View Full Version : Anyone else this stupid?

P-ROCK
14-11-2005, 05:06 PM
This happened during a hot session at the Moyle river on the west coast of NT.Tried to change lure in a hurry but got pinned.Other two blokes left me with one treble in me one treble stuck in tackle bag for at least an hour while they cleaned up.Barstards! :'(

lil_boatie
14-11-2005, 05:21 PM
OOUCH!!!!!

14-11-2005, 05:47 PM
a lure's revenge!!! bet that hurt...

tibbs
14-11-2005, 05:48 PM
That doesn't look good at all. :-/

14-11-2005, 05:58 PM
Yes!!! I will fess up to being in that position.

I was bass fishing on afternoon from my canoe, I always use lures and I always release my bass.

I had just landed a very nice Bass, was trying to remove the lure and obviously wasn't paying much attention.

The bass gave a couple of kicks then OUCH! I thought the lure had just pricked the inside of my finger, but no, it was all the way in past the barb, plus the fish was still attached and kicking. Gawd that hurts.

Up to the hospital.

P-ROCK i feel your pain.

Cheers Roz

stubi
14-11-2005, 05:59 PM
Double OOUCH!!!

All I can say is, chicks dig scars and the pain only lasts for a little while. Unless it gets infected, then your f#@%$d.

Great story for the BBQ though [smiley=oops.gif] [smiley=stupid.gif]

Scott15
14-11-2005, 06:39 PM
LOL

philip_thomson
14-11-2005, 06:58 PM
i put an 8/0 big gun hook in my finger went in quite a bit. it hurt lol

14-11-2005, 06:59 PM
Bugga that :P

rock, did they get the treble out or did the Doc do it :'(

P-ROCK
14-11-2005, 07:33 PM
Bugga that :P

rock, did they get the treble out or did the Doc do it :'(

No Doc up there,a quick couple of rums and the old line over the treble ,push down on the eye trick.

robersl
14-11-2005, 08:33 PM
mmm who is going to use barbless now lol ;D ouch

rajawolf
14-11-2005, 09:25 PM
No more barbs for me ...while doing a knot on a hook using my teeth to pull the tag end tight it slipped, and I had lip jewellery. :-/

tibbs
14-11-2005, 09:51 PM
No more barbs for me ...while doing a knot on a hook using my teeth to pull the tag end tight it slipped, and I had lip jewellery. :-/

HAHAHHAHA ;D

Don't happen to have a photo of this do you?

adriancorrea
14-11-2005, 10:15 PM
OUCH alright
But if the bite was on you should have cut the hook and fished on lol ;)
Easy for me to say that from here.

Tight Lines
Adrian

Jeremy87
14-11-2005, 10:56 PM
Alot of people would pay good money for that sought of stuff rajawolf.

rajawolf
15-11-2005, 12:56 AM
I almost gave up fishing...

That pic of P-rock hooked finger looks more painfull..glade I did not get to look at mine.

Roz...bad enough to have the finger hooked..let alone have a dancing fish connected to it as well. :'(

DNO40
15-11-2005, 05:51 AM
P-Rock,

You are not the first to feel the might of the trebles on a lure and I'm sure you wont be the last.

Was fishing with a mate just recently that pulled a treble into his leg just under the knee cap.

Just the thought of it makes me cringe !

DNO

Mad-One
15-11-2005, 06:14 AM
Years ago my uncle was teaching me how to fly fish and i got him around the neck and embedded the hook in his neck then about 2 months later he got himself just behind the knee

Phil

15-11-2005, 06:59 AM
I fess up - got a live bait jig hook embedded in da finger at home while cleaning up under the house. Tried the line and push trick - no good, doc had to cut it out after failing to remove it with pliers. We don't recycle bait jigs anymore

Kiktz
15-11-2005, 07:25 AM
I thought P-Rock was bad but the Lip jewellery gave
me the Hebee jeebees big time

I have planted a few hooks in my skin but man

kingcobe
15-11-2005, 08:21 AM
OUCH! :'( :'( [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif] OOH thats gotta hurt.

Kingcobe

magicpudding
15-11-2005, 08:21 AM
Ouch! that looks painful. My best effort was standing on a 10/0 light gauge hook when we were clearing the rods after a hookup. A bit of surgery with the filleting knife exposed the barb and the hook was clear [smiley=confused.gif]
The best i've ever seen a photo of has to be the x-ray of a mate's hand with a 12/0 mustad through it. Maybe jeffo of smithy still have a copy of it?

