View Full Version : WHERE IS THE FISHING PARTY ? ? ?

Derek Bullock
31-05-2005, 05:47 AM
Does anyone know what has happened to The Fishing Party? Are they still around? They seem to be very quiet these days.

Derek

TonyM
31-05-2005, 01:52 PM
They're still around Derek. :)

I don't speak for the fishing party, however am on the committee for the Hervey Bay sub-branch. Here in the Bay we're currently awaiting the outcome of the Great Sandy Straights Marine Park proposal.

To be honest I'm not fully aware what's happening in the big picture at the moment, and I was talking with our secretary yesterday about setting up a website to keep members up to date. This might possibly allready exist for TFP, I'll let you know when I find out.

TonyM
31-05-2005, 01:53 PM
By the way - I believe Kevin is away on holidays at the moment which may account for no updates on here lately.

31-05-2005, 03:14 PM
I am not really surprised they have gone quiet on posting. There last handful of threads have not had the greatest reaction or support from certain members.

luigi
31-05-2005, 05:05 PM
Perhaps if the ever so many complacent recreational fishers out there gave a bit more support & encouragement to the blokes putting in one hell of an effort on their behalf, things may not go quiet. [smiley=zzz.gif]

Is the Fishing Party flogging a dead horse? [smiley=end.gif]

Have you become a member yet?

Or are you content to have a bitch to your mates & do bugger all to try to overcome the many attacks & restrictions imposed on our great sport of recreational fishing?

TonyM
31-05-2005, 05:42 PM
Too right Lou,

It's certainly high time we get our bums off the fence and do something, and it's happening all over....

Grumbling alone certainly doesn't seem to achieve much.. Just maybe a concerted effort might make a difference before fishing is just a memory... [smiley=stop.gif]

Fisher_Boats
31-05-2005, 06:44 PM
Hi Derek,
# # # # # We are still here, don't you worry about that!
Geeze I sound like someone else #;D
Are you ready to join and give us a hand yet?

Cheers and thanks ;)

Col

dazza
01-06-2005, 04:46 AM
thanks for your concern derek :-/ :-/,
interesting question from someone who has been fairly critical of tfpq and generally responds to what we do in a negative way
the north brisbane branch are meeting on sunday afternoon at the bribie island hotel at 4.00pm
are you planning on comming??
our membership base is slowly growing
if anyone wants info please let me know, i can forward membership forms, and i have a limited number of stickers left
dazza

Derek Bullock
01-06-2005, 05:56 AM
Hi, good to see you are all out there still.

Thanks for the offer guys but you all know my views and no I do not want to join and support a 'Political Party' although I think it has the potential to do a lot of good.

Dazza, have you ever watched "question time' of the Parliament on TV. Debate is healthy.

Derek

dazza
01-06-2005, 07:49 AM
hi derek,
yes i have watched a bit of question time (geez must have been really hard up for something to do ;D ;D) dunno if i would call it a debate, more like kids squabbling in a sandpit ::) ::) ::)

dazza

major-defect
01-06-2005, 01:33 PM
Na Dazza kids show more maturity.

kevy
01-06-2005, 01:53 PM
you can do better than that derek. cheap shot??? got a reaction aye///.

Derek Bullock
01-06-2005, 02:32 PM
No cheap shot on my part. Was a genuine interest in what the Fishing Party is doing. Been very little from them lately and not just on here.

Derek

markpeta
01-06-2005, 03:01 PM
Im going to join up on sunday anyone else?

fishingnottake
01-06-2005, 06:58 PM
is ther any branch down near here at palmy?

agnes_jack
02-06-2005, 04:07 AM
I too have lots of membership forms if anyone wants to join up and show some support. ;) ;) ;)

Regards, Tony

tshort
02-06-2005, 04:41 AM
I'm not a member of the fishing party although I have learned a little about it through submissions to the EPA etc. so really have no right to comment but here it is anyway. I see the slashing of funding to the Australian Conservation Fund (leaned from this forum) to ba a good opertunity for the Party and all fisher people to be pro-active and ensure that these funds are now directed to organisations that complete restoration work(instead of office work)ie. plant more trees, errosion control, soft drainage, improve water quality. These orgs create employment and recognised training while improving the environment that ultimately affects our fishing in some way (I think they are non profit orgs as well). Think of the riparian/esturine work that could be done with those millions of $. The party getting in support of these projects would be seen as pro-active in the community as a whole instead of reactive and self preserving that is seen by some at present. I am very non-political yet do support any projects that will benefit the community as well as the environment we all fish in. Participation like this I feel would be good publicity for TFP and win my vote.

