View Full Version : Townsville area meet and greet

notts_so
28-11-2004, 06:45 AM
Just reading about cq meet and greet and thought it may be time to have one in townsville for a couple of refreshing beers somewhere. If your interested drop your name down and a rough date when avaliable and we can all catch up [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

cooky
28-11-2004, 09:21 AM
interested - most weekends okay - sundays usually better or sat arvo

notts_so
28-11-2004, 09:34 AM
Sunday sesions are always good cooky im home every second weekend so we will se what every one else wants to do and go from there

Barrymundi
29-11-2004, 02:54 AM
Any Sunday is good.

Al

Dr_Dan
29-11-2004, 05:51 AM
Going to be away till new year. But if there is another after that, I'd be keen.

nonibbles
29-11-2004, 06:56 AM
Any Sunday's good (so far)

Wild_Side
29-11-2004, 07:15 AM
What about out at bushy beach pub next sunday. I think it's the 5th.

Jason

Dr_Dan
29-11-2004, 07:45 AM
Would love to come, but will be having beers on Thursday Island instead.

You end up heading to the dam jason?

notts_so
29-11-2004, 08:51 AM
Ide be keen to meet up at bushland beach on the 5th if we all agree then we just have to arrange a time .
sorry you carnt make it Dr dan do you know what bad boys doin

Barrymundi
29-11-2004, 04:05 PM
I thought you were trying to have a meet N Greet in Townsville ?

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Wild_Side
29-11-2004, 05:05 PM
Dan, I didn't get away. :P The wife had a christmas party on, so I had to go to that. Oh well, not all was lost," there was free beer." ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jason

30-11-2004, 02:38 AM
I am interested. Live in Bowen area but on call for work, can't give a definate yes as of yet. Week ends probably suit. (prefer 13th / 14th)

Leo_N.
30-11-2004, 05:13 AM
I can make it around March - prob too busy until then

cooky
30-11-2004, 12:26 PM
I can make it around March - prob too busy until then

bloody hell Leo - you must be busy!!

Bad_Bubby
30-11-2004, 06:08 PM
Hey guys sorry havent been online since wednesday (been fishing ;D). It looks like I'm leaving Townsville on the 10th of December to move back to Cairns. I am free most days until then, if its before that date I can probably make it. The other factor is the distance one as I get around by pushie and can't get to far off places :-[. I'm sure TimNQ would be interested too but I'm not sure how often he hes been online lately. Haven't caught much lately, just a few baby barras and tarpon. Hoping to get some decent fish before I leave to go to Cairns where I'll have even less opportunity to fish :-/.

notts_so
01-12-2004, 07:04 AM
Buddy i can pick you up im shore it wont be a problem
Al_nfi fair call bushland may be a git to far out since we are going to have a few beers dont want anyone loosen there licence and it may be to far for buddy to ride his pushy lol
....notts so

notts_so
01-12-2004, 07:10 AM
Any more sugestion on a meeting place would be good if we can veiw the water 8)

cooky
01-12-2004, 09:30 AM
motor boat club or C Bar have water views. As do a few spots on Palmer St

ssbayguide
01-12-2004, 10:22 AM
I so miss living in Townsville

Al - please have a beer for me!

Peter Robertson

Barrymundi
01-12-2004, 04:11 PM
No worries Peter, Bugger, now I know who SS Bayguide is :). You still have those good marks around Paluma Shoals ?

New pub at Riverside Gardens on the River is good, overlooks weir.

Al

ssbayguide
02-12-2004, 06:54 AM
Hi Al

Still have those spots. I'll pass on a few if you PM me - just allow me a few days to get them to you.

Happy to share all of them with you when we come back to TSV for good (hopefully another 2 years or so - well that's the plan anyway)

notts_so
03-12-2004, 06:28 AM
righto what about we all meet at riverside at agout 12 oclock and have a few drinks and maybee organise atrip in the new year

cooky
03-12-2004, 12:35 PM
I'm a bit slow - what date? at 12

Wild_Side
03-12-2004, 04:46 PM
Time.---fair to good
Place.---Fair to good
COLD BEER.---Exellent
Date.---???????????

