View Full Version : Ausfish People-Intelligent Lot-What do you do?

bigmack
19-10-2005, 02:40 PM
Guys & Girls - you will know that I am a relatively new member. I have found you all to very helpful, generous and knowledgeable. Thank you for the answers to questions and contact details.

Some of the humour and comments have been priceless and I have laughed many times at some of the replies and wags who live inside this forum.

Somebody always seems to know the right answer to everything - so Im wondering what you all do for a living? as varied as the boats you drive probably.

Fire away - to start I have been in Information Technology from the early mainframe days and currently run a small property project consultancy.

Franco
19-10-2005, 03:50 PM
I'll go second Bigmack......

I'm the Road-kill Cleaner on the Pacific highway from Brisbane to the Gold Coast.

......... well ...... ok, not really ...... #I'm an Emergency / Intensive Care Doctor mate. #I'm your man if you got a treble in your eye, but I can only cure your hangover by having another beer with you!!

You're right about the great quality of the humour & knowledge on this site. #Some good value guys n gals out there!!

ba229
19-10-2005, 04:20 PM
I am a wallet inspector.

Could I ask you all to get your wallets out for me to have a look at please? 8-)

MIKOS
19-10-2005, 04:35 PM
Gynacologyst ;) ;D ;D
No seriously I am a branch/Projects sales co-ordinator in the emergency lighting industry. ;)

MIKOS

scuttlebutt
19-10-2005, 04:42 PM
I'm not a gynacologyst, but I'll have a look at it for you...

steve

MIKOS
19-10-2005, 04:46 PM
;D ;D ;D

MIKOS

philip_thomson
19-10-2005, 04:49 PM
im an Automotive Placement Engineer ;D ;D ;D

casually a receptionist for my oldman (his an optometrist at Strathpine (brisbane))
and i work in a tackle and a camping and a boating shop

Any_Weather
19-10-2005, 05:03 PM
I am a Fitter at a large dairy organisation in Brisbane. Working with LOTS of stainless steel. Very handy.

bushbeachboy
19-10-2005, 05:06 PM
I'm a proctologist. I fix up axxxholes.

caloundra
19-10-2005, 05:18 PM
breast inspector [smiley=vrolijk_26.gif]

stubi
19-10-2005, 05:43 PM
too ears ago I not could spell teacher, now I is one :-?

stubi
19-10-2005, 05:45 PM
Hey Alex

During that wallet inspection, I don't have to bend over do I ? :-/

I havn't seen any reports from you for ages? Whats going on?

ps, I still catch bugger-all!!!!

Darryl
19-10-2005, 05:53 PM
I own a couple of trucks that work for major frieght forwarders in and around Brisbane.

So if you need truck, i can help you out.

Ps, i'm the one that keeps franco in his road kill job. ;D

seaeagleweb
19-10-2005, 05:58 PM
truck driver

RAGINGBULL
19-10-2005, 06:22 PM
Good one
Now i know who to PM for DA stainless

Industrial automation consultant "or something like that"

The_Walrus
19-10-2005, 06:30 PM
Product & methods design in the public service. :-X

HOOKLINEnSINKER
19-10-2005, 07:17 PM
that gynocologyst job mmm i wouldnt mind getn my hands into that. :P

actually i just bought a shuttle bus run from cairns airport to port douglas. got a flyrod/reel in the bus and flick a fly in port douglas inbetween jobs. so obviously iam doing it tough 8-)
dan

robersl
19-10-2005, 07:36 PM
im a bank clerk and no im not filling your wallet until i see the paperwork

rajawolf
19-10-2005, 07:42 PM
Neurosurgeon! 20 years of hard study/work..then I had a breakdown!

Ohh well more time to fish. :)

longtail
19-10-2005, 07:55 PM
i'm a t.q chippy , but now i just make pallets #;) #;D
nice and easy , not very technical work #::)

beats having to deal with architech's , who don't seem to understand that you can't grow square tree's #:-X ;D ;D

jason

HOOP
19-10-2005, 08:01 PM
FISHING TACKLE SALES

Reidy
19-10-2005, 08:01 PM
Hey all
Iam a shutupanlistenoligist at home but during the day,
Iam the head Tinter at a Window Tinting buisness.
TIGHT LINES ALL, NATHAN

gropeher
19-10-2005, 08:23 PM
Automation Consultant for a global Company,
Raging Bull and I work together, If you have automation equipment in your business, then my bet is it probably came from us, I am wondering how long it will take till I run into some of the Engineering Managers and Maintenance fitters etc on Ausfish while I am out and about for work, cant think of anything better than to talk fishing while at work.