Derek Bullock
02-06-2005, 06:14 AM
You can download an application form from Sunfish at http://www.sunfishqueensland.org/fishing_party1.htm

Derek

luigi
02-06-2005, 05:10 PM
Thanks for advising the above shortcut to download a FP membership application Derik.

Unfortunately, the form displayed is a "Declaration of Party Membership", not a "Application for Membership". I have pointed this out to the Fishing Party on several occasions over the last year. Their response was to the effect that they would fix the problem ASAP.

It is very dissapointing to see action has not been taken.

In the meantime, most tackle shops in Queensland have the Membership Application Forms on hand.

Big_unit
02-06-2005, 06:24 PM
I am a member of TFP and since they have received my membership application and cheque for $22 (which isnt much.), I havent seen hide nor hair from them. Oh except a piddly excuse for a membership card.

I have received absolutly no correspondence from them, of any description. I cant understand how anyone can claim to run a party which advocates to be the voice of Fisher people. Basically I am disgusted by their total lack of communication and professionalism. I would be more than happy at this stage to get my $22 back. It has annoyed me enough to discourage a number of people I know from joining TFP. I have also heard other TFP members make comments regarding TFP's flaccidness. " Maybe those old fellas need a shot of Viagra to get them to stand up and do their jobs "

I am betting that TFP wont survive very long if they dont get off their butts and start doing the things they said. So what if the Boss is out for the day the job still has to be done.

James

gif
03-06-2005, 02:11 AM
James

I am sure that the spokesperson Kevin will respond to you soon. he is out of range fishing in the North right now.

But I would like to make a personal comment because I feel you are unfair.

Have you ever been on the other side of membership? Like have you ever been a Secretary of a Fishing club or a P&C or anything like that? Ever?

I know that people are spending hundreds of their own hours for nothing. In fact they are paying out of their own pockets for the privilege - lots of incidentals like phone calls and petrol, photocopies and more.

You seem disappointed - what DID you expect for $22? That’s $7 a year. Why would they waste $ on a Nicer membership card? They cost maybe $10 each.

Did you expect a glossy magazine ? They would cost $10 each to produce and post ( because they would not be subsidised with advertising unlike )

It seems to me that TFP is about Fishers finally getting off their buts and doing something. Have you attended any meetings or volunteered any help? I am sure they could do with more

they save their limited resources and make the noise when it is important. And a lot goes on that you don’t see here or in the paper. I have been following only one issue of many and I happen to know there have been, just in the last few weeks 2 private meetings with 2 Senators, 1 major presentation to a board, 4 other meetings and 4 rounds of discussions with senior public servants. Each of these have taken hours of preparation and work.

None of this should surprise you. Just like the committee of my kids soccer club - we see little of them but I know they spend hours and hours and hours behind the scenes.

Give me your address I will personally send you $22.

03-06-2005, 04:21 AM
You can download an application form from Sunfish at http://www.sunfishqueensland.org/fishing_party1.htm

Derek

Derek,

Sunfish is NOT a lobby group for recreational fishers. It is at best an educational group. Their hands are tied - they receive funding from the Government so they can't be too critical.

03-06-2005, 04:28 AM
I am a member of TFP and since they have received my membership application and cheque for $22 (which isnt much.), I havent seen hide nor hair from them. Oh except a piddly excuse for a membership card.

I have received absolutly no correspondence from them, of any description. I cant understand how anyone can claim to run a party which advocates to be the voice of Fisher people. Basically I am disgusted by their total lack of communication and professionalism. I would be more than happy at this stage to get my $22 back. It has annoyed me enough to discourage a number of people I know from joining TFP. I have also heard other TFP members make comments regarding TFP's flaccidness. " Maybe those old fellas need a shot of Viagra to get them to stand up and do their jobs "

I am betting that TFP wont survive very long if they dont get off their butts and start doing the things they said. So what if the Boss is out for the day the job still has to be done.

James

Whoa big fella!

