View Full Version : Name the fish you've yet to catch

22-02-2006, 03:15 PM
I was having a discussion about this with someone the other day, and I immediately thought of a Black Bass, but since then, the list has grown into double figures, and includes a Barra (well eveyone knows about that by now) Saratoga, northern bluefin, spangled perch, dogtooth tuna, albacore, threadfin salmon, bonefish. There are probably a lot more as well.

Something to aim for.

Roz

22-02-2006, 03:32 PM
the want list,
marlin, kingie, jewfish (hope or would like to catch all these in tassie)
now Ive got a few small reefies from up that way
but would love to catch a few of all those different BIG reefies you guys keep taking pics of and tormenting me. (ban pics)
and not forgeting the Barra.
Got the mangrove jack off my list last trip

outsiderskip
22-02-2006, 03:41 PM
hi roz
too many to name

cheers pete

mattooty
22-02-2006, 03:48 PM
Barra, Gt, snapper (got too many squire), marlin, good kingfish, theres a list somewhere in my room with about 20-30 fish im wanting to catch

Maria
22-02-2006, 03:48 PM
Mangrove Jack - most importantly of all. Been fishing with that many people and had them catch one right beside me, it warrants tears.
Still need to get a red too.

Tony_N
22-02-2006, 03:50 PM
Mine's a big list too. But the wish list is :
1.Wahoo and
2.YFT.

Mostly interested in pelagics and crabs these days.

Bosunsmate
22-02-2006, 04:17 PM
Fish in general.........

jeffo
22-02-2006, 04:52 PM
OUT WIDE:
broadbill

short bill spearfish

white marlin

INSHORE/ESTUARY

barra
threadfin salmon

rando
22-02-2006, 05:31 PM
BERT ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

timbacutta
22-02-2006, 05:33 PM
Lots on the list, but the special is a big red emperor [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Jeff

warrior
22-02-2006, 05:42 PM
a big mangrove jack and out wide a bull dolphin fish

dfox
22-02-2006, 05:43 PM
Roz my list is short-
1. a large dogtooth, caught a small one.
2. a 20kg red
3. a 12kg queensland snapper

philip_thomson
22-02-2006, 05:44 PM
Sail Fish
Spanish Mackerel
Coral Trout
a Snappa (5kg+)
Legal Red Emperor
Amberjack
Yellowtail kingfish

22-02-2006, 06:01 PM
Foxy,

I've heard amazing things about dogtooth tuna.

Just off hand, do you know anything about their range....anyone else for that matter.

Have also read they are not bad table fare as well.

kingcobe
22-02-2006, 06:26 PM
1. Snapper (over 5kg)
2.Spanish Mackrell
3.Tuna
4.Wahoo

dfox
22-02-2006, 06:36 PM
Roz, ive caught small ones off mooloolaba so im guessing they venture further south then here. But to get a big one i'll have to target them up north..

Huggy_B
22-02-2006, 07:00 PM
could be a long list, but heres a condensed version:

1. barra
2. 6-7kg skippy on light gear (4lb)
3. spanish mack
4. GT
5. giant herring

onerabbit
22-02-2006, 07:19 PM
A BIG cobia is next on my hit-list, maybe one day.

wayne_cook
22-02-2006, 07:59 PM
hav most of most peoples wants
would like a hoo & a doggie

22-02-2006, 08:06 PM
Good topic Roz, and I'm sure there'll be many responses to this.

Although many fish ( saltwater ) have graced the inside of Phill's esky, I do believe a freshwater or impoundment Barra will have to top the list.

Your Black Bass ' want to' is a beauty, as I'm sure we have all heard of the reknown fighting qualities of these thugs. Bonefish too, are a hotly sort after sportfish.

Of course everyone ( most ) want to catch bigger and better than the previous effort. As you may know, I am not one to seek the BIG fish, I fish for the species that will provide me with a good taste, good fight and a challenge.

OK, just remembered.........Samsonfish. Although the Amberjack is quite closely related, I don't believe I have nailed a Sambo.