CJ

15-11-2005, 08:33 AM
When I was younger, I was fishing with my neighbour, and she cast out from the bank. As soon as the line hit the water, the reel starts going like crazy... She tried to wind in, but heard this god awful yelling from the water.. We looked up and she had foul hooked her brother (Who was being towed on a boogie board behind the dads boat) through the ear! ;D

We cut the line, and it pushed through rather easily... He said he was going to put an earring in it and look tuff, but we told him that as it was his right ear, that was for gay guys! He didn't keep it....

(*NOTE* - This was about 20 years ago when PC was one of those fandangled computer things, not Political Correctness - I am not trying to offend anyone here, so please do not take offence)

DICER
15-11-2005, 10:01 AM
*LOL*

Pity you hit the tackle bag P-rock, and needless to say your finger as well.

Duyz72
15-11-2005, 03:51 PM
Yeeeeow! Thankfully you got it out OK.
Have had a hook through the webbing of my left hand between thumb and forefinger, courteously from a mate on a trip. Got the pliers, cut off they eye and pushed it through and through. It hurt more the next day when all the adrenaline was gone!

Big_unit
16-11-2005, 03:32 AM
That looks bad.

The worst I can remember is camping at Old Bar, NSW mid north coast. We had nagged Dad to take us up the beach for a fish one morning in our brand new Mitsubishi 4x4 van. So while my brothers and dad loaded the van, my mum put my 18 month brother in his car seat. My dad went to put his rod in from the back of the van and out through the sunroof, as he did it a hook got embedded in the soft part of my little brothers scone. Luke never even moved or cried, mum & my sister were screaming like crazy which was freaking me and other brother out a bit but my dad cool & calm like, cut the line, left the hook there and headed for the Taree hospital. Doctor removed the hook and applied some dettol, job done dad comes back and takes us fishing. To this day Luke doesnt even remember the event which was about 18 years ago but gee the rest of us will never forget it.

James

scroman
16-11-2005, 07:51 AM
Bass' revenge
Tried to cut it out when I got home but it had severed the nerve - maybe we should not try to be home surgeons ;D

Duyz72
16-11-2005, 02:50 PM
I know this is a bit 'off topic' but the OUCH factor reminded me . . . . .

When we were young teenagers my cousin and I were taking turns on the 75cc Trail Cross doing laps around the paddock track and over a few jumps etc.
My cousin was happily waiting his turn, utilising the Y part in a broken branch as a lean seat.
On my next lap around I see him and wonder
'Why he is dancing a jig, and why does he have a stick poking out the back of his jeans? What the hell is he doing?'
As I pull up to him, the accompanying "YEEEEEEEEEEOWWWWWWW" gives it away, the stick has broken and has punctured his pants and it has hurt him somehow.
He tentatively takes out the stick, takes a quick peek down his dacks and says to me,
"just hoof if back to my place" as he gingerly hovers over the back of the bike.

Getting back to his place he screams out to his Mum to take him to hospital. Of course his Mum wants to know why (even though he has a hand full of crotch and a fair bit of blood), but he won't say and insists on just going to hospital straight away.
His Mum is slapping his hands away from his crotch while saying things like,
"don't be so silly"
"it's nothing I haven't seen before"
"I used to clean your nappies"
etc etc etc
This 3 stooges like performance continues since the more she insists, the more he denies her access and just wants to go to the hospital.
Eventually she has her way, he drops his strides and the blood instantly drains from his Mum's face. She makes a stumbling dash for the keys because . . . . . .

not only has the stick torn a big slash in to his scrotum, but both testicles are dangling out - the only way I can describe as two yo-yo's unraveling from an empty eye socket.

DAMN that would have hurt!

He does have kids now so no permanent damage must have been done. At the time (and now) I could laugh because it wasn't me, but I do cringe at the thought.

16-11-2005, 03:11 PM
did a simular thing while stradling a barb wire fence shooting ducks, the staple pulled out of the wire I was standing on and left me and the bag supended on the top wire (got scares as proof) also 3 kids
ps
give me a hook ant day

stubi
16-11-2005, 06:02 PM
I know this is a bit 'off topic' but the OUCH factor reminded me #. . . . .