I haven't even received a membership card myself (a little disappointing), but hey, at worst my $22 was a donation to try to improve our lot. Less than the cost of a slab to get some political impetus and voice behind us. I reckon GREAT value for money. Gees, I would be happy to pay $22 a year, not every 4 years.

Like Gary said, they are only new and still small. They are all volunteers and as such I reckon they are doing a great job.

Mate it is a real shame that you have talked others out of joining. Even if you are dissapointed that they have not lived up to your expectations, what better proposal/solutions can you think of to get some power into the rec fishing lobby group?

agnes_jack
03-06-2005, 07:07 AM
Very well put Gary!
These guy's are doing heaps for us in support of our sport, leisure, hobby.
The funds they have to work with are very small, KC has always kept us informed of whats happening on this forum when necesary. Personally I would be SPEWING if I thought that our valuable funds were being spent on flash member cards, and glossy information sheets. Put my membership fee where it does the most good!!!
There has been many achievments by KC, gary and others who are working there bums off for FREE!
They are the only dedicated voice we have.
The cost is about the same as one kilo of pilchards per year!!!!!
Stop ya moaning and be thankful we have these guys on our side!!
GO THE FISHING PARTY

Regards, Tony ::) ::) ::)

Derek Bullock
03-06-2005, 07:27 AM
Derek, Sunfish is NOT a lobby group for recreational fishers. It is at best an educational group. Their hands are tied - they receive funding from the Government so they can't be too critical. Jeremy

My apologies for posting the link but if you go to The Fishing Party website at http://www.thefishingparty.info/ and click on the link to the Queensland Sub Branch it takes takes you to http://www.thefishingparty.info/wst_page9.html. On that page there is a link called VIEW QLD MEMBERSHIP FORM AND PRINT. If you click on that link it takes you to http://www.sunfishqueensland.org/fishing_party1.htm

I guess I should have read the form better, I just assumed it was the membership form. Maybe as was previously stated The Fishing Parety need to update this to prevent confusion.

Had I of known my concern on what is happening with The Fishing Party was going to cause so much agro I wouldnt have posted. If Fishing Party Members want I will delete this entire post. Please message or email me if thats the case.

Derek

Fisher_Boats
03-06-2005, 07:53 AM
Derek,
# # # Don't get the agro bit #???
All publicity is good publicity and there will always be the few who aren't happy.
James everyone is doing the best they can with what they have at the moment.

Cheers Col

agnes_jack
03-06-2005, 08:02 AM
Derek
I would prefer that you left the post there.
There may be a few people who feel that not enough is being done, at least the post gives the other side as well.

Regards, Tony

gif
03-06-2005, 09:31 AM
James and Derek have a point

a very valid point and a good lesson.

... when all is quiet it looks like nothing is happening - and thats a fair enough comment.

Gary

Mad_Barry
03-06-2005, 09:47 AM
I'm another whose paid $22.00 to a voluntary organisation doing their bit to put in a voice for my chosen past time.

All I got as well was cheaply printed cut out bit of light cardboard.

(Next time feel free to just scribble my number on the back of a post it note or something and save a little extra money, or better still wizz it on an email and it will cost nothing ;D )

Daintreeboy
03-06-2005, 12:31 PM
Very well put Gary!
These guy's are doing heaps for us in support of our sport, leisure, hobby.
The funds they have to work with are very small, #KC has always kept us informed of whats happening on this forum when necesary. Personally I would be SPEWING if I thought that our valuable funds were being spent on flash member cards, and glossy information sheets. Put my membership fee where it does the most good!!!
There has been many achievments by KC, gary and others who are working there bums off for FREE!
They are the only dedicated voice we have.
The cost is about the same as one kilo of pilchards per year!!!!!
Stop ya moaning and be thankful we have these guys on our side!!
GO THE FISHING PARTY

Regards, Tony ::) ::) ::)

agree totally

Big_unit
03-06-2005, 04:21 PM
Never mind the " whoa Big fella ". or Dazza sending me a pm saying that Ive gone and shot my mouth off.

I am not happy with the lack of communication or professionalism of TFP. It stinks and I will say it, how I see it.

To say I am dissapointed in TFP is a gross understatement. TFP has not provided me with any information or correspondence so that I have the opportunity to assist the cause. The guys who allege that they run and lead the TFP should at least have leadership qualities and some forsight to recognize that they need to carefully orchestrate the direction of the party. They need to be directing the whole party with some uniformity and cohesion. #

Yes I am the Secretary of the Tin Can Bay Social Fishing Club and have been and am involved at executive level in a number of sporting clubs and business.

