View Full Version : Extended stay on fraser, how many fish can u keep?

JB
26-09-2005, 04:07 PM
Just trying to make sure i aint gunna get busted up there with too many fish, question is , how many fish can you keep at ur campsite if your staying for a week? I.e if i bag out each day can i keep them all at campsite freezer? That legal?

Jas

P.S

Does anyone have a document or a link to the regs for fish in that area? i.e list of general reef fish, limits and sizes?

26-09-2005, 04:16 PM
http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/11416.html

jas, its possession, one reason I only go fishn a couple of days at a time off there,...
ps say hi to linda ranger and give her a good spanking.

JB
26-09-2005, 05:04 PM
hahah, no worries mate will do ;) . She better not be 300 pounds ::) otherwise i'll leave that for my mate.

Wow, so that means for 9 days i can only keep 5 reds?? for example..

Thanks for info rob

Jas

philip_thomson
26-09-2005, 05:15 PM

sure does

and a maximum of 20 coral fin fish as well over the 9 days

JB
26-09-2005, 05:19 PM

sure does

and a maximum of 20 coral fin fish as well over the 9 days

Wow, wat a bonus... the dpi are very generous these days arnt they >:( Too bad if i wanted to feed my family or friends with some fish, barely have enough for myself.

Oh well, i guess its good that the pros are allowed to rape the place and us rec fishos arnt, hell we dont spend much money on this sort of trip ::) .

26-09-2005, 05:33 PM
You can eat as many as you like while there and those limits are per person, if you travel with 3-4 guys that adds up to a swag of fish, if you take home 20 good coral fin thats around 20kg of boned out fillets, throw in a couple of cobes and some snappa etc and you could take home 30kg of fillets each, dont worry its a good feed I assure ya.

rob

JB
26-09-2005, 07:43 PM
yeah i didnt realise it was per person, that is ok. Sounds good when u put it that way Rob! Thanks for all the info, keep me out of trouble ;)

dasher
26-09-2005, 08:06 PM
Not 100% sure but think you can keep more than the normal quota for Tailor if your staying on the Island more than 4 days. :o Please check first. ;)

Morlers
26-09-2005, 08:10 PM
Hey Dasher

30 tailor for extended stays

:) :)

Morlers

ANYFISH
27-09-2005, 12:00 AM
Gday JB
When are you going?
I will be there 28th October till the 5 november.
Where abouts are you going fishing (beach/offshore)

Cheers Anyfish

Cruiser
27-09-2005, 08:22 AM
Hey Anyfish,

Just remember that there is a closed season on Coral Reef Fin fish during your trip. #For 2005 the dates are:

27 September to 5 October
27 October to 4 November
25 November to 3 December

However, this only applies to waters east of Cape York between 10°41’ south and 24°50' south but that would include the very northern end of Fraser.

ref: http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/11416.html#Closedseasons

Have a good trip,
Chris.

ANYFISH
27-09-2005, 06:01 PM
yep thanks mate
i hope to find something south of 24.50. i have never been out there before so it should be a good learning curve
cheers anyfish

JB
28-09-2005, 12:01 PM
Will be up there this saturday anyfish, have u got a radio or mob phone i could contact u with. What type of boat are u taking up?

ANYFISH
29-09-2005, 03:13 PM
Na sorry JB

I have still got 4 weeks before i go up there.