View Full Version : POST YOUR FAVOURITE FISH AND CHIP SHOP

Lone_Wolf
12-02-2006, 02:58 PM
I have no affiliation or interest in any one particular shop. However we all have grown up with the humble fish & chips being a part of our lifestyle whether it be once a month or a special treat.

In light of the recent post on imported fish of questionable quality being used in these shops, I think it's important to say that it's not an attack on the owners of these businesses who are just trying to make a living. There still remains out there some excellent quality fish and chip shops.

Nothing beats fresh home cooked fish caught by one's self however my favourite takeaway is the Clayfield Markets Seafood.Their grilled whiting, lightly seasoned in parsley and salt, REAL home made potato scallops, crispy fresh calamari, prawn cutlets and GREAT CHIPS are to die for.

My invitation to you all is to share your favourite fish & chips with the rest of Ausfish members.

chanquetas
12-02-2006, 03:04 PM
There's a little place at Wynnum I like, but I dont know the name of it. They are not cheap but its quality all the way.

I mentioned Morgans in another post as great for fresh seafood. However, their fish and chips are woeful as they never seem to change the oil.

Jake

Phoenix
12-02-2006, 03:24 PM
I like "Sea Grill in Hamilton" great food - crap waitress service IMHO

I also like the "Cod Father" in Stafford

12-02-2006, 04:02 PM
Long way to go but if I ever get the chance.......... :'(

Apart from the Lake District, this is the only place that comes to mind if someone asks if I miss old Blighty.

http://www.whelansfishandchips.co.uk/cottage.htm

Best halibut I've ever tasted......my favourite food

Don't think you're on the right road just because it’s a well-beaten path.

brett_rokesky
12-02-2006, 04:16 PM
At the moment living here in Yeppoon i would have to say Seagulls on the beach. Really good local fish and beer battered chips.
Though when i was down the coast i would say that fish shop just before Seaworld (owned by Peter Peter's) They had a real good feed for the kids after a big day swimming down there. :D

saphire
12-02-2006, 04:28 PM
Generally there has been a huge improvement in the quality of fish and chip shops over the past 15 years. They were OK in the early 70's then around the mid 70's and 80's the quality of them seemed to go down. I dont know why but if anyone has a theory I would love to hear it.
There is a fish and chip shop in Barklya Place at Marsden which I think is great.
The service if fantastic. There is one lady in particular who works so hard. She is very efficient and friendly to the customers. It is a very busy shop which demonstraits to me that it is a shop that offers quality.
Cheers to you all.
saphire.

brett_rokesky
12-02-2006, 04:35 PM
I know the shop your talking about Saphire,
We have friends that live down there.

Hey on another note is it fair dink about they stop useing newspapers( to wrap them in) years ago because of ink poisoning?

CHRIS_aka_GWH
12-02-2006, 05:37 PM
the "Holy Mackeral" at Noosaville.

Real chips, fresh fish, reasonable prices & outstanding, fast service with personality in peak period.

I've been on the recieving end & seen a couple of times them give away extra chips - I don't know why - maybe because the potatoes are fresh they need to use them once cut.

I have never been dissappointed in 3 years of visits & they seem to be the only shop who can consistently manage NOT to put salt on an order when requested.

DONAGHYJJNR
12-02-2006, 05:51 PM
i am from Perth and the best fish and chip shop is in Fremantle and it is "Ciccerelos" oooh is it good!!! :)

philip_thomson
12-02-2006, 06:06 PM
"Red Emperor" at noosaville. best chicken salt chips around, calamri is always cooked properly and the dim sims are great.

(never pay for fish these days as forest gump says "you never know what your gonna get"

fishingnottake
12-02-2006, 06:22 PM
"Red Emperor" at noosaville. best chicken salt chips around, calamri is always cooked properly and the dim sims are great.

(never pay for fish these days as forest gump says "you never know what your gonna get"
christ phil with the fish you catch, i thought the catfish would of been an approvement.

