View Full Version : Boyne/Tanuum hook up 2005

BladeRunner
20-05-2005, 04:27 PM
Who's going to this years hook up? would some one like to start a list
I know Streaker is
and BladeRunner.There must be others, Tabs are you in?

BladeRunner [smiley=bandana.gif]

DNO40
21-05-2005, 02:08 AM
I'm in.......are we having an AUSFISH members corner ? ;D

harry_h01
21-05-2005, 03:22 AM
;)
I'm in

Harry

Volvo
21-05-2005, 06:17 AM
Okay where's the ausfish memebers corner gunna be ???...

BladeRunner
22-05-2005, 05:59 AM
SOME WHERE NEAR THE BEER TENT

DNO40
24-05-2005, 01:58 AM
Definately near the beer tent ;D

Pash67
24-05-2005, 05:18 AM
You guy's stay at the beer tent i'll take the 475 for you DNO. I have a ticket for myself & the son.

Adrian

BladeRunner
24-05-2005, 03:34 PM
pash67.
Benaraby no water there.
Good on ya Adrian, I will look out for you and your son over the 3 day fishing comp.
Will try to meet all the Ausfish members from CQ . Your Very Quiet Corry ???
Keep in touch

Pash67
25-05-2005, 05:21 AM
Your right , no water at Benaraby the fishing and crabing is no good either (no need for you blokes to waste fuel & time to come here now) ;D ;D. It is handy having the Boyne River 1K from home & the Awoonga Dam 8k's from home. Great fun for a small boat or canoe in the river. If they let more water run out of the dam it might improve things though.

Adrian

Lundy
25-05-2005, 08:39 AM
Hi Berni,
I bloody missed out on the entry. I rang the 1800 no. last wedneday and it closed tuesday night. #:-[bugger.
I will be there all day on Saturday tagging the live fish that are brought in. It's a hard job that will required the fluid to be kept up :P. #Got a ripper of a trip report that I will try and post soon. Keep an eye out for it.

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
25-05-2005, 09:42 AM
My wife and I are in as well. We have only just joined this as members today. We would love to meet up with some of you at Boyne Is. How can we all be identified?

BladeRunner
28-05-2005, 05:14 AM
DaveSue_fishos_Two
Good point ???
I shall have a think about that . ::)
I know we are all pretty good drinkers and tall story tellers :-X
Be in contac whatch this post
BladeRunner.
Ps Corry R U In the HOOK UP ?

Needmorerum
29-05-2005, 02:19 PM
No mate, wasn't real keen on trying to launch either boat with that many people around, so didn't rush in for a ticket. Would have liked to catch up to some for a drink, but I've bought another Cruiser (two wasn't enough), so I'm off to Mackay for the long weekend to pick it up.
Won't be coming back till the Monday.
Wouldn't mind organising a day out, or an overnighter at some stage, but we'll go into that after the Hook Up.

Corry

BigE
29-05-2005, 04:11 PM
i'll be there ;D ;D ;D if you see the bloke in a 4m hornet with an ausfish cap & sunburn come and say g'day................ any plans on a ausfish drinkie???

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
29-05-2005, 05:33 PM
BladeRunner,
I started a subject in the Boating chat to seee if anyone was interested but no comment so far. Maybe we could just put on a sticker or something on the front of our shirt and write Ausfish and our name?? I thought it would be good if we could meet up at the briefing at 7am on Friday 10th June. That way at least we might see some familiar faces at the beer tent that night. What do you reckon? Would you and the rest of the members tack on a sticker with your name on it?? Sue and I will be there, close to the stage, hope to meet you there!!

BladeRunner
30-05-2005, 02:57 PM
Good idear
But I don't get normaly that close to the stage because when you see the amount of people between you and the beer tent second TOILET I know where I would rather be.

What we did last year when Ausfish members arrived we swapped mobile # and then congregated some where. Wasen't that far I don't think from the, well will fine some where It's going to be big this year. Bring some warm cloths as the weather is getting cooler.
Mobile 0404 828 335
BladeRunner

BladeRunner
30-05-2005, 03:07 PM
Corry
Great to hear from you.
Bad luck mate you might have won the Main Prize,A Boat. Off to Mackay ay, no worrys for a fish after the Hook Up, thats if there is still fish around. I will be in Brisbane after the comp back the following week though catch you then
Smooth boating

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
30-05-2005, 04:06 PM
BladeRunner
Sue and I will be there with our team shirts on. We are calling ourselves "Reel Nauti". Our mobile no: 0404 269183. I wrote more about us in the Boating Chat. Looking forward to seeing you fellas there. I don't think the beer tent will be open at 7am at the briefing. Will it??