Thanks for the good topic Roz.

Huggy_B
22-02-2006, 08:13 PM
OK, just remembered.........Samsonfish. #Although the Amberjack is quite closely related, I don't believe I have nailed a Sambo.

Thanks for the good topic Roz.

Cheers # Phill

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v709/wombat01/firstsambo1.jpg

^ my first sambo, ~25 - 30kg

Hopefully I nail an even bigger one this weekend as the season is coming to a close! They are great fun and fight like buggery.

Good luck popping your sambo cherry!

Reefmaster
22-02-2006, 09:17 PM
A bigger Red then 18.1kg ;D
Snapper over 10kg
A Black or Blue Marlin over 300kg
the list goes on...........

Cheers Greg

22-02-2006, 09:32 PM
a toad fish i can fillet, to feed the mother in law of course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dorado
22-02-2006, 09:34 PM
A Mangrove Jack, or any of the Macks, or even a nice Wahoo. I'd love to catch another big Bull Dollie, or a Noosa River Stargazer or even another nice ol' Jewie will do ;)

22-02-2006, 09:52 PM
Most Wanted List:

Cobia
Wahoo
Marlin
Sail
Broadbill
GT

and on and on and on and on........

22-02-2006, 09:53 PM
And forgot....any trout (brown or rainbow, not coral...)

Boz
22-02-2006, 09:58 PM
All of the above

22-02-2006, 10:44 PM
A bigger Red then 18.1kg #;D
Snapper over 10kg
A Black or Blue Marlin over 300kg
the list goes on...........

Cheers Greg

Mate i'll just abot swap you my 10kg + snapper for any red over 54cms ( This curse is really starting to get to me!!!!!)

bowds13
22-02-2006, 11:33 PM
sail fish
swoard fish
any kind of marlin
i dont care what size they are i would just like to catch one

cheers bowds

Zeeke
23-02-2006, 12:21 AM
a fish that brings the pain

jackash
23-02-2006, 12:57 AM
WEll i knocked jack off the list yesterday, but he was only a smallish one and my only jew didnt really warrant much bragging either so a big one of each of these wouldnt go astray. Of course a bonefish wouldnt be disappointing either, but i think everyone would want to catch one of these jsut so they could say they had caught a bonefish. (sorry I'm tired if that doesnt make sense)

JACKASH

TIM-DONSELAAR
23-02-2006, 04:39 AM
too many to list

cheers tim #:D

Tony_N
23-02-2006, 04:54 AM
Foxy,

Just off hand, do you know anything about their range....anyone else for that matter.

Hi Roz

Ern Grant's Guide to Fishes says it is found in both the Pacific and Indian Oceans. #In Qld it is taken principally on the ocean side of theRibbon reefs near Cormorant pass (northern section GBR) by marlin fishermen. #Google mentions Cairns a lot. also Rowley Shoals in the West. #Couldn't find a range south - but definitely a warm water fish.

Oh... and if you want to motor a bit further there are lots of them in the Maldives, Vanuatu, Thailand, Phillipines etc.

FWIW

MODIFIED

Frank Prokop's book Australian Fish Guide has them as far south as Rockhampton

Mad-One
23-02-2006, 05:39 AM
WOULD BE EASIER FOR ME TO LIST THE ONES i HAVE CAUGHT ;D ;D ;D

PHIL

Feral
23-02-2006, 06:48 AM
They got names? :(
Dunno if I could kill em if I knew their names........

Vic1
23-02-2006, 07:18 AM
Grinner...... ;D

Freeeedom
23-02-2006, 08:19 AM
1. Murray cod
2. Dolphin fish (mahi-mahi)
3. Brown trout

Cheers Freeeedom

23-02-2006, 08:35 AM
Shovelly. catty, stingy, toady, sharky....................One has to set realistic goals if one is to achieve one's potential ;D

If you are not big enough to lose you are too small to win.

