View Full Version : Boat Show

Big_Kev
31-08-2005, 03:25 PM
Took the day off work today to head into the boat show with my youngest boy (2) for an early fathers day outing.

Entry fee 16 dollar, I think well worth it.

The boy is boat mad and loved it the minute we walked in the place, he kept pointing and yelling "dad boat" and pointing out the pellors (props). Many people got a gigle from his antics, and a nice lady from Archies gave him a baloon.

We caught some of Nuggets beach fishing talk which was interesting and Dave's humor was great chucking off at some Mexicans using overheads for beach fishing. Well done Nugget.

All the normal stuff was there and I listened to the E'TEC video but found the MERC Verado interesting from a technical perspective.

Didn't seem to be the big Chandlery outlets there but could still get what you want.

Did I walk out a poorer man, of course. New sounder and AM/FM/CD/MP3 player.
I'll have to work out what an MP3 player is later (DOH).

All going have fun, cheers Kev. :D

Scott15
31-08-2005, 03:27 PM
Was the big tank there this yr with the barra in it. Wasnt there last yr :-/

DaneCross
31-08-2005, 04:35 PM
Kev did you get a good price on the sounder and stereo?? I'm interested to know as a good price on a VHF would tip the scales towards me going... wouldn't mind a stereo as well actually, the one I have installed has carked it. :-/
Dane

stubbie
31-08-2005, 05:19 PM
Scott,
The Barra tank was there last year and' pretty sure' its there again this year! Great fun to watch :o

damons33
31-08-2005, 05:52 PM
the fishing component at the boat show is on the wane in my opinion, more leisure craft and ski boats appear each year. alot of southern producers dont take brisso serious anymore.
i hope the tackle and tinny show fills the void. in that i mean the makers of fishing gear start to show case their stuff to us fellas.
damon.

31-08-2005, 05:55 PM
Was the big tank there this yr with the barra in it. Wasnt there last yr :-/

There was two there! watched the froggy lures swim in one......they look like the real thing. Didn't see any ausfish caps there :-( Sorry I missed you and the little feller Kev.

Was a bit worried that I may see a boat that I preferred to the Whittley but no I didn't,<sigh of relief> Did end up 300 bucks lighter though as I saw a bait board preferable, and twice the price, to the earlier one I'd ordered. Never thought I'd pay *that* kind on money for a bait board but hey, it's a Whittley so why spoil it cutting holes into the stern when it can mount on the ski pole? :o

Forgot the bloody digital! >:( If anyone is going and is taking their camera, I would appreciate it if they could take a pic of the 4.3MPI Mercruiser stern drive for me.........ta.....it's the only chance I'd get to see *all* of the engine. They've got 'em all mounted on stands and I found that really interesting to see the whole works as opposed to seeing 'em buried in the boat.

Picked up half a dozen rigged trolling lures for 5bucks each that were in a bin with more exactly the same lures priced up as reduced at 26bucks. :o No, there's no more left as I snatched the lot, and I ain't telling you which Stand had cocked up, but as Elton John said, "don't let the Sun go Down on me" ;-)

Didn't think the smaller tinnies such as car toppers were well represented this year.

01-09-2005, 06:51 AM
Scott,
The Barra tank was there last year and' pretty sure' its there again this year! Great fun to watch :o
Yeah it was there last year Scott, interesting stuff to see how the Barra were stalking the frog soft plastic, it took a few casts but after looking at it a few times one just nailed it #:o that was enough for stubbie to buy one for about $7 from memory last year he couldn't get his wallet out fast enough ;D & I havn't seen him use it once yet #;D

Damo

skippa
01-09-2005, 09:00 AM
Hey Guys,

Anybody see any VHF radio's or offshore anchor kits? can only get in there Sunday for a few hours,
(if only I didn't have to work to pay the bills #:-/ )
thought I might drag Mrs skip and skipets along for daddy's day # ::)

Tony # 8-)

cheno
01-09-2005, 10:40 AM
Went last night and have to agree with Damon, the fishing component was really lousy compred with previous shows (didn't stop me buyiog a new rod though ;)) and fishing boats were underepresented. All a bit dull for my liking but if I was into skiing, PWCs and general posercraft it would have been fine.

