View Full Version : fisheries - are they any use?

Dignity
07-02-2006, 08:53 PM
Talking to a bloke today who joined them and eventually left - he told me some very interesting facts - the reason he left was they wouldn't give him anything to do - he was supposed to be in the field but was often asked not to attend to matters that he was hired for.

Any on else hear this sort of thing going on - don't want details, just wondering.

matt20
07-02-2006, 11:41 PM
In my 15 years of recreational fishing i have never been checked by fisheries- not that i have ever needed to be. I have only ever known 1 guy to be fined and that was for a undersized bream he kept (which swolled the hook) and he was gonna give it to his cat.
Fisheries may not be a waste of time but i think if they are serious about controlling fish stocks they gota keep traullers and pro fisherman outa the bays and esturine areas.

Feral
08-02-2006, 05:21 AM
Occassionally see them hitting the ramps in moreton bay, old man has been "inspected" a few times on the water, but I have never seen em.

08-02-2006, 05:47 AM
I have been inspected several times on the water - at Mud and Harries in particular. #I have never seen them around the 'Pin though.

I get inspected by th police a fair bit too. #Even at 2.30am at the southern Manly boat ramp a couple of years ago just as I was about to go out.

Bream_Reaper01
08-02-2006, 08:15 AM
Iv'e only been checked twice in the last 20 years,both were in the Logan River.The last time we still hadn't even got crab pots into the water.

onerabbit
08-02-2006, 08:16 AM
The only thing I've ever seen them do is check for licences. Revenue research seems to be about it!

land_based
08-02-2006, 08:59 AM
are they any use? Yes.

I've seen them put a stop to a group of 12 or so foreigners taking any crab they can pull up from woody point jetty regardless of sex and size.

fish2eat
08-02-2006, 09:05 AM
any presence is at least some deterrant. Ask yourself what fishing would be like if we knew there were zero inspectors in the field

fish_outta_water
08-02-2006, 09:42 AM
hi guys
not a lot gets done by fisheries in the uk , other than the chasing of their revenues . usualy at stocked lakes and organised events when they can find lots of responsible anglers on a private water thats not their responsibilty. so much for catchin' poachers......
the british goverment are now looking at ways they can charge for a sea/beach fishing licence ::) how theyd enforce it with thousands of miles of coastline is yet to be decided :-/
oh well hopefully ill be in oz by then

Figjamm
08-02-2006, 10:36 AM
#I have never seen them around the 'Pin though.

We've seen them around the Pin quite a few times. We've had our campsite checked on Goldbank, and on Crusoe.

--
Bev

fish2eat
08-02-2006, 11:58 AM
Oh yeah.....they are around the Pin.......been checked at Slipping Sands (late in the afternoon) when sitting on the back deck at "cocktail hour" and during the day at Cobby Passage

wayneoro
08-02-2006, 12:31 PM
at popular spots eg gold coast broadwater theres plenty of them when weathers nice once on nerang river i was stopped normal check i was in 12ft dingy by a 20ft fisheries boat then a 30ft app pulls up as well they treated me like a pest on the river and i had no fish ! have you ever seen them check a lg luxury boat no way . not even if they are doing 50 v.close to anchored fisherman close to the seaway ive being swamped 3 times :o

MADKEEN
08-02-2006, 02:05 PM
I've been check plenty of times in the middle of the paddock by both fisheries and police.
I find their not really interested in doing to much.

12Ply
08-02-2006, 02:30 PM
Last four times I've been out I've been checked twice, before that had never been checked.
Seem to be getting more actve - hopefully

08-02-2006, 03:53 PM
#I have never seen them around the 'Pin though. #

We've seen them around the Pin quite a few times. We've had our campsite checked on Goldbank, and on Crusoe.

--
Bev

And when Bev says, "campsite checked" she means it. They looked at every esky under the tarp and they had a good scan at the campsite in general. A *real* going over.

They checked me one day at the brizzy river coffee pots and I tipped 'em off about the yellow raincoat brigade driving off as they approached. I'd seen 'em throwing undersize under the floor boards and they took chase and pulled 'em up. They were alongside for a good 30 minutes and then escorted the "offenders" back to the river where they were met by the water police who took over.