Cheers Ryan..

land-lubber
19-10-2005, 08:25 PM
student,
onion picker
SES volunteer

familyman
19-10-2005, 09:03 PM
commercial/industrial air con ,on the tools but trying hard to give them up,getting lazy in my middle age ;)
Hey reel magic is your gear process line type stuff ie plc's or actual robotics?

Seahorse
19-10-2005, 09:10 PM
sell paint so if u want to repaint ur boat give me a yell.

PG
19-10-2005, 09:24 PM
I'm the lab supervisor in Biology at Central Queensland University.
Can't catch fish but damn I'm good at cuttin the buggers up ! :)

Dodge41
19-10-2005, 09:26 PM
Retired last year, so get it good.

Only downside is I had to do 50 years on the the job, and enjoy the break as an old timer....it still beats work though

mharper2001
19-10-2005, 10:06 PM
Bottleshop Manager ;D ;D ;D

Hoges
19-10-2005, 10:20 PM
8-) Security consultant designing and selling Digital CCTV Systems.
Also putting in covert cameras such as in Franco's consulting rooms ::)

dasher
19-10-2005, 11:09 PM
breast inspector #[smiley=vrolijk_26.gif]

Hey I hope you're not cutting into my territory. :o

fishman7
20-10-2005, 12:14 AM
hi
i own and run a charter boat. #;D # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # and just brought a take away :'(
danny

Bill_Klein
20-10-2005, 05:50 AM
Drywall plasterer on the sunny coast

Thunderbird
20-10-2005, 06:31 AM
fitter and turner/welder
in brizzy

harry_h01
20-10-2005, 07:40 AM
Banana Inspector

I throw out all the straight ones. # Bet you haven't seen a straight one in the stores of late.

Really, I'm a Certified Six Sigma Black Belt (Business Improvement Manager)

Harry

Fishing_Freddy
20-10-2005, 07:45 AM
Im a boilermaker/welder on the out skirts of Ipswich.
Ken ;D ;D ;D

20-10-2005, 07:50 AM
'spose I'd better own up...

Some would say Fire and life insurance ::) but I'm a professional devil dodging God botherer, travelling Qld & N.T. on the Harley 8-) talking with Kids about Life Skills and values and consulting with community groups about meaningfully helping the down and outers.

I do weddings, parties, plantings, anything free for my mates... I have been known to do a bit of marriage counselling too, and judging by the level of addiction :o revealed in these Ausfish posts there may be a little more work around the corner!!! So if any you blokes need marrying, remarrying or sorting give me a call!!!! ;D ;D ;D

Pash67
20-10-2005, 08:04 AM
Boilermaker/pressure welder. Done sales (welding equipment), Non-Destructive Testing (Ultrasonics, Radiography, Magnetic Particle & Dye Penetrant Testing). Welding Supervisor/Inspector. Quality control inspections.

Adrian

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
20-10-2005, 08:04 AM
I've heard those Gynacologist's end up with tunnel vision after a while. ;D
I manage community aged care agencies. It's great working with the older generation and listening to all of their fishing stories. ::)

bigmack
20-10-2005, 08:07 AM
See - i knew there would be some laughs in that lot.

Missing_FNQ
20-10-2005, 08:37 AM
Sales rep in the pool industry.....Give me a yell if ya have any probs with ya swimming pool equipment or chemistry problems........Also had a fish and chip shop up in NQ so have cut more spanish mackeral than Bert Newton has cracked a smile ;D

Billo
20-10-2005, 08:49 AM
Business Analyst for P&O Nedlloyd ( about to be ranamed to Maersk Lines due to buy out ) - Shipping side

Work in process & systems solutions along with systems development and implementation .
Also cover front end business support functions for Australian business ..

sounds big ....but quite a bludge really ;) ;D ;D ;D

johnnyfish
20-10-2005, 08:58 AM
I work for Rupert Murdoch.