#She makes a stumbling dash for the keys because . . . . . .

not only has the stick torn a big slash in to his scrotum, but both testicles are dangling out - the only way I can describe as two yo-yo's unraveling from an empty eye socket. #

DAMN that would have hurt!

He does have kids now so no permanent damage must have been done. #At the time (and now) I could laugh because it wasn't me, but I do cringe at the thought.

I can see it now [smiley=grin.gif] Poor bugger, but I can't stop laughing. Can he laugh about the incident yet are the memories still too fresh???

I used to be a carpenter and one day my Dad and me were cutting out a frame. I was on the drop saw and he was nailing the frame together with the nail gun. I look up at one stage and see him waving at me, well I wave back and keep cutting. I look up agian in about a minute or so and he is trying to pull out a three inch nail that has gone through two fingers. If your a carpenter you'll know that some of these nail have steel barbs on them that hold them together before you use them which made it VERY hard to remove. We eventually got it out, threw a bandaid on it and went back to work [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Moral or the story... pull it out, put as bandaid on it and keep going!!!!!!!!! If it keeps bleeding, put on another bandaid, and as I said in another post, girls dig scars!!!!

scrub1975
18-11-2005, 02:08 PM
Thats gotta hurt P-Rock...lucky you've got fat fingers or the thing would have gone right through! All those pies must have finally paid off! ;D
See ya tomorrow Rocka!
Tight lines
Brian

Billo
18-11-2005, 02:16 PM
Struggling with a jack at the rocks on light tasckle down raby bay a few years back ...hook popped out at the last second and the lure came back like on elastic ......a little lucifer with super over strengthed hooks

2 barbs went deep into the tough skin on my elbow .
They were so deep i could not get it out , and the have 2 barbs in there was not as simple as pushing it back through .

Ended up walking into emergency ....chick at the counter asked what the issue was , i simply rattled my arm ....she pissed herself .

Simple slices with a scalpel and tetnus shot for my troubles .

I also had a big flathead a few months back ...whilst trying to dehook it , the bastard went nutes and ended up with a barb through the thumb ...another barb from the same treble was still in the flatties mouth ...he assisted the removal on the next climatic head shake which ripped it straight back out .....geez the blood just spurt out !

And that is 2 of MANY stories

Franco
19-11-2005, 11:07 AM
Duyz72.......

Specialising in Emergency medicine and working everywhere from the Gold coast to Weipa and to Glasgow in between over the last 11 years I have seen heaps of stuff that would make most people squeal, cry & cringe and had no problem with it.

But the images I have from that story of yours have to be the first to make me dry-wretch in ages Mate!

I can tell you boys, taking out a treble is one thing, but taking out one of these a few years ago is another!! #The guy did alright and lost no function in his arm.

Be careful!
Shit I look like Dougie Houser!

PS If you're out there mate I hope it healed up alright buddy!

Franco
19-11-2005, 11:10 AM
A close up

thumps
19-11-2005, 11:15 AM
Blooddddddddddddddddddyyyyyyyyyyyyyy OUCHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

thelonegranger
19-11-2005, 01:42 PM
Ouch, probably would have just cut the bloody hook and kept fishing.......... swearing.........yelling.........crying etc. My brother did a similar one in Mackay. Boated a nice spaniard and when he tried to get the treble out of its gob, it gave a kick and rammed the other two hooks into the palm of his hand, once we clubbed the bugger to death to stop it jumping around the boat with his hand attached, I enjoyed a laugh and the fishing, he just sat and sobbed. Bloody painful

Flyseyes
19-11-2005, 03:11 PM
nice 1 , my nephew got a treble stuck in his foot , wont get in the boat without shoes now.

ianh
19-11-2005, 07:16 PM
gota hurt

juicyfruit
19-11-2005, 09:17 PM
It made my stomach turn. Bloody ouch is right

Missing_FNQ
19-11-2005, 09:18 PM
Hey Franco.............You werent in Weipa when that guy got the treble embedded in his eye at the Mission River bridge were you????

beatsworkin
19-11-2005, 09:35 PM
I WANNA SEE A PIC OF YOUR FACE

Franco
20-11-2005, 12:44 AM
Missing_FNQ; No mate not while I was there. Actually didn't see many hooks in flesh while I was there.

