PDA

View Full Version : Container Ship Bow Wave

westie
30-09-2005, 09:47 AM
Has anyone encounted a bow wave from on eof the monsters of the sea.
I was out on Wendsday with my daughter and as we were preparing for the trip home from Currimundi a Massive ship slipped past about 300mt away, not thinking much of it as it is common to see these in this area we continued to tidy up before lifting the pick. Then all of a sudden I could hear this whooosing sound getting closer, thinking it was whales looked up to find we had a set of 1.5 - 1.8 breakes bearing down on us side on, I ran to the controlls and started the motor and held the boat head on to them as they started to break I put the power down at the last minute due to the fact the pick was still down we took the first one Ok but the second just crashed down on the bow by this time I had the power down enough to take us through it on slack anchor praying to God it would not grab
. I have been fishing around here for some 20 years and have never seen a bow wave like this from a Container Ship, others had gone past that day without even rocking the boat so as a WARNING to you all be careful this may happen to you on over nighter while asleep or a day family outting .

This all happend in a matter of minitues and if I had of tried to float the pick up under power or got the knife to cut the anchor the risk of getting it caught and broaching side on to one of these dumpers it would have been ALL OVER RED ROVER and this is in a 485m boat and if I had have had been in a 6m and side on it would have been a heart stopper for the best of you.

This could have been a 1 in a 100 chance of happining, the seas were as flat as on the day and there were lots of Whales around so ALWAYS keep a Look & Listen out and DO NOT be complaisant out there. We were lucky and the WHAT If's and plans of attacks that went through my mind in a minute was amazing i never knew my mind could think that fast.

SAFE BOATING TO ALL ON THE WATER