Pwoida
20-10-2005, 09:08 AM
Trained as an Environmental Scientist (majored in marine ecology). Working as a technical manager for telecommunications products wholesaler.

kleiny
20-10-2005, 09:30 AM
i'm own a signwritting business & a qualified signwriter also.
kleiny

Richard
20-10-2005, 09:52 AM
I'm a fisheries biologist with the DPI&F in the freshwater section. Has it's bonuses when you get out to go fishing for work :)

We've had weeks where we are fishing all week (for work) then line up to get out offshore on the weekends. It's tough ;)

Richard

Gbanger
20-10-2005, 10:00 AM
participate in boring office stuff, involving fixing pcs, accounts work and ausfishing

Louis
20-10-2005, 10:11 AM
For the last five years I've been a public servant. Doing general admin, answering phones etc.

Before that I drifted from job to job every couple of years.

Not the best way of advancing a career I suppose but I never wound up getting bored either.

Louis

DICER
20-10-2005, 10:16 AM
master lab rat and reverse engineer/researcher

DICER is actually a protein and is related to my work

gogecko
20-10-2005, 10:31 AM
Real estate agent on the northern gold coast.

dasher
20-10-2005, 11:17 AM

Paperboy eh :question

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Sorry could't resist ::)

megan
20-10-2005, 12:42 PM
I am a Cartographer....thats a map maker if you didn't know.

I compile new navigational charts for the Royal Australian Navy from areas all around Australia, New Zealand and PNG. Some of you probably fish off of these charts :)

southernson
20-10-2005, 01:02 PM
At uni doin horticulture n work at home on citrus orchard.Knock of work n head down the river for a few beverages and a fish. Cant beat it!!!! 8-)

Zeeke
20-10-2005, 01:18 PM
I'm a Decky for hire now that ive sold my boat... i fish on boats that catch fish.. or try to help them catch fish ;D

Other then that.. im a nothing

morty103
20-10-2005, 01:34 PM
ex debt collector for arms global on queen street in the city (brisbane)

Franco
20-10-2005, 02:51 PM
Trust me guys ..........

Ya dont wanna be a gynaecologist (that's how you spell it boys!)

Some of the finer things in life should remain sacred!
The day these sacred things become "business as usual" you should be hoping for a mid-life crisis to come along and remind you what life is all about........

........Errrrrrr ....... I'm talking about fishing of course.

Esp Mackerel!! Some things ARE better than S_x!!

Hee Hee Hee.
;D ;D ;)

PS My girl is a psychiatrist so if any of you ever start thinking there's something more to life than fishing, (or having a wife & family purely so there's always someone to fish with!) then drop me a line coz you need therapy Brother!!!

jeffo
20-10-2005, 03:50 PM
landscaper and deck hand on outsidge edge gamefishing charters

Relaxed
20-10-2005, 04:03 PM
Maritime Security Officer for TTLine in Devonport. Mainly at the terminal but also sail on the big red ships.

Cheers Andy.

Duyz72
20-10-2005, 05:02 PM
I will add to Franco's comment

You don't want to be a gynecologist because:

You think you will be looking at some tidy areas (you imagine yourself browsing the local Picture mags)
BUT
A woman will usually only go to see her gynecologist when there is something wrong with it, and I mean WRONG!!!!
PLUS
Regular visitors to the gynecologist are usually over the age of 50.

Duyz72
20-10-2005, 05:06 PM
Oh,

at the moment I am a Retail Manager for a Hotel/Pub. In other words I manage a few botteshops and drive thru's.

When I am not that, I am a business/personal consultant and a Dad.

outsiderskip
20-10-2005, 06:22 PM
travelling fabric agent

pete

20-10-2005, 07:21 PM

You can't be :o Your grammar and spelling are too good ;D

gropeher
20-10-2005, 07:30 PM
Familyman,
yeah we do pneumatics and PLC control, process control etc, you get my drift, automation for the machine builders etc..

20-10-2005, 07:32 PM
Home duties now.

Never settled too long in one job and I've had hundreds. Longest one was a Film Planner at a major printers (6 yrs). Best one was charter crew. Worst one was milko on a council housing estate (had to fight {literally} to get me money) >:( ;D

20-10-2005, 08:14 PM
I have given a new title to my trade..sick of the old title...I am now a "Heat Relocation Initiation Technician"..if every other bugger has to have a title with technician in it then so do I.