12-02-2006, 06:51 PM
Thats easy.
RAINWORTH Seafoods
196 boundary rd
Rainworth

Since I accidentally stumbled on to it, we would not go anywhere else unless you have found one better.
Excellent service, fresh fish, calamari, sea scallops and perfect chips, great steak sandwiches, great hamburgers.
The cleanest seafood place I've been too
I normall go the sea perch, whiting fillets, calamari and chips
Oh and they're not the cheapest but are the best

Lone_Wolf,
I love to compare so may go to Clayfield because they sound damn fine there too.

Angla ;)

2DKnBJ
12-02-2006, 06:58 PM
Have found an old style fish and chip shop where you can pick your fillets and have it cooked however you want.
Great service and top quality with reasonable prices.
Georges Seafood at West End.
Cheers Dazza

Seahorse
12-02-2006, 06:59 PM
iam from southside, but would travel to dougs on waterfront at brighton or shorncliffe. yummo. iam getting hungry now and seeing i didnt get out today, have to have chicken wings tonight.

familyman
12-02-2006, 07:38 PM
All you queenslanders !!!On the central coast of nsw there is a place at Budgewoi called Ocean blues seafood,best fish I've ever had except for my own fresh flatties in tempura batter ;Dyum
cheers jon

chanquetas
12-02-2006, 07:39 PM
I normall go the sea perch...

Isnt that Orange Roughy?

Derek_Bullock
12-02-2006, 07:45 PM
I normall go the sea perch...

Isnt that Orange Roughy?

Could be anything actually. I understand that Fisheries are now starting to use DNA testing to determine what fish are what.

Derek

Lone_Wolf
12-02-2006, 07:48 PM
Lone_Wolf,
I love to compare so may go to Clayfield because they sound damn fine there too.

Angla.

Likewise mate, I am off to try yours!

Hoges
12-02-2006, 07:51 PM
Not a Fish & Chip shop but a pub whose name eludes me at the moment in Proserpine. About 7 years ago served the best Red Emperor counter lunch.
There are a few fish and chip shops around my area in Melb that are well noted but the quality of product served never seems to last long after they achieve some glory.
BTW down here we eat Potato Cakes and our Scallops come out of a shell. ;)

OUT TO LUNCH: IF NOT BACK BY FIVE, OUT FOR DINNER ALSO!

snappa
12-02-2006, 07:55 PM
tulip tree road

murrumba downs ... :D

had battered snappa tonite after the movies .... :)

12-02-2006, 10:07 PM
iam from southside, but would travel to dougs on waterfront at brighton or shorncliffe. yummo. iam getting hungry now and seeing i didnt get out today, have to have chicken wings tonight.

Yeah, used to eat out at Dougs until they built that bloody toilet block right in front of his shop. If the wind's blowing the wrong way, it puts you right off :o Now I just get a carry out and fetch it home in an esky............his burgers are yummo too.

A seminar on time travel will be held in two weeks ago.

bushbeachboy
12-02-2006, 10:13 PM
Nicks, Kings Road Townsville

Bosunsmate
12-02-2006, 10:17 PM
Take-A-Break Burger Bar on Thuringowa Drive - Kirwan (Townsville) for you southeners......best joint in the twin cities.

Gotta be the best crummed Mackarel in NQ...........Cheap as chips to boot.......

DNO40
13-02-2006, 06:41 AM
SWAINS Fish and Chips in Toolooa st Gladstone, the best I have found in a long time.

DNO

Jay_S
13-02-2006, 06:54 AM
Saviges at Bongaree on Bribie Island
They are the local pro fishermen who started the shop
Always good variety of FRESH local fish, squid, prawns and crabs.

Jay [smiley=starsbronze.gif]

13-02-2006, 06:58 AM

And you eat the dim sims??? [smiley=sick2.gif]

PeterT
13-02-2006, 03:00 PM
I think they have changed hands since I was there but Taylor Bros on the jetty at Narooma would have the best battered flathead I have ever tasted. I don't usually like battered fish, but their's is exceptional, They batter the whole side of the flattie, wings and all. So crisp and the unmistakable texture and taste of fresh flathead. Fish 10/10 Chips are 9/10.

Narooma has the best oysters in the world! Their premium oysters are what I want for a last meal on earth.

'Off the Hook' in Port Macquarie is not bad with a good selection of fish freshly cooked. Fish 9/10 Chips 9/10.

