View Full Version : Illegal Fishing

snapattack
27-07-2005, 05:02 AM
This happened to me a couple of weeks ago at Southport. There were two guys keeping undersize squire off the end of the seaway. I took option 2 and was told to F@#$ off so I then took option 7 and sat back and waited for fisheries to arrive. Fisheries were there in 15mins and confiscated all their fish and gear.

scuttlebutt
27-07-2005, 06:12 AM
Well done Snap, and good to see Fisheries acted promptly as well,

steve

caloundra
27-07-2005, 06:21 AM
good stuff snapattack
that would have been good to watch when the fisheries arrived [smiley=curtain.gif]
they would have been #[smiley=bigcry.gif] to have there gear taken of them. HAHAHA

Daniel

PS I think I'll have to put the number in my phone

DNO40
27-07-2005, 06:40 AM
2 thru to and including 8. As you have done snappa, follow a logical sequence to ensure the result you want.

Gutsy
27-07-2005, 06:42 AM
Great to see Fisheries respond in a timely manner and take the appropriately actions. Would have loved to be sitting back watching aswell.

Marcel.

Seamus
27-07-2005, 07:39 AM
Snapattack,

BIG thumb up to you mate, and for Fisheries response time as well. ;)
Seamus

27-07-2005, 07:43 AM
Silly question maybe, but... Does everyone have the Fisheries number in their mobiles? If so, what would the number be...?

fishingnottake
27-07-2005, 08:51 AM
1800 017 116, for the fishwatch hotline,

Dug
27-07-2005, 12:39 PM
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Outstanding! I would pay to see that happen.

Well done.

Steven78
27-07-2005, 02:38 PM
I would phone first and not approch the offender in any way as it might end up in a fight or something worse. After all if there dump enough to take under size fish they might take the nexted step ):

Just be careful Please

saphire
27-07-2005, 03:42 PM
Thats right Steven. You have to think about your own safety first.
Some people can get violent for no reason at all and some may genuinally not understand that they are taking fish that are undersized.
Assess the situation carefully.

gogecko
28-07-2005, 06:58 AM
Well done, Id also love to see that happen. The numbers in my mobile from now on.

GES
28-07-2005, 07:52 AM
Number seven is the most approriate and safest action to take.
It would be stupid to get yourself bashed, or worse, for taking any of the other listed actions 2,3,4,5,6.
Leave it to those who have the lawful authority, training and back up to do the job.

GES

Kiktz
28-07-2005, 07:52 AM
I would love the nasty pleeks to step it on up
Great job

Kiktz
28-07-2005, 07:53 AM
And I hope you blew them a kiss while their getting spoken to by the fisheries

sunny
28-07-2005, 08:18 AM
Yep, stand back but let fisheries come and sort em out. Anyone dumb enough to be taking undersized fish is probably dumb enough to think they will get away with bashing you. ???

You wanna fight? talk to my lawyer and pray your bank account is big enough. [smiley=evilgrin.gif]

RobSee
28-07-2005, 07:04 PM
Another good option is to get the local fisheries number and put that in your phone, as the fish watch hotline is manned by people all over the state depending on who's turn it is - as all offices take turns to monitor the hotline

RobSee
28-07-2005, 07:06 PM
Qld Boating & Fisheries Patrol-
Pinkenba (07) 3860 3502

RobSee
28-07-2005, 07:07 PM
SOUTHPORT 40 Seaworld Drv
QUEENSLAND BOATING & FISHERIES PATROL (07) 5583 5500

RobSee
28-07-2005, 07:08 PM
MOOLOOLABA
Parkyn Pde
QLD BOATING & FISHERIES PATROL (07) 5444 4599

RobSee
28-07-2005, 07:09 PM
NOOSAVILLE
Russell St
QLD BOATING & FISHERIES PATROL (07) 5449 7555

RobSee
28-07-2005, 07:12 PM
At the end of the day - It is up to us to assist a poorly funded and underesourced govt department to protect a fishery that is in no shape to cope with the vast increase in population that is currently occuring. We might not like the bag limits during a hot bite, but I'm sure we don't neet to be told what things were like 25 years ago (eg how good it was)

.....end of rant ..... for now

devocean
29-07-2005, 12:56 PM
Saw a guy throw a guy off the sand pumping jetty for taking heaps of undersize bream. He warned him first. Need to include that option in the poll

GES
29-07-2005, 01:17 PM
Saw a guy throw a guy off the sand pumping jetty for taking heaps of undersize bream. He warned him first. Need to include that option in the poll

Gees mate, that's a risky option to take over some fish.
What happens if the guy can't swim, or hits his head on the way down?
It could cause him permanent injury or he could die from that action.
Assault causing actual bodily harm (if he is injured) or even manslaughter (if he dies) is a serious criminal offence and your fishing trips would be put on hold for a long, long time.
It's not worth it. Phone the fishos and let them deal with him.

GES

nils_desporandum
29-07-2005, 04:07 PM
so whos been fishing flat rock?

slugo
29-07-2005, 06:22 PM
excelent work snapattack I have also taken steps 2-7 and had results. and what a good feeling to see they get caught [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
good stuff
LEN

gogecko
30-07-2005, 09:50 AM
I think just ring the authorities is the go.

As for approaching the offenders and having a quiet word, did it occur to you all, that most fisherman have a sharp knife nearby? Many have also had a few drinks, and dont like being reminded that they are in the wrong.

Its nice to see a guy tossed off the jetty, but theres too many risks for me. Once you have put a guy in hospital from a fist fight, you tend to think more about how close you came to manslaughter charges.

Its better to avoid the confrontation.

rando
31-07-2005, 07:30 AM
I seem to recall a stabbing incident at the sand pumping jetty a few years ago, over some relativly minor dispute.
Its hard to judge how people are going to react,,, best to avoid confrontation imo.

31-07-2005, 12:44 PM
Being pretty defenceless, I would take option 7. No guts!!

Life has taught me to avoid confrontations at all costs.

Ring the authorities and hope for the best. There are simply too many crazies out there.

gawby
31-07-2005, 03:02 PM
TOP SHELF SNAPATTACK, TOPSHELF.

It would be a different matter if you were mistaken about the size but just raping the sea is not on.

Once again, TOP SHELF. Take all the fish today and there will be none tomorrow.

Graeme.

krtazy
01-08-2005, 07:01 AM
you done the right thing mate well done. :)

james_noosa
01-08-2005, 11:23 AM
i said i'd ignore them unless i knew them or i was bigger than them
james

nils_desporandum
01-08-2005, 02:59 PM
we saw some boaties who had double parked at the ramp yesterday,so i called the council-they all got tickets.
also saw some guys having some beers while at overnight anchorage,called the water police,they came,not sure of end results but glad that there are other vigilantes out there

Needmorerum
01-08-2005, 05:37 PM
we saw some boaties who had double parked at the ramp yesterday,so i called the council-they all got tickets.
also saw some guys having some beers while at overnight anchorage,called the water police,they came,not sure of end results but glad that there are other vigilantes out there

??? :o

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
01-08-2005, 05:56 PM
I'm certainly no bloody hero but I would, and have, approached mongels that have been taking undersize fish and crabs. It often seems to take too long for the authorities to arrive at the ramp, and that is where you tend discover these pricks. I say front them first, and at the same time be ringing the fishos. Bugger them. If they want to assault you then they will have that to answer to as well. But make sure you got all of their rego details etc even before you approach them.

Cheers and good onya Snappattack