I suggest these guys keep the members informed. I wont support them if I dont know what is going on.

I have heard a number of people make comments regarding TFP and they are not good.

Kevin can call on me anytime and I will say exactly what Ive written here, to him in person.

I was prepared to do a bit of PR work for TFP but I am not sure if I want to be involved until TFP lifts its game and offers direction whilst keeping members informed.

Well thats my criticism of TFP. You can choose to hound me for it or take it and use it to better TFP.

James.

basserman
03-06-2005, 04:31 PM
if it is infomation people and mebers want then why can't a email newsletter get sent to those with email (almost everyone) that would cost next to nothing and keep member happy and informed of what is happening in the background ;)

dasher
03-06-2005, 04:51 PM
Well we have to distinguish between those that will sit back and complain and those that will give up their time to make a difference. Hell $7 a year for 3 years, well now you can all fish with a clear conscience eh? You’ve all done your bit for fishing. Have you all contacted The Fishing Party with any concerns you have about fishing?? Have you helped recruit new members?? Have you done anything but post a cheque??? OK all donations and memberships are greatly accepted and will ultimately give us more grunt, but we still need you to help us.

There has been a great deal of work by a group of dedicated fisherman to form this Party to help all fishermen. All of this work has been unpaid voluntary work with what seems no thanks from some sectors of our fishing community.

I have spent a lot more than $22 in the last 5 months in phone calls and printing (out of my pocket) and I’m not complaining because we do have a chance to make a difference. Just remember we all had to crawl before we could walk.

We are currently working on a website for the Hervey Bay branch (again voluntary) so hopefully info will be more freely available. We have not been silent, the Arlington Reef Pontoon and the GSS Zoning issues being the major fights in the past.

If you want information just send me an email and I’ll put you on the branch email list, just don’t sit back and complain, because that is why all rec fishos are in the position they are today.

As for membership cards, I’m sure they will improve with more financial backing.

This post conveys my thoughts and is in no way sanctioned by the party.

Kindest regards

Daryl Robson
Sec-Hervey Bay Branch TFPQ
darylrobson@optusnet.com.au

Burley_Boy
03-06-2005, 05:16 PM
Basseman beat me to it....
The issue here is that people are working hard and putting in effort yet there might be a possibility that if the effort could be a lot less if there was some clever stuff implemented like email newsletters. ie working smarter not harder. An easy way to grow your support base before you even convince new members to join.
The point of the party if I'm not wrong was to unite us fisherfolk for the common good. All may not join a party but if information is freely distributed then support will come from members and non members alike if they feel for the cause.

I tried Dereks links but could not get the fishing party site up.
For all the people who are doing active work for the party it must be important for them to inform what they are doing and thus that could get attached to a regular newsletter. Who needs a membership card??? What does one do with all the cards in the wallet anyway.

No I'm not a member but I voted for you and may offer my support in other ways if I see a need that I can fill. 8)
cheers BB

Derek Bullock
03-06-2005, 05:34 PM
Burley Boy

You are right. Since I posted that it seems they have been taken off line. It's now showing This site is currently unavailable. If you are the owner of this site, please contact us at 1-480-624-2515 at your earliest convenience.

I would say that there is a possibility that the hosting fee hasnt been paid.

Derek

dasher
03-06-2005, 06:57 PM
Derek not sure what has happened there,(problem should be solved by morning) but thank you for bringing it to our attention, if any body would like information or a membership application just email me and I’ll be happy to oblige.

darylrobson@optusnet.com.au

dasher
03-06-2005, 07:03 PM
If anyone is interested in providing membership cards or printing newsletters we would appreciate it. ;D [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Big_unit
03-06-2005, 07:11 PM
Dont get me wrong Dasher I certainly did complain and still will if I see the need. I didnt get up TFP for a laugh, I believe I have a valid and logical point that needed to be addressed even if I didnt do it in a very diplomatic way. I am not a mind reader and cannot predict which direction to move in for the benefit of TFP. Knowledge is power. I am getting very frustrated with people who may have good intentions doing a poor job. Yeah sure I know you guys put in a big effort but you need to make sure the party can function as a whole unit. I know you are one of the good guys and realise that I may have been a bit harsh. If I didnt care then I would have said nothing. The point I was trying to make in regard to the membership card is that its a token gesture that is a waste of time that could have been better spent elsewhere ie as Burley Boy and Basserman suggested on an email newsletter program.