There is a takeaway at Dunbogan where you can pull up in your boat duck over the road and get excellent fish and chips. Flattie tails 10/10, chips 9/10.

In Glenelg in Adelaide there is a little oyster bar I think called "the oyster bar". Really good deep fried battered oysters and exceptional salt and pepper squid served in a paper cone with chips. Didn't think I would like deep fried oysters but mmmmmmm.

Darwin is pretty disappointing all round on the restaurant scene. Haven't tried many of the F&C shops. Funny that for a harbour city with a huge fishing fleet, I don't think there is a F&C shop in the city proper.

The wharf is ok, but I usually have Thai when we go there cos we get plenty of fresh fish at home. Visitors love the atmoshere of eating barra and chips on Darwin Harbour. Not bad fish and chips, Barra fillet and chips& salad = $10.50. Fish 7/10, chips 7/10. and beer is not too expenso. A must do in Darwin, a good cheap night out.

Ilic Bros near the duck pond at the waterfront are about the best I have had up here. It is a cafe that boasts "we sell what we catch" The jew fish and chips is excellent. 10/10 fish and 10/10 chips. Service is friendly as well. Gotta be good when you see the trawler crews and other sea related workers eating there.

Quite close to Ilics is a specialist fish and chipery where I got food poisoning from the greasiest most vile serve of excrement I have ever eaten.

Even woolworths sells good local fresh fish here. Yep they have that Bassa shit but its nothing to see Finger mark, Red empror, Spanish flag, Spaniards etc, all fresh and not "thawed for your convenience".

Best sea food restaurant would be Jepsies at South West Rocks where I had the best white bait followed by mud crab I have had. Next is toss between 'Passion fish' at Coffs Harbour and the restuarant at the Byron bay hotel - the one Stropp etc own. The guy at the Passion, boasted the best calamari in Oz and when he served it he stood there till I tasted it and I had to agree.

I used to travel a lot for work through NSW #and Vic, and made a point of testing restaurants.

pete

PS Hoges that looks suspisciously like a punch out of stingray flap on the scallop. Where's the roe? ; ;D ;D ;D

Bros
13-02-2006, 03:50 PM
bushbeachboy I thought Nick had retired as I was there last Dec and someone else was there.

themisses
13-02-2006, 04:00 PM
Hi All, Starfish Cafe in Brunswick Heads. 2 doors down from the pub. All fresh and the Best Calamari and chips I've ever had. They do yummy homemade steamed dumplings, fish cakes and other specials depending what is fresh. Also have the best triple choc fudge biscuits and deserts(All homemade). Calamari is always perfectly cooked. :P

bo_sawyer
13-02-2006, 04:57 PM
Parfrey Road near Springwood has the best chips you'll come across!

bo_sawyer
13-02-2006, 04:58 PM
Parfrey Road near Springwood has the best chips you'll come across!

MulletMan
13-02-2006, 10:37 PM
Fish 53 at East Brisbane.
Awesome size plates and top quality.
Good idea to book .......................

CHRIS_aka_GWH
14-02-2006, 06:28 AM
once upon a day when the air was clean & sex was dirty and, I was a lad ....
there was a rusty old caravan at the top of the road to cylinder beach on straddie...
this was PJ's takeaway.

If PJ wasn't there in the morning to cook brekkie you knew the fish & chips that day would be out of sight because he'd be out chasing blues. You'd rock up at lunch order your meal & he'd pull out a spaniard & start removing a fillet to cook - it was the best. With chips cut from fresh potatoes.

DICER
14-02-2006, 07:16 AM
FISH OUT OF WATER 117 King William Road, Hyde Park SA 5061

Have the fried white bait or a vicious fish burger...but they have an excellent selection of other seafood!

el_carpo
14-02-2006, 08:17 AM
3 pages of free advertising! Steve "Ausfish" should be able to walk into any fish and chips spot in Australia and eat "all he can eat" on the house after this! ;D ;D ;D

Nothing beats a well prepared plate of fish and chips though. YUM!

