View Full Version : Fishing Goals 2004

Captian_Zero
28-12-2003, 04:56 PM
With the new year approaching I thought I would pose the question - What is everyone's fishing related goals for 2004?

Mine are pretty simple and reflect my relatively recent take up of fishing on a regular basis:

1. 30cm+ whiting
2. 30cm+ bream
3. 40cm+ flathead
4. Catch more fish than I did this year (71 fish in total).

If I can achieve the above I will be happy :) :).

CZ

jeffo
28-12-2003, 05:01 PM
if your around the sunshine coast sometime i should be able to help you achieve all of the above in the one morning ;D

i set my self goals for this summer and thus far have only achieved one. they are as follows
-decent size jack(achieved)
-billfish from my boat (4.1m tinny)
-an XOS spaniard

Captian_Zero
28-12-2003, 05:04 PM
I should add one more - Catch a fish (any fish) on a lure/soft plastic.

Thanks for the offer Jeffo.

CZ

jewies
28-12-2003, 05:06 PM
16kg jack in snag infested waters on my bream gear loaded with 1kg line ;D

No 1st of all: 1.Catch 1st Jack
2.Catch my first Queenfish
3.Catch my first trevally

i dont believe i havnt caught a treva yet

krazyfisher
28-12-2003, 06:14 PM
25kg+ spanish
fish whitehaven beach
and have as much fun as this year

28-12-2003, 06:44 PM
hi
mine are simple
more fishable days. had more unseasonal winds this year than i can remember

scott_b
02-01-2004, 03:56 PM
meter barra
50lb plus murray cod
dream on , wamjam

02-01-2004, 04:22 PM
Win Lotto..buy 40' Riviera...hire young deck hand (female)...live on boat..bugger the fishing..OK..Ok..I can dream

craigie
03-01-2004, 08:20 AM
Same as 'Pinheads' plus the same one I've had for the last 5 years -
A jack from SE QLD
a Jewie from the 'Pin' or anywhere for that fact
and
a 'Bay Snapper' :P

Maybe this year ???

Craigie.

sav
03-01-2004, 05:38 PM
goal for 2004 - very simple - get my new toy into salt water
Sav

Big_Al_2
15-01-2004, 08:59 AM
Mine are the same as Craigie above - my first Jack, my first Qld Jew (not that my three NSW schoolies in one evening were anything to write home about) and a 50cm+ Squire/Snapper from the Bay. A first Mackeral would also be great - I have a floater out everytime I go out in the Bay, but only a few choppers to date.

Big Al 2

Peter_C
15-01-2004, 09:11 AM
I hope to be taking my son out on his first fishing trip this year, and a few good size muddies would be nice as well

DaneCross
15-01-2004, 09:23 AM
Big Al that sounds like a good list for this year, I'd like to do exactly the same - but with spottied mackerel already crossed off, I'd like my first Spaniard.

Gazza
15-01-2004, 09:59 AM
To continue to fish-4-free ,because we can :D

kerri
17-01-2004, 08:29 AM
mine is to be able to fish as much as my husband does. he can stay at home with the kids half as much as i do to go fishing and catch a cod that is bigger then my hubbies 15.6 kg

basserman
17-01-2004, 11:36 AM
my fishing goals would be
1 55+cm wild river bass
2 get more bluewater fishing in
3 get the misses fishing more
4 genraly fish!

Cloud_9
17-01-2004, 11:53 AM
2004 has a few goals for me .
1st catch any fish that i haven't got yet ( and theres afew )
2nd Snapper on a fragger, best ive see better than 5kg.
3rd mackeral on a mauckmauler famous slug
4th and the biggie a NEW BOAT upgrade from 4.8 to 6.0 C/C with EFI motor.

SteveCan
17-01-2004, 01:10 PM
'03 was a great year for me (it's all relative after all) and I have no major Fishing Goals going forward.

Except to keep going and enjoy my fishing as much as I have been - and more if possible!

Steve.

MATT_HAYES
18-01-2004, 03:25 AM
MY 2004 GOALS ARE :-
1)Catch more pike than last year, bigger than 7lb
2)Catch more perch & roach,the bigger the better.
3)More fishing trips including camping.yee haa.
4)Sea fishing trips a must..............................

robdiep
20-01-2004, 10:49 AM
my fishing goals for 2004..

1) catch a fish on soft plastic lures.. ???
2) beat all my personal best records for jacks and cods
3) catch a jewie
4) overcome my seasickness when i go offshore.. :o
5) FINALLY.. be able to fish more this season.. :D

MarcusD
20-01-2004, 06:43 PM
Where do I start:

1) beat my record for SEQ Jack while still using 4kg gear (54cm's)
2) 1m+ Barra
3) 1m+ flathead
4) 55cm+ wild Bass on lure
5) fish more than 2 days a week
6) have a boat that won't break down every second trip #:-[

Hopefully I'll scratch off a few of these over the 5 days of fishing I have this weekend :)

PS: CZ, if you're ever on the Sunshine Coast I'll let you know of a spot where you'll catch 71 fish in a day..... 70 of them will be catfish though #;D

Captian_Zero
22-01-2004, 03:43 PM
Marcus

Cheers mate. I have made a better start to this year. Finally broke into double figures on one day :) :)

CZ

MarcusD
22-01-2004, 05:39 PM
Great to hear CZ! Keep that up and you'll break triple figures this year. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

I'm hoping to get my Jack, Flathead and Bass on my 5 day long weekend. :) Just bought a new reel and can't wait to wet the line.

Fisheasy
23-01-2004, 05:55 AM
1. Fish the N.T. again
2. Fish Weipa again
3. Try to get to the South Pacific
4. That bloody metre barra!

ba229
23-01-2004, 06:06 AM
mine is the same as a lot of people.

catch a jewie.

last year i set my mind on luderick and suceeded so i guess this will be the same.

