View Full Version : HMAS Brisbane Pic #2

westie
02-08-2005, 12:20 PM
.........DO IT FOR THE AUSFISH HISTORY.........

Anyone got some pic of her, come on if you caught her.
...Keep the size down low res to allow for easy loading...

Show me yours and I will show you mine

Bill_Klein
02-08-2005, 12:27 PM
Mine gettin processed now will put some on tommorrow

jugs
02-08-2005, 12:58 PM
Getting processed??? What is that??> Do you live in the dark ages???

westie
02-08-2005, 01:42 PM
I am the same I have a Dig but the REAL Camera has REAL lenses and REAL Film and if they don't turnout it will be going in the REAL garbage

Bill_Klein
02-08-2005, 02:41 PM
Thats it Westie old camera but good lenses
do have digital but only little and just got it so still gettin the hang of it Jugs

slugo
02-08-2005, 02:57 PM
hey jugs ..I must live in the darkest ages I dont even own a camera only buy thoes throw away cameras and wait for IT.............I don't own a computer either I use the one at work.

the dark side
len

02-08-2005, 03:18 PM
heres a few 4 yas,

Thats me in the foreground, don't ask me how I took this shot either ;)

02-08-2005, 03:19 PM
The boom shot

02-08-2005, 03:20 PM
goin down

02-08-2005, 03:22 PM
Where did she go shot :)

jugs
02-08-2005, 03:32 PM
So how come you got to go in the VIP area Spaniard King?? What makes you any better than the rest of us PLEBS???
Or hang on, were you on the boat with Premier Pete???

slugo
02-08-2005, 03:44 PM
excellent shots Garry (any more)

westie
02-08-2005, 03:46 PM
Well I was in the "c" area is that a better class than you Jugs
Spaniard-King looks to be in the " A - A1 " Area to me but then i am just an old fart.

02-08-2005, 03:52 PM
Jugs,

have a look at some of my pics, hang on I will post a better sample. To say the least I was totally p!ssed off at the morrons who encroached into the "Exclussion Zone"

I was at either Bouy A1 or A2 I wasnt sure ::) and I was outside the exclusion zone :(

some of my pics were taken well before she went down

02-08-2005, 03:56 PM
Slugo,

Pm me with an email adress if you want any more please let me know if you want full res shots, I have quite a few. I had several friends takin them from all angles.

I have a personal interest in her havin spent over 4 years on her including her first trip to the Gulf in 1990

Brejen
02-08-2005, 04:04 PM
Top shelf Gary. Thanks for the sharing of some top shots. Was going to go up there as well, but thought about climbing Mt Coolum to stay away from the crowds, but from the News footage look to be 100's up there as well. Thanks again Gary really enjoyed them.

02-08-2005, 04:36 PM
Is that a guy on a surfboard???? That far out to sea?

basserman
02-08-2005, 04:39 PM
Slugo,

I have a personal interest in her havin spent over 4 years on her including her first trip to the Gulf in 1990

so you would know wyke'sy
sean wykes???

bungie
02-08-2005, 04:45 PM
:)

02-08-2005, 04:47 PM
Cheech,

those guys were on canoes :o

the paddle back would have been interesting

02-08-2005, 04:51 PM
so you would know wyke'sy
sean wykes???

Basserman, sorry but the name does not ring any bells, what branch was he??? I was Engineering (mention to him I was the DB Leading Hand )

slugo
02-08-2005, 05:24 PM
Thanks GARRY pm on the way

len

basserman
02-08-2005, 05:30 PM
he was up in the shack

went to the SP's after he got back but did both that and the somalia trips but he split up with my sister after that so i have nothing to do with him now (tipcal puss head not like us Grunts :P)

02-08-2005, 05:35 PM
Len, on there way..

searaider
02-08-2005, 05:41 PM
Interesting day , worth the wait & the hassle at the boatramp to see her go down .About 1/2 an hour to get in the water , and once back at the ramp , about 2 hours to get back on the trailer . 1/2 an hour of this was floating around on the water at the ramp , waiting for an opening on the beach , them the other 1 1/2 hours , in the jam up ever so slowly inching the car & trailer towards the ramp. :P

Boy there were some boats out there :o
I'm posting a couple of photos , not the best quality but may help in the overall view of the sinking .

A late geday to all the other Ausfish guys & gals who were out there with us , especialy the crew in the White Haines that I was talking to , anchored just behind us . ( sorry guys I didnt see your Ausfishers stickers untill we were leaving ) :-/

The first photo shows some of the spectator craft & the Ausfish White Haines on the left hand side .

searaider
02-08-2005, 05:47 PM
One of the firework type flashes that were only for show that went off just before the real explosions .

