AM
Dan,

Dale Tan would be the man to get in contact with up there as far as I know he is a nurse up there.

Have a look for some of his posts in the fly chat

Have fun

Snelly

Dr_Dan
17-11-2004, 05:42 AM
Thanx for the replies guys.

Good one richo. now i won't be spending any time at the hospital.

nonibbles
17-11-2004, 05:46 AM
Poor bugger! ;D

devocean
17-11-2004, 10:17 AM
Take a speargun because the water is crystal and the crays are evrywhere. Also take a decent rod and overhead as there are huge mackeral up there with a lot of current. Mate of mine is taking a teaching job there next year he is there for 3 years and he gets paid a crap load for it. Some of us are so lucky. They even have a night club up there i think might even get lucky...

I want to see pictures

Dr_Dan
17-11-2004, 10:35 AM
What, of me getting luck? :o ;)

By the sounds of it, i'm going to need to charter a flight just to get all the fishing gear up there!

Richo1
18-11-2004, 12:02 PM
Don't know if I'd be game to spearfish up there, seen plenty of big toothy critters with and without fins!!! :o However it doesn't seem to worry the locals!

Brenno
19-11-2004, 10:26 AM
the current Modern fishing has a story on Thursday Island.

Dr_Dan
19-11-2004, 11:35 AM
Thanx for the replies guys.

Hopefully will have some reports.

BRING ON THE FISH!