Captian_Zero
29-03-2004, 06:25 PM
G'day everyone

Good news. One goal down.

After today's 11 undersize whiting at Manly the year to date total is now 77 (and still nine months to go!!!).

Just have to work on the size now :)

stack
30-03-2004, 06:54 AM
This is a tough one
Jack on fly
Jack on livie
Jack on soft plastic

firetruck
30-03-2004, 09:45 AM
Catch some some big trout and sweetlip and maybe a reddy, but after our crap annual trip that seems unlikely this year.

saen
30-03-2004, 10:15 AM
- a cobia of the rocks (20kgs+)
- a kingfish of the rocks (20kgs+)
- and if im very very very lucky just a little marlin....

happy fishin.

Dylan_Rylatt
30-03-2004, 10:15 AM
first fish besides a pike on a soft plastic
My first bill fish
first keepable sweetlip
maybe one of those big snapper on one of those jigheads...

DR
30-03-2004, 10:23 AM
an old fashioned 10lb. Flathead
my other was achieved on the weekend, that was squire on soft plastic x3

Billo
30-03-2004, 03:12 PM
1.My first Beakie !!!
2.My first Beakie ..
3.Oh , and my first Beakie ;D

seriosuly though ...
2. 10kg+ snapper
3. Bluefin on fly
4. 20kg+ Cobia

fishy_phil
30-03-2004, 04:04 PM
gday
mine is to 1. improve on my PB bass...in length and weight!!!
2. to finally outfish da oldman for snapper.
3. to get a beakie
4. spanish
5. the big one....to move to the NT!!!
anyways its not likely to happen with the PB bass, even though i live on da clarence river system ;) but the others are lookin to happen 8)!!!
cheers phil
btw my pb bass is enough to make most of the bass fishos us cream our undies!!!! i nearly did when i saw it. :-X

Jeremy87
30-03-2004, 04:24 PM
1. pb bass
2. pb yellowbelly
3. catch a jack
4. catch a barra
5. catch a legal size squire
6. catch an over size lizzard ie 70+
7. learn to cast a fly rod
I expect to knock off about two or three but we'll see how i go

Captian_Zero
30-12-2004, 06:10 PM
With the year almost over I thought I would bring this thread back to the top to see how everyone went with achieving their goals this year. Personally, I got the 40cm+ flathead thanks to a day on the Broadwater with Brad Smith. The bream and whiting over 30cm still elude me. I did manage to catch about 100 more fish than last year.

I also got my first fish on SP, again on the trip with Brad Smith and the tally on Sp's is now in double figures.

One of the highlights of the year was catching 5 acholl mackerel from the William Gunn Jetty at Manly although the biggest was only 45cm.

How did everyone else go?

philip_thomson
30-12-2004, 06:44 PM
;D

Gorilla_in_Manila
30-12-2004, 07:08 PM
Hey Chris,
Didn't set any goals beyong getting back to aus and having a fish which I managed twice.
Highlight was the best whiting fishing I have ever had; at Minnie Waters NSW early Nov. We donged 31 one morning 75% over the 30cm mark with my best going 38cm and 495g. (just missed the magic 40cm mark, but not complaining).
Although its not a grander marlin or anything like that, it was great camping, great weather, great fishing and great eating.
Can't ask for much more than that I reckon. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
I've been following your improving success throughout the year - good on ya mate.
Jeff

devocean
31-12-2004, 09:14 AM
I would like to catch:

Metre plus barra
60cm Jack
35 kilo Spaniard on my own home made rigs
Spear 5kilo plus trout
3kg Crayfish

Not to much to ask for I rekon

Devocean

NQCairns
31-12-2004, 09:59 AM
Finish the bloody reef boat in the first 6 months [smiley=laola.gif]to a useable standard, then spend a month of 'days' over the final 6 months exploring and fishing the GBR. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Fish - well I will be happy with whatever comes my way over 60cm ;D ;D ;D

bignick
31-12-2004, 10:46 AM
My main goal this year is the healthy growth of my new baby boy and to have a sister on the way for him by next Christmas. Fishing-wise, the goals for 2005 are fairly simple:
1/ To catch a big Wahoo.
2/ To catch and release a Billfish.
3/ To get out much more than in 2004.
4/ To catch a big Amberjack.
5/ To get some decent numbers of good fish outside.
6/ To catch a couple of big Bay Snapper (8kg, 20lb, 10kg).
7/ Less fishless trips.
8/ Try a few new spots (with some success).
9/ Get up to 1770 for a week-long fishing holiday.
10/ Finally, safe and happy boating.
I don't think the list above is too much to ask. I'll get to work on it ASAP. Happy New Year one and all.

NICK.

nisrol
31-12-2004, 12:59 PM
nqcairns hope it happens for ya .
as for me i would just like to catch something for my boat apart from catfish ( hmmm is that why no-one has mentioned it here cause i caught them all ? )but a fish big enough to put in the missus mouth so she don't stir me anymore about not catching anything decant and edible.

cheers and a happy fishing year andy

charexblue
31-12-2004, 03:30 PM
hi all
for 2005 some fishing in brissy
a few murray cod out here
catch the magic tonne of carp at easter comp
oh and get lots of laughs at fishing camps
all the best to all in 2005
from peter and cjp yabbies

NQCairns
01-01-2005, 03:12 AM
Thanks Nisrol, I have been busy on it the last month, on the water in 5 should be achievable, someone once said "just use it" when it JUST gets there I will take that advice ;D I have serious 'lack of quality adventure' symptoms ATM [smiley=brood.gif] #[smiley=snore.gif].Good luck with yours.nq