View Full Version : wondering

bassfisher02
04-03-2005, 09:57 AM
i was wondering if there is a non fishing related area. just so i can get familiarized with australia. theres some things i would like to know but i dont want to start any conflict by posting it on the wrong board.

DR
04-03-2005, 10:38 AM
bassfisher02, just ask, (i am sure if it is inappropriate someone will move it) but, i think you will find most on here are pretty helpful if they can be.

boatboy50
04-03-2005, 01:56 PM
Hi Bassfisher,

This is the general chat forum which is fine for such questions.
Go ahead, im sure you'll get the answers your after.

A Question for you (noticing you are from Florida). What is the main waterways at Tampa? Is it Calm water, bay or offshore? Fresh or salt water. I recently bought a boat from that area, and would like to know about the area. Any picture you can paint me would be great!

bassfisher02
04-03-2005, 07:33 PM
tampa's waters are saltwater. i dont know if u heard of tampa bay or not but tampa has a big saltwater bay and the citys built around it pretty much. the inshorer area of tampa does have freshwater lakes, but if u bought a boat from tampa then it was more than likely for saltwater.heres a link to fishing reports for tampa and areas around it:http://www.boatclix.com/fishreport/fishreport.html
hope i answered ur question

bassfisher02
04-03-2005, 07:36 PM
ok heres my question: do u guys have football over there. not the soccer kind. i guess its called american football. and what is the record largemouth bass that has been reported in australia

DR
05-03-2005, 04:37 AM
the football down here is mainly Rugby League, Rugby Union & Aust. Football, all have there faithfull. American Football is played in Brisbane by a couple of teams, don't exactly know how many, not a popular game down here. have watched it on tv & because i don't know the rules or real objective of the game i find the stop start & changing from offense to defense teams very slow & not too exciting ( no offense intended)
our games, League & Union, go flat out for 40 mins with a 10 min break then another 40 mins.Aust Footy is a bit different, again don't know much but someone will probably explain,the only other breaks you get is if someone is injured & you get a rest while they are treated or removed from the playing area, if they are not near the play , everything continues without them untill they are ready again or replaced. So, it is a lot faster with few stoppages compared to gridiron.
we don't have largemouth bass down here, just australian bass, i don't fish for them, but a lot on this board do, & well, so i am sure you will get info on them as well.

bassfisher02
05-03-2005, 04:46 AM
well i guess compared to rugby football is slow but here its one of the fastest games. u should see baseball...now thats a slow game. i have trouble understanding rugby. with the kicking the ball through the goal posts thing. thanks

DR
05-03-2005, 06:15 AM
should see baseball...now thats a slow game.

you obviously haven't seen cricket, test matches go for 5 days. sometimes i feel un-australian because i find cricket so damn boring.

ba229
05-03-2005, 06:24 AM
Since we got Fox I have become a big American Baseball fan. Go the Cubs.

Nothing better, like many sports, to sit back and waste a day without having to concentrate too hard on whats going on.

I have given American football a try many times. I just cannot be bothered with all the theatrics that go with it. Yeh sure they hit each other hard but I thing some of them would cry if they were tackled by some of our guys (either AFL or NRL, you select it) and they didn't have all that protection on.

The Super Bowl in televised live here as is many of the regular season games. I don't think there would be too many that actually follow it.

Like many sports it makes it less appealing if you don't know the rules. The thing is I do know the rules. I even contemplated playing it for a season or 2 but just figured I had better things to do.

I would love to sit down with you and a beer and explain to you how our 2 codes of football work (i am leaving out rugby union :-) )

Maria
05-03-2005, 06:52 AM
Is that "football" or "foooooooooseeee-baaaaaaaaaaall"??? ;D

bassfisher02
05-03-2005, 06:58 AM
i would actually like to see rugby players play a game against football players(without equipment ofcoarse) i have to disagree with u about the crying ;D the conditioning and workouts they go through makes them pretty tough,. ive watched a game of rugby and i have to admit those guys are tough. it would be interesting. i currently play football. the pop warner league cause im not in high school yet(next year) next month i will be 14. i enjoy it. mostly for the hits.

Bream_Reaper01
05-03-2005, 07:04 AM
the cubs, ba229, i can suffer that i guess as long as you don't become a yankees fan.

tideline_two
05-03-2005, 07:12 AM
american NFL football is pretty boreing. collage football is a lot better. now if they get yall watching NASCAR thats a fun one...go fast turn left for 500 miles. much better to be catching fish on a sunday afternoon than watching that stuff.

bassfisher02
05-03-2005, 07:22 AM
i agree, college football is alot more exiting. GO FLORIDA GATORS 8) but high school ball is really exiting cause they are playing for college scholarships and it gets pretty rough. NASCAR is also a good sport to watch. i was born in the birthplace of racing(daytona beach) i also agree that fishing would be better than at home watchin it but u better beleive i would be listenin to it on the radio 8)

el_carpo
05-03-2005, 07:23 AM
WAIT A MINUTE! WAIT A MINUTE! WAIT A MINUTE! ;D ;D ;D

BA229! You're a fellow Cubs fan? Why didn't you say so? I've been afflicted with Cub-fan-itus for countless years! From now on, we're brothers! ;D If you ever come to Chicago, we'll have to see a game.