Cheers all

seafox
31-05-2005, 06:26 AM
Bladerunner I will be there am fishing with Newby see you around the beer tent [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

BladeRunner
31-05-2005, 05:22 PM
Fellows & Sue
Garantee we will find somewhere open .
Seafox great to here from you. Might be stuck myself for a crew on one of the 3 days
any takers?
Mobile Phones it is, Near beer tent Usual spot as last year see you all there.

BladeRunner
[smiley=bandana.gif]

seafox
01-06-2005, 04:01 AM
Bladerunner what days will you be stuck for a crew may be able to help

ozgirlsonya
01-06-2005, 04:39 AM
I am only a new member as of yesterday. We missed out on entry but are still going up to catch up with friends. Will be sure to look out for club members.

Needmorerum
01-06-2005, 07:11 PM
Bladerunner I will be there am fishing with Newby see you around the beer tent [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Well, Well, Well, he still breathes. How's things Jeff, haven't heard from you for a while. Still waiting for you to show me how to catch fish. I'm not coming to the Hook Up, but when are we going to organise another CQ together again for a run out somewhere?
Have to do it shortly after the Hook Up. Will await your call.

Corry

seafox
02-06-2005, 07:17 AM
Corry yea I still breath I think been real busy lately haven’t been fishing since March am getting withdrawal symptoms.Work has relaxed now and am ready to fish anytime before the hook up or after give us a ring and we will organize another CQ trip

Jeff

BladeRunner
02-06-2005, 03:48 PM
Sea fox
At this stage looks like Saterday might be a bit short for a crew. That's if you wont to.
Give me a call or I might even call around to see you after work Thursday 2/6/05
BladeRunner.

seafox
03-06-2005, 04:52 PM
Steve regarding Boyne Tannum Hook Up seeing there will be a good contingent of Ausfish members attending, is there any chance of getting on loan some sort of flag or banner with an Ausfish emblem to represent our group in this fishing comp over the Queens Birthday weekend.

Jeff

BladeRunner
03-06-2005, 05:09 PM
Gee what a good idea Jeff .What do you think Steve?
BladeRunner

BladeRunner
03-06-2005, 05:37 PM
Trophy Fish sweet lip ( just in case the weather gets bad ) you can catch them on the 12 mile. Biggest in weight or size wins.
Good old Grassy sweet lip what do you think ? As for $20 per boat, yep would be fairer as you have the most people ratio per boats sounds fair to me Dose every one agree ? Who do we get to judge? Should be fun.

Sea fox has tried for an Ausfish banner or something from Steve so we can have a meeting point at the Hook Up to congregate around .
Streaker we have a secret wepon this year Stay tuned.A few new members would like to join in this year.We welcome them yes.
Will ring, Or see you near the beer tent 7,00 am Friday moring 10.06.2005
Good luck
BladeRunner

Got to get reid of this parrot fish ay

seafox
03-06-2005, 05:48 PM
Grassy Sweet lip sounds good to me $20 per boat also ok bring it on
Burnie what are you doing at the beer tent at 7 am Friday morning should be out fishing you know who will get to the lipper's first [smiley=smash.gif]

imported_admin
03-06-2005, 08:00 PM
Steve regarding Boyne Tannum Hook Up seeing there will be a good contingent of Ausfish members attending, is there any chance of getting on loan some sort of flag or banner with an Ausfish emblem to represent our group in this fishing comp over the Queens Birthday weekend.

Jeff

Lucky_Phill has the banner, I will contact him and see what we can arrange to get it to you.

Brad1m
04-06-2005, 04:37 AM
okee-kokee:

I have never been along to a fishing comp, just wondering how it works ,
im guessing that there is several catagories, and where ya put the boat in depends on which catagory your competing in ?
To cut to the chase, will all boats be going in from same ramp "I dought it"
Or will all ramps in the gladstone area be busy as hell?

seafox
04-06-2005, 04:48 AM
Thanks Steve Lucky_Puill weren’t coming up for the hook up ??? ???

harry_h01
04-06-2005, 05:01 AM
Brad1m

The hookup is run from Brisbane to North QLD, in a manner of speaking. The only stipulation is that you must make the weigh in at Bray Park, Boyne Island.