Hoges
14-02-2006, 10:16 AM
3 pages of free advertising! Steve "Ausfish" should be able to walk into any fish and chips spot in Australia and eat "all he can eat" on the house after this! ;D ;D ;D

Nothing beats a well prepared plate of fish and chips though. YUM!

:-? What would be the most common type of fish sold around Chicago shops?
I didn't notice any Fish & Chips shops whilst I was there but there again I wasn't really looking. 8-)

darren
14-02-2006, 04:50 PM
Mervs take/away Dicky Beach damn fine calamari ;) and the fish and chips are spot on ::) but ya gotta fight your way thru all the kids to get in ;D Still a place where the kids can go get a couple of bucks worth of chips and feed the lot of them

PMC
14-02-2006, 08:15 PM
Kiss my Fish, Rochedal South, and they have another shop inCleveland.
The Red Dolphin in Margate takes some beating

14-02-2006, 09:25 PM
Lone_Wolf,

Angla.

Lone_Wolf

Tried the Clayfield Markets Fresh Seafood tonight with the wife a kids.

We are stuffed after that meal. Tried the whiting, sea perch, calamari, bream, chips and potato scallops and we were very pleased with the outcome. 9/10 but I think Rainworth seafoods still get a 10/10 from all of us.

Maybe it is just the presentation and the cleanliness of the premises at Rainworth.

Travel distance was about the same for us.

land_based
14-02-2006, 10:11 PM
I used to work in the clayfield market complex and got to know the food and the guys there pretty well, top place everything is fresh and the service is great!!! As mentioned the cod father at stafford is good too. I used to go to marias at aspley but since it changed hands it went down hill dramatically.

Zeeke
14-02-2006, 10:49 PM
the fish and chip shop at home.. stuff paying for it if i can supply it myself...

rossramage
15-02-2006, 05:14 AM
Takeaway and general store at Fingal Head (Northern NSW)two pieces of hoki for $3(melts in your mouth) and the best chips I have ever tasted. Ross

noodlemantra
15-02-2006, 07:56 AM
i had a damn good feed at a place in noosa. was on the river, was a big place on the bank, made of wood. looked like a restuarant/bar inside and this fish and chip shop was to the right on the side as you walked up to it from the street.

you stand/sit outside and look down into the water as you eat............blow me down there must be a hundred bream and whiting down there at night. give me a cast net boys! and the best part about it, whack some chip on a hook and your on!

freddyfish
15-02-2006, 09:15 AM
Noodle

Thats called "the Boathouse" I think

Brad

el_carpo
15-02-2006, 10:32 AM
Hi Hoges,

Best fish and chips in Chicago is made by my older brother. I order (yes order) him to make it every year for my birthday. If he refuses, I throw lumps of mud at him or his car until he accepts.

Not really, but I bet it would work. ;D

Actually, Chicago has or used to have an excellent fish and chips place called, "Arthur Treacher's Fish and Chips." He was an actor from England. Malt vinegar. Mmmmmmmmm. I'm not sure if it's still around or not though. Outside of that, I think you're stuck with fast food chains like "Long John Silvers." Not horrible, but I'm sure it's nowhere near as good as the places you guys have over there. I would think Australia has to have some of the best fish shops in the world being right on the ocean. The freshness of the fish is impossible to beat.

What we do have here is Bob Chinn's Crab House. That place is unbelievable. I've never been there myself (wwwaaaaaayyyyyy too expensive for a no account pauper like me ;D). They probably even want you to wear a tie in there (my clip-on clip broke years ago so that's that ;D). They are very famous and the lines to get in are nuts. They are mostly known for the freshness of their food. He flies all his fish and edible sea creatures in the same day they were caught from the oceans. It's not a fish and chips place though. It's a muckity-muck, high-falutin' sea food restaurant dealie.

As good as it may be, I doubt they have anything on my bro's stuff though. ;)

He won't tell me the recipe he uses and I don't ask (if I knew, he may expect ME to cook them!) !@#$ THAT!!! I'm the birthday boy!!! ;D

So you were in Chicago eh? Fish isn't really our thing here. Did you try the pizza, ribs, chili, hot dogs, Italian beef sandwiches, kielbasa (Polish sausage), or bratwurst? Best food on the planet bar none (except for fish) ;) It's the culinary center of the universe. Tourists gain ten pounds just stepping off the plane. 8-)

I have two goals now if I ever get a chance to visit Australia in my life.

