PDA

View Full Version : RECREATION NOT COMMERCIAL

Reidy
06-10-2005, 08:00 PM
Hi all :)
I have been thinking about the abuse that the commercial blokes put on the coast of Australia I was once a pro fisho and I have to addmit it stinks what they do out there. I would be happy to see some much stricker guide lines for the pro's just like they are hammering us rec's now up on the reef. I was wondering what you blokes out there think of the pro's, and do you all think they need stricker hook quoater, or even a closed seasons, Those who have fished on tuna boats and have any real knowlage of them must agree?

fishman7
07-10-2005, 01:47 AM
hi
as a ex pro i would like to see then stop hual net on the beachs.as for longlineing if they stop japan and NZ boats that have 100 kms of line out in ours water this would help to and the factroy ship.

danny

fishman7
07-10-2005, 12:44 PM
hi
if you have austar channel 636 at 3.00 and 5.30 and 9 tonight its all about what u are saying
cheers
danny

gif
08-10-2005, 06:08 AM
Pros need to earn a living

And Aussies deserve to be able to buy fresh Aussie Fish

And some exports are good - they make good $ for Australia.

Personaly I like the Pros who have an area that they "own
" look after and don't overfish. They are like a farmer who looks after his land. I have met soem of these and they have a handle on an area and are first to point out a problem like a factory leaking junk.

Personally I dislike the mega Pros who move into the area with big boats - take it all and dissapear because there is nothing left. I exagerate but you get the idea

But all in all I am left with the hard facts that rec fishers do more for the economy than Commercial fishing. The Last national numbers I had were that Rec Fishers put $65 per Kg into the economy. That is for evry kg of fish we catch we "pay" $65 - in tackle fuel food etc.