PDA

View Full Version : Another total beginner

pommy_Nick
22-11-2005, 08:38 PM
Like magic riks earlier post I too have been here since april and originate from the UK, now living in Warana, Sunshine Coast.
Now heres the thing, I,ve only taken up fishing since arriving in Australia ( I dont think there is any fish in the sea in England, too bloody cold !!) , because we live 200mtrs from the beach I bought a 3.5mtr beach rod and an Alvey 650 reel and have had a good time catching mainly Dart and a few Whiting down the beach, mostly either using worms or Pipi's I've collected myself. Thing is, I fancy trying something a bit different and want to fish the estuary of the Mooloolah river around La Balsa Park area, I've bought a few soft plastics following advice from the bloke in the fishing tackle shop and caught nothing, I've tried a few lures following advice from the bloke in the camping shop and caught nothing, I,ve tried pillies on ganged hooks - nothing, I've searched for the 3" soft plastic minnow in "pearl watermelon" that the bloke in the tackle shop says never fails - it failed.
To cut a long story short I would love to hear from anyone with any advice on lure fishing an estuary or canal - I'm having great fun trying the different products but it would be nice to catch a fish now and then or its back to the beach.

Cheers,

Nick

2DKnBJ
22-11-2005, 09:18 PM
Nick
Welcome to the site.Mate just keep your eyes on the Reports site and you will soon see how and what SP'S the guys are using.You will even get to know which guys use SP all the time and have a n excelent catch rate.Aquarius,Cheech...are the first 2 that come to mind.But most of all keep at it and it will pay off sooner or later.
Cheers Dazza

darryl_l
22-11-2005, 10:11 PM
Nick,