You can use any boat ramp you want, with the ones in Gladstone and surrounds coping less traffic than the one at Bray Park.

Hope this helps.

Harry

seafox
04-06-2005, 05:04 AM
Thanks Steve Lucky_Puill weren’t coming up for the hook up #??? ???
Sorry typo meant to say Lucky_Puill weren’t YOU coming up for the hook up

Brad1m
Yes there are several categories ranging from reef fin species pelagic and river species (river species are mostly live category) you may target any one of the nominated species or all of the nominated species it’s up to you. The ramps will fairly busy over the competition but with a bit of patience and good manners not to may problems getting in and out of the water as there are quite a few ramps around Gladstone and Tannum area

Jeff

Brad1m
04-06-2005, 06:19 AM
okee-kokee:

Thanks for clearing that up for me , but if the way-in is @ tannum then i recon there will be 1,000 + boats bounceing around up that way next weekend what ya recon ?

harry_h01
04-06-2005, 07:57 AM
Brad1m

The organisers will have people on the ramp to minimise the congestion, additionally there is a beach etc nearby to nose in on.

There will be a few boats around the Bray Park ramp, but of the 3000 entries, not everyone fishes, and some don't have boats.

So it could be busy from time to time, but if we all take our time and carry some respect for others in our pockets, it should all work out.

Harry

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
04-06-2005, 02:29 PM
Seven more sleeps. Can't wait. ;D ;D ;D

redlipper
04-06-2005, 03:42 PM
To you Ausfish members who are in the Hookup and outside boaties.
Looking at the MSLP computer generated charts for next Friday and Saturday, the current 20 knot SE will persist until Thursday and then the bars separate a little and tend more south which will not be brilliant but better than this weekend.

But thats only a computer model so I will keep my options open.
We live at 1770/Agnes and launch from 1770 and have been in the Hookup since 97 and love it, especially the Sunday night. Great crowd and atmosphere. Cant wait.
Lets hope the weekend weather comes good but if its S#*T the prizes will make it interesting.
1770 Seahaven Fishing Club

BladeRunner
04-06-2005, 05:19 PM
Fantastic Steve for the loan of a banner. Now I can fined the beer tent and the toilet all at once .
Well done to all Ausfish members who are attending from locals to visitors. We now have an official spot to meet & greet Look for the Ausfish Banner and a bunch of drunks (Just kidding ). On drunks .

Redlipper… Bring it on the weather that is we shall be ready can’t be any worse than past 9 yrs this event has been held.

Sea fox would you like to borrow my dictionary or you forgot to use spell check again.
Reel Nauti You are on a count down keep it up ay

Looks like the ground rules are in place for the biggest sweet lip. I am shore Streaker is up to the challenge .
Keep the post coming Its not long to go.

ratsack
04-06-2005, 06:05 PM
Blade I left my run for a ticket too late and missed out, if you are looking for a crew I am available.

BigE
05-06-2005, 07:47 AM
See you guys there i'm heading off to happyrocks on Sun, will look for the AusFish Flag. just put new Ausfish stickers on the transom and will have the Ausfish cap on. will say hi if i see ya's. who holds the lipper pot?? (do i get longer odds fishin in a tinny) anyone know which fish need to weighed in live????
Ph 0402347122 for those who wish to stay in touch............ if any ausfisher wins a boat i WANNA ride!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Best of luck all

BladeRunner
05-06-2005, 12:11 PM
bigE who holds the lipper pot. It would have to be a non drinker.
When you all arrive the Hook up team will explain the categories for fish and any other info you might like to know on Friday morning start day.Most of the rules are in the promotion sheets.

ratsack sorry mate I managed to get a crew for the weekend no shortage of takers here.
Blade [smiley=bandana.gif]

Lundy
05-06-2005, 05:01 PM
bigE,

Live fish are Bream, Flathead, Grunter and Mangrove Jack, If you bring one in on Saturday I'll tag it for you ;)
Will try and have a beer Saturday arvo with anybody at the flag.

redlipper
05-06-2005, 06:05 PM
Bladerunner...I cant get the gist of your best sweetlip chat...please elaborate on what the chasllenge is... I took out best Hookup Sweetlip in 1997 when the top category overall was still $600. As you said who cares about the weather...the rougher it is the less boats will be out...the better the odds!We fish in 20kn if we have to and monitor VHFch 81. give us a call and inform of your weights. Should be fun!!

redlipper
05-06-2005, 06:08 PM
Bladerunner...Redlipper again...sorry mate forgot to add VHF CH81 callsign "Reef Ranger" 6mt Cruisecraft.