Some things you'll learn in time are the following:
1. Don't get your hopes up. It's been nearly 100 years since they've won the series.
2. Aspirin helps to dull the pain.
3. The curse of the Billy goat is real. We have to work hard to transfer it to another team. Preferably the White Sox, the Cardinals, or the Astros (sorry Texans).
4. Steve Bartman is the Devil. That's my theory anyway.
5. The Astros should be in the American League west, not the National league central.
6. Good riddance Sammy and Moises! >:(
7. Harry Carey's ghost haunts Wrigley Field!
8. Wear a hard hat to the games. Until the concrete chunks stop falling altogether.
9. "Wait 'til next year!" Traditional battle cry at the end of the year.
10. "Next year is hear!" Traditional battlecry at the beginning of the yaer.
11. Ronnie WHOO! -- Greatest Cubs fan ever or crazy alien from outer space? The world may never know. ;D
GO CUBS! WHOOOOOOOOOOO!

E.C. --"E"nergetic "C"ubs fan! ;D

Bream_Reaper01
05-03-2005, 07:37 AM
el_carpo,the cubs had such a good go last year but just choked at the end,but what do i know cause i'm a huge dbacks fan

bassfisher02
05-03-2005, 08:24 AM
wow im surprised how many baseball fans are in here. while im at it just to clear things up any basketball fans? ;D i hate the yankees and im alittle bit of a fan of boston. if im gunna watch any baseball its gunna be college baseball. but even then unless the games gettin interesting i wont watch all of it

05-03-2005, 08:44 AM
Getting back to cricket just briefly, when you begin to understand it you will be captivated, I absolutely love the tests, bring on the ashes. (When I can't go fishing, of course)
Anyway bassfisher02, you will certainly become acquainted with our life style etc., on this site. Just ask. I am also curious about bass fishing over there.
Roz

drevil
05-03-2005, 10:36 AM
Hi bassfisher02

I love basketball. I play and also coach my son's U14 team. Last year I went to the US and saw Orlando play Portland Trailblazers (is that right? Can remember too well now) at Orlando. Orlando lost in overtime, but great game though. Tried to see the Knicks play the 76'ers in NY, but it was a sell out.

el_carpo
05-03-2005, 10:44 AM
Bream Reaper. I was rooting for your dbacks the year they won it all. Mark Grace was my favorite player on the Cubs for a long time so I was really happy he won the series in Arizona.

Bassfisher02, this is a fun site to visit. I am also an American (Chicagoan) and they have made me feel welcome and always help answer all of the questions I've had. A great bunch of folks who share in the love of fishing and the outdoors. One word of advice though. Do a quick search of "Drop Bear" on a search engine before it's too late. ;D It will save you a red face and keep you from kicking yourself. You'll see what I mean. (Think snipe.) ;)

Have you seen pics of the Australian bass yet? It's so cool. It looks just like a cross between our smallmouth bass and a white bass with maybe a little largemouth mixed in.
Check them out in the freshwater fishing pictures section. While you're there, check out the legendary barramundi :o B-b-b-big fish!

Have any fish pics you can show these guys? Florida is the Mecca of Largemouth bass fishing (also California) and I imagine you've probably caught quite a few bigguns? I'm sure they'd like to see a few. I know I would. Most of the bass I catch up here would be dinner for the big boys you Floridians catch. :o

E.C.

Render
05-03-2005, 11:46 AM
i would actually like to see rugby players play a game against football players(without equipment of course)

It's been done.

You really wouldn't like to hear the results, so I'll spare you them.

R

ba229
05-03-2005, 12:05 PM
the cubs, ba229, i can suffer that i guess as long as you don't become a yankees fan.

Yankee's suck big time. I love the fact that all the people here in Australia that have never even seen a game of baseball on TV buy yankee caps to be cool.

ba229
05-03-2005, 12:14 PM
Now as for you El Carpo...The reason I follow the cubs is cause I love an under dog. To go 90 odd years without a win makes them look like a club called Richmond in our AFL ;D ;D ;D

If fact much much worse.

I also follow the cubs for the fun of it all. For those that have never heard of "the curse of the billy goat" I will try and explain and apologise in advance if I am wrong on some of the finer points.

The Chigago Cubs made it into the play offs and a guy turns up to the game with his pet goat. Why, I don't know. Anyway they turn him away and he says he will put a curse of the goat on the team for ever more.

90 odd years later they still haven't won the World Series.

Then 2 years ago there was the fan who put his hand out into the field to try and catch a ball. This led to the player fumbling the ball and dropping it. He was escorted away cause of the harm that may happen to him and aparently that seat is now cursed and no one wants to sit in it.

El Carpo, here is a mix of our cultures for you :-)

bassfisher02
05-03-2005, 07:32 PM
so the drop bear falls out of the trees onto ur head? is that right? does this actually happen, and ifso anybody here fall victim to one of them?

straddie
05-03-2005, 09:11 PM
Mate you have wandered into sensitive territory there :o , not too many people like to recount their horrific encounters with drop bears, the trauma and nightmares just start all over again.

