PDA

View Full Version : Calming the Waters- A dive skippers view

capt_trev
09-01-2006, 12:46 AM
Hi everyone,
I'm Trevor, skipper of Brisbane dive boat Esperance Star.
Recently I had an Ausfish member on board who told me of the friction occasionally expressed on Ausfish by members frustrated by some "at sea" interactions with dive boats on some of the popular sites around Brisbane [and elsewhere]. I thought I would visit the sight, check out some of the greivances and perhaps respond in a constructive manner. Well at the risk of getting shot down in flames, here goes.
First let me say that I can honestly see the issues from both sides. Prior to buying and operating Esperance Star I was a professional fisherman and have aways been and still am an active recreational fisherman. I catch fish recreationally on almost every trip on ES, usually to bolster the menu on board with a little fresh seafood [I find very little resistance to this amongst divers, there are way fewer 'greeny' divers than you might imagine]. Let me also state from the onset that no matter what walk of life you may hail from, there will ALWAYS be the ###### element involved. There are as many ###### divers and dive boat operators as there are ###### fisherman [thats life]
On MANY occasions I have been abused by fishermen for 'bargeing in' on sites, and have on MANY occasions had fishermen arrive and drop there anchors so close to me that i cannot even see them under my bow whilst standing at the wheel of ES [again , thats life!].
So here is my take on a few things......