I was talking to a truck driver a couple of weeks backs...they do not call them truck drivers anymore...he is "Logistics Adjustment Technician"

land_based
20-10-2005, 08:21 PM
im the man that pours your beers, looks after your tab tickets and cleans your grubby ashtrays ;D

Franco
20-10-2005, 08:31 PM
Can I please draw attention to Hoges' post on the second page which I forgot to respond to ..........

LMFAO

That was a crack-er(!) so to speak! :D ;D ;D

... and yes it does remind me of a very funny incident many years ago at med-school!!

Needmorerum
20-10-2005, 08:35 PM
Well, I do as little as possible, sucessfully, and get paid well to do it. I'm not going anywhere in a hurry.
And Harry, you still manage to make your seat warming sound good hey.

Corry

Hoges
20-10-2005, 08:57 PM
LMFAO

That was a crack-er(!) so to speak! :D ;D ;D

... and yes it does remind me of a very funny incident many years ago at med-school!!

Please share that story with us here. Noticed that channel 7 are showing reruns of Scrubs each weekday between 11am and Midday. Talking of a crackup that is a very funny sitcom. LOL ;D

Kiktz
20-10-2005, 09:34 PM
Pinhead,

I am with you........ Most titles are BS anyway

I talkalotofshit technician..............

Exporter in the Fruit & Vege Game,
Selling into South East Asia and Nz

AJ

20-10-2005, 09:52 PM
Professional masterbator. Even tried out for the commonwealth games but I got caught slipping myself a rohypnohl once, so I had to go pro...
Or I might be a construction manager?

Zeeke
20-10-2005, 10:21 PM

You can't be :o Your grammar and spelling are too good ;D

Must be for a New Zealand school

RobSee
20-10-2005, 10:49 PM
I'm a bank manager to the stars....

Some one has to look after their money heh heh

Dug
21-10-2005, 12:05 AM
Just a sad old photographer

Dug
21-10-2005, 12:07 AM
Doing boring stuff

Dug
21-10-2005, 12:08 AM
I Don't get out often

Dug
21-10-2005, 12:10 AM
sometimes i just dream of being out fishing rather than stuck at work with more naked women
;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D ;) ;D :o :o :o :o :o

Dug
21-10-2005, 12:11 AM
Sorry can I post that here?

Dug
21-10-2005, 12:13 AM
Tim is my apprentice 8-)

adriancorrea
21-10-2005, 12:54 AM
I need a job anyone got one for me (Serious)

I used to pour beers too
Duty manager turned teller in a bank

Tight Lines
Adrian

dasher
21-10-2005, 04:44 AM
Professional masterbator. Even tried out for the commonwealth games but I got caught slipping myself a rohypnohl once, so I had to go pro...

Please!!!!! We do not have masturbators on Ausfish. >:( The correct term is owner operator. :o

21-10-2005, 06:43 AM
Purchasing Manager / Print Broker for a Direct Marketing business on the Gold Coast. I buy lots of paper and envelopes ;D ;D

Mad-One
21-10-2005, 07:17 AM
Me ........Well i'm just a master of all trades and jacked off with the lot of them ;D ;D ;D ;D
But at the moment i'm a welder building all sorts of bobcat attachments.

8-)Cheers Phil 8-)

johnnyfish
21-10-2005, 09:16 AM

Paperboy eh :question

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Sorry could't resist ::)

No worries! Actually, I'm a manager at DIRECTV - Satellite Television (I live in California). We were bought by New Corporation about 2 years ago, so I'm a part of the Murdoch Empire.

Cheers (I love saying that)!

Dug
21-10-2005, 09:36 AM
[quote author=GBC link=1129696839/60#70 date=1129809161]Professional masterbator. Even tried out for the commonwealth games but I got caught slipping myself a rohypnohl once, so I had to go pro...

hand operated relief valve?