One naasty thing that happened on a fishing trip there with a mate;
I foulhook a shovel nose shark approx 7 ft / 60 kg on baitcaster with a rio's prawn, through the dorsal fin! Fight for bloody ages then eventually got the sucker up in the shallows on the beach. Mate walks over cocky as hell saying "here give it here I'll get it off." Straddles the fish and grabs it by the tail as I warn him to watch out and be careful.

Next thing I know my mate (Big man 6ft 4 and around 100kg) starts screaming and screeching like a little girl. The shovelly went spastic as He tried to free it without pliers and as it took off for the deep the lure collects my mates hand with one set of trebles, and the other is still in the shovelly. My mate is being dragged to his terrifying death screaming, and the water becomes too deep to run through as he gets pulled along by his hand. I can't do a bloody thing as I'm now connected and fighting both the shovelly AND my mate on a 6 kg baitcaster! I tell you it was a great fight!! Luckily shovelly stops thrashing as I pull up hard on the line, I wind and walk towards them, with my mate shit scared white, and the pliers sort out the problem. Then the shovelly swims off. Lure still in mates hand but He's so scared and full of adrenaline he rips it out in rage!

When I asked him what the hell he was thinking he replied, "I was thinking this is a really stupid way to die!"

Never a truer word spoken!

thumps
20-11-2005, 07:29 AM
was fishing a small river in Tassie for trout......after a slightly overcast spoon ended half way up the tree on the otherside of the river.....a small flick of the rod tip saw the spoon fly straight back at me across it..

one treble firmly embedded half way up my forearm.

a small drive into the closest town saw it removed by Noel Jetson...who had a few nice compliments to add

TonyM
20-11-2005, 08:33 AM
I can confirm that 6x strength Barra trebles hurt - Mine had an angry Barramundi attached to it at the time it got lodged in my hand. I was posing for the photo opportunity #8-) and fell in the drivers footwell, as i fell I dropped the fish and you can work out the rest #;D

Luckily I was fishing with Paul Dolan who always carries a pair of bolt cutters in his boat and we pulled it out with the yank method and continued chasing Barra #;D

Geez I feel lucky after reading some of these other stories! #:-/

Duyz72
20-11-2005, 02:27 PM
There sure is a whole lotta hurtin going on!

Missing_FNQ
20-11-2005, 08:27 PM
Franco thats a classic ;D..............The guy on the bridge was using a lure on a handline for barra from the top handrail and after hooking up, he was just pulling it over the top rail when it flicked and the lure caught him in the face. One hook from the treble in the lower eyelid and one in the eyeball. Damn lucky the fish wasnt attached.
Also took the bowls club chef fishing one day and he did the "dumb and dumber" thing...........Caught a treble in one finger then got a finger on another hand caught as he was trying to remove the first....Hilarious...........What years were you up there???..........I was 1998 till 1996 and still not a local ;D

Franco
21-11-2005, 12:13 AM
Missing FNQ; I was there in 97 mate.

I'd say very few up there could really call themselves locals!

RobSee
21-11-2005, 08:32 PM
Franco,

That is a cracker of a story mate - I can just imagine him thinking those words as he's getting hauled out to sea. - Bugger that!

Also - when are you putting up the photos of the 122cm Barra? Greenie gave me the story the other week.

RobSee
21-11-2005, 08:44 PM
Never mind buddy - i had a thought and looked under the saltwater photos section - and what do you know!

Franco
22-11-2005, 01:17 AM
Rob:

A little birdy may have whispered that the name Greeny and that incident about my cocky mate who was almost trolled to His death behind the shovelly are related..... Hmmmm did I let that Cat outta the bag??!!! Those lil birdies are pretty smart sometimes!

RobSee
22-11-2005, 11:46 AM
You're kidding!! [smiley=laugh.gif]

jimmyjam
28-11-2005, 06:10 AM
Boy are there some stories to tell about embedded fish hooks.
The hand spear photo was pretty ugly.
I managed to get myself yesterday.
Had jumped in the boat to start cleaning up and whammo stepped on the tilsan bass. Tried hard to pull it out with no luck. My mate's going "Just pull it out you'll be right" Yeah no worries second time I tried it really hurt!! Trip up to the hospital, jokes from the nurses and doctor and it was gone.
I needed a tetanus shot anyway!

28-11-2005, 06:26 AM
It happens so easy
yesterday mate drag a 10/0 into my hand up to the barb, I think bone stopped it going past the barb, it just pulledd straight out but 15 odd mm of steel in the meaty part of your hand still smarts (even today)