One thing I was keen to look at were the 20-25ft US import centre cabs. There were luckily heaps of these on offer but I must say I was diasspointed with the fitouts. Don't get me wrong, build quality was excellent but for their size, these big centrecabs do not have anywhere enough fishing room in my opinion. Also at the transom you are often so far away from the motors on many of them that it would be a right pain when having to lead a big fish around the back of the boat. They also seem to be employing pretty moderate Vs in these big boats.

cheno

searaider
01-09-2005, 06:35 PM
Geday Guys ,
Also went last night & like the other posts , thought it was OK but wasn't really based around fishermen . Ski boats / Cruisers & a lot of 6meter + boats . I found the Tinny & Tackle show heaps better .
Still had a good time , said Geday to Nugget / Bill Corten & had a good talk to Ben Collins at the Bush & Beach stand .
Ben said that he had only seen one other Ausfish Guy ( Wayne ) .

IF YOUR GOING , DONT FOREGET IF YOUR A MEMBER OF A BOAT CLUB . There is a $5 saving on the entry fee ( $ 11 instead of $16 ) .
Cunning buggers they dont have it on their pricing board where you pay for your tickets . I showed them my membership card for #the Moreton Bay Boat Club and got the $5 discount No Worries .

Also $10 for the car park .
Another option if your looking for gear may be at Whitworths Stores
BRISBANE BOAT SHOW SALE!

15% OFF ALL STOCK!

IN OUR WOOLLOONGABBA, BREAKFAST CREEK, SOUTHPORT & MOOLOOLABA STORES

15 FRI 2nd & SAT 3rd SEPT 2005 ONLY!

PERSONAL SHOPPERS ONLY / EXCLUDES SPECIAL ORDERS / IN-STORE STOCK ONLY / NO RAIN CHECKS / EXCLUDES OTH ER OFFERS

Searaider 2

CHRIS_aka_GWH
01-09-2005, 07:18 PM
we took a pack of school kids there on wednesday & Dave & Dave (Moss) certainly made them feel welcome around the stage. Its a good show to take the kids to - all in the one arena. The stall holders were very accomodating & the boats that most of us can't afford had open door policies (without shoes). Check out the Corinda SHS fitout of a centre console - bloody nice job for a bunch of teenagers & nice to see the industry giving back to protect the future of oz manufacturing.

I thought it was a great show & certainly worth the $. The tinnie show does show more base model plain alloy boats etc though.

northside marine I think it is have a stabi- craft in an above ground pool that they have filled with water. The pontoons keep it afloat & the donk's well clear so it can be started & the motion will drain the deck - i reckon my next boat is going to be a stabi craft - 38 gorillas for the big cab they had there seemed a good price for a very capable rig.

stubbie
01-09-2005, 08:01 PM
Hey Rat, We were dropping 7 bucks every time we bought one of ya namesake.If ya wanna talk about impulse buying look in ya own backyard (esky) ;D ;D ;D
P.S The frog will have it's day in the sun,don't you worry about that ;) ;) ;
P.P.S It was probably 10 bucks [smiley=hammer.gif]

chemmy
01-09-2005, 09:57 PM
yeeeehaaaaa just got back from the boat show met mark (seasaw)and phil (phill_tompson) and mono gee it was great fun and saw a bunch of new cool stuff scott (scott15) got himself a rod for his TLD20 set him back $190 but it was a b-day present so i should say it set his parents back $190. i got some slugs, 4 for $10 can't go wrong with that ay. Phill was there for 11hour i think and i'm not sure haw long mark was there for ( i didn't know that mark was that tall). phill came up with an awsome plan for a meet and greet but i'll let him talk about that and dad got a new Raymarine ds500x the same one phill has. any way it was great fun and good to meet some members.