BladeRunner
07-06-2005, 03:11 AM
The big sweet lip is a thing us Ausfish members have at the hook up nothing to do with the actual hook up.
If you would like to join in @ $20 per boat the biggest sweet lip or (grasse) in size gets the pot.Its just a bit of Ausfish Fun.
Will catch up with you at the hook up or call my mobile.
BladeRunner

NEWBY
07-06-2005, 06:01 AM
$20.00 entry fee eh? Who do I pay? When do I pay? Where can I find the person I pay? And I think that "Seafox" has also organised an ausfish banner to be sent up so we all know where to have an ale together.
And I tell yer what "redlipper" going out in 20kn off happyknackers is not my idea of fun but if you are stupid enough to do it, what the hell, I will be right there too. It's my idea of justification. If someone else does it then I have an excuse too. ;D When I come back all sore and battered I can always say "I WASN'T THE ONLY SILLY BUGGER OUT THERE" ;)

redlipper
07-06-2005, 01:09 PM
Mate the forecast charts from bom have at least 20 knots for the weekend...bummer!

BladeRunner
07-06-2005, 02:18 PM
Newby Your $20 is safe with me [smiley=sneaky.gif]

I surpose I could hold the kitty as they say.
all agree say i
Blade

BladeRunner
07-06-2005, 02:42 PM
Streaker, Brad 1m ,harry_o1,redlipper,Ratsack,corry,Ozgirlsonya, Cqhornet, Volvo,Pash67,Tabs, Newby, POST me your Mobile # if you won't to?

Or meet near the beer tent 6.45 pm
BladeRunner

DNO40
07-06-2005, 04:29 PM
See you at the Beer tent

Pash67
08-06-2005, 05:10 AM
I'll be there Friday morning and the draws each night. Mobile: 041 776 1126. Hope they have mid strength rum & cola! The son is too young to drive me home.

Do the organisers mind us putting up a banner if we are not sponsers of the event?

Adrian

seafox
08-06-2005, 05:42 AM
$20.00 entry fee eh? Who do I pay? When do I pay? Where can I find the person I pay ;)

Newby and the rest of you fishers it would be better to leave the lipper money with me because I will win it anyway [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Streaker
08-06-2005, 06:54 AM
Bladerunner
it may be better if you hold the purse I drink to much bourbon to be carrying that sort of money. I'll be in Gladstone on Thursday and at the beer tent on Friday night.
Mob 0423784156.
Wayne (Lipper Killer) :P :P

Pash67
08-06-2005, 08:12 AM
I spoke to one of the organisers & he informed me it should be no problem putting up a banner as long it is not too big and is like a team banner. So if anyone asks it is for Ausfish fishing team members to congregate around.

Adrian

Lundy
08-06-2005, 08:47 AM
Just a word of warning.

Security will be tighter this year on people bring their own beer along.
It won't be tolerated and you will be escorted from the park.
Not to sure how they will police it.

redlipper
08-06-2005, 03:33 PM
Thanks for the Tip Tabs...the 1770 mob and theres about 30 of us always take our eskies..I would like to know how they think theyre going to police it.

The legal implications are you are not supposed to drink in a public place [Bray Park]and we realise the comp committee has a license to protect......... but for the past 9 years the 1770 mob have always BYO.
We are usually only there on the Sunday night so we dont take advantage of the situation every night.
Will make it interesting.

By the way..about half the families attending the comp bring an esky just to carry their weigh in fish...they would want a copper with them if they ask me to open mine or the rest of our mobs.
They will upset more people than they think.
I agree with supporting charities and fish stocks etc but my entry fee does that...enough said!!

Lundy
09-06-2005, 05:40 AM
Redlipper,
It was mentioned at our sports fishing club meeting last week.
I don't think the Hook-up people have the license for the beer
so it will be about making money for the licensee.

Good Luck to all, and don't risk heading out Friday if it's blowing.

BladeRunner
14-06-2005, 09:18 AM
TO ALL
Who attended the Boyne Tannum Hook Up
Results and stories will be told and some pics, stay posted.
Blade [smiley=bandana.gif]