PDA

View Full Version : Help for Indonesian Fishing Communities

indoturtle
06-01-2005, 07:44 AM
G'day all. I know all of us here in Oz have been watching the news of the tsunami and the havoc it has caused in South East Asia. My name is Andrew Warmbrunn and I am a post grad student at the University of Newcastle currently studying my masters of science, doing research on ways to empower low income fishermen in Java, Indonesia. With the devistation caused in Aceh, the loss of friends I have made in both Aceh and North Sumatra on fishing and surfing trips, and being married to an Indonesian, I have been trying to work out a way to help the fishing communities rebuild. I have come up with an idea that we, the Australian fishing community, can implement. By providing boats, nets, fishing gears and motors we can help fishermen begin the long process of becoming self-dependent again and empower them to rebuild their lives. It's my vision to unite fishermen throughout Australia, both individuals and clubs, under a single organisation to raise and distribute funds over the coming years to create a sustainable future for fishermen and their families in Indonesia through the gift of boats and fishing gears which have been lost and destroyed. Through creating the opportunity for wealth generation through fishing, this is the start of rebuilding communities and their economies.