Wild Side.

notts_so
04-12-2004, 05:18 AM
Sorry gents my bad this sunday the 5th at riverside 12 oclock cold beers and lies can every one leave a ok on this page so we no how many blokes to look out for
And if you need a lift buddy let me know were to find you

Dr_Dan
04-12-2004, 06:10 AM
Have one or four for me guys. Will be sitting under palm trees on palm island at 12 on sunday. ;D ;D ;D I LOVE BEING A UNI BUM! Hopefully get a fish or two

cooky
04-12-2004, 09:10 AM
Dr Dan - hope you're not planning to burn anything over there ;D

I'm not sure if I can make this Sunday - pretty sure I have the wife's friends b'day party or something

Dr_Dan
04-12-2004, 10:05 AM
Oops. not palm island, meant to say Thursday island. #Every second thing in the news at the moment is Palm island, my brain is like jelly after exams! MY BAD! :-X :-X :-X

Wild_Side
04-12-2004, 01:20 PM
I'll be there with bells on.......
What or who should we look for?

Wild Side [smiley=sneaky.gif]

Bad_Bubby
04-12-2004, 01:28 PM
Sorry gents my bad this sunday the 5th at riverside 12 oclock cold beers and lies can every one leave a ok on this page so we no how many blokes to look out for

I'll be able to make it. I'll give TimNQ a hoy to see if hes interested too. Hopefully we will all find eachother ok once we're there :o. So who else is going?

04-12-2004, 01:55 PM
beware the bad bubby, have a good one tomorrow bloke [smiley=jester.gif]

Bad_Bubby
04-12-2004, 02:30 PM
be aware but not alarmed 8)

nonibbles
04-12-2004, 05:30 PM
I'm in. Work xmas party night before, see how I (and missus) turn out 8)

ssbayguide
05-12-2004, 04:55 PM
I just might have to make the flight up for next year's event. All this talk is making me even more homesick.

nonibbles
06-12-2004, 04:33 AM
Well, its raining. Surely that means more people are available to come down to the tavern now.

nonibbles
06-12-2004, 09:35 AM
Definitely need to get somethng to identify ourselves with as an Ausfish M&G location. Went down there about 1210 didn't see anything that stood out as an obvious M&G and didn't know what to look for in peoples faces. I walked around a bit, sat down with a crowny, walked around again then walked out. Shame though. Nice day for it. Maybe next time ;)

Bad_Bubby
09-12-2004, 12:08 PM
yeah mate the same thing happened with me, except I sat down with my freind Kiel for an hour for 'a few' drinks(12pm-1pm). This was my first attempt at an m&G so didn't really know what to expect or what to look for. Pretty dissapointing given that we rode from Hermit Park and the fact I am leaving Townsville on Saturday :-/.

nonibbles
09-12-2004, 12:41 PM
Yeh, I thought I saw someone that I thought was you (and a buddy) but didn't feel comfortable walking up to a stranger in a pub and asking if they were bad bubby :-/

cooky
09-12-2004, 12:50 PM
yep that;s a nickname that could have got you in trouble ;D

"You Bad Bubby mate?"

Next M&G everyone should walk in carrying a fishing rod - that'll make it easy to identify ;)

Wild_Side
09-12-2004, 05:13 PM
I did have a rod, "I had the hole boat in tow!"
Went to Faust sat night and got back to tavern around 1.30pm
Did the same as you nonibbles, had a beer an sat around looking outa place. :P :P

next time Wild Side

Derek Bullock
09-12-2004, 05:31 PM
Hey Guys

Ausfish Caps #- check them out at http://www.ausfish.com.au/caps They come in two colors.

Derek

nonibbles
09-12-2004, 05:40 PM
Gee thanx! ;D If you post it now I should get it for christmas. Whaddayamean I gotta pay for it? OK then.
Got the stickers on the boat but can't bring that into the pub.

notts_so
11-12-2004, 04:57 AM
Sorry gents didnt make it try my best but eyes wouldnt stay open had a big chrissie party the night before that didnt finish till 10:30 sunday at my place after breckie and swim. My wife baged me big time for organising and no show so feel free to add to her sarcastic witt
May have to try again in the new year when all the parties are over at a place where we all can be found easly or with some aus fish hats
Notts so

notts_so
11-12-2004, 06:21 AM
Just orded a very stylish ausfish cap wont be mist now

Wild_Side
11-12-2004, 12:15 PM
When do ya thick we should try again ???

Jason

notts_so
11-12-2004, 01:26 PM
Some time in january just depends on when we can all get there(in my case sobber) the more time we got to organise the better good planning always gos a long way