Cherrs chemmy

mako_5.2
01-09-2005, 10:05 PM
Any pics Chemmy :)

philip_thomson
01-09-2005, 10:08 PM
was good to meet you chemmy and mark. hope that the new sounder does the job for you chemmy.

what a day. had a chat with people for hours. drooled over boats for hours. was there from about 10am left at 8.30pm (got to get my moneys worth).

plan for the meet and greet invovles me wining gold lotto and buying a nice big riviera 40. then we go to the barwon banks and then for lunch and dinner everyone returns to the "mother ship". and u can have a shower and a some hot food. (cost of 1 fish p/p) ;D
now to win the gold lotto ::)

managed to limit my spending to $69 might need to go see a doctor to make sure that im not sick.

cheers phil

im just wondering chemmy whats a gunch? ;D

chemmy
01-09-2005, 11:11 PM
gunch?

SeaSaw
01-09-2005, 11:48 PM
Cheno, I have to agree with you about those imports. They all seemed a bit short on fishing space for the size of the boat, although they have an excellent finish and attention to detail. Everyone of them was also overwidth for towing :-/

I spent about 7 hour at the show today. It was good to meet you Phil, Chemmy & Scott. Phil, you can put me down for that M&G. Chemmy, that is why all the fish I hold up look so small ;) ;D ;D ;D its a bugger being 6'4" tall.

It was also good to meet a few of the presenters and other B&B writers such as Mono, Bil Corten & Barry Mcdade. All top blokes and great fisherman.

02-09-2005, 04:30 AM
I was working close by there on Thursday so I dropped in there for a couple of hours...amazing how not one salesperson talks to you when you are dressed in workclothes...LOL
I think the tinny and tackle show is a bit better for the average fisho.

Scott15
02-09-2005, 07:26 AM
saw a gunch of new cool stuff
Cherrs chemmy

lol chemmy

Yeah good to meet you mark, Phil going again tonight and i might just walk past the "bush n beach" stall lol. I'm in with the M&G idea to

Wyoming
02-09-2005, 07:56 AM
I thought the selection of tackle was a tad light for such a high profile show. I went cashed up, specifically to buy a high end baitcaster like a Calais or similar, but most of the suppliers were specialising in cr@p! Lots of Woollies tackle available at reasonable prices, but the few items that were quality were only discounted a very small amount.

When is the Tinnies and Tackle show?

02-09-2005, 08:44 AM
Phil,

are you concerned about fuel costs and thats why u are getting the 40. U do know that RIV do a :o 60. ;D ;D ;D

Cheers Steven

chemmy
02-09-2005, 08:48 AM
it has already been

Dignity
02-09-2005, 07:16 PM
Skippa - I think Whitworths had the GME VHF radio and 8' aerial for $275

Searaider 2 - guess I paid too much - I saw the add and it said members of BIA, didn't think it included boat clubs but more to do with boat sales.

The tackle was crap - a lot of cheap stuff, and one of the stands I couldn't even identify who the seller was. The boats are getting fancier but is it my imagination or are the manufacturers reversed the trend to create as much usable space as possible. Seems the boats are growing but I thought it was starting to get a bit cramped.

BYW - stubbies (or cups) $5 ea

Think I prefer to go to the Tinnie and Tackle show.

Cheers Sam

snappa
02-09-2005, 07:28 PM
save ya money....stay home ..... :(

02-09-2005, 08:34 PM
Made the decision a couple of years back, when the Boat Show went to the Convention Centre, to avoid it.. Dropped heaps of stalls etc. Prices went thru the roof.

If one reads the >" Media Speil ". it says Boat Show. That IS the thrust of the show, so saying that it was light on for tackle, really doesn't cut it.

As " Pete " kindly pointed out, Whitworths " have sale at Boat Show time, as do other ' tackle ' outlets'. The prices that the convention centre ask tohave floor space is cripleing to the smaller guys out there. There fore, the bigger guys get the space and exposure, thus enforcing their presence in the marketplace.