On another occasion I was the only boat at Palm reef (honestly!) ;D and they asked if they could come on board. I joked about them coming all the way out just for l'il ol' me ;D They even asked if I had a live bait or kill tank and whether the floor was fixed. They did comment on the fact that I had 9 rods on board but I explained that each one had it's own job to do and that I only used 3 at a time and a max of 6 hooks. Then they asked if I knew tha maximum mesh size allowable on the cast net and if it complied. They were *really* on the ball. I suppose it's like any job, there are good workers and there are shirkers and these were a couple of the good 'uns.......the female being *particularly efficient and polite........and tasty ;D

Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent.

devocean
08-02-2006, 05:49 PM
Went fishing with one on the weekend and asked him what he has been up to. What he told me was incredible .The amount of work these guys do especially on pro trout boats is huge. They collect heaps of data and enforce the pros very strictly which is great.

Maybe they leave you recreational guys alone because they are to busy with the professionals on the job which is the right way to go I reckon.

When I was a young kid I got pulled up by the pros all the time and I hated them but after seeing how they work up here I reckon they are great. They are our best friends I reckon.

As for the bloke who had nothing to do maybe he can come up here, he can go out at 3am to meet a pro trout boat or trawler come in to the harbour or do night trips out the reef looking for dories with no lights.

Owen
08-02-2006, 07:26 PM
I've been checked a few times.
Funniest one was when we we camped on a hole at Yetman (which is kinda between Inverell & Texas)
We were on a property about 60,000 acres in the middle of nowhere and this landcruiser comes trundling down the track. We thought it was a camper or shooter or something.
Turned out to be a fisheries inspector who'd heard someone was netting the river and selling the fish in the pubs in Inverell.
He was a big South African about eleventy seven feet tall and carried a gun.
Wouldn't accept our help to launch his tinnie etc, but apart from checking licences, wasn't particularly worried about us.
I for one wouldn't like his beat.
There's an awful lot of ground out there for a bloke to dissappear in :o

All the other times I've been pulled up they've been courteous and efficient.
I have no problems with them.
I agree they should spend most of their time on the pro's because they have the capacity to catch large quantities at one time.
Mind you if you added up all the undersized fish that certain groups have a penchant for it'd be pretty horrendous too.

Owen (being politically correct in public)

dfox
08-02-2006, 07:43 PM
When i was commercial fishing out near the shelf off of innisfail, you could just about guarantee a visit by the fisheries coastwatch plane daily, with the odd visit by one of the fisheries boats.
In the gulf rivers (pro fishing) they'd turn up in a helicopter on occasions as well. The inspections were pretty thorough, with entirely everything checked.
Closer to home ive been checked out a few times by both the fisheries and water police in the last few years, im starting to think i must look like the suspicious type ::) ...foxy

rando
08-02-2006, 09:17 PM
You"ve only just noticed that foxy?? ;D ;D ;D

devocean
09-02-2006, 04:24 PM
Yeah we had the helicopter buzz us a few times in kowanyama. Those planes are good and have preety good cameras to

ahjayem
09-02-2006, 08:17 PM
G’day All

Had a meeting with two fishing inspectors on the Balgal ramp about sixty-five kilometers north of Townsville at approximately midnight on the 29th December about five years ago. It a fairly dark evening.

As I was reversing my rig down the ramp I had a sixth sense feeling that something was not right. Then I noticed three people standing near the boat when there should have been only two. When I got out of the ute, another person came up beside me. They then introduced themselves and were able to tell me my name, address, and questioned me as to why I was fishing at Balgal, and not closer to Townsville. "I've got a holiday house down the road".

The young bloke did most of the talking, and asked me to produce all my safety gear, as well as looking through the eskies. I didn’t have charts or lights on the boat. So received a $130 ticket for not having the lights. He reckoned I needed charts as well, as it was “open water”, and that the closest “smooth water” was bounded by the shore line and Cape Cleveland and Cape Pallarenda. He was kind enough to let me off though. As it was, the sea was like a mill pond, and I had been fishing about a kilometer off shore in a twelve foot aluminium dinghy.

My bigger boat has been inspected by the water police on two occasions in the Palm Island group as well. They had a “mother” boat and traveled about on jetskis. I had all of the correct equipment this time though. They were mainly focused on safety gear, but had a quick look through the esky.

I also attended a “Safety at Sea” educational session conducted by two fisheries officers, on Palm Island about thirty years ago. The talk, as well as being very interesting and informative, was also oriented towards practicality.

