View Full Version : Mangrove Jack in an Aquarium

mharper2001
24-10-2005, 12:11 PM
At the moment I have a 6ft tank full of African Cichlids and am really bored with them :-/. #I was looking at getting rid of the cichlids and getting a Mangrove Jack. #Problem is I don't have any info on them. #I have looked on the net and have come up with nothing :(. #

I am hoping someone on this site has a Mangrove Jack in a tank :).

If so how big and how fast do they grow? #What do you feed it? Does it need a heater? #Are there any compatible fish that will take the aggressiveness of the Jack? :-/ Sorry about all the questions.

Any help would be great

Mark ;D

ShaneJ
24-10-2005, 12:59 PM
Contact Smith's Aquarium, He can tell you all about them and help you get setup.

2421 Sandgate Rd Boondall 4034
(07) 3865 1133

Jitlands
24-10-2005, 02:10 PM
Have had jack and bass in tanks but find they tend to hide out a lot unless its feed time.

Although not high profile in the fishing stakes I have found the humble Spangled Perch maintain ther coulour, patrol the tank rather than taking up a station and are super agressive and competitive.

Scott15
24-10-2005, 02:27 PM
A mate had one and there extremely aggressive, dont mix em with other fish!! Feeding is not so hard, anything that swims it will eat, we even fed it some worms. very impressive looking fish, and yes you will need a heater

Girella
24-10-2005, 03:41 PM
Don't give away the cichlids !

I'm sure Mr Jack would "appreciate" their company. [smiley=angel.gif]

And that you would enjoy their many happy games together. [smiley=whip.gif]

bungie
24-10-2005, 03:46 PM
Malawi's are bloody expensive fish food :o

mharper2001
24-10-2005, 04:04 PM
Well I bought a small one today ;D. #I figure I've got about 2 - 3 months before I have to get rid of the cichlids. #Will probably just trade them in to feed the Jack ;D ;D.

Anymore info on keeping this fish would be great ;D.

Rainbowrunner
24-10-2005, 05:30 PM
I would make sure the ph is kept up and make the water close to brackish with sea salt.
They are beautiful and aggressive fish in an aquarium. Eat anything. Whole fish and prawns/crabs are best.

craigie
24-10-2005, 06:56 PM
Mark,

We have one in a tank in the foyer of our office (Ann st, Brisbane City),

Jacks can be a bit timid at first when small (less than 15cm), but when they starts to grow up, LOOK OUT !!!!! IT IS THE KING OF THE TANK AND ANYTHING IN IT WILL BE EATEN, INCLUDING FINGERS !!! Feeding time is always memorable 8-)
A very inquisitive fish, will often follow you as you walk past the tank.

When it reaches 25cm, it starts to look a Bronze, deep red colour, which it will retain as it grows into a monster.
From my experience, it should easily reach 40+ cm in 3 years.

No1 choice !!!

Craigie.

warrior
24-10-2005, 07:08 PM
i have a barra had him since he was 50mm now 520mm he has got beautiful colors on him has a bit of a personality as well,good value only thing wrong is he wont stop growing so i will have to find a new home for him.

Duyz72
24-10-2005, 11:10 PM
A new home? Hmmmmmmmmmmm it begs to the obvious of how many bellies will provide a good home?

kc
24-10-2005, 11:42 PM
I have 2 little jacks (only about 4 to 6 cm) in a big 1500 litre tank with 6 barra about 40cm. All fresh with just a bit of sea salt to ward off fungus on fish. Absolutely facinating to watch the interaction between the jacks and barra.....jacks are too clever and the barra hunt them continuosly but never get close. Also very obvious that the jacks are growing much faster.

Beats the hell out of watching TV. Eat anything and "come out to play" during early morning and late arvo. Rest of the time they "hole up"

KC

Billo
25-10-2005, 02:16 PM
Mangrove Jack + Barramundi + Murray cod in 6 foot tank = GANG WAR and Broken Tank ;D

JB
25-10-2005, 04:21 PM
I saw the price of a baby jack other week, they wanted 119 dollars for it! expensive fish.

devocean
25-10-2005, 05:28 PM
Stop being foolish and go saltwater you will never look back. No they are not expensive and wouldnt you rather a barrumindi cod over a jack anyday? Or maybe a coral trout?

devocean
25-10-2005, 05:29 PM
One tank

devocean
25-10-2005, 05:38 PM
Or may be even a pinchy you name it I have kept it

hot_stuff
25-10-2005, 05:51 PM
i have a jack, cod and a bass in a 4ftx2ftx2ft tank and they fight all the time had the bass and cod for 7 months only just brought the jack 3 weeks ago but he has growen 3 cm and still fightin hard they seem to get along better when they have food not cheat mind you i buy 40 feeders and 10 shrimp $11 a week thats keep them happy for 2 days then thay have to wait till next week thay do ok. let me know how things go pm me if you want would love to see a photo i can send you one if you like.

mharper2001
30-10-2005, 12:08 AM
Thanks for the help :). The Jack is already eating heaps and it's only 5cm long. It should be good when it gets bigger ;D.