I have, in the past, priced items from Outboards to Boats to Holidays, at the Boat Show, and then priced the ' exactly ' same items at dealers etc, that were NOT represented at the show. Result, same and better prices from the non-participants.

OK, it's all good to have a decko at most opitons in the one place, BUT.

For me, The Tinnie and Tackle show, beats the pants off the Boat Show, and Greg, at least the sales guys will talke to the ' Working Class " there.

Go Hard fella's.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
03-09-2005, 08:55 AM
but do they have the wakeboarder models cruising around :o

hubba hubba hubba

chemmy
04-09-2005, 04:39 PM
go this from that area just outside the actual boat show 20 halco replicas and 8 fish looking koda ones 4 for $10 why not stock up ay ;D

the boat show ends at 6pm if you wanna get some so go NOW

chemmy
04-09-2005, 04:40 PM
sizes and colur

chemmy
04-09-2005, 04:40 PM
last one

robersl
04-09-2005, 04:52 PM
HI ALL

I WENT TO THE SHOW SHOW SATURDAY THOUGHT IT WAS NO WHERE NEAR AS GOOD AS PREVIOUS YEARS. NOT MANY FISHING GEAR STANDS BUT DID PICK UP 2 NEW SPINNING REELS FOR 7 DOLLARS WITH EXTRA LINE SPOOLS INNOVATER 30'S BRAND NOT A KNOWN BRAND BUT THEY ARE BALL BEARING GEARED SO FOR 7bucks CAN NOT GO WRONG EVEN IF ONLY FOR THE DAUGHTER TO USE TO GET SOME PRACTICE ON SEEN A FEW NICE BOATS MIGHT EVEN CONSIDER TRADING IN THE 4.45 QUINTREX ANGLER ON ONE

SHANE

04-09-2005, 06:35 PM
Went Sunday afternoon and decided to listen to Leanne Payne's talk which was very professional and informative.

Had to sit through the tail end of Harro's talk whilst waiting to hear Leanne and his presentation was very unprofessional....lots of pictures but not much to learn from them, some unwanted political commentary, some unwanted comments about refugees, some unwanted silly comments about being as black as...., the odd swear word in front of lots of kids, and he went 15 minutes into Leanne's time and did not take the hint to get off easily.

Compare this with the absolute professionalism that you see exhibited in talks at these type of events by the likes of Nugget, Anthony Wishey, Brian Webb etc and I have to wonder why have Harro there. #Then again, he did attract a good audience - or were they waiting for Leanne's talk also?

I reckon that a gig at the convention centre deserves a more professional standard of presentation than what I heard from Harro today.

chemmy
04-09-2005, 10:21 PM
Did you guys see the surf lifesaving raffle boats the supervee's one of them had a turbo diesel inboard that uses 8 that’s right 8 litres of fuel an hour going 22knots is this even possible?

05-09-2005, 12:58 PM
I went along on Saturday with fellow member 'stubbie' with the usual crap there and can't see myself going again next year. Only real hilite was ETs interesting talk on his show early in the morning with a rather uncomfrotable moment for the guy interviewing ET when he walked down the back of the audience with the microphone saying a lady had a question for ET only to realize it was actually a bloke #:-[ :-[ :-[ #;D

S.S.
05-09-2005, 03:51 PM
Bill's probably short short sighted ;D (like me!!!)
Poor bugger, it's hard to tell sometimes!!!!

Scott15
05-09-2005, 04:49 PM
go this from that area just outside the actual boat show 20 halco replicas and 8 fish looking koda ones 4 for $10 why not stock up ay ;D

the boat show ends at 6pm if you wanna get some so go NOW

change the trebles and split rings chemmy, if ya wanna land a fish

05-09-2005, 07:07 PM
Just read ya signature, Scotty, if ya own a Toyo, you'd be pushing more often than driving it, anyway ! ;D

Ding Ding !