James.

Derek Bullock
03-06-2005, 07:13 PM
Daryl

Membership cards and newsletters are a waste of money mate for a new organisation. Get someone to set up a template and send it all out on email. Genuine people wont care about a membership card. The postage alone will be huge.

Why not look at a membership badge that members can purchase. It can be costed so that part of the payment goes back to the Fishing Party for additional funds.

Derek

Big_unit
03-06-2005, 07:15 PM
Maybe on your application form you could ask for an email address or alternatively a postal address for people without computer access. Just need to get the info out to people so informed decisions can be made.

James.

dasher
03-06-2005, 07:17 PM
Basseman beat me to it....
The issue here is that people are working hard and putting in effort yet there might be a possibility that if the effort could be a lot less if there was some clever stuff implemented like email newsletters. #ie working smarter not harder. An easy way to grow your support base before you even convince new members to join.
The point of the party if I'm not wrong was to unite us fisherfolk for the common good. All may not join a party but if information is freely distributed then support will come from members and non members alike if they feel for the cause.

I tried Dereks links but could not get the fishing party site up.
For all the people who are doing active work for the party it must be important for them to inform what they are doing and thus that could get attached to a regular newsletter. Who needs a membership card??? What does one do with all the cards in the wallet anyway.

No I'm not a member but I voted for you and may offer my support in other ways if I see a need that I can fill. 8)
cheers BB

A newsletter would be great, but our greatest contributor would be the fishos that aren’t interested in the long term. How many of you guys are willing to submit an article about a problem that you have in your area.

dasher
03-06-2005, 07:38 PM
Maybe on your application form you could ask for an email address or alternatively a postal address for people without computer access. Just need to get the info out to people so informed decisions can be made.

James.

James, we are only a baby in the arena mate, it's not up to us to decide what rec fishos want, it is up to rec fishos to tell us. A newsletter could be produced and made available on the net and maybe distributed to tackle shops. The main point is we need guys like you to tell us what you want. Throw us some suggestions mate. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Daintreeboy
03-06-2005, 09:01 PM
A newsletter would be great, but our greatest contributor would be the fishos that aren’t interested in the long term. How many of you guys are willing to submit an article about a problem that you have in your area.

I would :)

dasher
03-06-2005, 09:02 PM
no worries dasher, next time something comes up in this area and I here about it, I'll get onto you. For the record, I put my hand up quite some time ago about helping organise things in this part of the world, did not hear back. With a few things on the go atm I'm not prepared to go that far anymore (at least at this stage) but will still keep my ear out.
Cheers, Mark.

Thanks Mark we need all the help we can get mate. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

dasher
03-06-2005, 09:15 PM
I would #:)

That would be great. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] either post here or email me and great someone is willing to input. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Daintreeboy
03-06-2005, 09:29 PM
no worries dasher, next time something comes up in this area and I here about it, I'll get onto you. For the record, I put my hand up quite some time ago about helping organise things in this part of the world, did not hear back. With a few things on the go atm I'm not prepared to go that far anymore (at least at this stage) but will still keep my ear out.
Cheers, Mark.

tshort
04-06-2005, 03:56 AM
Derek I think youve got the reaction you wanted and its all been good debate too. Parties dont get anywhere being silent, unseen nor by consistantly pointing out problems instead of comming up with solutions as we have seen for the last 10 years. Maybe better TFP starts off a bit slower than the last boom and bust party which was always in the media for all the wrong reasons. Somewhere in my fuzzy memory banks I recall one economics lesson where the % of voters was broken down into the various categories and I think it came out that about 5% actually knew why they chose their vote. No doubt 100% of us believe we are one of those 5%.

