View Full Version : Cairns...what is going on?

Bad_Bubby
06-01-2006, 01:50 AM
Hi guys, I just noticed the discussion going on with Urangan Jetty and thought I'd air my opinion on what is happening to the jetty fishing up here in Cairns. I know a few Cairns members frequent these boards so I'm just wondering what your thoughts are on the situation we have here with landbased fishers and tourists. What I'm going to say may not be crowd pleasing but there have been a few issues that have really made me think about where this town is heading now that the new year is upon us. Has anyone noticed how few places we can fish now without a boat? #:-?I like fishing by boat its relaxing and allows you to get to special spots. But I also like my landbased fishing and I think its a real shame what is happening here in Cairns. I've noticed ever since the Fitzroy Island Jetty was closed off to fishing a domino effect has occured with much of the fishing around the mouth of the Inlet all prohibited to fishing :-/.

The Fitzroy Island Jetty was closed, from memory due to shark fishers leaving a mess. Then about 18months ago fishing became banned at most of the Marlin Jetty and the Esplanade. From the whole length of the broadwalk (near the casino) downstream through to the outer marlin jetty fishing is all prohibited. Out of the whole Marlin Jetty marina and surrounds only one side of the outer jetty approx 80m long is allocated to fishing ::). This may comprise 20% of the perimeter of the whole marlin jetties. It also just happens to be the side where there is continual waist heigh railing and no rod holders. If thats not enough a security patrol car drives up and down the jetty all night at 15 minute intervals.

The whole Esplanade is prohibited now. You get kicked off by security guards if you walk on there with any fishing equipment, even a cast net. About 5 years ago it was possible to fish anywhere around the Pier marketplace and Esplanade. I used to cast net mullet outside MacDonalds and carry them to the best spot on the marlin jetty where anyone could fish safely and easily. Kids, tourists, and families could all fish there in harmony. You could catch fingermark, jacks and cod with other fishers and have a good time 8-). There was also the rock wall outside the Pier where you could stroll down after work and have some casts before it got dark. That was until the second jetty was built over the top of it.

The only other jetty is Palm Cove Jetty, a solid half hour drive from Cairns. The Barron River jetty is useless, you cannot land fish off it due to its height. It is not even the length of an everage cast, and not accessable or known by many. Not everyone has a boat. If young people can't fish in their own town is it any wonder they start joining gangs, turning to alcohol/drugs and bashing up tourists at night time (i.e remember the recent incident where the English backbacker was bashed?). I'm sure many locals wish to walk the Esplanade at night after they finish work but are forced to stay in the suburbs due to the gang problem. Has anyone ever tried walking nearby the CBD MacDonalds any time of a night? there are gangs there almost constantly everytime I've gone there especially over the past year :o.

On this point is it also not the protection of tourists interests being the motivation behind banning fishing at these jetties? How can Cairns be seen as protecting the interests of tourists by having jetties without fishers yet having a problem with visitors being jumped on. Afterall, the tourists have no way of knowing where the safe parts of Cairns are. It seems to me that youth having no way of enjoying or expressing themselves outside of school in Cairns. I don't think they are to blame, I think its the way they are marginalised into a world where they must either be at home watching tv or causing mischief whenever they are outside of home. Fishing is an integral part of living up here yet they are discouraged to take it up :-/.

I'm no expert but I think having such rigid rules really defeats the purpose of there being rules to begin with. Wouldn't it be better if Cairns embraced fishing, using it as a way of keeping young people out of courtrooms. It would also be better for many tourists who come here to fish landbased. I've lost count the number of times I've seen dissapointed tourists. I know some tackle shops up here have an annual kid's day at Palm Cove or the mouth of the Barron....but what use is this really to the few people that participate?. Palm Cove is a long car trip away for 90% of Cairns residents and the Barron mouth cannot be fished properly in certain conditions let alone safely when darkness closes in (crocs). Both of these locations can't be fished without a drivers license, whereas the CBD can at least be reached by bicycle as many students ride to Cairns high and Trinity Bay high just up the road.

I think its a real shame that the area around the Esplanade through to Trinity Wharf has a stigma that your doing an injustice by fishing. Townsville may not be the best example of an orderly city but at least they have the right balance between the rights of tourists and locals at popular, easily accessable local fishing spots. The situation here in Cairns is so vastly different that it makes me feel very miserable for people learning to fish here or even growing up in this town :-[. Goodluck to anyone fishing landbased in Cairns during 2006...you're gunna need it. Cheers

Poseidon
06-01-2006, 12:06 PM
Giday BB,
Though I live in Brisbane at the moment I spent 20 years in the Cairns region up until 1999. Funny enough I have just returned from Cairns (Gordonvale to be exact) after spending the xmas break with the outlaws. I was not aware of the closures that you indicate however it would seem very sad that areas within the inlet, sugar terminal , Trinity Wharf etc have been removed from the fishing areas as well as the other spots you mention. I spent many hours fishing the wharf areas of the inlet over the years and enjoyed it very much. The old rock wall in front of the Pier Marketplace was another popular spot too. Have these areas been excluded under the banner of the dreaded "terrorism" hogwash that has been pushed down our necks for sometime now??
Cairns and the surrounding areas was always a great spot for youth to grow up, but it is sad to see that some youth of the areas have developed the same anti-social behaviour as in in the bigger centres. Recreation facilities, land based fishing options included, need to be provided to allow the youth to have as many choices as possible as to spend their free time without the need to fall into the darker sides of society.
I hope that commonsense prevails in the end, Cairns is touted as the fishing capital of the state and it seems ironical that land based fishing options are declining.