DICER
23-02-2006, 08:46 AM
Herrings ;D

barra
wahoo
codia
pearlies
dollies
etc etc

sunny
23-02-2006, 08:57 AM
Shovelly. catty, stingy, toady, sharky....................One has to set realistic goals if one is to achieve one's potential #

ROTFLMAO Kev ;D

Yeah, what he said....
A legal flathead
A 35Cm bream
A solid feed of whiting

Yeah, modest I know, but you have to start somewhere.

23-02-2006, 09:28 AM
Foxy,

Hi Roz

Ern Grant's Guide to Fishes says it is found in both the Pacific and Indian Oceans. #In Qld it is taken principally on the ocean side of theRibbon reefs near Cormorant pass (northern section GBR) by marlin fishermen. #Google mentions Cairns a lot. also Rowley Shoals in the West. #Couldn't find a range south - but definitely a warm water fish.

Oh... and if you want to motor a bit further there are lots of them in the Maldives, Vanuatu, Thailand, Phillipines etc.

FWIW

MODIFIED

Frank Prokop's book Australian Fish Guide has them as far south as Rockhampton

Thanx for that Tony, I've mainly read about captures of very big Dogtooth by people fishing in places like Samoa or Fiji, not likely to bump into one down here in Cawfs 'Arbour.

and Phill..... looks like, is not the same as!!! If ya havn't caught a Sambo ya can't substitute an AJ.

And if you're not sure CHECKOUT HUGGY B'S PHOTO!!!!

Does that mean 'cause a gar fish has a bill, it's the same as a M...IN???? ;Don the other hand it is a bill fish.

23-02-2006, 09:54 AM
Roz,

A big ocean jew off the beach on an alvey and surfrod.

A Blue marlin (but I'd settle for a black at the moment :'(_

aussiefool
23-02-2006, 10:50 AM
there is only one fish left on my wish list.... a knobby head snapper anything else is just a bonus

Alex9797
23-02-2006, 11:01 AM
Hi Roz,

I would be happy catching a poofteenth of some of the catches from other members. Happily I can nearly always put my two kids onto something even if I have no idea what the hell it is. Allways catch and release with the kids onboard to avoid the dreaded death/ eating discussion.

Would love to catch some reef fish as always have focused on the bread and butter varieties bream, whiting flathead etc. Now that we have a offshore capable rig that wish may soon be granted, yeah sure ;D

Alex

morty103
23-02-2006, 11:25 AM
Wild barra
New Guinea black bass
Reef Jack

23-02-2006, 01:58 PM
Shovelly. catty, stingy, toady, sharky....................One has to set realistic goals if one is to achieve one's potential #;D

Kev,

If you want BIG catties, make the Derby Jetty (in WA) a must do!

I've caught dozens of catfish there on my Dad's handlines.

Sportfish_5
23-02-2006, 04:19 PM
[quote author=philip_thomson link=1140585300/0#12 date=1140594251]Sail Fish
Spanish Mackerel
Coral Trout
a Snappa (5kg+)
Legal Red Emperor
Amberjack
Yellowtail kingfish

kleiny
23-02-2006, 04:22 PM
definately sportfish always good to target them while young it's so exiting.
go get em boys ;D
kleiny

23-02-2006, 04:43 PM
mmmm # Seems I have misread the topic heading. Again # ::)

I thought it was ' species ". #bugga ! OK.

Topic reads " #Name the fish you've yet to catch ? :....OK, #

I'll name it #....... Bruce #! # # :P

OK, so I am getting a tad pedantic... #ya get that ! #Am I digging a hole ?

Yes Roz, I know the Ambo and a Sambo are not the same...Quote. #"OK, just remembered.........Samsonfish. #Although the Amberjack is quite closely related, I don't believe I have nailed a Sambo.

So to that end I will make a list as what should have happened,

1. #Samsonfish...............called Bruce
2. #Black Bass...............called Bruce
3. #Impoundment Barra........called #Wanda !
4. #Dhu Fish..........................

