View Full Version : Boyne Tannum Full

devocean
23-05-2005, 02:26 PM
Just saw an ad on the TV saying the comp is full and they are accepting no more entries. How can they have a full fishing comp?

DNO40
24-05-2005, 01:56 AM
Quite easy Devo,

We CQ ers have to limit the amount of Southerners that try and Muscle their way into one of the best fishing competitions in QLD. By limiting the number entries you limit the odds on the prize pool. 10,000 people can fish if they wish to, but only the 3,000 registered entrants will be eligible for the prizes on offer. ;)

devocean
24-05-2005, 04:11 AM
Can the boat ramps handle 3000 people? Sounds like a good way to limit the fish kill as well. As for the best I reckon the Bowen Wet Weekend comp will give you a run for the money.

DNO40
24-05-2005, 05:44 AM
When is the BWW and where is it run from ??

DNO40
24-05-2005, 05:45 AM
PS......Don't say Bowen

DNO40
24-05-2005, 05:47 AM
Several boat Ramps in the area, Boyne has a triple and three or so singles, Toolooa has a double, Gladrock has several, Tannum has a couple- should be ample.

devocean
24-05-2005, 09:22 AM
BWW is held first weekend of sept holidays weather is always good. Biggest fish species secret weights awesome comp runs over 3 days 2 boat prizes plus heaps more

redlipper
25-05-2005, 04:31 PM
This comp is in its 10th year and I have been an entrant for 9 years.
I took out the best sweetlip with a $600 cash prize in 1997 and my son the Cobia next year before it was reduced to $300. My crew have been on the major prize list several times.
There was no limit on this comp a few years ago and 3 years ago they were still selling entries on the Sunday [presentation night] This year it closed 3 weeks before the comp.
Bray park is the weigh in venue and with 2000 entries last year it was chocka. 3000 this year will be like sardines in a can.
This is the main reason for limited entries. Well done to the organisers for not getting greedy!!.

The reason the entries closed early this year was because there are 5 12ft tinnies with outboards and trailers/ 3 junior V nose punts and a 575 Cruisecraft to be drawn. Last year there was less than half the prizes.
Only the 3000 entrants are eligible for the draws. What great odds in over $100,000 worth of boats, a 1 in 3000 chance to win 10 boats plus.......compare that to most art unions or lotto.
Ramps and access are not a problem as this comp does not have a geographical limit.
Entrants fish from Stanage Bay to Bundaberg. I am in Agnes Water and I fish to the limit of the green zone out of Baffle up to the Barcoola off Turkey Beach and drive to Tannum to weigh in.