PDA

View Full Version : 200m from pro's

-spiro-
25-09-2005, 10:11 AM
A fellow Ausfisher had abit of a run in with a pro yesturday. There is a rule that you must fish 200m meters away from a pro. Has anyone heard this rule before? If you had the vhf on yesturday on 21 you would of heard this pro swearring and carring on{this is not acceptible on the radio} 8-)

fishman7
25-09-2005, 10:16 AM
hi
i have never heard off this i was a ex pro. he seen like a ######. as for the swearing theres a big fine for that but he gut he boat rego.
danny

mackmauler
25-09-2005, 10:28 AM
who was the ausfisher ;D

Kiktz
25-09-2005, 01:11 PM
I have heard about this with Charter Boats, Thought it was the same for pro's
As I have heard and not knowing the rules 100%,
If you are fishing and a Charter/Pro comes over to your spot you are ok.
But i dont think you can go to there spot.

Its only what I have heard

AJ

krazyfisher
25-09-2005, 02:10 PM
i have heard of it but never had to worry about it

westie
25-09-2005, 03:20 PM
I was at the Caloundra 9 Mile fishing amoung other boats and a Charter Fishing Boat came within casting distance slowed down to around 6 knots, I am sure he was looking at what we all were sitting on. There is not a problem with him coming that close but if he had of dropped the pick I would have had reason to say something, I do belive there is a distance for when Trawlers are opperating but Fishing Charters ?????

I will make the effort to ring the authorities Monday morning to find out.

DALEPRICE
25-09-2005, 04:14 PM
did the ausfisher get the position for
future investigation???? ;D

Brett_Hoskin
25-09-2005, 05:05 PM
It it a Queensland Transport rule or a DPI rule?

fishman7
25-09-2005, 05:07 PM
hi
as a charter boat skipper i dont have a problem with anyone coming close to me as far as i know theys no distance. with trawler because they have there nets down it hard for them to turn.
danny

fishman7
25-09-2005, 05:26 PM
hi