View Full Version : what's your bread n butter????

11-03-2006, 05:17 PM
an interesting question was thrown at me in general talk at work today discussing ausfish and the regular team members,,

it makes ya wonder what they all do for a crust, eh choppa????

and ya know,, it does,,, have a look around the various sites and theres guys/gals chasing plumbers,, graphic artists, builders, and god knows how many others over the years,,to ask advice or chasing work to be done

we have a members photo forum,,,,,wouldnt be to hard to have a members ad forum would it???

Lone_Wolf
11-03-2006, 05:29 PM
Chops, did you see how many replies the post asking for a graphic artist got? Zip, Diddly. #

So either graphic artists are a shy bunch with too much work, or they are not in our profile. I reckon we gotta couple of zillionaires amongst us judging by the size of some of these boats that you guys own.

A photo forum is an interesting idea. Hell Chops, I just finished telling you I am avoiding the Tax Office. Do you reckon I want to show them what I look like? #;)

Seriously, if there are tradesman and professionals amongst us, it would be good to network and feather our own nests for sure!! #

szopen
11-03-2006, 05:32 PM
There was a thread on what do we do a while ago.

11-03-2006, 05:37 PM
hell wolfey,,, i didnt mean post a photo of ya,,,, we want to attract more members mate,,,,, (i read the phone plug,,,,,) ;D

11-03-2006, 05:39 PM
There has been a couple of threads over time simular to what you are asking, like what people do for crust, how many tradies. Cant remember the names of the threads but they are there
self employed
do any thing for a dollar where I can average about 20 hrs week (any more than that it becomes tiresome)
mechanic (trade), welding, bit of building, few boat repairs, sign writing, austar tech,
have sold computers, operated a small print shop, screen printing, dole bludger (would you believe I got sick of work), operated machinery, the list goes on

11-03-2006, 05:40 PM
just to add to the above
I havent had a paid day off or holiday for 15 years, so it aint all roses

Figjamm
11-03-2006, 05:56 PM
Earthmoving. It's a partnership, he earns it and I spend it.... mostly on him! ;)

Figjamm
11-03-2006, 06:02 PM
There was a thread on what do we do a while ago.

What do you do for a living
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1119444045/0

manchild
11-03-2006, 06:28 PM
home renos and roofing like blaze said no paid holydays but can go fishing on rainy days cheers

CHRIS_aka_GWH
11-03-2006, 06:37 PM
me...

Gigilo

Mostly lonely wives ....

I find i'm busiest on the weekends & during solunar peaks - funny that ! ;)

Lone_Wolf
11-03-2006, 06:58 PM
me...

Gigilo

Mostly lonely wives ....

I find i'm busiest on the weekends & during solunar peaks - funny that !

Just curious GWH, how much do you charge per minute? ;D ;D

2DKnBJ
11-03-2006, 07:30 PM
Damn you Chris
I thought my missus was happy to see me when i come home after a trip ::)
Now i know this isn't so ;) ;D
Cheers Dazza

catchy_fishy
12-03-2006, 06:24 AM
haven't answered any of the other threads so here goes:

I consult on providing credit application fraud prevention solutions to the consumer personal finance industry in SA.

Banks, Retailers, Mobile co's. Fixed line operators, and anyone else that either lends money or grants credit looking to reduce fraud risk at the time an application is processed.

Fascinating job - but I long for time away to wet a line.

Catchy Fishy

12-03-2006, 11:11 AM
fire n' life insurance? ;)

Feral
12-03-2006, 02:05 PM
just to add to the above
I havent had a paid day off or holiday for 15 years, so it aint all roses

But ya said you'd been on the dole, one weeks dole oughta be about a days wages!

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
12-03-2006, 02:25 PM
Community care services Co-ordinator with an emphasis on the frail aged and people with physical and intellectual disabilities.

gawby
12-03-2006, 02:41 PM
Im just a basic steering wheel attendant. I HATE it. I HATE trucks but i have to earn a living.
Graeme

fishingnottake
12-03-2006, 07:10 PM
i work as a maintenance man/occasional interim manager at a resort,generally fixing washing machines, dryers, toilets locks etc and build/repair computers on the side.

Horrie
12-03-2006, 07:55 PM
I'm retired (too early...after suffering a brain haemorrhage).
Now run my own consultancy installing emergency mediacl alarms for aged and disabled folk. The pay is lousey but it's the most satisfying job I have ever had.
Spend the rest of my time learning how to fish and use my new boat.

Horrie

GARFISH
12-03-2006, 08:07 PM
Accountant with a large Organisation.

My first boss would often be sick when we had great weather and eventually I learnt that he was out fishing. All I wanted to lnow was where's me invite

griz066
12-03-2006, 08:16 PM
Manage a Sawmill and Auxillary Firefighter(QFRS)

farticus
12-03-2006, 08:39 PM
jonny howard scholarship ;D

onerabbit
12-03-2006, 08:47 PM
Professsional bum wiper, AIN 111, speciallizing in the seriously BRAIN INJURED. No wondeer i go fishing a lot.

]

lil_boatie
13-03-2006, 06:43 AM
boatbuilder, trainee

bo_sawyer
13-03-2006, 10:24 AM
trainee accountant

gone_phishin
13-03-2006, 02:36 PM
Screenprinter. Wife and I both, and we work from home ;D ;D ;D, and she loves fishing too!!

Geoff

fishingnottake
13-03-2006, 04:05 PM
if your father in law owned a brewery you'd be set

Lone_Wolf
13-03-2006, 07:03 PM
fishingnottaken
Ausfish Gold Member

one more cast

« Reply #27 on: Today at 16:04:46 » if your father in law owned a brewery you'd be set

Does she have any single sisters fishingnottaken??

Swerve
13-03-2006, 07:52 PM
Manager at a large Telecommunications Company

catchy_fishy
14-03-2006, 06:16 AM

Missing_FNQ
14-03-2006, 08:23 PM
Sales Rep.............Pool Cleaners, Filtration Equipment and Pool Chemical Feeders...........Pm me for a decent pool cleaner that doesnt fall apart:)

23-sharkcat
15-03-2006, 08:03 AM
I own a medium sized sign manufacturing company. Has it's up and downs.

The best thing is that I do not have to wait until the weekend to take the boat out. Just take it out when I want to....

I am a biolermaker by trade and also hold a builder licence and a restricted electrical contractors licence.

oddbudman
16-03-2006, 12:48 PM
I'm a microelectronic engineer. I write software and design the hardware for emergency lighting systems.

harry_h01
16-03-2006, 01:00 PM
Six Sigma Black Belt here

Also known as a business improvement manager.

I look at a business and then look at ways to save money and the likes.

Harry