05-09-2005, 07:14 PM
Yeah ! ;D GO THE NAVARA ! 8-)

aussiebasser
05-09-2005, 08:59 PM
A couple of things.

We have been very spoilt with the amount of tackle available at the Boat Show in the past. Visitors to Sydney and Melbourne shows would be able to relate to how it is heading, because they have always had a scarce selection of gear available. Most Tackle only stores cannot afford to rent the space required, and then drop their prices to compete with "Taliban Tackle" spruking out the front. I don't know if anyone saw the little guy from AFD walking around bending a rod into a "U" shape and talking it up as a selling point. I haven't seen that many fish do that to a rod, but the funny bit was when the tip slipped out of his hand and whacked a passer-by in the back. The big guy just turned around and sat him on his @rse. Hilarious.
As for the complaints about Harro's talk, I guess you had to be there. I believe each presenter was given an hour slot. Harro's was 2 - 3pm. The 12 - 1pm talk went 30 minutes over time. The 1 - 2pm slot took one hour. Neither got a hurry up to finish. Harro got on stage at 2.30pm with a one hour presentation. After 40 minutes, the MC starting giving him the hurry up. He hadn't finished, and rather that cut it too short, he took some questions, got some Barra to hit his soft plastic and got off stage. Sure he used some colourful language, but no worse than the kiddies hear on most soapies, and definately above the calibre of the majority of FM Radio presenters, both Breakfast and Night time. I will admit that he's not as easy on the eye as LP though.

Anyway, the Tittie and Tickle (oops, meant Tinnie and Tackle) Show is on again in April, with more realistic entry, site rental and car parking prices.

05-09-2005, 09:41 PM
I know I won't be going again...not that I was after a new boat but I did want some info from the Humminbird people..I asked one of their blokes a question..ya know what the cheeky bastard said to me.."you probably could not afford one of those".....I told him I already had one and I wanted some info on the navionics card in it...plus I gave him a nice quiet talking to also about not judging people on their mode of dress...amazing how some react.

chemmy
05-09-2005, 11:47 PM
ada boy pin head give that punk what he deservs i can't understand how any one could say that "you probably could not afford one of those":(
i would have talked to his supervisor

S.S.
07-09-2005, 01:20 PM
Not that it matters much but the talks were 45 minutes including question time. It was a bonus to have Dave and the tank with the barras. Didn't get a chance to see the Yamaha tank. How'd that one go?

Burley_Boy
07-09-2005, 02:36 PM
Gees Humminbird must have been desperate for staff. Knowing what it costs to exhibit I'd say the chap paying the bill would be livid to hear one of his low ranking dorks behave that way. There is a certain cost per sales lead and he's just stuffing it up bigtime.
Saying that I went on Friday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed my fleeting visit. Theres lots of stuff that interests me zero but plenty of boat and fishing stuff to keep me occupied for hours, the talks the tanks the guys showing how to present baits and rigs, another 400 stands with skiboat stuff would not have phased me at all as the stuff that interests me was well catered for. Mind you I only had 4hours so with two talks and a $5beer it was full on every minute and I Loved every minute of it.

As far as the small guys exhibiting, there is nothing stopping a few getting in on the one stand thus keeping costs reasonable.

bait-waster
07-09-2005, 06:27 PM
Hi,

Noticed someone was looking for pictures from the Brisbane Boat Show.

This link goes to the picture gallery on the Boat Show website on this link:
http://www.brisbaneboatshow.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=88

BW

1000hp_boat
07-09-2005, 06:33 PM
I know I won't be going again...not that I was after a new boat but I did want some info from the Humminbird people..I asked one of their blokes a question..ya know what the cheeky bastard said to me.."you probably could not afford one of those".....I told him I already had one and I wanted some info on the navionics card in it...plus I gave him a nice quiet talking to also about not judging people on their mode of dress...amazing how some react.

Good one Pin. That is so true how can you tell if someone can afford somthing by looking at them. What a stuck up %$#!!% that sales person was.