View Full Version : Bad Bearings or ??? Yamba Charter Fishing

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:16 AM
When I got to the wall this morning at 4:40 what i saw was not very good to say the least. poor bloke that owns this boat has got a long day ahead of him.
I noticed the charter boat going in and out for the past week or so. Its new to the area and based in Yamba.
Not sure what happened but it looks like they missed the entrance by a few meters. Or maybe they are Canadians; where for some crazy reason Harbour Marker Beacons are the oposite of the rest of the world.

I feel real sorry for the unfortunate people who were on the charter!
Strange thing is when i was there at dark no one around and later at 6:30 still no one around.... on close inspection no one appeared to be on board....

On another note why were they out last night with poor weather forecast and what a mess its going to be in a few hours when the tide comes in and starts to do what it does best wash away all the stuff that the last tide left behind :-[

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:17 AM

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:17 AM

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:19 AM
Whats wrong with this picture :o
try parking that thing in a marina mate :'(

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:20 AM

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:26 AM
Due to the smell of fuel in the water i opted to not wet a line :(

More photos to follow on high tide :o

OK this is no laughing matter and i do not mean to be disrespectful to any involved.
I hope that everything works out and nobody gets/got hurt.

Nugget
06-01-2006, 06:27 AM
No need to worry about customers - It's not a charter boat.

Dave ><>

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 06:41 AM
The large banner stretched across it stating "FISHING CHARTERS 0429 701 186" gives me the impression that it is.
The boats registration # CLFB11856P
If it started with LFB I would agree with you.

06-01-2006, 06:46 AM
Missed by that much !!

06-01-2006, 07:42 AM
Yes,

Well, what do you say??

06-01-2006, 09:59 AM
I can't imagine this guy would just plonk her on the beach like that after missing the harbour leads. Must have come adrift sometime I reckon.

fishingnottake
06-01-2006, 10:01 AM
might broken mooring, or everyone might be washed overboard, i doubt anyone would leave that boat unattended down there would be stripped within minutes :|

Darryl
06-01-2006, 10:41 AM
Yeah i would say it's broken it's mooring and the out going tide has taken it there.

And due too the forecast the charter operators are still in bed thinking the boats ok. :-/

Excellent photo's though mate.

Big_unit
06-01-2006, 10:47 AM
Your kidding.

James

Commodore
06-01-2006, 11:12 AM
Don’t think it’s a mooring problem as the boats are well in the river and there are plenty of walls between the entrance to the river and the harbours on which they would hit first or even if they did drift through the mouth of the river the bar would smash them. I would say his been coming in and gone the wrong side of the sea wall, ouch. :o

toymod
06-01-2006, 01:09 PM
Probally leged it after missing the leads, and now hoping insurance will pay off :-X

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 01:43 PM
OK still have not found out what exactly happened but here are the photos of an attempted rescue.
First Photo I would like to call Beach Fishing Charters !! ;)

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 01:45 PM
Rescue crew arrives

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 01:47 PM

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 01:53 PM
I worked in the bush logging for a few years and i know cats can pull even big ones can pull quite a lot but when i saw this i said "no way"
Maybe two or three pulling together or if the cat was on harder surface, but on sand with the hull sunk in and just a wash of water giving a bit of lift. Sorry good idea but not enough kitty cats.

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 01:58 PM

Dug
06-01-2006, 01:59 PM
Love the shot January_2006_118.jpg on the beach with the rain

Very sad and forlorn :'(

I have seen some stupid things but my guess would be it lost it's motor or steering close to the entrance, possibly taking it for a quick test run to make sure something is OK?

As long as everyone got off safely.

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 02:04 PM
Now your wondering why pull it up on the beach, I asked the same question and the idea is to get a crane in a lift it off later!
hmmm?

Reasons being the pull out may ended with a sunken vessel, unless they were able to spin her around which is unlikely.

I think this rescue will go on for some time.

As far as insurance scams the owner was on the beach not very happy with the whole situation.

Soon enough i will inform of what happened or watch the news tonight as the camera crew was on hand.

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 02:14 PM
last couple photos for now: Don't bother coming to have a look as there is no parking :-/

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 02:16 PM

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 02:18 PM
last pic: shot taken from 300 meters out on the wall; rescue attempts from sea would of been very dangerous for the tug boat.

MADKEEN
06-01-2006, 02:33 PM
modern technoloy i love,. great report
Thanks wise67 well done!!!!

David

Darryl
06-01-2006, 02:58 PM
I dont know the area so guessed at the mooring thing.If it's not possible, then as Dug said engine failure at the entrance seems to be the go....

mattooty
06-01-2006, 05:46 PM
Just got back from tossing a few spinners from around the yamba breakwall. Looking over towards iluka wall, it was possible to see the tops and riggings of the boat. The parking area is still crowded to the SH!T HOUSE!!!!! People everywhere, but the boat is definately high and dry, right up in the corner of the beach. Talking to people on the wall, the crane idea is to lift it over the breakwall into the river?? Wether it will work or not is anotha matter.
Goodluck to the owner. Only been around for a few months.

1810B
06-01-2006, 06:43 PM
Not a break a mooring job. Chance of drifting from either Iluka or Yamba out through the wall then driftin back one side of the wall , and the windward side at that, then drifting back west clear of the north wall. Onto the beach???? If it did buy a lottery ticket with confidence. Boat has also been in longlining for tuna. Notice the floats in the cage on the wheel hous roof anf the line shooter on the transom. Also not black antifouling all you tuna lovers. favourite colour. ( or dark blue.) Also note that anchor is out of the fairleed. Not normal for steaming in over bars. Three possibilities, including radar as one, Gps as another, no attendance, or been anchored in close and drifted. Doesnt matter, noone there will been feeling good. Poor sode, most likely trying to make a quid in offseason

juicyfruit
06-01-2006, 07:16 PM
*wonders if anyone has called FISHING CHARTERS 0429 701 186 to put all guess work aside*

Juicy

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 08:13 PM
Latest on the beach fishing charters:
HUMAN ERROR, too late to turn as they realized they were in the surf break.