Tight lines

RJM

Dignity
09-02-2006, 08:23 PM
Only asked the question because this bloke was employed to delve into black maketeriing of fish. I have been stopped and my experience was that it was revenue based eg
At Mooloolaba ramp pull in and the bloke checked the the rego, we had the right safety gear and had a cursory look at the fish in the esky. My mate said thy're all over we have a measure on the bait table, he looks across and see's my home made table with some marks on it and immediately calls his made across with his steel meassure. Any idiot could have seen that our fish were well and truly over the limit as we impose our own size limit which is above the legal limit.

They've called in on us up north in remote areas (now green areas so that is another avenue blocked) and checked everything out, and haven't been happy when they can't find anything and it often gets a little nasty and we can't understand their attitude. Was there on one occasion when they found a camp near us that had 1 mud crab too many and they threatned to charge everyone unless somebody confessed. They really came on heavy and one poor bloke got a heft fine and a record. Mind you they were not around 1 month earlier when it was hard slog to get into the place due to the wet still hanging around and the pros got everything and made life intolerable for anybody else near them (eg firearms involved).

Have been on the Swains and watched as the reefs are raped of coral trout. The fishermen (literary licence used) get 4 times the price for a Plate sized trout than anything larger. Seen them target them specifically. Have even been offered an esky full of the C.T. for a slab of beer - told them to p!ss off. I have a friend whose son is a chef and he regularily sees coral trout and other fish which are definatley undersized. His industry has given up notifying the fisheries as they just do nothing. He has worked for some places where black maketering of fish is rife but once again when trying to do something has been told it is of no use as nothing will happen. He has been out with me and I throw fish back which are larger than most things he sees and he is astounded.

I suspect that the main issue is major understaffing. Probably if one had a deep and meanigful look one would find that there are not enough staff to manage the estuaries in populated areas let alone anything even remotely off road let alone the sheer incompetence of some of the management.

IMHO - sucks - where does our revenue from registration go, certainly not into any ramps although have seen a couple of upgrades which have taken many years, many of the beacons and buoys around the place need maintenance. The govt sucks enough money out of maritme shipping to maintain the mainstream equipment eg light houses, mains shipping channel markers etc but the recreational sector sees little of any money spent.

Dignity
09-02-2006, 08:54 PM
foxy, been buzzed by the coastal patrol - they like to take lots of pictures - have actually seen some and they are impressive - was near a pink zone and almost into a green zone once and they certainly took an interest in a little tinny but we didn't gety any visits as they also buzzed our camp and we were there for another 7 days so should have seen something.

Ps: this has happened on more than 1 occasion

Shafty
09-02-2006, 08:57 PM
Have had a fair bit to do with Fisheries and water police in the Staits, Gulf and rec. fishing.

Like every group there are good and bad. For the job they do their pay is pretty ordinary and as an avid fisherperson, would love some aspects of their job but they are restricted by government budgets where funding priorities are determined by things other than fish stocks. There is more revenue in speed cameras and drink drivers than blokes out breaching fishing regulations.

Also, it can become very hairy confronting blokes in isolated locations, unarmed, where you may be in a position to enforce huge fines and seize boats and vehicles. I know of a couple of inspectors who went missing around 1770 quite a few years ago - nobody assumed crocs were involved.

I enjoy being stopped by the fishoes. Shows they are are out there to the general public and has a deterent value. I know I will be OK for safety gear and the esky contents. Its a bit like driving past a radar trap under the speed limit. Gives you a little scare but a lot more relief that you were doing the right thing, and that they are out there trying to stop the idiot element.

On a professional note - had dealing with then in relation to guys selling shark fin from the back of a vehicle. Attempted to get someone to attend by calling the on call number and couldn't get through to a person. Pretty disappointed at the time - but there are only so many officers going around; actually working at the time; and not attending to other matters. So passed the info on and hopefully something was done about it.

On the other end of the spectrum, was diving on a reef between Murray and Darnley Island 120 km north east of Thursday Island, and had my picture taken by a Coastwatch plane. Knew the guys stationed on Horn Island and was amazed at the detail in the photos and the fact they managed to come across us up there. Also very reassuring.

Of all the Fisheries guys I've met 99% are keen fishoes. They are out there doing a job to improve the quality of our fishery because they want to make it better. Damn right they are of use. And no I'm not an inspector....

My thoughts only,

Shafty