1-----Catch a barramundi.
2-----Eat at a fish and chips place.

I have two more goals but being elected Australia's official national bikini inspector (I'd settle for being the unofficial inspector) and ridding the continent of the dreaded cane toads (like St. Patrick's snake getting rid of trick in Ireland) probably aren't very realistic.

Anyway, my fingers are tired from all this typing and I have to cook dinner. BBQ pork sammiches.

gogecko
15-02-2006, 11:24 AM
Seafood Direct at Runaway Bay.
Best on the Gold Coast.

They used to own a chain of fish shops in the UK, and now run just a small shop, but they know how to buy good stock. A lot of it comes from Hervey Bay.

MIKOS
15-02-2006, 11:26 AM
Definatly the seafood shop on seaworld drive would be one of the best. ;)

The old cod father at stafford is a good one for the suburbs and has been around for a long time. :)

Im getting hungry just writing this :o

MIKOS
15-02-2006, 11:27 AM
Oh and Barrymundys at Toowong is a good one as well ;)

15-02-2006, 04:16 PM
There is a good one at Chinderah situated on the old highway. But I still think my home made is hard to beat.

15-02-2006, 04:18 PM
I did see a fish and chip shop at Southport trying to sell traglin (sorry about spelling) as Jewfish. Not good.

sf17fisherman
16-02-2006, 11:53 AM
the fish and chip shop at home.. stuff paying for it if i can supply it myself...

agree 110%

Homemade will always beat some gressie old shop brought ones and even better is it is cheaper and you can select what fish you want ;)

16-02-2006, 12:10 PM
Agree with Roz the one at Chinderah is good, also the one overlooking the beach at Woodgate, name escapes me but mmmmm my mouth still waters everytime I think about the crumbed whiting and chips.....drool drool dribble dribble...

Cheers and Beers (and crumbed whiting and chips ;))

Lone_Wolf
04-03-2006, 09:32 PM
Re: POST YOUR FAVOURITE FISH AND CHIP SHOP
« Reply #38 on: 14.02.06 at 21:25:27 » # #Quote from Lone_Wolf on 12.02.06 at 19:48:16:
Quote:
Lone_Wolf,

Angla.

Lone_Wolf

Tried the Clayfield Markets Fresh Seafood tonight with the wife a kids. #

We are stuffed after that meal. Tried the whiting, sea perch, calamari, bream, chips and potato scallops and we were very pleased with the outcome. 9/10 but I think Rainworth seafoods still get a 10/10 from all of us. #

Maybe it is just the presentation and the cleanliness of the premises at Rainworth. #

Travel distance was about the same for us.

Angla,

Three weeks later, I finally got the chance to consume the cuisine from your highly recommended local fish & chip shop at Rainworth. It was definitely the night for it, I was famished and coulda eaten the crutch out of a pair of undies for sure!

Wasn't really sure where I was going but had a general idea where Rainworth was as I grew up in Auchenflower. Well, it's not hard to find at night at all, lit up like a Christmas tree just off the roundabout. #

I arrived around 7pm, ordered and the meal was promptly presented. I had grilled whiting, 12 calamari, 6 prawn cutlets and 2 potato scallops.

Remembering your comments from your post, I was equally impressed not only with the presentation of the shop but with the way the meal was given to me. I could have taken it home without fear of the meal spilling out like some places that use polystyrene containers. I think the young fella swept, mopped and cleaned windows at different times whilst I was there too. #

The meal was on a platter wrapped in white paper, carefully secured with sticky tape. So shop presentation won hands down and I also was able to enjoy the meal outside at one of several tables. Clayfield 0-1

The grilled whiting, garnished with chopped parsley at Clayfield is simply the best ever. Whilst Rainworth’s was tasty, it simply was not the same. Clayfield #1-1

The calamari and prawn cutlets were a dead heat. Hot, not to greasy and just enough batter. Score 3-all

The Clayfield potato scallop is homemade and fully of spud and batter. The Rainworth potato scallop really caught me by surprise. I don't know how but I do concede it was better. Choc a bloc full of fluffy potato, crisp batter but not too much and not too greasy. The best potato scallop ever.

