View Full Version : Rain!!!

Stumpthumpa
01-07-2005, 07:01 AM
Well here in Byron Bay it is bucketing down! The hills behind us (Goonengerry) have received over 500mm in the past 48 hours and Brunswick had over 150mm in 3 hours earlier this morning. Work has a skeleton staff only (those of us in socially irresponsible 4wds). Looks like Lismore will test their new levvy banks later today.

How far is this rain spreading? Anyone getting it that really needs it like out west? Let us know.

logan_whiting
01-07-2005, 07:09 AM
i had to leave work today becuse the gold coast city marina was getting blocked off bcause the roads were flooded

squidgiepalmer
01-07-2005, 07:25 AM
North Lismore is gone main town center ready to evacuate Byron closed and still raining 500mm shit i thought we had it bad in Evans no sleep last night due to tin roof and pouring rain but on good side all dams full and lets hope it heads out west and to Sydney were they need there dams full
cheers squidgie

01-07-2005, 08:08 AM
MMM
Now I know why I like tassie, at least our rain is spread throughout the year
Hang on tight fellows and stay safe, from what I am seeing some people can jetison the boat trailers and launch in the streets

megan
01-07-2005, 08:20 AM
I live in Wollongong 1.5hr south of Sydney and I can tell you it has been pouring here all week, and the rain is due to stay until Sunday or so. It is also raingin heavily in Sydney and there are severe weather warnings all up and down the coast, with seas expected to reach 5m in some areas. Hope everyone is safe and dry.

matthill80
01-07-2005, 09:31 AM
i know of some fellas who got heaps out tara way its about 3.5 hrs west of brizzy. good luck to em. here on the southside of brissy we have copped a hiding wit the rain. not sure how much but ive never seen the creek behind us so flooded its about 10 mtrs up from the normal bank height

matthill80
01-07-2005, 09:34 AM
neighbours driveway :o :-/

matthill80
01-07-2005, 09:36 AM
my fence or was anyway

Big_unit
01-07-2005, 10:47 AM
A mate of mine on the Downs has just finished planting 3800 acres of wheat. I havent heard him so chirpy in ages.
Bloody bewdy.

James

gunna
01-07-2005, 11:07 AM
My daughter's place is on Lake Hugh Munz near Robina. Its up about 6ft. Their back fence has disappeared and the water is almost up to the footings. They will be able to catch tilapia off the back verandah tonite.

Here is a link to NSW rainfalls. Just click on the town you want.
http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/nsw/nsw-observations-map.shtml

ken4159
01-07-2005, 11:11 AM
Rain causes small problem with boat shelter

ken4159
01-07-2005, 11:13 AM
and again

basserman
01-07-2005, 11:20 AM
well heard that goburne had a bit of rain and even have the rivers flowing into the catchment again so it is looking good pretty much all over ;D

gunna
01-07-2005, 01:41 PM
Sydney news just said the Gold Coast has had more rain than Brisbane had for the 74 floods - and that was accompanied by a cyclone. For those of us old enough to remember the 74 Brissy floods - thats an awesome amount of rain.

Baycruiser
01-07-2005, 01:44 PM
Plenty of rain in Western Qld (Around Roma way). At least 35mm over last few days, (that I know of). Got this photo on the e-mail today (near Warra)......ground is getting so soft that trailer legs broke through bitumen surface when truck was unhitched.

01-07-2005, 01:48 PM
Well boys,

As you have herd it's been rather Damp here today. somethin of 500mm+ fell on the Gold Coast.

For those of you that don't know I work at Sea World, we nearly lost our newest attraction shark bay... too much fresh water #::). we normally top up from the broadwater but it was all fresh as well.. we had an emergency truck load of 22 ton of salt delivered by mid morning which we dumped into the shark pools.Luckilly all animals survived.

The_Tub
02-07-2005, 02:42 PM
How's it going?

Mal

It's been belting down in Ballina, should be good for jewies off the wall.(richmond river) The dams and the fishing should both benefit! :D

major-defect
02-07-2005, 05:08 PM
You's are getting rain like we get!

02-07-2005, 05:33 PM
Geezus..you get a wet of 500mm + a day....must be a terrible place you live :-X

major-defect
02-07-2005, 06:50 PM
not every day lol