OK, some one call security, there is a Moderator loose in here that has seen too much sun....... ! # # ::) #8-) ;)

Sorry Roz............... :-/ #OH, BTW, read your report from Agnes/1770 and that looks like a Tea-leaf Trevally, as the locals would call it. They are thick as thieves on a certain trawller wreck not far from Round Hill headland. #Don't know the correct name.

OK< I'm going now-----<<<<<<------<<<

Cheers # Phill

23-02-2006, 05:26 PM
Sorry Phill, didn't mean to ruffle feathers lol

Well a few people had a go at the Trevally, I am not sure it's a golden, caught one a long time ago so I think I would remember, Tim said a Turrum, but I am leaning towards a Bludger Trevally unless 'tea leaf' is the same one. Looks spot on with the pic in grants.

Cheers Roz

p.s. go the cruisers!!!!

23-02-2006, 05:29 PM
Oh Phill,

One more thing, the trevally on the wreck are all called bruce.

snappa
23-02-2006, 05:42 PM
::)

[a] 10kg snappa @ shallow tempest 2004
[b]red over 10kg this is the target for 2006 .. :-?

23-02-2006, 05:47 PM
Pain Pain Pain,

want a arm streching Sambo or AJ

23-02-2006, 05:56 PM
LOL #Roz........ #;D #onya !

Thanks for the Sambo pic, Brendon !

Yes, OH and here's one I am looking forward to with great anticipation..

5. # Moray #Eel............maybe on the troll ?

#;D ;D #;D #;D ;D

sorry Herby.............couldn't resist. #You know this won't die ?

Cheers Phill #( T.R.V.O )............mmmm #;)

philip_thomson
23-02-2006, 07:12 PM
[quote author=Sportfish_5 link=1140585300/45#46 date=1140675560][quote author=philip_thomson link=1140585300/0#12 date=1140594251]Sail Fish
Spanish Mackerel
Coral Trout
a Snappa (5kg+)
Legal Red Emperor
Amberjack
Yellowtail kingfish

LMAO
of course thats always a possible option when the weather turns sour

rando
23-02-2006, 09:21 PM
Roz
RE: Dogtooth, They get some Biggies out at Saumarez & Cato Reefs

23-02-2006, 10:33 PM
Rando,

Do you need a deckie on the next trip? ;D

Roz

rando
24-02-2006, 10:19 AM
Ive got a mate organising a Swains trip in Sept /Oct, usually on the Boobybird we,ve been threatening a trip to Saumarez the last three times, If you would like to go Ill put your name in the hat .

24-02-2006, 01:03 PM
In my case, it is far simpler to list the fish I have caught:

Whiting; flathead, bream, tailor. Everything else is still on my list, especially a moray eel. ( I heard about that effort. :)

rajawolf
24-02-2006, 01:12 PM
Roz,

I am one of the lucky ones...I have plenty to catch in the future, I am a newbie as I have only been fishing for 25 years...so scratch bream and whiting off my list so far... :o # # # :-/ ohhh I almost forgot...toad fish... :-*

bo_sawyer
24-02-2006, 01:26 PM
a nice big barra would keep a smile on me face for a year ;D

NeilD
24-02-2006, 04:52 PM
1. A black Bass would top my list as they look to have everything I like about Jacks but in XOS size. I picked up a Spot Tail Bass a few years back but the area had no Blacks.

2. Bluewater would be a Doggy. They look like a Tuna crossed with a Wahoo. I look at some of the dropoffs to the east of the Bunker group and wonder if they might be worth a shot.

3. A big Jewie in the suds or a 10lb Greenback would be a fish of a lifetime to me. Bring on winter!!!!

24-02-2006, 05:18 PM
Shovelly. catty, stingy, toady, sharky....................One has to set realistic goals if one is to achieve one's potential #;D

Kev,

If you want BIG catties, make the Derby Jetty (in WA) a must do!

I've caught dozens of catfish there on my Dad's handlines.

Bit of a long way to go Roz ;D I don't seem to get further than Coles lately ;D

Never fear shadows... they simply mean there's a light shining somewhere nearby.

tazza_505
24-02-2006, 08:28 PM
very nicely said