I Heard you did get into the olympics but did not manage to come anywhere. ::)

sorry

Zeeke
21-10-2005, 10:44 AM
Tim is my apprentice # 8-)

The best around too ;D ;D ;D ;D :D :o ;) ;D [smiley=end.gif]

[hr]

http://static.flickr.com/31/53944717_5f7feb194e_o.jpg

21-10-2005, 10:48 AM
G'day dug, yeah that stage fright's a terrible affliction. Good to see not everyone takes themselves too seriously around here - keep 'em coming ;)

dasher
21-10-2005, 10:53 AM
What a terrible photo of a flower :o Didn't you notice the creepy crawlies on it, you can hardly see the flower. ::) ;) ;D

HAZY
21-10-2005, 10:55 AM
Geez,you guy's get it easy.

In Summer i sell ice to the eskimo's

In Autumn i cut down all the trees in my neighbourhood so i dont have to rake up leaves every day

Spring is when i have annual leave

and in winter i work in a match making factory, making sure they all work before they are put on the shelves (it's really nice in ireland in winter.)

Zeeke
21-10-2005, 11:07 AM
ya know Dash... thats the first time i noticed the spider there... bugger me... talk about camoflage!

Tim ;D

stubi
21-10-2005, 01:58 PM
"Must be for a New Zealand school

Tim "

Tim, I am totally devastated that you have called me a kiwi :'( I am now currently curled up on the floor rocking back and forth talking to the voices in my head again:o I will now have to go back to therapy for 5 years to remove the bad thoughts and the tendency to want to kill :-X

Just joking, my sister is a kiwi, what were my parents thinking to live in NZ for a few years??? Gives us heaps to ammo to lay s$@t on her though ;D Especially during cricket and footy season, actually, all year long!!! ;)

All those kiwi's out there, please don't mention the ashes, I am sure even DaVinci had the odd off day ;) or couple ::)of months :-/

Seeya, Stu

fishman7
21-10-2005, 04:28 PM
hi dug
now my job sucks.i work for nil
danny

Dug
21-10-2005, 05:41 PM
Hey Danny any time you want a photo shoot done of a day out on your boat????

Where are you based?

We could do something for a fishing mag?

cheers doug

I could see about some models for the trip? ::)

stu68
21-10-2005, 05:52 PM
Boilermaker/Foreman/HR/Fireman{ always put out fires at work}/
sales/switch bitch/QA I"m getting stressed again.time for a group hug...
work with stainless steel and no I can"t make you a new fuel tank...

Zeeke
21-10-2005, 06:04 PM
Doug.. i dont do nudes ;D :o

propdinger
21-10-2005, 06:16 PM
Doug.. i dont do nudes #;D :o

thank god for that could only imagine A WOOKIE IN A BIKINI :-* ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

charexblue
22-10-2005, 06:37 AM
;D good one Dasher re "owner operator" ;D life can seem like that ;D
was great reading all the comments :) when i am not breaking bones
i am a farmer/ grazier west of moree nsw and also sell bait yabbies to fishermen and ladies :) when i have them in stock. yabbies that is .

cheers Peter

DICER
22-10-2005, 08:30 AM
Tim excellent pic...

bungie
22-10-2005, 03:07 PM
I’m a diesel fitter for a lingerie manufacturer .
#

I’m the last person on the production line. I pick up the undergarment, look at myself in the mirror and say “diesel fit her” or “these wont” #

[smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

cabfisher
22-10-2005, 05:22 PM
Retired an expert on doing lots of nothing
& enjoying it

gawby
22-10-2005, 09:21 PM
I am a professional steering wheel attendant. 8-)
I have my own primemover and pull a trailer for patricks carrting cars. :)
I hate the highway. Would rather stay at home and get a real job. :-?
Graeme

Fishinmishin
23-10-2005, 09:05 AM
I satisfy all your mammas......and they love it :-? 8-).
Cheers, Jay ;D

davo
23-10-2005, 11:33 AM
I'm an instrument-electrical technican in Brisbane. I work for a large industrial chemical manufacturer focusing on process control systems.

DICER
23-10-2005, 07:26 PM
Pappa Jay *lol*

matthill80
23-10-2005, 08:14 PM
i am a sparky so anyone out there who needs something done around home or the office send me a pm thru ;)

btw cashies are what fuel my fishing tackle addiction ;D

cheers matt

major-defect
24-10-2005, 07:20 AM

Please!!!!! We do not have masturbators on Ausfish. >:( The correct term is owner operator. :o
owner operator!Now that 1 cracks me up.

CamH
25-10-2005, 04:46 PM
computer programmer - got any jobs going over at the sunny coast?