02-08-2005, 05:48 PM
g'day Peter,

yeh dat was me, So many boats you were not alone. I too was looking and not seeing as well.

maybe next time i am up your way

for the pics

searaider
02-08-2005, 05:55 PM
Just after some of the real charges going off .

searaider
02-08-2005, 05:57 PM
On her way down

searaider
02-08-2005, 06:04 PM
Geday Gary ( Spaniard_King ) ,
Catch up with you next time .
For those who werent there ,the photo doesnt actually show how many boats were on the water . You had to have eyes in the back of your head , just to see that no one was going the either drift or run into you :o

Searaider 2

westie
02-08-2005, 06:41 PM
It proves one thing no matter what craft you have, there is room on our waterway for all to enjoy and be safe, if we all keep our kool and keep our eyes open. Congrads to all skippers from the Canoe to the Charter Boats you all deserver a pat on the back, I felt it was a pleasure being there to enjoy the day for what it was along with being in the history books for longer then any of us will be here. Remember to soon we all will become history but it was good to be a part of it!!!!!!

DICER
03-08-2005, 01:51 AM
top pictures Gary....

Bill_Klein
03-08-2005, 02:43 PM
ok got pics back

Bill_Klein
03-08-2005, 02:45 PM
that was about 15 mins b4 sunrise

saphire
03-08-2005, 03:42 PM
I am so impressed with all the fantastic pictures. It will be great if the webmaster puts them together and makes a nice web page with them [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Hoges
03-08-2005, 05:32 PM
I am so impressed with all the fantastic pictures. It will be great if the webmaster puts them together and makes a nice web page with them [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

;DGood idea as it would be good to see everyone's pics in the one thread.

;)BTW who will be the first to post an underwater pic of her on the bottom?

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 01:49 AM
sorry got sidetracked with the boss

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 01:53 AM
they said it would take 2mins 10 secs to go down dont know bout everyone else but she seemed to go down quicker than that

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 01:54 AM
not long now

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 01:57 AM
mt coolum looks good in the haze of exhaust fumes

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 01:59 AM
would love to get access to the cameras they had on the ship as it went under

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 02:02 AM
last one for this mornin got to get to work

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 02:04 AM
yay im a bronzy

gunna
04-08-2005, 07:54 AM
I don't suppose you were allowed to run across it with the sounder after it sank ??

Bill_Klein
04-08-2005, 12:50 PM
nah to many police boats around would have been to obvious

westie
04-08-2005, 01:54 PM
If you were going to do that, I think it is to late now.
I belive they have put a full time bouy ( Like Blinker) at mid ships and warning signs with all sorts of DO NOT stuff.
There should be in place now 5 morrings 2 on each side of the stern, 2 Mid Ships and one on the bow all about 25m out these will have bouys on them, inside these will be a NO GO ZONE, along with it being a Marine Park fishing may not be allowed around it for up to 500m - 1k. This is all subject to change

05-08-2005, 02:41 AM
I was talkin to a member of the Water police yesterday and apparently there is some confussion on who is going to police the regulations in reguards to fishing, diving anchoring ect

westie
05-08-2005, 03:50 PM
on 3:41pm on 20th Jul, mackmauler wrote:give it a little while there will be some great midnight raids to be had there. #

THIS IS NOT MY POST BUT IS >>> Scubaroo...Post from a differant location and thought it should be here for all to see as it make good sense

Having once had to cut myself out of fishing line while diving a wreck (purpose sunk for diving), it would be much appreciated if fishing DIDN'T take place on the wreck of the Brisbane! I think a lot of us underestimate just how dangerous tangled fishing line is to divers. It's not easily cut with a knife underwater, and near bloody invisible - numerous divers have drowned over the years around the world thanks to fishing line.

I'm both a fisho and a diver - fishing on an artificial wreck put down specifically for the dive tourism industry is going to create unnecessary potentially life-threatening hazards, and foster a bad perception of us fishos in general. Like we need more of that. The wreck is shallow enough that relative-beginner divers will be able to dive it, they don't need the stress of dealing with a line entanglement while on a limited air supply.

I'll probably travel up from Melbourne in the next 12 months or so to dive on it - it will be huge for the local economy - $22 million in tourism revenue is one figure I heard.

It will make a hell of an aggregation site though #, fishing around the exclusion zone should still be excellent - it's amazing to watch the pelagics come in out of blue water around wrecks.

cheers #

Bill_Klein
05-08-2005, 03:52 PM
what ever it's goin to be it still is a good thing like someone said fish will be swimmin around it so would be good for all

Bill_Klein
05-08-2005, 03:54 PM
Westie will have to get together so we can plan a dive trip both fisho and diveo here so must plan something soon

westie
05-08-2005, 04:01 PM
Outdoor-Guy I do not dive I have modified the post as it was not mine but I grabbed it and posted it as I thought it was something we all should be aware of.
Sorry about that ::)

Bill_Klein
05-08-2005, 04:18 PM
Sorry bud didn't read the post earlyer
Thats ok i'll dive while u fish LOL

SharkBait
05-08-2005, 04:32 PM
Outdoor Guy,
Three super avid fisho's in the house here - whom all dive as well. Looking forward to getting down on the Brissy sometime. We have our own gear and a 5m Quinny drop us a line anytime
Cheers ;)

Bill_Klein
05-08-2005, 04:40 PM
Sharky anytime mate just email me will be up for it
i reckon give it a year to settle down heard all the charter mobs are booked out for a year at least
will be better then any ways more fish and algea will be on it