PDA

View Full Version : Mud Crabs in dillies

Truck
12-01-2006, 10:18 PM
I am fairly new to the old crabbing game, and have purchased a few dillies to put out while i am fishing for a few crabs now and then. I have noticed they are very good when it comes to catching Blue Swimmers but when a muddie gets in them they are just too strong and leave you with big holes throughout your dillies!!!
I just thought I would start a topic so more experienced "crabbers" can comment on this topic, Are dillies stricktly sand crabs only or is there stronger nets you can put in them to catch muddies or some other tricks?? please comment :-?

brentasauros
12-01-2006, 10:52 PM
yer..use..mud..crab..pots..will..catch..both.

mickstar001
12-01-2006, 11:14 PM
yeah buy the rectangular pots buddy never tear!

lil_boatie
12-01-2006, 11:33 PM
I heard that the retctangular pots were not as good because the crab only has two areas to gain entry and if the current is too strong it wash the crab away. I find the round ones better.

Cam

Just_chips
12-01-2006, 11:48 PM
Have a read through the info on this website (www.crabngear.com.au) and if you would still like to know more then give them a call or shoot them an e-mail, they are very happy to help with any questions.

Cheers Kev

Panda
13-01-2006, 01:51 AM
Dillies are very good for catching mud crabs but must be checked frequently or they will rip the net to pieces.

You can buy heaver net for use in dillies if you are getting muddies.
They are still a bugger of a thing to get them untangled though. A trick for extracting crabs from dillies is to get a piece of steel rod about a meter long, curve it a bit and bend a small hook into one end. Now put the straight end in the rowlock and hang the dilly on the hook from its apex. This keeps constant tension on the net and helps to stop the crab from retangling himself as you are trying to get him out of the tangled mess.