Glind
04-06-2005, 05:09 AM
If you want to become involved, approach the local party people such as Dasher in Hervey Bay, or Dazza at the North Brisbane branch or KC up north and tell them what you can do to help them. Believe it or not, they are trying to do the right thing and if you think you can improve on things, and there is always plenty of room for improvement, then offer to help. They too cannot look into a crystal ball and know what the members want. Also the people who actually do the business for the Fishing Party are normal people who have businesses to run, families to nurture, kids to take to soccer, a life to live....and are not seasoned politicians with unlimited resources and expense accounts. Fair go all of the baggers out there, if you think you can do better, then have a crack at it.

dasher
04-06-2005, 05:10 AM
Daryl

Membership cards and newsletters are a waste of money mate for a new organisation. #Get someone to set up a template and send it all out on email. #Genuine people wont care about a membership card. #The postage alone will be huge.

Why not look at a membership badge that members can purchase. #It can be costed so that part of the payment goes back to the Fishing Party for additional funds.

Derek

Hmm it's seems I was too subtle Derek, I wasn't looking to pay for the cards or newsletter mate. I was hoping someone would donate their services. ;D

Like the idea of the badges though. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

kc
04-06-2005, 06:11 AM
Interesting thread. Having been away in the wilds of cape york for nearly 5 weeks it is good to see other party guys like Col and Dasher carry the flag. James makes some fair comments. We could certainly communicate better but like everything it takes time and money, both of which are in short supply.

We have, as an organisation, been blessed with a communication tool like this site. Most of what we do and have done has been posted here. Communication with ministers, submissions on issues like Arlington Reef and the GSS have all been posted and we regularly have stories and updates in QFM, Bush & Beach, NQ Fish & Boat, Modern Fishing, Blue Water...........what we don't have is a full member data base of email adresses nor the financial ability to do a mailout to 1000 plus members....(pity).

We are just 1 year on and really have achieved some significant results but to date it has been done on the back of a few prepared to actually do some work and even fewer prepared to pay for it. Anyone who wants to put their hand up to get involved at a practical level would be welcomed with open arms.

Likewise anyone who has ever communicated with me privately will have had a prompt and informative response.

I certainly take James point and those of any others that think we could do a better job....clearly we could....but within the mix of shared responsibility, being a member does not stop at the mailing of a cheque for $22 and then expecting everything to just happen. The party is not "me"...it is "you".

If "you" want more...get involved....I could provide the info for a newsletter in less than an hour if someone else could spare the time to compile and edit it.

KC

PS : The fishing was SENSATIONAL!!

Derek Bullock
04-06-2005, 06:14 AM
Welcome back KC.

Derek

kc
04-06-2005, 06:18 AM
Thanks mate,

good to be home...mind you, it wasn't real bad being away either!!

KC

Dezzer
04-06-2005, 11:21 AM
The Victorians have jumped your gun Qld fishing partyers
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/board/YaBB.cgi?board=General;action=display;num=11177670 03

Daintreeboy
04-06-2005, 01:33 PM
anyway kev, enough of the politics, we wanna see pictures mate. Cmon, let loose mate, full report and all ;)

Burley_Boy
04-06-2005, 01:39 PM
Ok I don't know a carrot about how TFP is organised I didn't realise that the different states were independent and newsletters would be generated when or if someone decided to write about the effort they have done, Is there not a central website with downloadable newsletters? I would have thought that if people are doing work for the fishing party then its important that they document what they are doing if its to have maximum effect.

A newsletter should be available as a download and even better also as a simple html document on the server.
If there is info that can simply be dropped into a document for an initial newsletter then I'll stick it together. Might not be pretty and I'll just do the first one for the moment but if thats all you need then toss it my way. I should be able to do a pdf and assuming you have email addresses for a mass mailout you can just send out the link to where the document is held. I won't spend extensive time on it but it can't be too hard.
cheers BB

keen_as_mustard
04-06-2005, 06:11 PM
KC,

One good turn deserves another - so if you really want to do a newsletter contact me (I am a fully employed graphic artist with a Journalism degree). Although I don't have heaps of time (new baby and a full and part-time job) I will find time to help the Fishing Party out - as KC said, it is my Party too!

This is a serious offer, so let me know what you have in mind and I'm sure we can organise something.

Marty

dasher
04-06-2005, 09:21 PM
I'm another whose paid $22.00 to a voluntary organisation doing their bit to put in a voice for my chosen past time.

All I got as well was cheaply printed cut out bit of light cardboard.

