PDA

View Full Version : Going Off Air, for a short time !

Lucky_Phill
09-09-2005, 01:21 PM
Well, the day has come when all good things...........jeez, that's not right.

OK, some of know, so I will confirm it for the rest of you ( who are interested ).

This is my last day in Brisvegas. Tomorrow morning, in the wee hours, I will be departing to greener pastures. Hervey Bay is my destination.

I have been holidaying there for many years now, and have always said that it is the perfect place to live. So, instead of waiting until I retire ( as most of the residents there are ), I have takin a good opportunity to make the move.

Let's have a look at it from an outsiders point of view.

Hervey Bay is the Whale Watching capital of the World ( so the brochures say ),

Gateway to Fraser Island ( largest sand island in the world ),

The Great Sandy Straights, a fishing mecca,

Hervey Bay, a fishing mecca, which include the renowned areas as, Moon Ledge, Kingfisher Bay, Platypus Bay, Wathumba Creek, Ungowa, Roy Rufus Artifical, Susan River, Mary River, Gateakers Bay, The Gutters, Rooney's, Break Sea Spit and just up the road, Burrum Heads. The area also encompasses many creeks that the prawn and mud crab popluation are in abundance.

Hervey Bay has 6 sets of traffic lights, and on a bad day, one can get stuck in a traffic jam, yep 4 cars waiting to round a round-about. The area has a contruction industry that is crying out for tradespeople. The economic growth of Hervey Bay is running at 194%. Yep, you saw right.

Look at this :- School holiday periods are busy, whale watching seaon is busy and winter the place is chockers with southeners and caravans. Result, 7 plus months of the year, Hervey is a tourist magnet. That equals growth and $'s.

Sure, one day it will end up like Noosa/ Gold Coast etc, but it ain't there yet. And to top if off, 1770/ Agnes Water is only 2 hours up the road.

What will I miss about Brisbane...... ?