PDA

View Full Version : travelling OS with fishing rods

rowdycowdy
29-01-2006, 04:58 PM
Hello

I am travelling OS tommorrow and am planning to take a rod with me. I will be packing a zipperd bag of soft plastics and my reel in my suitcase and will take my rod in a canvas rod bag with my onboard luggage.
Does anyone have any experience with taking gear OS as it is my first time and don't want to run into any implications when boarding.
I am going to Borneo in Malaysia.

any advise would be much appreciated, please don't hesitate to answer as my time is short before I depart

Cheers

Rowdy

P.S. I am not packing any knives in my gear bag, I guess in these times we live in it would not be smart

trueblue
29-01-2006, 05:19 PM
Make sure your hooks etc are all in your checked in baggage. They qualify as a "sharp' object according airport security. I don't know how much of a weapon a fish hook might be, but thats the way it is.

Make sure the rod you take is a two piece, and is less than about 3 1/2 feet long when in the bag / tube. That way you can get it into the overhead lockers easily, and they won't take it off you and put it into the cargo hold.

If your rod is a long one, make sure it is secured inside a pvc tube with your zippered bag inside that. otherwise they have a bad habit of ending up broken on the other side. When you pack your zippered rod bag inside the pvc tube, stick some newspaper around it to make everything nice and tight to it won't slop around too much. Make sure it can't slide forward and backwards inside the tube either - protects the rod tip if it moves inside the tube.

Put your good reels inside a sock or some material bag that isn't easily obvious what it is. If you get a casual bag search, where they just poke their noses into many bags, you might avoid being asked for a bribe to keep it. (This doesn't happen so much anymore, but no point having your gear really obvious to a casual glance by security)

rowdycowdy
29-01-2006, 05:38 PM