Good news no one got hurt.

Here are the next couple photos.

secure above high tide mark waiting for lift....

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 08:14 PM

wiseguy67
06-01-2006, 08:17 PM

skippa
07-01-2006, 05:42 AM
Looks like the SS Minnow ... #;D ;D

Can't see Gilligan tho .... #but I can see where he's been ;D ;D

or .....

I was walking along the beach the other day going surf fishing and #I ran into this#charter boat ....... ;D ;D

toymod
07-01-2006, 06:27 AM
Charter boat, what charter boat? ;D

The_Walrus
07-01-2006, 10:25 AM
Great report & photos.

Next XXXX commercial site ;D

I hope you'll be able to get a few photos of the proposed crane lift.

07-01-2006, 01:45 PM
Hi Gerard,

Great photos and narrative mate. Excellent!!

Please keep the piccys and story coming.

Charter boat? What charter boat??

ssab1
07-01-2006, 02:44 PM
hear he just came in to pump yabbies and tide went out?? ;D

wiseguy67
08-01-2006, 07:46 PM
Still no mobile crane but an excavator showed up today. A few hours shifting sand and with the cat got her sitting a bit more even.

serious pippi collecting gear. ;)

wiseguy67
08-01-2006, 07:47 PM

wiseguy67
08-01-2006, 07:49 PM

wiseguy67
08-01-2006, 08:06 PM
Next sunday the tide will be 1.74
I hope they can get her off the beach befor then.

This is what they need, last time i checked, which was 8 yrs ago when i was working steel, building water tanks, we used these to lift million plus gallon tanks into place, the cost from the minute it leaves the yard until it gets back was $600 + - an hr for site work and $300 hr for transit time. That was in canada, I am not sure what the rates are here. A carton of XXXX won't cut it though :P
I suspect the nearest crane will be in Brisbane.

By the time this charter is back working its going to be worth its weight in gold.
I hope the owner keeps his chin up.

skippa
08-01-2006, 08:15 PM
Wouldn't worry, he's probably got RACQ insurance ..... ;D

09-01-2006, 11:54 AM
I wonder how many phone calls the guy has gotten from people wanting to beach fishing ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Cheers and Beers

SeaHunt
09-01-2006, 01:23 PM
They just need a big trailer to winch it up on. Might need a 4b to get it off the sand though. :D
Looks like it has radar, I know we all make mistakes but you would have to be pissed or something to miss the entrance, just when you should be taking the most care coming in. :-/

wiseguy67
09-01-2006, 08:39 PM
Here are the last photos: got there a bit late so i missed the action.
Nice to see her gone and have a place to park :)

wiseguy67
09-01-2006, 08:41 PM

wiseguy67
09-01-2006, 08:43 PM

wiseguy67
09-01-2006, 08:46 PM
Final pic from the first lot. My favorite photo.

robersl
09-01-2006, 09:05 PM
JUST 1 QUESTON DID HE GET DONE FOR NEG NAVIGATION AS WELL BLOKE WITH 2 KIDS DOES WHAT ABOUT A CHARTER BOAT OPERATER

10-01-2006, 04:42 AM
Brilliant photos Gerard. Absolutely awesome !!

juicyfruit
10-01-2006, 08:02 AM
Gerard,

Have enjoyed following this story along with it the photos.

Thank you

Juicy

wiseguy67
10-01-2006, 05:07 PM
Thanks to all that followed the post and left feedback.

Its been the most viewed and photographed attraction in Iluka for some time ;)
There were times when locals and touros alike had set up beach chairs and stubby holders on the beach to watch the process.
The first day would of been the craziest with upwards of a hundred neck stretchers at any one time throughout the day. ::)

The road used to have small pot holes; now they will loosen molars and almost swallow compact cars if not careful! #:-/
I was expecting the cat and excavator to fix the road befor leaving but no luck. Hopefuly parks will send the scraper in to smooth it out.

My only advice is to check and double check nav gear and marker beacons on any approach or expect to pay the price :o

Now lets hope this weather clears along with the water.
Be nice to see boils of bait and swooping gulls, with the tides coinciding with sunset sunrise fishing should be fantastic.
I tried this morning but the swell is still a bit too big and the bloody northerly was blowing steady....

Tight lines and fair weather.

Until the next story comes enjoy yourselves.

Gerard

wiseguy67
10-01-2006, 05:35 PM

DALEPRICE
10-01-2006, 06:01 PM
top photos gerard,
very good read.
cheers dale

11-01-2006, 06:52 AM
Hi Gerard,

Thanks again for a very good story and excellent pics !!

See if you can use your influence with the mayor of Iluka to get that dirt road fixed before we go down there again, could you? I was thinking bitumen with line markings.

Oh, and during your discussions, could you get the walking surface of the wall upgraded to something comparable with the Yamba side? I'm getting a bit tired of rolling ankles.

inspired
11-01-2006, 09:23 PM
top photos

Brown_Hornet
12-01-2006, 02:29 PM
thats one big trailor boat..
I wonder if my commodore could tow that?

warrior
12-01-2006, 04:19 PM
when does your next action packed novel come out?