Mark :D

agnes_jack
30-10-2005, 09:08 AM
I found the hardest part of keeping my jack was maintaining the food supply!!
During the warmer months, 25+ mosquito fish per day, and they would last about 60 seconds!!
Became too much of a chore every night after work, so he now lives in the dam with a few mates ;)

Regards, Tony

RobSee
30-10-2005, 09:01 PM
hey Mark,

Any Pics?

Sandman
31-10-2005, 08:59 AM
I use to have a great specimen until i foolishly placed a cup of hot coffee on the tank :-[
I had him for 3 years from a fingerling , they do grow fast it seems, as mentioned in one of the replies add some salt cyrstals every so often, this gives the fish a healthy glow. Food for them can be expensive but very entertaining ;D loved feeding mine goldfish.
At the time i had him living with a Bass and Saratogo but had to sell both due to his aggressive nature this began at around 30cm! he was around 40cm when he overdosed , i took a cast of him but am yet to mount him.

I think i may set my tank up again, bloody expensive to buy.

mharper2001
31-10-2005, 10:12 AM
I will try to get a few pics when I get a chance. It's only a small 5cm though ;D. I have a 6ft x 2ft x 2ft tank at home and we have had to move it 2 times. It took 4 of us to move it (really heavy) :o :o.

Mark ;D

31-10-2005, 12:31 PM
Warrior,

I think at some stage you will have to stop referring to it as 'him'. ????

robersl
31-10-2005, 08:02 PM
im jealous i went to sea world yesterday in the shark bay they had jacks flathead snapper whiting yellow tail kings you name it it was there over 7000 fish just couldn't get the line in

rajawolf
01-11-2005, 02:05 AM
LOL Roz ;D

magicmarlin
20-02-2008, 10:45 PM
hey i realise this is a old thread but i am despirately chasing a mangrove jack or murray cod for an aquarium...the bigger the better as my tank is 6x2x2. i am located in eastern sydney and will happily travel a reasonable distance to pick up. pay good money if need be. pm me if u could help me out...thanks

mm

Colo77
21-02-2008, 09:37 PM
i have a barra had him since he was 50mm now 520mm he has got beautiful colors on him has a bit of a personality as well,good value only thing wrong is he wont stop growing so i will have to find a new home for him.

Don't get rid of your barra. It'll only grow to a certain size depending how big your tank is. I had some (3 or4) in a 4ft tank they all only grew to approx 250-300mm in 1.5 years and stopped growing. They were very well fed thanks to guppies, gudgeons, shrimp & redclaw from local river. I think they'll only grow as big as is comfortable in the territory they have to live in. :)
Cheers, Colo

upstart
21-02-2008, 10:11 PM
i have a new little barra in my 4ft tank. the water is fresh at the moment. how much salt should i add to help keep things sweet?

Cammy
21-02-2008, 10:56 PM
i have a new little barra in my 4ft tank. the water is fresh at the moment. how much salt should i add to help keep things sweet?

hey mate i go by the rule 1 tablespoon per 20 litres, for all my tanks, and the tanks at work. but make sure you dont get iodised salt (table salt) or pool salt, only get aquarium salt;)

Cammo

Voda
22-02-2008, 06:17 AM
Had a 36cm Moses Perch & 44cm Jack in 8ft tank, had to get rid of jack after Perch give him a flogging and puntured jacks lens on his eye and it got infected

Andy30
25-02-2008, 10:29 PM
Can anyone help ive got a bass got him at 4cm long nows he is about 15cm I want to find some mates for him any ideas. i put in asmall red tail shark but he got eaten. thanks Andy

Andy30
25-02-2008, 10:34 PM
Sounds like a good match up dp you still have them both

magicmarlin
26-02-2008, 01:04 PM
can anyone help me out? ill make it worth ur while...