The score is in and Rainworth has pipped my favourite fish and chip shop at the post 4-3.

Thanks for the tip Angla. Just like you said, presentation is important and the bright, squeaky-clean feel of the shop gives a customer confidence in what you are buying. Their meal above all else is first class too. (Might have to get my shop to show 'em how to grill those whiting though ;))

LW

chanquetas
04-03-2006, 09:39 PM
Looks like Im off to Rainworth very soon!
Excellent reviewing LW.
Jake

YummyMummy
10-02-2010, 09:08 AM
OMG have you tried OFF THE HOOK Fish and chips on the Gold Coast Mudgeeraba, they are the best. The best Salt and Pepper Calamari ever, not that rubbery crap you can get this is the real deal. Also there Cod crumbed is mouth watering.:D

manchild
10-02-2010, 09:04 PM
The one at Evans head are hard to beat for red emperor .Other than that my own in beerbutter is hard to beat .
George

Silent
11-02-2010, 12:43 PM
No one beats the famous calamari at Brunswick Heads fish n chip...

Steeler
11-02-2010, 04:30 PM
Tommy's Corner Corrimal

kingtin
12-02-2010, 04:12 PM
Now this is fish and chips at it's best. Try the plaice.............if you can afford it.:o

The fish aren't fresh, obviously, as they come from european cold waters, but they are filleted and frozen with 5 hrs of capture.

I went out of curiosity as I'm not one for dwelling on Pommy things, but it was well worth the drive, if only to taste good old european cod again.

http://www.chumleywarners.com.au/fish.htm

Straitened Out
12-02-2010, 08:51 PM
ISP Seafood at Smithfield in Cairns has the best cooked seafood I've tasted. They also sell their own fresh stuff so you have the choice.

kingtin
14-02-2010, 01:49 PM
Chumley Warners is on channel 7 Great SE at 5.30 today

ronnien
15-02-2010, 12:30 PM
we used to have decent f&c shops up here in t'ville, but no more:(.went to 1 along the strand & got the smallest 2 scoops of chips ever! asked is that it... yep we base our scoops on maccas size & ours are bigger>:(. others are slop or dont listen to the order you give... only chicken salt on the chips, watch them pour salt over everything (fish as well) than tell them that the order was for salt on the chips only so they throw the lot back in the deep fryer>:(>:( for the second time, no sorry just give me my money back, its been a while now since been to any f&c shop.

ron.

mull dog
15-02-2010, 12:50 PM
My experiences only. with such a variety of beautiful water ways on our doorstep it baffles me as to why fish and chip shops here even consider serving up frozen crap from vietnam and africa and try to pass it off as local ie barra (no, nile perch from tanzania) pacific dory (no, fresh water catfish from vietnam .basa) i would much rather pay a couple of extra dollars to get fresh local seafood than a cheap batch of mush. IMO local flathead and whiting should be mainstays on shop menus

BEST- Brunswick Heads Co-op. Snapper @ $8.00 a fillet, lightly battered and very succulant. and you know it was caught locally so it is always fresh;D

WORST- Seafood Lovers Cafe on the water at Margate. how can a fish and chip shop just 50 meters from the water have the most foul and expensive fish and chips? Snapper @ 9.50 a fillet. it was off. the flesh was brown with a bad odour and tasted worse. calamari was stale rubbery crap and priced @ $1 per ring !!!!!>:(

snapperdan
15-02-2010, 04:08 PM
Hi All, Starfish Cafe in Brunswick Heads. 2 doors down from the pub. All fresh and the Best Calamari and chips I've ever had. They do yummy homemade steamed dumplings, fish cakes and other specials depending what is fresh. Also have the best triple choc fudge biscuits and deserts(All homemade). Calamari is always perfectly cooked. :P

Starfish rocks , havent eaten there for years. Battered spotty mack was insane. Fish cakes etc.