Regards Cameron.

Louis
06-01-2006, 12:30 PM
Thanks for your post Bad Bubby,

I think the situation you describe is an absolute disgrace.

If someone had told me 20 years ago about all the changes and Anti-Fishing sentiment that was coming in I never would have believed it.

Has the World Gone Mad?

What is wrong with these people that are so Anti-Fishing?

And unfortunately the real question is: When and where will all this nonsense end?

Louis

88fishframe
06-01-2006, 12:45 PM
It's a conspiracy by boat manufacturers. :-X :-X :-X

Another thought, buy a 16' surf rod and cast from Lake St ;D ;D

Panda
06-01-2006, 08:13 PM
Sad to think kids are being denied accessed to prime fishing spots.
I too think those young fellas will turn to other activities like things outside the law to get their adrenalin pumping if they are denied more traditional pastimes like fishing.

And anyway, the Jap tourists love to see people fishing! Anyone of the locals catches a fish and every Jap tourist in sight is hovering around to get a look. I don't really think they want to go to Cairns to see a sterile landscape free of public activity. And I am sure they don't want to be dodging gangs of frustrated youths with nothing to do.

People leaving a mess behind can be a real problem though. Maybe if they used the security staff now required to STOP people fishing rather to ensure people cleaned up their mess there could be a win/win situation that would benefit both the tourist operators AND the locals? But too simple for the bureaucrats I suppose?

Bad_Bubby
09-01-2006, 12:01 AM
Thanks for the mostly intelligent and supportive comments. Without being a pessimist I just get the impression that few people in Cairns really care about the right of landbased anglers to be able to fish in their own town. Similarly I don't really expect anything to be done about the gang problem. Hope anyone visiting Cairns has a safe time here.

09-01-2006, 04:01 AM
I wonder if it's got something to do with the Council being held responsible for public liability damages if somebody hurt themselves while throwing a line in? We all hear about how this sort of thing has gotten out of control over recent years.

Also, if places are closed off, then there's less publicity about people getting bashed etc etc. Might be a tourism thing.

Maybe a letter to the editor in the local paper might draw a response or two. No harm in putting the question. I'm a great believer in getting our pollies to at least do a little bit for their money. You could complain to your local councillor and State member and ask "Why".

Volvo
09-01-2006, 08:29 AM
Bad_Bubby, mate if you feel strongly enough about it at least take the time to write to council and local paper see if you cant arouse enough interest somewhere ..
Once upon a long time ago here in Gladstone the public were allowed access of the Aukland point no1 pier for fishing and prawning :)..
And what prawning those days were too ;), Moms n Dads along with their youngones, single Moms with their young ones and kids with their pushbikes and fishing gear out enjoing themselves and keeping out of mischeif and picking up the skills to their favourite passtime..
Time came and they closed the place up due to "Workplace Health n safety" or so the excuse was..
Did make a lot of noise over the issue, letters to the editor, council, along with promises of new facilities to be built for the younger generation to have access to but you belive in fairies you can belive in local councils also cause that as far as it got....Promises n more promises each time i exchange the odd word or two with the local Mayor..
Like most Pollies ::) ::) ::) ::)..
There's always mention among workmates, or media as to whats happening with the younger generation in as far as how or what they find for enjoyment nowadays ey :-?..
Like instances previous mentioned of hours spent in front of a PC playing games like "Doom" etc or just milling around the malls in groups for enjoyment of company i guess??..
Dunno , maybe just a new generation doin a new thing ey??..
But restrictions to places of like local jetties n such is a disgrace far as i'm concerned even with the excuse of "A mess bein left behind" good reason to employ another worker far as i'm concerned..
Younger generation aint gunna learn or grow up without makin a mess here n there ey..
As fer Public Liabillity?? surely Coucnils can come up with signs and wording to cover their butts??..
Sorry for ranting but ye touched a tender nerve lol..
Make a noise n try arouse some interest ye never know ey??..

Bad_Bubby
09-01-2006, 01:40 PM
Guys thats a great idea. I'll put together a letter similar to my intial post on the matter and send it to the council. If it ruffles some feathers I'll be happy.

