PDA

View Full Version : Never too old to learn

skippa
16-12-2004, 12:20 PM
Well,

That's one lesson learned today. As Xmas time for me is usually flatout, I decide that today was a ME day and I was goin' fishin'.

I've been plying the waters of Moreton Bay now for over 20 years and yes I have been known to be a BOM basher, :-X so really given their latest accuracy, I decided that if it did blow it wouldn't be untill I was long home and suckin' a stubbie. ;) (Lesson 2)

Launched at Raby Bay around 6 with some spots to checkout around 4 Becons and further north. Traveling with the wind it is amazing how easy it is not to notice that the wind is actually picking up. Did bit of a tourist drive up the inside of Moreton, so didn't also notice how big the chop really was untill I got out from Tangas :P Arrived at my spot X to find conditions less than perfect, this is going to be mighty sloppy fishin'.

It sure wasn't long before I realised this wasn't going to work, change of plan and head to more protected waters. Slipping back up the inside of Moreton and heading into the wind I realised now that conditions were getting worse, reckon she was blowning 20 and gusting to 30 in spots: best choice now, just head for home.

Considering the conditions, a good trip back untill I rounded the green marker at the end of the Chain Banks. With these winds and against the tide, I copped a flogging all the way back to Raby Bay. I'm glad I was in my Haines and not anything smaller, once again I've been impressed with seaworthyness of this boat. I never not felt safe, just a dumb arse for being out in these conditions, no fish was worth that trip.

A big rasberry to the bloke who ran over the 2 kids lines who where fishing on the ramp. Yes they were fishing on the ramp but it's mid week not the weekend and there was only 3 trailers in the car park anyway. They were only too happy to help me. Better a kid be fishing than painting walls or stealing cars.

Cheers,
Tony 8)

Wezza