View Full Version : Something big in my canal

LukeBradnam
17-10-2005, 07:55 PM
Last night (Sunday 15th Oct) something took the live herring that i had out in the canal. #I usually only catch the odd bream so my rod is geared only with very light line and a small hook. # Last night something massive took it. #I fought it for over 2 hours before finally applying to much pressure and the line snapped. # Initially I thought it would be an eel but #then i thought surely that would have bitten throught the light leader. # The only other thing I can think of is a sting ray. #I live on the Isle of Capri Gold Coast off the main river, my canal is a dead end. # Thanks for any help

Luke

jackash
17-10-2005, 08:03 PM
Mate I'd guess that is a stingray... as most other things you would have subdued over 2 hours, even with light gear. However keep going with the livies... plenty of trevally and flathead come out of that area... especially coming into the warmers months.
Jackash

scuttlebutt
17-10-2005, 08:04 PM
I used to fish the canals around Noosa. Sounds like a good guess (stingray), though could also be a shovelnose

steve

philip_thomson
17-10-2005, 08:07 PM
shovel nose rays

get some rippers around the back of the noosa sound. on light gear they go hard

17-10-2005, 08:07 PM
'something big in your canal'!!!....... MMmmmm - Nope! not going there... way too easy ;D ;D ;D

Seriously you could have lipped a small shark?

DICER
17-10-2005, 08:58 PM
shovelly or shark?

17-10-2005, 09:01 PM
Bring on THE VERMINATOR

dasher
17-10-2005, 09:18 PM
Nah won't even go here. ;D ;D ;D ;D

ba229
17-10-2005, 10:26 PM
Saw the title and thought it was pure Ausfish class :) ;D

You have set a new bench mark for me to achieve. Well done ;D ;D ;D ;D

Next thread "Unblocking my pipes" 8-)

rando
17-10-2005, 10:50 PM
Losing that beastie must have been a bummer!!! :-X ::)

wacco_fozzy
18-10-2005, 06:50 AM
Thats the sort of title I get in a lot of spam email

DICER
18-10-2005, 07:27 AM
perhaps it was a snag last night? ;D

Billo
18-10-2005, 07:58 AM
Saw the title and thought it was pure Ausfish class :) #;D

You have set a new bench mark for me to achieve. Well done #;D ;D ;D ;D

Next thread "Unblocking my pipes" #8-)

Now THAT is all class !!! #;D ;D

LMAO !!

suggestion - try a bit of roughage for bait #:-? although a good strong coffee and a cigarette does the job for me ;D

18-10-2005, 08:11 AM
Luke,

You don't have twin called Ashley do you ? If so I know you guys - Ashely more than yourself back in my good old radio days.

Sounds like a stingray for mine but a shovelnose could have also picked up the herring. What did it fight like?. Fast runs or slow and steady?

Bugman

James_V17L
18-10-2005, 08:32 AM
Prune juice always helps.. ;D ;D

gunna
18-10-2005, 08:58 AM
TWO HOURS !!!! :o :o :o :o ;) ;)

Jitlands
18-10-2005, 11:18 AM
Should this post be moved to the anatomy chat boards?

LukeBradnam
18-10-2005, 11:35 AM
Thanks for the comments some even about fishing.... and yeah Ashley is my twin brother we are both still in radio he's up at nova in brissy and i am at Hot tomato on the coast

JB
18-10-2005, 11:57 AM
Hope your going to have another crack at it mate. ;) . Go the HOT TOMATO ;D

18-10-2005, 02:19 PM
Luke

Welcome aboard. You won't find a better fishing website - especially for our area. Tell Ashley to join. He keeps going on and on about his boat on radio - at least here he'll be able to talk to others that actually take an interest in what he's saying.

I had heard you were on Hot Tomato doing breakfast. Last time I spoke with you you were still at B105 which is a hell of a long time ago.

When you see Ash next tell him Brett Bugg says Gday and get his arse on and join.

Oh.. you also know my brother in law - Greg Ruddle - it's a small world.

Bugman

18-10-2005, 02:40 PM
It's a new species.........Hemorrhoid Fish! ;D

terminaltackle
18-10-2005, 04:40 PM
How filthy could we get with this post ;D ;D
Or have you stumbled onto Ash,s secret Jack spot ;) ;)

LukeBradnam
18-10-2005, 06:03 PM
Ashley's secret jack spot yeah I know it....infact I was with Ash and my mate leeroy last thurs nite down by Sanctuary cove trolling lures.... leeroy hooked a 54cm Jack we took a photo and put it in Ash's live bait tank.... the bloody thing jumped out and got away leeroy still hasn't stopped crying.

stubi
18-10-2005, 06:42 PM
To fix "Something big in my canal" just mix :
3 teaspoon draino
2 teaspoons barocca
2 shots vodka
shake well, pour over ice and serve with an olive

If it doesn't clear you out at least you will have to go to the hospital to have you stomach pumped. Therefore it worked, mission accomplished!!!!! :P

stubi
18-10-2005, 06:50 PM
Also, if you want to lessen the discomfort of the stomach pumping process just add vodka!!! Sometimes you need to think ahead a little.

LukeBradnam
18-10-2005, 07:17 PM
heh bugman,

say g'day to Greg for me....

rando
20-10-2005, 12:57 PM
OK Brett, Luke,, I'll own up,I spent 8 yrs at ARN, were you guys at Austerio.?
Luke , Did you and your brother do a stint at BC?
rando

20-10-2005, 04:23 PM
Rando,

I'm an ABC boy through and through - news as well as 612ABC Brisbane (or used to be 4QR).

I worked in sport when Ash was with sport at BC. David Luteral did about 3 months work experience with Gerry and I before getting a gig with BC. He and Ash went on to do their "thing" after BC sacked the entire sports department.

Luke was at B105 and I remember running into him at Ballymore a few times but I'm unsure of when.

I jumped out of sport/radio a few years ago now for the comfort of this big fat comfy chair in New Media.

dnej
20-10-2005, 06:01 PM
Was that caught in the "farcanal"?
David

outsiderskip
20-10-2005, 06:10 PM
plenty bull sharks in canals

they are dangerous

cheers pete

LukeBradnam
26-10-2005, 07:15 PM
Yeah I was at B105 for a few years then went to Darwin Hot 100 for 3 years to do the brekkie gig.... awesome fishing there loved it..... now back on the Goldie..

rando
26-10-2005, 10:01 PM
Guys I was in sales, busy out on the road most of the time , nice to know there some other radio people here on the site. spent most of the time in radio at KQ then a brief stint at BC till a better offer came along.
Iam finished with it now,(self employed) dont miss the pressure one bit
chers
rando