09-01-2006, 02:14 PM
Thank you BB for a thoughtful and intelligent post. I can't speak for what's happening at Cairns, but I can see a day when Brizzy goes the same way. It's started with redcliffe jetty and if the Joe Blow average fisho doesn't get his act together, it will happen to Sandgate, Woody Point and other jetties. Why? because we're a dirty bunch of bastards that's why! I'm not addressing any individual here but illustrating the general public's and indeed, more than likely, the local council's view of us as a whole.

The jetties are littered with line, slime, dead toadies, birds with one leg or a hook in their arse, stubbies and even vomit. Who's to blame? certainly not me and certainly not Ausfishers but it just as certainly ain't just the kids to blame. The behaviour of some of the so-called adults at these venues has me ashamed to admit to being a fisho.

What's the answer? I don't know, but I do know that in the past I have seen Japanese tourists as well as elderly locals scared witless by the appalling behaviour of these drunken morons who litter our fishing venues.

I've just returned from the Pin and our usual haunt was practically uninhabitable when we got there. These are not kids doing this, they are adults with sufficient resources to buy a boat. Broken glass littered the full length of what little camping area there is at crusoe and we even salvaged a full gazebo (legs and tarp), 4 pieces of ply @ 4x2 and two oil drums (barbeques).

It's sad, and it's bloody infuriating :'(

Sorry to hijack your post mate but I really think there should be some debate on the public's and council's perception of us all, especially those that are land-based. I have seen so many injured birds and so much discarded line this last few months that I've felt like packing it in all together rather than be tarredd with the same brush. If this is how "responsible" adult fishos are behaving, what chance the (fishing) future for our kids? I feel that this issue is far more important than fish stocks etc (taking of undersize) because it is "full in your face" It is there for all to see that we really do present the whole as a load of uncaring dirty bastards because of the actions of a few. We have to weed out these "few" but how?

Louis
09-01-2006, 02:22 PM
Perhaps let the Fishing Party know of this situation.

Louis

baldyhead
09-01-2006, 03:37 PM
Hi BB, why don't you C&P your original post to JOHN McKenzie
E-mail Address
easy846@iig.com.au
Then ring him on any Wednesday when he has the MAYOR for everybloodything in his studio answering questions ON AIR.
Then put your concerns to them both.
Contrary to popular belief...a lot of people listen to Makka...so its worth a try.
It's not all that long ago that I heard the Mayor vehemently back the right of Locals & tourists alike to fish and cast net from the areas that you say are now closed to fishing, IE...the Boardwalk.

HarryO
09-01-2006, 04:08 PM
G'day guys..

I think TOL's on the money (pun intended)

Local councils (regional) and the Port Authorities
are responsible for incidents from wayward
tackle on public jetties, and injuries are more common
than they tell us..

A friend (public servant) told me they don't hold
liability insurance (could be wrong) for this type of incident,
and rely on their risk managment policies...

Hey, I guess its cheaper... # >:(

Harry...

10-01-2006, 12:14 PM
This soapbox has my name written all over it!
Time to put an end to the intelligent and thoughtful replies ;D.

I cannot imagine a seaside town/city in the entire country that has such a lowly quality of life as Cairns, some inland towns are pretty bad but that is mainly because of geography.
Everywhere I have lived before it was possible to find locations for chosen activities that were outside, healthy for the entire family, low cost, easy going, safe, close and very importantly not artificial. Cairns fails VERY short on all of these like nowhere else I know of or have lived (to be fair stingers and crocs also play a part in the overall low quality of life in Cairns).
No way would/do I risk my family for a stroll around the CBD/esplanade/jetty at night or anywhere else at night here for that matter unless it is a duck in/out affair.

The scary stuff that goes on Cairns CBD and wider that the media leaves alone (police/council/tourist association/gov essential services/media round table) is huge! It's a fools paradise for those that live here and rely on only the media for town gossip.

A person could argue that regulating aside the choice to freely engage in activities around the Cairns CBD decreases the workload at Cairns base hospital and associated gov departments ::)

Todays pessimist with the hindsight of the last 20 years will be shown to be right 9 times out of 10 for the present and future.

Really was the year 1985 really so bad that we needed to progress in the direction of denying good people the choice to engage in their no harm and chosen activity's. The most striking memory of the late eighties for me was being free in my country, today I feel caged by the almighty dollar and pandered against.
We will never see a shift back to a free Cairns without at least 5 seasons of multiple cat 3 cyclones landing on directly on us.
It does stink!

I feel for the young land based guys (actually anyone #aged under 30) around here, if I didn't have the ability to travel up to 200km at the drop of a hat (there are still tons of still enjoyable places up here but constant day trips get tiring) Cairns would have sent the entire household stir crazy.

Anyway enough said, still being pessimistic I hope you have some luck BB but if you chase it up but without the 10 to 20% of the population these lockout decisions benefit backing you up it will feel like the tail is trying to wag the dog :-X :-[

Global warming bring it on - for a more livable Cairns existance ;D ;D