15-02-2010, 04:37 PM
No one beats the famous calamari at Brunswick Heads fish n chip...

i have too agree there!!!! The first time i had it my expectations were very high, about 20 poeple i know kept telling me it was the best calamiri there is and i went there hoping to report that i'd had better somewhere else! I was wrong there is nowhere to get better calamiri , this stuff is fantastic!!!

Tester63
15-02-2010, 05:57 PM
"Fish Monger" in the lane behind the beach Hotel in Byron is excellent and is the best Fish and chips I have had by a long way. Grilled fresh fish and hand cut chips and salad. The fish is whatever the local boys are catching so it changes week by week. Had Mahi last week and Jewie a cople of weeks ago. Excellent washed down with a takeaway beer or wine from the Beachie bottle shop over the road.

Leighton
15-02-2010, 06:11 PM
PKG Sea Food on Kennedy Drive, Tweed Heads

Toddy_again
15-02-2010, 09:46 PM
A couple of years ago there was a shop named TOS seafoods at Carina....as good as any Melbourne fish and chips I have had.(Which I regard as best)
Its changed hands now...I wonder if the food is still as good.

Toddy

mattyd
16-02-2010, 11:01 AM
We're lucky enough to live 5mins away from Clayfield Markets & the fish and fresh prawns from that place have been outstanding!

They remind me of how Morgans (Scarborough) used to be 10 years ago. That place is just too inconsistant now. I wouldn't write them off like some people I know, but I think they made they're millions and have lost interest since....

But I can tell you, if I come back empty handed from a rough trip out in my boat from Scarborough (which is usually the bloody case from there!), there's nothing better than having a seafood picnic in the park there with a feed from Morgans. After a hungry 6 hours on the water, you don't worry so much about the quality ;)

sleepygreg
16-02-2010, 11:04 PM
Morgans have the name it seems, and the queues are a mile long most evenings late in the week. Being a local (I drive past the place at least once, sometimes more, a day) I have had many feeds from there. With a bit of luck they wont overcook everything (about a 50/50 hit rate with me so far), they may get your order right (check the bloody thing before you leave - have had to take it back on many occasions because of omissions). The price of their 'standard' piece of crumbed cod can vary from $2.80 - $4.50 (go the battered cod...cheaper and usually a bigger fillet....it is SA Hake...so dont get too upity about species..this is not a bad chew). Or you can select your fillet from the fresh fish section and have them cook it for you (it aint cheap, but at least you KNOW what you are getting).

Kinda reminds me of a burger place my dad used to take me too way back when, in Sydney, called Paul's, near Tom Ugly's Bridge at Blakehurst. Best burgers and chips around..we used to drive from Liverpool to get there. Then they outgrew their premises, got real big and went away from their traditional ways of doing things, and the burgers became like your typical chain operation.

If your in the Scarbie area, you will get better fish and chips, plus burgers from Bay Boats.....just around the corner from Morgans....near the Van Park. Not the variety to chose from - but for plain old tasty fish and chips...better value IMHO.

Agree about Seafood Lovers....i thought with a change of ownership they may have improved....nup...still bloody expensive and relying on the location to attract business...not too many locals eat there. But then again their main competition is red dolphin at the other end of Margate parade.....and they are absolute crap...have given them multiple chances...but have yet to be able to enjoy anything I have bought there.

There are a couple of places in Clontarf that are ok....the one opposite the park does nice chips and burgers, havent tried their fish. But make sure your not in a hurry, speed is not one of their strong points. And they weigh each serve of chips, so you know you are getting consistency.

The place most of the locals get their takeaway fish and chips is the Rumbling Tummy....just off Ashmole Road, near the Dolphins Leagues Club. No frills, ok prices, consistent quality, nice burgers, decent fish, and ya can ring up and order in advance and its always ready when they say its gonna be. (and they are now finally doing proper home made potato scallops instead of the frozen crap).

mattyd
17-02-2010, 08:30 AM
Geez Greg, you've really got the run down of seafood spots on the peninsula mate. Thanks for all the reviews!

Have to agree about red dolphin (Margate). After two bad experiences in a row we are never going back. Rumbling Tummy is a definite winner too. Had some great food in general from them.