(Next time feel free to just scribble my number on the back of a post it note or something and save a little extra money, or better still wizz it on an email and it will cost nothing #;D )

Thanks dicko, we'll do that if you give us your email addy mate. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

dasher
04-06-2005, 09:31 PM
Just a big thank you to those that have have come on board an decided to help the cause. Without sounding pushy, I'd just like to remind all fishos we need solidarity to get our way. ???

kc
05-06-2005, 03:36 AM
Hi Marty,

Great offer thankyou. Please email me direct. Dasher & I are working already on rough content but someone with the skills to put it together would be invaluable.

My email is kc@whitsunday.net.au

KC

TonyM
05-06-2005, 08:54 AM
Way to go Marty! Good man! :)

I have a new baby at home too - the little bundles of love sure do demand time hey? (time well spent I might add even if it does cut down on fishing) :)

Derek Bullock
05-06-2005, 09:54 AM
KC

Did you get my email.

Derek

Burley_Boy
05-06-2005, 03:02 PM
Thanks for your message Dasher,
I think Marty's offer is better than mine as he is obviously skilled in this regard.
I'd be happy to be on the mailing list though so i'll shoot through my home email.
BB

dasher
05-06-2005, 03:54 PM
Thanks for your message Dasher,
I think Marty's offer is better than mine as he is obviously skilled in this regard.
I'd be happy to be on the mailing list though so i'll shoot through my home email.
BB

No, thank you BB, any offer of assistance is dearly appreciated mate. Kevin, with a small band of helpers has tried to do the impossible, and so far proved all the cynics wrong. The more guys we get helping the stronger we will grow. We are not asking all members to devote their lives to the party, a simple thing like recruiting members from your local pub or club will go a long way toward helping us have a say. Thanks again mate and look out for some large emails mate. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Big_unit
07-06-2005, 06:11 AM
Its unreal the communication I have recieved via email from various members since some of the more recent posts on this thread. Well I am eating humble pie and its quite tasty. Seriously though congrats to the members who are putting in a big effort.

James

kc
07-06-2005, 06:39 AM
Hi Derek,

I have checked my inbox & spam box and can't see one from you...I did have over 2500 emails to deal with after a month away so it could have slipped through the cracks.

Please resend or post as PM

KC

mini696
07-06-2005, 06:50 AM
Have you become a member yet?

Nope.

Fisher_Boats
07-06-2005, 09:28 AM
Hi Derek,

I have checked my inbox & spam box and can't see one from you...I did have over 2500 emails to deal with after a month away so it could have slipped through the cracks.

Please resend or post as PM

KC

Holdy snappin duck shit KC....your a popular man ;D

kc
07-06-2005, 07:54 PM
A curse not a blessing....of that I can assure you. No doubt a bi-product of having an email adress published all over the joint. Of 2600 emails 2300 were crap.

KC

luigi
08-06-2005, 05:07 PM
Hey KC,
sounds like those 2300 must have come from politicians & bureaucrats. [smiley=argue.gif]

dasher
08-06-2005, 06:31 PM
A website and an email database is currently being put together by TonyM and Gary-Fooks from the party. These guys are donating their time and expertise for fishermen, something a lot of you have a problem with. If you value your fishing and would like your children and grandchildren to enjoy the fun you have experienced, consider joining the fishing party and voice your concerns about how the management of our fisheries is effecting you. We can make a difference, but not if it is going to be a few fighting for all. We really need all of you. Think about your future and the future of your kids and grandkids, too late for me (too bloody old). Let’s get behind the party and make a difference in Queensland and show the rest of Australia that you don’t have to accept restrictions that are not scientifically based. This is so much like a fishing club where in most cases there is no need for vote for committee because there are not enough candidates. Does that ring a bell????? You don’t have to donate heaps of time, just give us a chance and hopefully we will make a difference.

Daintreeboy
08-06-2005, 06:38 PM
Is the party for the rec fishing section only? Just a query.
Thanks,

kc
08-06-2005, 07:00 PM
Hi Mark,

In a nut shell...yes. We are rec fishing only. We share some common ground with the pros and have some empathy with their plight but are polls apart on other issues.

The commercial guys have their effective lobby groups and fund a number of political parties via donations....what we have that they don't have is numbers(votes).

That said I am in regular contact with commercial fishing organisations and to date we are agreeing to disagree on some issues and working together on others.

Commercial fishers are not our best mates but niether are they our enemies.

KC