PDA

View Full Version : mangrove jacks in a tank

jeffo
14-02-2005, 03:26 PM
guys and girls- looking at setting up a tank to house a mangrove jack :) i know there is/was a few people on ausfish that have experience in this area.
any tips that i might need to know when choosing the right gear for the job?? also has any one successfully kept a jack with ANY OTHER fish what so ever>? or do they all get munched?
im a newbie to aquaria so any help is good help :) ive had a good chat to people at the aquarium shops but they seam to just be trying to push products instead of helping me make a well informed decision.

devocean
14-02-2005, 03:53 PM
I have kept mangrove jack in both saltwater and fresh and they are quite pretty when they are young. You name it Ive had it in a tank before. They tend to hide a fair bit and they like structure. As for tank size it all depends on the size of the fish. I would reccomend a four foot tank to start (as long as the fish is not over 20cm). As for fish to house with it. Well as long as they are about the same size it shouldnt matter.

The first jack I kept lived happily with other fish relativelky the same size. The other was very aggressive. If you put the jack into a tank all by itself for to long it will get very territorial and will harm most fish you put into it. So it might be an idea to add some fish with it and see how it goes.

Jacks are not the best aqauirium fish but the good news is your water quality doesnthave to be spot on as they are quite hardy. I reckon you should forget about the jack and get a barra cod much better.

Hope I can be helpful

Devocean

lucifer
14-02-2005, 05:01 PM