One I for got to mention is my personal favourite for fresh prawns, calamari & fish (only problem is it's up the coast), but Mooloolaba Seafood Coop is just mind blowingly tastey if ever you're up that way. I go out of my way to stop in at that place if I'm on the highway.

Top nosh!

b j p
17-02-2010, 08:45 AM
Agree with Clayfish Fish. I have just moved from Clayfield to Wynnum and yet to find a place near as good. Fishes is nice at Manly for dine in, but don't know if they do Take Away. I have tried Pelicans Nest at Wynnum, but they were expensive, their service was poor and their fish and chips were small.

Best ever however goes to Shorncliffe Co-op which has unfortunately shut last year. Freshest Seafood around and for your money you'd get more than you could eat.

popgun19
18-02-2010, 09:26 PM
You won't find a better choice of fresh local SEQ fish, prawns, crabs and cooked seafood. Best potato scollops in Australia !

Must try " trawler fresh seafood" on sangate road nundah but best to phone your order through as usually a 1/2 hr wait friday saturday and sunday nights. They are old school and are not open on Mondays and close at 7pm other nights.
Prices are very reasonable.

Enjoy
brian

Si
24-02-2010, 10:55 AM
The Bamboo Shack in Holloways Beach, a bit north of Cairns is good.

sleepygreg
24-02-2010, 08:36 PM
Im a sales rep, so I am on the road (well I was when I had a job) 5 days a week so have tried a lot of places between brissy and cooktown. The old staple reps lunch is either a pie and a sausage roll or fish and chips. Plus I live on the Reddy peninsula, so am tuned in to the local stuff.

Brian - that 'trawler fresh seafood' place....is that on the western side of sandgate rd, a blue building tucked away on a corner? often advertises Kina on a sandwich board? Have never eaten there but driven past heaps of times.

popgun19
25-02-2010, 08:56 PM
thats the one greg

sleepygreg
25-02-2010, 10:53 PM
Thanks mate - will give it a try next time I am down that way. Love a decent potato scallop. (though my doc would throttle me if he found out, come to think of it..if he read this post I would be in deep sh&t)).

mittykneale
11-03-2010, 04:06 PM
cant go past BROWNS at Moolabah

samsnap
11-03-2010, 09:36 PM
Thanks for the heads up on Bays Boats Greg - had a good little feed there last Sat arvo of fish & chips with the little one - really nice!! Got my vote
Sammyxx

sleepygreg
11-03-2010, 11:00 PM
Your welcome Sammy. Glad you and the little one enjoyed the feed. We had Rumbling Tummy fish, chips and burgers on Saturday evening - just needed to make sure they were still ok ::)

gr hilly
19-03-2010, 01:27 PM
pkg tweed is a spot on shop to get a feed of fish and chips yummy

sunnycoast62
20-03-2010, 04:23 PM
Fish & Chip shop in Aerodrome road Maroochydore, can't beat it. Always good fish,8-) have had not 1 bad order from them since I can remember.

Waz

mouse71
24-03-2010, 07:35 AM
order fish & chips at Ash's over in Karumba & you get the best battered spanish mack you will ever eat

bit closer to home the Aussie/Indian cafe on the main rd in Cardwell does a fantastic battered barra

cheers Mouse/Dennis

b j p
24-03-2010, 10:30 AM
How could a fish and chip shop in either Karumba or Cardwell get it wrong!

PNG1M
24-03-2010, 09:18 PM
I agree with familyman's choice...

I used to live on the ocean side of the bridge at Budgewoi and I walked to that shop every week for fish n chips. Super succulent generous portions....makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

And there is (or maybe was?) a pretty darn good tackle shop just a few doors down from it, who I used to keep in business.

The_Tub
27-03-2010, 11:50 PM
hey guy's

over the last three months have ripped the guts out of the old seafood shop,spent alot of time and dollars to make it right and now selling the best burgers's in northern rivers NSW,geeez i miss the mackeral:-/ any of you fellas around drop in MALIBU BURGERS,might be able to go have a fish and a feed no matter what;D ;D

Bushygreen
28-03-2010, 07:03 AM
Off the hook Mudgeeraba

Bushy