Those that have survived will almost never speak of it, and the ones that do I question whether they have really come up against a drop bear or just made it up. ::)

bassintom
05-03-2005, 09:20 PM
kinda like our legendary zook-n-stein spinnerbait.few have seen it or used it.i have a bunch of them as i am the co-creator.those that have used it can tell stories that would make your hair stand on end...lol

aussiebasser
05-03-2005, 09:22 PM
G'day BF02,
Drop Bears are not so much of a hazard in the bigger cities as they've been pushed out by the sprawl of housing. #I lost a couple of cousins a few years ago to a drop bear infestation in the outboack. #I'm really hoping you American guys can help me in my newest venture. #Hearing that in your country, you also have the Fire Ant problem, I've been working on a cure. #One of our native animals is an echidna who's main diet is ants. #They are therefore immune to the sting of the Fire Ant. #Unfortunately, echidnas are savage little suckers. #I've learnt how to herd them, and coral them, and I'm currently teaching them to be led on a bridle. #Once this has been accomplished, I intend to ship them over to the states. #Aussie laws won't allow me to actually sell them overseas, as they are a native, but I've discovered that I can rent them out. #I'm currently looking for agents in the US who have access to well maintained, high fenced corals. #These buggers can jump a 6 foot fence, and if it's higher than that, they'll dig their way under it. #If you know anyone with the sort of facility I could utilise, and a wish to earn an obscene amount of money in a short period of time, please let me know.
Our Large Mouth Bass, are slightly different to yours. #Here's a pic of an average Australian Large Mouth Leaping Bass.

el_carpo
05-03-2005, 11:45 PM
ba229,

You got it right. That blasted goat has been our doom! :'( As far as the seat goes, they may as well rip the darn thing out and put a grave marker or some voodoo totem there. Perhaps they could perform another exorcism on it. Are you also a "Keeping up Appearances" fan? I noticed your avatar is of Anslo (Don't know the spelling). I love that show. One last side note. The hat has a curse for baseball but my Cubs hat is also my lucky fishing hat. I think it's just nature balancing itself out. One good for one bad.

That's a nice barra....er I mean a nice Australian largemouth leaping bass Aussiebasser!

You may find Chicago an ideal place for your echindas herd idea. The city has spent $400,000,000 on a new park that was estimated to cost only $40,000,000. If you give me a cut, I'll even be willing to negotiate a deal (i.e. bribe my way up to the top). It may be difficult convincing them to rent them as we have no fireants but I may be able to have cockroaches officially renamed fireants. Then it would be smooth sailing. Stranger things have happened. ::)

E.C.

bassfisher02
06-03-2005, 04:28 AM
anybody heard of ''min min lights''? anyways these drop bears are the craziest things ive ever heard. i looked on google and saw some websites on them. but none of the websites said if these things are tru or not. cause i have a hard time believing it ;D anyways, bassingtom, the zook n stein haunts my dreams ;D all i want is a peek..........please........c'mon!! thats a big bass. is that the average size for bass there? if so, im gunna need to make my way down there ASAP. BTW, how do u post a pic? i have the url address and everthing but when i put it in the attach a photo box and click post nothin happens.

nonibbles
06-03-2005, 10:50 AM
oh boy, you gotta get over here! ;)

basserman
06-03-2005, 11:16 AM
bassfisher what aussiebasser is holding there is proble our number one fish in autsralia
the good old barramundi (grows a hell lot bigger than that one too)
as for bass we only have australia bass and no other bass but can get some big aussie bass but only up to 60cm so not big compared to yours
as for gritball yeh we have got a league but is small biggest rounds are in sydney with the biggest team proble the liverpool pirates
i don't know what these blokes are going on about i like gridiron the tactics are great and it has heaps more than just kicking and passing a ball down a fieald
your really got to outplay the other team both on and off the field
as for teams well what can i say
GO PACKERS! thank crist to sbs and now foxtel! ;D

aussiebasser
06-03-2005, 04:34 PM
bassfisher what aussiebasser is holding there is proble our number one fish in autsralia
the good old barramundi (grows a hell lot bigger than that one too)
as for bass we only have australia bass and no other bass but can get some big aussie bass but only up to 60cm so not big compared to yours
as for gritball yeh we have got a league but is small biggest rounds are in sydney with the biggest team proble the liverpool pirates
i don't know what these blokes are going on about i like gridiron the tactics are great and it has heaps more than just kicking and passing a ball down a fieald
your really got to outplay the other team both on and off the field
as for teams well what can i say
GO PACKERS! thank crist to sbs and now foxtel! ;D

Geez Basserman,
How much bigger than 110cm do they get, and their official titile is now The Pink Eyed Bucket Mouth Leaping Bass.
Rugby League Rocks!!!!
QUEENSLANDER!!

basserman
06-03-2005, 04:51 PM
sorry dale looked smaller in the pic but i have noticed barra have a tendincy to look smaller than they really are in pics!
caught one at tinaroo that was around the 40lb mark but if you saw the pic you would swear it was only a tiddler ;D
like the new title but! LOL